Customer Reviews for

Beauty Awakened (Angels of the Dark Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Heartbreaking, Funny, Action-Packed and Sexy!, BEAUTY AWAKENED,

Heartbreaking, Funny, Action-Packed and Sexy!,
BEAUTY AWAKENED, the 2nd installment of Gena Showalter's Angels of the Dark series is finally here and it was so worth the wait!

The book starts off with a young Koldo at the age of 7 years old. This was by far the most he...
Heartbreaking, Funny, Action-Packed and Sexy!,
BEAUTY AWAKENED, the 2nd installment of Gena Showalter's Angels of the Dark series is finally here and it was so worth the wait!

The book starts off with a young Koldo at the age of 7 years old. This was by far the most heartbreaking chapter I have ever read. A little boy starved for his mother's attention and love and getting nothing but hatred and abuse in return. No matter what he did to please her, she hated him and punished him more. We finally learn what happened to Koldo's wings and I sat here with a box of tissues balling me eyes out through this chapter. We also find out who his father is and I just can't decide who was worse, his mother or father. I finally decided they were both just as equally horrible. Poor Koldo!

Koldo is a warrior in Zacharel's Army of Disgrace, a group of warrior angels that are in danger of falling. I loved Koldo when he was introduced in WICKED NIGHTS but now he has my heart forever. I'm a sucker for the tortured souls and we all know Koldo went through torture when we learned his wings were removed but in this book we learn the full extent of the hell and anguish he went through. Koldo was the warrior with few words and no emotions, but he does have emotions. He just covers them up and pretends to not care because he is scared of rejection. Through everything that he has been through he still fights for what's right and he's a hero which he proved in WICKED NIGHTS when he made huge sacrifices to save his leader Zacharel. When he learns to open up and discovers his feelings for Nicola he is also very possessive but in a sweet, melt your heart kind of way.

Nicola and her twin sister Laila were born premature and with underdeveloped hearts. They have lived their lives not truly living at all due to fear of overdoing it and having a heart attack. They both know they don't have long to live but they are too weak and scared to fight. Nicola isn't a kick ass hero like Annabell was in WICKED NIGHTS but she is awesome in her own rights. Nicola is the stronger sister, always looking out for and taking care of Laila who is the weaker more afraid sister. She's easy going but not a doormat and she's not afraid to stand up for herself and let anyone push her or her sister around. She's kind, good hearted and funny and I really enjoyed her character.

Koldo first notices Nicola while on a mission in a hospital. He finds Nicola leaning over a very sick, almost dead Laila. He notices right away that they are both being poisoned by demons who are shadowing their every move and are filling them with toxins. They feed on their fear, sadness, pain, doubt and any other negative emotions and the demons are slowly killing them both. Koldo takes an interest in Nicola and decides he's going to teach her how to get rid of the demons and keep them away for good. Because to have any shot at living, they need to keep the demons away for good.

A lot of the healing Koldo teaches Nicola and Laila was all about the power of positive thinking. Some people may be put off by this but I truly believe that positive thinking does help. If you think negative thoughts then those thoughts will start to bring you down. We may not have demons sitting next to us feeding us negative thoughts and toxins like the sisters do, but to me negative thoughts and words are toxins. If you think negative about yourself you start to believe it and live it. I love how Gena incorporated this into her story.

This book is NOT full of steamy sex scenes like some of Gena's other books. There is pretty much one full on sex scene but there is plenty of sexual tension. Both Koldo and Nicola are virgins and Nicola needs to take things slow otherwise her heart can give out. This book has just the right amount of sex and tension for these two characters and I think Gena told their story perfectly! Honestly, I get tired of the hero and heroine jumping into the sack by the 100th page of books. It takes a talented author to write a romance book with only one actual sex scene and keep it sexy but if anyone can pull it off its Gena and she totally nailed it!

We get to see a lot of Axel and Thane is this book. While Axel acts extremely immature, you can't help but LOL at his crazy antics and the absurd things that come out of his mouth. Thane was on a mission to take out the demons responsible for killing someone they all cared dearly for. AND....for all you Lords of the Underworld fan girls out there, William makes an appearance! Squee!!

