BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Beauty Detox Solution: Eat Your Way to Radiant Skin, Renewed Energy and the Body You've Always Wanted

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A MUST read, seriously!!!

Kimberly Snyder is amazing. The Beauty Detox Solution is a MUST read for anyone and everyone. You don't have to be a health food junkie, a vegetarian, raw foodist or vegan to benefit from the knowledge she offers in her new book, The Beauty Detox Solution. I am an avid ...
Kimberly Snyder is amazing. The Beauty Detox Solution is a MUST read for anyone and everyone. You don't have to be a health food junkie, a vegetarian, raw foodist or vegan to benefit from the knowledge she offers in her new book, The Beauty Detox Solution. I am an avid meat eater. I love sugar, caffeine, cheeseburgers, fries, diet coke, cheese & crackers, brownie sundaes, sushi, and the list goes on. However, now that I'm over the ripe old age of 32, I've noticed a few "changes" and I'm not overly stoked on these so-called "changes". So, after having followed Kimberly's blog for the past year or so, I decided I ought to check out her new book. Well, Kimberly flipped my world upside-down. My refrigerator is now chalk-full of produce (it was previously empty or full of microwavable meals). I bought a new blender, canning jars, a new cutting board and knives! I'm only 1/4 of the way through her book, but I'm already addicted to her Glowing Green Smoothie and I now have something "green" with every meal. Her Beauty Food Pairings concept is incredible, but I have to say, I think I hate her for it. I so enjoyed living obliviously, thinking I was eating healthy and getting the proper nutrients through my current (prior to last week) diet. Kimberly has opened my eyes; and I'm really looking forward to reading the rest of her book, not to mention trying all her recipes. They sound so tasty and are easy to follow, even for those non-chef types (aka, me). I'm a 32 year old competitive roller derby girl who exercises six times a week, eats a ton of protein and counts calories; but my energy is low, I feel like I'm running on empty and I'm losing weight, not to mention muscle mass. This is no bueno. I'm really hoping that Kimberly's Beauty Detox Solution will be the life change that I've been wanting and needing for so long. I have the feeling her wealth of knowledge, easy to follow recipes and Beauty Tips are the keys to increasing my energy, improving my skin and the re-creating the body I had when I was 21! Buy The Beauty Detox Solution today! And don't forget to check out her website and blog. I swear it will change your outlook on healthy eating, inner & outer beauty and life in general. This book is not just about losing weight. It's about making a conscious decision to make a positive change in your life that will affect you, your family and your environment for years to come! Oh, and did I mention that a portion of all proceeds (10% to be exact) from the sale of her book are donated to SeeYourImpact. Now that's AWESOME! OK, I'm done, now go and buy the book already.

posted by Meech1209 on April 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

I notice this book do not provide the specific "guidelines or plan" to follow. It seems like pages or chapters are missing. Do not recommmend....I WOULD LIKE A REFUND! VICKIE

posted by 8060797 on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    A MUST read, seriously!!!

