BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beauty: A Retelling of the Story of Beauty and the Beast

Average Rating 4.5
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(168)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beauty, is in the eye of the beholder.

My mother actually recommended this book to me when I was sixteen years old and I loved then and love it now. This is not your typical meet the beautiful protagnist and then she meets ugly beast and in time she learns to love him. This has a different twist to it! Be...
My mother actually recommended this book to me when I was sixteen years old and I loved then and love it now. This is not your typical meet the beautiful protagnist and then she meets ugly beast and in time she learns to love him. This has a different twist to it! Beauty is not at all physically beautiful, her two sisters in which shocking are kind, and loving sisters. Beauty is just "plain jane" and throughout the book she discovers her talents, wit, sense of humor, her own beauty and the love of her life.
Great book, for young women who are looking on the inside for something. Wonderful introduction of how to help others as well as discovering yourself!

posted by Withinu101 on January 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Enough

This was such a lovely book until the ending. I felt that it left a lot to be desired. It wrapped up in about five pages, without much detail. Up until then the characters all showed depth and intrigue. I adored the enchanted castle. It was very magical and I couldn¿t h...
This was such a lovely book until the ending. I felt that it left a lot to be desired. It wrapped up in about five pages, without much detail. Up until then the characters all showed depth and intrigue. I adored the enchanted castle. It was very magical and I couldn¿t help wishing I were Beauty, for I too was falling in love the Beast. When things finished however, there was not enough detail. It didn¿t make much sense, and I was frustrated with the lack of explanation. There is supposedly a sequel or another part at least, to this story, so perhaps I will read that to have my admiration of McKinley restored. I¿d still recommend the book to anyone who either likes McKinley¿s stories or people who enjoy this sort of genre period. Perhaps you¿ll have better luck with its ending then I did.

posted by Books-Rule_Cats-Do-Too on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    Beauty, is in the eye of the beholder.

    My mother actually recommended this book to me when I was sixteen years old and I loved then and love it now. This is not your typical meet the beautiful protagnist and then she meets ugly beast and in time she learns to love him. This has a different twist to it! Beauty is not at all physically beautiful, her two sisters in which shocking are kind, and loving sisters. Beauty is just "plain jane" and throughout the book she discovers her talents, wit, sense of humor, her own beauty and the love of her life.
    Great book, for young women who are looking on the inside for something. Wonderful introduction of how to help others as well as discovering yourself!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2006

    Fall in love again

    I've read this book every year since I was 13. The retelling is beautiful. Everytime I read it, I fall in love again. Its a sweet, sincere look at finding love based on the heart rather than looks. Wonderful book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thicker bliss !

    This book is simply what the title states : Beauty ! I mean this is Beauty and the Beast no changes made just simply and beautifully retold! If you love Disney's Beauty in the Beast you will love this book. This is a great book for girls of any age who are just looking for a classic fairytale that is longer than 20 pages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    A Classic Re-imagined WELL

    I have never been a big fan of Disney's interpretation of things, and I found this book very refreshing in that Beauty and the Beast actually have a relationship and a reason to love one another. Beauty is very easily respected because she has reasons for all that she does. She loves to read, and she loves her horse Greatheart. This book is very well-written and enjoyable. It's a love story, but instead of "oh, they fell in love and lived happily ever after," we as readers watch their love develop and grow. Beauty must learn about herself and the Beast's history as she gets used to living in an overly large castle infused with magic who wait at her beck and call (sometimes before) and some who help without Beauty wanting it. At the end, you are convinced that they are truly and perfectly in love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Good Retelling

    The story developed well and had great visual elements and strong characters. However, the ending seemed cut short and rushed after so much building and story-telling it just suddenly came to an end. It felt as if Mckinley wasn't quite sure how to wrap up all the loose ends and so took the shortcut way and everything just magically happened.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice Enough

    This was such a lovely book until the ending. I felt that it left a lot to be desired. It wrapped up in about five pages, without much detail. Up until then the characters all showed depth and intrigue. I adored the enchanted castle. It was very magical and I couldn¿t help wishing I were Beauty, for I too was falling in love the Beast. When things finished however, there was not enough detail. It didn¿t make much sense, and I was frustrated with the lack of explanation. There is supposedly a sequel or another part at least, to this story, so perhaps I will read that to have my admiration of McKinley restored. I¿d still recommend the book to anyone who either likes McKinley¿s stories or people who enjoy this sort of genre period. Perhaps you¿ll have better luck with its ending then I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    Lovely

    This is a book that I think any girl who watched Disney as a child should read. It brings a different spin to the classic tale but one that makes it more real. I bought it on a whim at college and have had to tape up the spin from frequent use.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    A wonderful retelling!