Overall this book was incredible! It was heartbreaking at moments and LOL funny the next. It was sexy without a lot of sex and full of non-stop action. BEAUTY AWAKENED book pulled me in from the very first page and consumed me to the last.

*ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review.

I give BEAUTY AWAKENED 5 out of 5 skulls

posted by Book_Monster_Reviews on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

CAUTION!!!! THIS IS NOT A REVIEW ON THE BOOK, BUT ON THE AUTHOR........

CAUTION!!!!
THIS IS NOT A REVIEW ON THE BOOK, BUT ON THE AUTHOR........

What to say? I feel very conflicted about my review. It feels wrong to be writing this but.... WTH! I was hoping Last Kiss Goodnight was an exception, but I guess not. It felt like Sunday...
CAUTION!!!!
THIS IS NOT A REVIEW ON THE BOOK, BUT ON THE AUTHOR........

What to say? I feel very conflicted about my review. It feels wrong to be writing this but.... WTH! I was hoping Last Kiss Goodnight was an exception, but I guess not. It felt like Sunday church school. I've deleted this sentence like 10 times because I just don't know how to continue without being harsh, but I think GS might be at a point where she is going to be acquiring a completely different kind of reader and saying goodbye to her old ones (you know, the ones that obsessed, laughed, cried and set reminders on their phones for her release dates? ya, those.) I gave her last book 3 stars because I couldn't bring myself to rate her any lower. It just felt wrong. But now I'm just so upset :( I think, to new GS readers, this book is perfectly adequate and if it was a Young Adult book, it would have been great. But for me it was a complete let down. She just jumped off my purchase list. I'm not quitting her, but I will definitely be getting her books from the library from now on. I read 331 pages of Young Adult at best, Christian Fantasy Romance easily, at worst, but definitely not what I thought I purchased. Not making that mistake again. Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me, but fool me three times? Oh no no no!

I have extremely low expectations for the following books, and don't even want to think about what she's going to do to the Lords. It's really quite tragic, I feel like crying just thinking about it. The worst part is that I don’t mind her new PG-13 way so much…….. well, okay fine, I do mind it, a lot actually, but I could live with it if it meant having her in my life. It’s the overkill that REALLY bothers me. I don’t even nag to my kids this much. I mean WOW! It felt like a really draining therapy session, or a visit to my mother in laws. The moral lessons should definitely be kept to a minimum. Less is more is a good rule to follow in this case.

With that said and all kidding aside, I actually feel really sad and let down at this new turn in her writing. I look forward to her books sooooo much, and to be left with this feeling of dissatisfaction is a real bummer. I always read her books on the release day, usually in one sitting and right away get on the phone to let everyone know how good it was, what to expect and give away spoilers to those who want them. I read it two days ago and haven’t called anyone. I’m always so excited and can’t wait to talk to someone about it. I feel no excitement at all. How sad is that :(

posted by jmelissan2 on February 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    CAUTION!!!! THIS IS NOT A REVIEW ON THE BOOK, BUT ON THE AUTHOR........

    CAUTION!!!!
    THIS IS NOT A REVIEW ON THE BOOK, BUT ON THE AUTHOR........

    What to say? I feel very conflicted about my review. It feels wrong to be writing this but.... WTH! I was hoping Last Kiss Goodnight was an exception, but I guess not. It felt like Sunday church school. I've deleted this sentence like 10 times because I just don't know how to continue without being harsh, but I think GS might be at a point where she is going to be acquiring a completely different kind of reader and saying goodbye to her old ones (you know, the ones that obsessed, laughed, cried and set reminders on their phones for her release dates? ya, those.) I gave her last book 3 stars because I couldn't bring myself to rate her any lower. It just felt wrong. But now I'm just so upset :( I think, to new GS readers, this book is perfectly adequate and if it was a Young Adult book, it would have been great. But for me it was a complete let down. She just jumped off my purchase list. I'm not quitting her, but I will definitely be getting her books from the library from now on. I read 331 pages of Young Adult at best, Christian Fantasy Romance easily, at worst, but definitely not what I thought I purchased. Not making that mistake again. Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me, but fool me three times? Oh no no no!