    Kimberly Snyder is amazing. The Beauty Detox Solution is a MUST read for anyone and everyone. You don't have to be a health food junkie, a vegetarian, raw foodist or vegan to benefit from the knowledge she offers in her new book, The Beauty Detox Solution. I am an avid meat eater. I love sugar, caffeine, cheeseburgers, fries, diet coke, cheese & crackers, brownie sundaes, sushi, and the list goes on. However, now that I'm over the ripe old age of 32, I've noticed a few "changes" and I'm not overly stoked on these so-called "changes". So, after having followed Kimberly's blog for the past year or so, I decided I ought to check out her new book. Well, Kimberly flipped my world upside-down. My refrigerator is now chalk-full of produce (it was previously empty or full of microwavable meals). I bought a new blender, canning jars, a new cutting board and knives! I'm only 1/4 of the way through her book, but I'm already addicted to her Glowing Green Smoothie and I now have something "green" with every meal. Her Beauty Food Pairings concept is incredible, but I have to say, I think I hate her for it. I so enjoyed living obliviously, thinking I was eating healthy and getting the proper nutrients through my current (prior to last week) diet. Kimberly has opened my eyes; and I'm really looking forward to reading the rest of her book, not to mention trying all her recipes. They sound so tasty and are easy to follow, even for those non-chef types (aka, me). I'm a 32 year old competitive roller derby girl who exercises six times a week, eats a ton of protein and counts calories; but my energy is low, I feel like I'm running on empty and I'm losing weight, not to mention muscle mass. This is no bueno. I'm really hoping that Kimberly's Beauty Detox Solution will be the life change that I've been wanting and needing for so long. I have the feeling her wealth of knowledge, easy to follow recipes and Beauty Tips are the keys to increasing my energy, improving my skin and the re-creating the body I had when I was 21! Buy The Beauty Detox Solution today! And don't forget to check out her website and blog. I swear it will change your outlook on healthy eating, inner & outer beauty and life in general. This book is not just about losing weight. It's about making a conscious decision to make a positive change in your life that will affect you, your family and your environment for years to come! Oh, and did I mention that a portion of all proceeds (10% to be exact) from the sale of her book are donated to SeeYourImpact. Now that's AWESOME! OK, I'm done, now go and buy the book already.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    I want a refund!

    What a waste of time and money. With the amount of info in this book, she could have written a pamphlet. She repeats the same crap throughout and even uses the same wording. She rambles on about how you really have to be vegan and eat raw for months to get a proper cleanse and be healthy. Some of her big secrets include home made sauerkraut and enemas. But the worst part is, she doesnt even tell you what you should be eating! If i could give negative 5 stars, i would. I want my money back!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Horrible

    I notice this book do not provide the specific "guidelines or plan" to follow. It seems like pages or chapters are missing. Do not recommmend....I WOULD LIKE A REFUND! VICKIE

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    As a holistic health coach I have studied many different dietary

    As a holistic health coach I have studied many different dietary theories and I understand that each of us are different. What works for one person may not work for the next. This book does not talk about a diet but rather a lifestyle on how to eat healthy real foods. The author explains why and how you should eat a certain way to detoxify naturally so you can free your body of precious energy that can be used to look and feel your best. I love the recipes and now crave the glowing green smoothie that is in this book. Try this way of eating for 21 days and see what it can do for you. It's worth a shot. While we are all different I found the information in this book to be helpful for me to make better eating choices that show real results.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Must read for all those aspiring towards their health goals

    I have been playing with the idea of becoming a vegetarian for about a year now. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE my meat but one day as I was chomping down on my most favorite beef BBQ rib from Daisy May's when I realized that I was easting a dead, rotting animal and that there was no way in the world that I could be getting any nutrition from eating something dead. From then on it was pretty touch and go as far as my dedication to vegetarianism, sometimes I would go a few days as a Veg and other days I would crave a burger or my famous chicken cutlets. Then, one day last July as I returned from international travel, I was plagued with an illness (which had me lose 40 lbs in 8 weeks) that would not subside (and which no Dr can diagnose) for over 7 months. I decided something needed to be done and I HAD to change my diet.

    I became a strict Vegetarian at this point, refraining from all animal products accept eggs and dairy. I got better for about 6-7 weeks from Halloween to Thanksgiving ( until, yet again, I fell ill when I returned from local travel (this time). Throughout this time I found a problem transitioning into a Vegetarian diet through loss of appetite, time, availability and just succumbing to cravings for animal products but due to my condition, I knew I had to stop making excuses and find something to better aid in my transition. This book did just that!

    Most of the information included in this book is basic nutritional knowledge and if you are athletic or study materials on maintaining a healthy lifestyle, you will already know and understand these concepts. With that being said, I still felt as if I needed to have some guidelines, lists and support to make better choices and meal plans when I'm home or on the go. Growing up in a family where we ONLY ate at home (I didnt know what Chinese food was until I was 10!) eating "healthy" wasn't an issue but this book just brings a whole new meaning to the word "healthy".

