Customer Reviews for

Beauty: The New Basics

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    best buy for your beauty regimen

    This is a must have book. I have read and reread beauty mags for years and this cuts through the silliness and hullabuloo. She is concise, honest and gives great alternatives to the high priced beauty lines. I have not made a mistake purchase since I had this book and I have minimized my beauty regimen. Thanks Rona!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    Excellent Book

    I am pretty much new to skincare as well as makeup although I am in my thirties. This book is extremely awesome and detail!!! I went thru a phase of trying each and every different brand but kept on getting break outs!!! Had I have puchased this book earlier I would not have had my face experience all that torture!!!! HA! I must have book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Loved It!

    I have no skills when it comes to makeup, hair, skincare, etc. This book has helped me so much. It taught me the importance of taking care of yourself and showed me how easy it is to do it. I encourage you to read this book if you have ever left the makeup counter thinking, 'what did I just buy and how the heck am I going to put it on?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    an incredible must have

    If you have ever felt confused or cheated in the beauty world this book is for you. It clears the myths and false impressions and gives you realistic beauty instruction and advice. Everything is covered: make-up purchasing and application, haircare, excellent skincare section, aging and much more. I love it an will buy it a Christmas presents for several woman in my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    awsome

    I am a beauty advisor at walgreens and a lot of people come to me for my advice. I get about 99% of all my knowledge out of this book. Customers are very impressed with how much I know. This book is practically the bible of beauty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    A Prettier Me!

    This book gives GREAT tips on haircare (including how to dye + the different types of dye), skincare, body, nails! You name it. My makeup never looked so flawless!!! This is a must have for all ages!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    African Americans Included

    I have had a hard time finding books that include beuty basics for all races. This book is excellent. The author goes to great lengths to include all people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    Absolutely worth it

    This book is really very helpful, but worth it's weight in gold for one of it's bath soaks. I'm a water aerobics instructor who was having trouble with dry skin from chlorine. I wouldn't have found the soak if I hadn't bought the book, and it worked better than any other commercial product I've tried! I'd highly recommend it for it's homemade remedies for skincare problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    Well-Rounded, No-Nonsense

    An excellent book for learning about how to take care of yourself so that you don't need to spend a lot on beauty products. Great advice on which brands of products to buy (both drugstore and high-end). Deals more with skin care (face and body) than makeup advice, but then, if your skin is in good shape, you don't need much makeup. Chapter on hair, chapter on hands and feet, also touches on plastic surgery and other alternatives. Geared toward all ages, makeovers use real women. Highly recommended, Berg really knows what she's talking about. Ought to be required reading (wish I could hand them out on the street!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    The book of knowledge...

    Essentially one of the best beauty books you can buy. Rona Berg touches every topic from skin care to make-up to hair to home spa treatments. Since the author is non-promotional she leads readers through the salespitches with her own best product recommendations for every skin and hair type. Enclosed in the back entry are a list of well recommended shopping locations to find the perfect product, spa, hair salon,.... <br>As a 21 year old who had no one to teach me the do's and dont's or the importance of facial skin care this is what I call the Bible. I had always feared using a product because of not knowing what was REALLY in the buy. After all who knows what we're putting on our faces/hair/body?? This book explained ingrediants and what to look out for. It proved you don't have to buy the most expensive product to buy the best. Definatly worth the $20.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2002

    Very valuable

    Great book full of tips, do's and don'ts and a real enlightening guide for us who didn't had a clue on skin care or had a lack of information about products and all the available possibilities. THANKS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    Awesome Tips on Beauty

    This beauty guide was really interesting to read. It gave great information on skin and hair care. Also, it advised what to use and what not to use. I recommend it to all women and teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2002

    A 'must have'

    I am a 14 year old that is in love with make up. I love it and I must admit that I own too much of it. I don't wear a ton but I do love it. This book gives everyone of all ages tips and tricks of make up. Many recommendations to shops and certain brands of cosmetics. It's all about the beauty inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    A great one-for-all beauty book

    I really love this book. While most beauty books seem to cater to either teens or mature adults this book is made for everyone. There are no hard to follow instructions and it's full of great illustrations. There are product recommendations. And the book also focuses on the body, not just the face and hair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1