    I have extremely low expectations for the following books, and don't even want to think about what she's going to do to the Lords. It's really quite tragic, I feel like crying just thinking about it. The worst part is that I don’t mind her new PG-13 way so much…….. well, okay fine, I do mind it, a lot actually, but I could live with it if it meant having her in my life. It’s the overkill that REALLY bothers me. I don’t even nag to my kids this much. I mean WOW! It felt like a really draining therapy session, or a visit to my mother in laws. The moral lessons should definitely be kept to a minimum. Less is more is a good rule to follow in this case.

    With that said and all kidding aside, I actually feel really sad and let down at this new turn in her writing. I look forward to her books sooooo much, and to be left with this feeling of dissatisfaction is a real bummer. I always read her books on the release day, usually in one sitting and right away get on the phone to let everyone know how good it was, what to expect and give away spoilers to those who want them. I read it two days ago and haven’t called anyone. I’m always so excited and can’t wait to talk to someone about it. I feel no excitement at all. How sad is that :(

    25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What's Going On With This Author?

    Okay, seriously what has happened to the author? This book (and honestly the series so far) doesn't even seem like the same Gena Showalter who forced me to stay up into the wee hours of the morning just to finish one of her novels. Actually, I know what happened. According to her website, Showalter has found God which is great for her, not so great for the readers if it means a complete change to her writing style. Granted, a series about angels skates pretty close to the Christian tradition, but you only have to take a look at JR Ward's series to see it can be done without a lot of preachiness. Beauty Awakened reads like inspirational fiction which, again, is fine but not what her readers have come to expect. All of the snap, crackle and pop of her early writing as well as the sizzling chemistry between characters is completely gone. This book was about as sizzling as The Cat in the Hat. Never have I read a Showalter book where the sex scene was so vague and undescriptive. The funny thing is, for someone who's become more circumspect involving intimacy between characters she certainly has no trouble writing graphic violence which I really think has been ratcheted up lately (there's a scene involving the removal of an eye that is particularly grisly), not to mention heaping abuse, sexual and physical, on her characters which seems like overkill. Those issues coupled with the heavy Christian tone are the reason for the dismal rating. Abandoning this series won't be that much of a problem (although I'm still a teeny tiny bit intrigued by Thane, Bjorn and Xerxes), but I'm really worried about the continuation of the Lords of the Underworld series. Kane's story is next, and I can only hope the author rediscovers her mojo or another series will be ruined for me.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Another preachy disappointment

    This book is disgusting. Ever had a loved one die of heart failure? Well they just didn't think enough "happy thoughts" and probably had a demon inside them.

    I could go on and on about this Sunday school wannabe drivel, which as a former LoTU devotee saddens me, but I won't. Suffice it to say that Showalter's newly discovered outlook on life is severly negatively affecting her writing ability.

    I'm giving her one last shot - Kane's story - before writing her off completely and boycotting her forever.

    Sad, she HAD such promise and used to be such an amazing writer.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    This book really lacks the writing skill I've come to expect fro

    This book really lacks the writing skill I've come to expect from Gena.  It's a continuation of
    her "testimony" from her website. Hopefully now that she has it out of her system, she can get back to her
    exciting storytelling. What's happening to writers these days! First, Charlene Harris, then Christine
    Feehan and J.R.Ward, and Gena has  lost the ability to keep up to their standard of writing. I can only
    hope Kresley Cole and Alexandra Ivy don't follow down this path.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    WOW...!!!!!!

    THIS REALLY SUCKED!!!!
    I'd really like to offer an intelligent, ADULT review for an author that I have loyally followed for over a decade, but I find my intelligence sorely taxed by the dismal, juvenile, sermonizing crap that she has offered in the last year. I couldn't even finish this oneand as sad as I am to say it I won't waste my time and money on another one. The idea of her tangling Kane or any of my other faves from LotU or Alien Huntress up in this adolescent, kumbaya mess is disturbing. I' d rather use my own imagination than have another perfectly good hottie, alpha male or kick-butt herione turned into wimpy, whiney dull-as dishwater character in one of Ms. Showalter's new books.
    I wish her and her publishers the luck of their new target audience which obviously ISN'T those of us that have lined their pockets for the last couple of decades. I'll find another ADULT romantic fiction author to give my money to.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Decent

    The well written love scenes from "Lords..." & Wicked Nights are completely missing from this book.

    The end leaves MUCH to be desired.