    If you're into fad diets and looking for quick results, this book is not for you (although I did lose 15 lbs in the first 2 weeks from eliminating meat and dairy alone). If you're looking for a way to better your lifestyle, longevity and improve your overall health, this is the book would be a great start to help you in reaching your ultimate goals!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Evolution

    It would cut 150 pages out of this book if we didnt have to hear about how we should be vvegetarians like gorillas. A few helpful tips of food combing, and eating light to heavy but thats about it.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Basic n valuable read for a healthier you

    I just started my journey in eating healthier and educating myself on what to eat, when and how often. This book explains how our system works and how to improve how we feel by eating the right combination of foods. It is about optimizing our energy and feeling good inside and out. It all makes sense to follow a plan that works.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    I can't wait!

    I read her blogs all the time, so i know it'll be a great read, I can't wait! She's an amazing person and she always personally replies to all my e-mails with questions about health even though she's super busy, gotta love her!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Great book

    I was lucky enough to interview the author, shes amazing. Her passion comes through in this book. I highly recommend reading it cover to cover. I recently gave up meat and went back to this book, I rediscovered all the wonderful information she provided. If you have seen any food documentaries, all the info is in this book, gathered first hand by the author through her travels. My beauty energy is off the charts now, clear glowing skin and healthy digestion! I highly highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    recommended

    great meal ideas. teaches you a new way to eat and be healthy

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Finally a health and beauty book that has it all

    This book really makes it easy to understand how to eat healthy and lose weight. I followed Kimberly's blog for a long time and she really knows her stuff. I highly recommended this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    AN AMAZING BOOK! A MUST READ

    Bought the book this morning! Love it! There is so great information in it that
    I am learning that I cant put it down!! I highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Thought Provoking Read!

    The Beauty Detox Solution book was an interesting read. It helped me to re-think my way of eating in general. I strive to incorporate as I learn. The process is a challange to how I am used to eating, but I am seeing gradual results.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Wake Up Call

    I just got the book yesterday and i'm in love with it, i've been trying to find books to help me start a raw/ vegan diet and this book really helped me understand what food was doing to my body. It's a must read for anyone wondering what milk, meat and bread is doing to your body and how eating certain things can make a world of difference for your looks and energy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Nook version more than Kindle

    I wanted to get this on my nook, but it's priced higher than the kindle version (only 8.49). Barnes & noble, please reconsider your pricing!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - especially if you want to get healthy!!

    Kimberly Snyder is a wealth of knowledge learned from her travels all over the world studying different diets of different cultures. Her beliefs about food consumption make sense and are highly informative. I learned so much from her book. Although I can't say that I will adopt her diet 100%, as I can't give up cheese, I will adopt most of the important principles I learned from this book, along with the Glowing Green Smoothie for breakfast! YUMM!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    This book makes sense to the uninformed- pus milk? We should eat

    This book makes sense to the uninformed- pus milk? We should eat like gorillas? The only nutrient deficient from a vegan diet is B12?we should only eat fruit alone or it will ferment in your stomach? Don't drink water with your meals because it dilutes enzymes in your stomach? Your body is pretty smart. I eat tons of vegetables And fruit with my meals- no fermenting in my stomach. She's has no education and passing herself off as a nutritionist...I tried green smoothie- tastes gross- eat vegetables whole. She talks about anyone who eats meat looks old, dairy causes acne. I drink dairy- yogurt. I follow the Mediterranean diet and am healthy.the book is pure crap and will lead to vitamin/ mineral deficiencies. I had a friend who took it seriously and ended up anemic and it did not help her acne- there are other causes of scene besides diet. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    ** Very interesting read **

    The book is very interesting and full of facts. It has great receipts and all... my problem with it is that its so hard to get this was and in this order. It will be a slow lifestyle change. The morning green juice is actually very doable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Great book

    this is a key tool to stay healthy in life, this is a must have book for anyone who want to stay health

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    This book is awesome. I checked the book out at the library and

    This book is awesome. I checked the book out at the library and couldn't put it down, so I went ahead and added it to my collection. I like the fact that she breaks down the detox into managable steps to achieve the ultimate goal of life long health. I also like the fact that she doesn't just make statements, but gives references to all of the information that she shares to help her reader's make a lifestyle change to live in Beautiful Bliss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7