    I think every one should read this book, especially if you like fantasy. I loved it I found it to be a captivating story. It is like, yet unlike the Disney version of the fairy tale. I found it enough different that it wasn't repeating it. A good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    Breathtaking

    'Beauty' is an astounding descriptive literary work. Robin Mckinely has found a way to make the traditional fable of 'Beauty and the Beast' into something so tangable you can smell her roses, feel the fresh air, and empathise with the characters. This book is one in a million!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    An Amazing Story

    Robin McKinley has weaved a story as beautiful and descriptive as they come. I have read this book three times and recommend it to anyone who liked the Disney version of the story. After reading this, you will fall in love with it. Her adventure scenes are thrilling, and her romance ones moving. You won't be able to but the book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    This is my favorite version of Beauty and the Beast. One of the

    This is my favorite version of Beauty and the Beast. One of the things is that there's a different tale about how beast was enchanted and there's poignant moments where he describes what 100 years of re-learning to be civilized has been like. For those who mention Disney...the only thing really in common is Beauty's love of books and the library, and McKinley invented it 1st. As for those who criticize the swiftness of the ending. After the enchantment is broken...what else really is there to tell?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    This book was truly the best retelling of Beauty and the Beast t

    This book was truly the best retelling of Beauty and the Beast that I have 
    read so far. Exceptional!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    This story is about a girl named Honour, but everyone calls her

    This story is about a girl named Honour, but everyone calls her Beauty. She doesn't like her nickname though, because she is thin and awkward. She believes her older sisters, Hope and Grace, are much more beautiful than she is. Their father, Mr.Huston, is one of the wealthiest merchants in the city. When some of Mr.Huston's ships get lost or crashed, he lost all of his money. The family would have to auction off their house and some of their furniture. Gervain, a man that Hope has fallen in love with, offers for the family to come live with him out of the city. When they get to the new house, it's right in front of the woods that is said to be enchanted. When's Beauty's father gets lost in the woods on his way home from visiting the city, he finds a castle. When he takes a rose from the castle's garden, a huge beast come out and threatens him. The beast says that either Mr.Huston comes back with one of his daughters, or he comes back and dies. When The family here's this story, Beauty know that she must go live with the beat to save her fathers life. My favorite parts of the book are when beauty finally starts to realize that she is in love with the beast. I recommend this book to anyone that likes romance and mystery. Overall, it was a very good book and I intend in reading it again soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    One of my all time favorites. Beautifully written and engaging r

    One of my all time favorites. Beautifully written and engaging retelling of the classic. Robin McKinley does a superior job of weaving breath taking descriptions, lovable characters and humor into this superb book. I highly recommend this book to everyone. 
    All read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    Saw this a lot on the shelves. Finally read it and it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    I really enjoyed this fairytale rendition. Even though I knew wh

    I really enjoyed this fairytale rendition. Even though I knew what was coming, I like how it portrayed the story. It was sweet and I felt good after reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    This has  been my absolute favorite book since I first read this

    This has  been my absolute favorite book since I first read this book twenty years ago. It is McKinley's most simple writing style, yet in my opinion, the most exquisite. It is innocent enough for young girls wanting romance and deep enough for mature women, wanting to revisit the true depth of unconditional love. I read this novel at least once a year. I am buying two more copies right now. One for myself (since my current copy is falling apart) and one for my five year old daughter, who listened (and enjoyed) me reading Beauty to her aloud. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    This was a beautiful tale of love and family and I enjoyed every word and I am sure I will be rereading it in the future~ Under the Covers

    Beauty Huston has always hated her nickname, it seems at total odds with her skinny and plain appearance and with sister as fair as she is plain it seems a cruel joke. But despite their differing looks the Huston family are close and loving and when their fortunes change for the worse they stick together and make a life in the country. But, one night Beauty’s father gets lost in the forest only to come upon a mysterious castle where he makes a terrible mistake and must repay steeply with one of his daughters…

    I have been meaning to read this book for a while and I am so glad I did, I quickly devoured the tale of family and loose and love and it left me hungering for more. What I found fascinating about this book was the way it was written, it felt like an oral tale that had finally been written down, ready for some one to pick up and read a loud.

    But, I am a huge romance junkie and I loved the parts where Beauty and the Beast were together and Beauty slowly overcomes her fear of him and starts to see beyond just his terrifying appearance and to the lonely man beneath.

    This was a beautiful tale of love and family and I enjoyed every word and I am sure I will be rereading it in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    You Should Read This!!!

    I borrowed this book from a friend years ago and have been looking for it since. She lost the book after i gave it back so i wasn't sure who the author was or what it was called and it wasn't in the same spot in store. Once i finally found it though i just had to get it and it was even better reading it this time around!!
    I am a Disney fan and all but this is WAYYY better than the movie! You can really picture everything and its so realistic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!

    Beauty has never liked her nickname. She is thin and awkward; it is her two sisters who are beautiful. But what she lacks in looks she can perhaps make up for in courage.

    When her father comes home with the tale of an enchanted castle in the forest and the terrible promise he had to make to the Beast who lives there, Beauty declares she must go to the castle, a prisoner of her own free will.

    Having two older sisters named Grace and Hope, Honour is nicknamed Beauty and it sticks. While her sisters grow into their names, Beauty feels just the opposite. Upon a financial disaster, the family moves from their comfortable rich life in the city to a small cottage in the country to begin anew. After her father's return from the city, a single enchanted rose is gifted to Beauty. BUT you know the tale--the father met the Beast who demanded one of his daughters in exchange for his life, because he dared to pluck a rose.

    I adored this story. I remember attempting to read it when I was much younger, but I loved reading it again years later. No lie, Beauty and the Beast is my favorite fairy tale, but this retelling is wonderfully romantic and full of charm. Lots of magic and castles, Beauty truly brings to life a sweet relationship. I especially enjoyed how Robin McKinley didn't alter the tale and kept it as original as possible and her expansion of the characters made the book even more wonderful!

    Likes: That Beauty is known more for her brains & guts than just a pretty face.

    Dislikes: Her answer to the Beast asking her every night for her hand in marriage . . . so sad!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12