    I REALLY hope Kane's book is written the way she normally writes.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    I am a huge Lords of the Underworld fan, but this new series is

    I am a huge Lords of the Underworld fan, but this new series is seriously lacking in the romance department.  The book was interesting and well written, but it it just didn't do it for me.  Sad, because I was really looking forward to this new series of hers.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Dissapointed

    Not like how she used to write. Has she overextended herself for her publishers? Her description for sex scenes was that of a ya novel. Used to be a die hard fan but im not too sure anymore.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    very disapointed in this book, although it had potential for a g

    very disapointed in this book, although it had potential for a great story it falls FLAT! I wish i could return it but I purchased it on my nook so i am stuck. I do not recommend this book, although i would recomend her previous series Lords of the Underworld. sorry

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Heartbreaking, Funny, Action-Packed and Sexy!, BEAUTY AWAKENED,

    Heartbreaking, Funny, Action-Packed and Sexy!,
    BEAUTY AWAKENED, the 2nd installment of Gena Showalter's Angels of the Dark series is finally here and it was so worth the wait!

    The book starts off with a young Koldo at the age of 7 years old. This was by far the most heartbreaking chapter I have ever read. A little boy starved for his mother's attention and love and getting nothing but hatred and abuse in return. No matter what he did to please her, she hated him and punished him more. We finally learn what happened to Koldo's wings and I sat here with a box of tissues balling me eyes out through this chapter. We also find out who his father is and I just can't decide who was worse, his mother or father. I finally decided they were both just as equally horrible. Poor Koldo!

    Koldo is a warrior in Zacharel's Army of Disgrace, a group of warrior angels that are in danger of falling. I loved Koldo when he was introduced in WICKED NIGHTS but now he has my heart forever. I'm a sucker for the tortured souls and we all know Koldo went through torture when we learned his wings were removed but in this book we learn the full extent of the hell and anguish he went through. Koldo was the warrior with few words and no emotions, but he does have emotions. He just covers them up and pretends to not care because he is scared of rejection. Through everything that he has been through he still fights for what's right and he's a hero which he proved in WICKED NIGHTS when he made huge sacrifices to save his leader Zacharel. When he learns to open up and discovers his feelings for Nicola he is also very possessive but in a sweet, melt your heart kind of way.

    Nicola and her twin sister Laila were born premature and with underdeveloped hearts. They have lived their lives not truly living at all due to fear of overdoing it and having a heart attack. They both know they don't have long to live but they are too weak and scared to fight. Nicola isn't a kick ass hero like Annabell was in WICKED NIGHTS but she is awesome in her own rights. Nicola is the stronger sister, always looking out for and taking care of Laila who is the weaker more afraid sister. She's easy going but not a doormat and she's not afraid to stand up for herself and let anyone push her or her sister around. She's kind, good hearted and funny and I really enjoyed her character.

    Koldo first notices Nicola while on a mission in a hospital. He finds Nicola leaning over a very sick, almost dead Laila. He notices right away that they are both being poisoned by demons who are shadowing their every move and are filling them with toxins. They feed on their fear, sadness, pain, doubt and any other negative emotions and the demons are slowly killing them both. Koldo takes an interest in Nicola and decides he's going to teach her how to get rid of the demons and keep them away for good. Because to have any shot at living, they need to keep the demons away for good.

    A lot of the healing Koldo teaches Nicola and Laila was all about the power of positive thinking. Some people may be put off by this but I truly believe that positive thinking does help. If you think negative thoughts then those thoughts will start to bring you down. We may not have demons sitting next to us feeding us negative thoughts and toxins like the sisters do, but to me negative thoughts and words are toxins. If you think negative about yourself you start to believe it and live it. I love how Gena incorporated this into her story.

    This book is NOT full of steamy sex scenes like some of Gena's other books. There is pretty much one full on sex scene but there is plenty of sexual tension. Both Koldo and Nicola are virgins and Nicola needs to take things slow otherwise her heart can give out. This book has just the right amount of sex and tension for these two characters and I think Gena told their story perfectly! Honestly, I get tired of the hero and heroine jumping into the sack by the 100th page of books. It takes a talented author to write a romance book with only one actual sex scene and keep it sexy but if anyone can pull it off its Gena and she totally nailed it!

    We get to see a lot of Axel and Thane is this book. While Axel acts extremely immature, you can't help but LOL at his crazy antics and the absurd things that come out of his mouth. Thane was on a mission to take out the demons responsible for killing someone they all cared dearly for. AND....for all you Lords of the Underworld fan girls out there, William makes an appearance! Squee!!

    Overall this book was incredible! It was heartbreaking at moments and LOL funny the next. It was sexy without a lot of sex and full of non-stop action. BEAUTY AWAKENED book pulled me in from the very first page and consumed me to the last.

    *ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review.

    I give BEAUTY AWAKENED 5 out of 5 skulls

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Still love G.S but miss the older style of writing

    This book isnt as bad as many of the reviewers are saying. For me its not in the same league as her usual kick ass heros, and witty women. But its about angels and something like angels. Now if youve read about angels in other books there is Usually a religious undertone so stop complaining about it being to preachie if you dont like the frame work for this book pick one of the older ones, they never dissapoint. The build up in the relationship was nice with some tension, not as hot as usual but a good read. Will i keep reading G.S. books definately! It sounds like a few of the other charaters will have a hotter story line and who says a committed relationship has to be dull.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'll make this short... The book was great. I loved the charact

    I'll make this short...
    The book was great. I loved the characters and I am in love with Koldo. This is the second installment to a new spin-off series. If you have not read the other series by GS than you will adore this book. However, if you're like me and have read and re-read everybook she wrote than you will have complaints similiar to the ones listed below. I still love GS books. I did enjoy this read and will continue to read her stories, but I do wish she would give us more of the love scenes from her other books. I gave this book 4 stars based on the book it self. If your new to this author I highly recommend you read her other books as well. If you are not reviewing this book than I suggest you leave your complaints on another site.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    So disappointed!

    Expected better. It is suited to a young adult reader. Absolutely no sizzle like her previous books.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Awesome

    I love Gena's books, I think she is one of the best writers ever..... This book is awesome and keeps your attention. Great work!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    5 Stars! Gena Showalter did it again! A wingless angel and a gi

    5 Stars! Gena Showalter did it again!

    A wingless angel and a girl tormented by demons. Is there redemption?

    "BEAUTY AWAKENED" pulled me in from the very first page and consumed me to the last. I'm in love with the Sent Ones “Angels of the Dark” . Gena Showalter is an amazing author and knows how to tell a story that keeps you entertained and intrigued. 

    What we get with “Beauty Awakened” is positive thinking, action, sexual tension and a little humor in this book. 
    The healing Koldo teaches Nicola and Laila is all about the power of positive thinking and if you think negative thoughts then those thoughts will start to bring you down. “You speak what you believe, and you believe you’re doomed. If there’s one thing I’ve learned throughout the years, it’s that what you believe is the impetus for your entire life.” The sexual tension is just right between the main characters and we get one full on sex scene. It takes a talented author to write a romance book with only one actual sex scene and keep it sexy and Gena nailed it! We also get to see a lot of Axel in this book. While Axel acts extremely immature “he adds the comic relief in this book”, you can't help but laugh at his crazy antics and the absurd things that come out of his mouth. We also get an appearance/snippet of William from the "Lords of the Underworld” series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    I really loved WICKED NIGHTS, so I was a bit reluctant to read B

    I really loved WICKED NIGHTS, so I was a bit reluctant to read BEAUTY AWAKENED assuming the second book in the series couldn’t possibly live up to the first. Well, I’m happy to report all my assumptions were incorrect. I should know by this point not to ever doubt Gena Showalter - she’s the queen of adult paranormal!

    First, let me say I fell absolutely in love with Koldo. His past was so rough my heart just broke for him. It’s pretty bad when you want to leap into the pages and hug a fictional character. Oh, but don’t think the sadness lessened the sexy because he was all of that too. Also, I just adored Nicola. She had some pretty big challenges of her own, yet she was so strong. You couldn’t read this book without cheering for her. But, the best part was when the characters came together. There was chemistry flying off the pages.

    The angel backstory and likable secondary characters left plenty of room for this series to continue. I really can’t wait for BURNING DAWN and I hope this is more than a three book series.

    Fans of Adult Paranormal Romance, Alpha Males, Strong Females, Off-the-Charts Chemistry, or Angels should definitely check out the ANGELS OF THE DARK series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Is it just me?

    Or does it seem like all anyone wants to read is erotica.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Oh, how I miss my former Gina S.  I read her latest book on Kold

    Oh, how I miss my former Gina S.  I read her latest book on Koldo..........left lots to be desired. I have been a loyal fan since discovering her very
    first book a couple of years ago, and have read EVERY book she's written.  Koldo's story was a good PG-13 read but greatly lacked the same sizzle and
    pizzaz of ANY of the others I've read.  I was frequently bored, and easily distracted - it was a difficult read because it was so, ummmm how
    shall I say this?  Preachy?  I don't have a problem with Christian literature, quite the opposite, I love it.  But if you're going to write a series-based
    book then stay true to the series!  I do not claim to have any expertise whatsoever as a writer, but I have oodles and scads of experience as a
    reader, and I say this book is a true departure from GS's genre style. If Faith-based stories are her new inspiration, I think that's commendable.
    But break the ties all together and start a new line of books with new plots and characters. Don't just turn the world she's created upside down and
    all luke-warm.  Change lanes and go in a totally new direction, honestly and openly. 
    I feel very disloyal because I have loved her work for so long.  She has made her characters believable and interesting - even the bad guys are
    fabulously detailed and deliciously rotten.  All the characters in this book are hohum and, well, shallow and fickle..  They lack depth and personality.
    Gina, I'm sorry.  I know this is a harsh review. Facts is facts, mam!
      

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I could not finish the book. I read the first book in the series

    I could not finish the book. I read the first book in the series and thought maybe it was just a slow start to a great series, however, I am not a fan. I loved LOTU series and thought this was going to be a great spin off but I was really disappointed. I had a really hard time getting into the charcters. It pains me that I had to stop reading the book at page 134. Maybe I will give it another try.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    Amazing I Loved this book BEAUTY AWAKENED is the 2nd instalment

    Amazing I Loved this book

    BEAUTY AWAKENED is the 2nd instalment of Gena Showalter's Angels of the Dark

    Cornelia was renowned for her exquisite beauty and she showered many with her kindness. There was one child however that no matter how he tried to please her she only held hatred in her words and actions for her son Koldo. The only life the child Koldo had known was the tortured by his mother and then when she was finished with him she had sent him to be thrown in a pit of serpent and to be tortured even more brutally by his father, but Koldo was not a child anymore.

    Koldo is a Sent Ones these are the Mighty One's warriors chosen to fight the evil demon of hell. Koldo however is part of the group known as the 'Army of Disgrace' these are the baddest of the bad the Sent Ones who were in danger of damnation and are led by Zacharel. Zachrel holds concern for Koldo so had made sure to partner him with a new partner each day and sent him out on mission to try to keep him from acting on his anger and doing something nothing they did would save him.

    Nicola and her twin sister Laila were born premature and both suffered with a heart defect. Always being bought up sheltered in all they did and having it drummed into them that if they weren't careful they would have a heart attack had made the girl forget how to live and be happy. This constant self doubt and insecurity also left them vulnerable and opened the way for their thought to be controlled by the demons.

    While Koldo and Axel were on a mission at the hospital Koldo is drawn to a room in which he finds a blond woman in a hospital bed with a redheaded woman sitting beside her. Koldo and Axel also notice the two demons standing either side of her drawn to her but compelled to his duty Koldo leaves and demands Axel go with him to complete their mission. Koldo knows he must go back and help the redhead, he hopes he can save her and when he does return he comes out from the shadows and makes her a bargain she can hardly refuse a chance to extend the time her sister has left but she must do as he requests when he requests no questions asked realising Koldo's request is not sexual Nicola immediately agrees.

    For both Koldo and Nicola their lives are about to change what was the reason for their union will turn out to be so much more. Koldo never thought he was deserved of love and never needed acceptance after the rejection and torture of his parents. Nicola had never imagined a life without heart break and fear, they are about to realise how wrong they are.

    Gena has truly done it again I loved this book and found myself totally immersed in the characters and storyline. I look forward to reading the next instalment to this series. Be sure to also pick up Book 1 in this series Wicked Night's which is Zacharel's story

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8