Customer Reviews for

Beauty, Disrupted: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This was a very depressing book, but I have high hopes for Carre

This was a very depressing book, but I have high hopes for Carre Otis's recovery. She seems to be a strong woman with a spirit that can survive any trauma. She is very open and honest about her troubled life.

posted by DrCA on December 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Is it really?

The cover is in my library. I paid for it, but I received a completely different book. Anyone else?

posted by msnet47 on October 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This was a very depressing book, but I have high hopes for Carre

    This was a very depressing book, but I have high hopes for Carre Otis's recovery. She seems to be a strong woman with a spirit that can survive any trauma. She is very open and honest about her troubled life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    A Truly Riveting Story......

    This is one of the most enthralling and riveting stories I have ever read. I couldn't put the book down. I literally read the whole book in less than a day. I loved how honest and open Carré was about her life. I am not a person that follows celebrities. I don't read tabloids or watch shows of that nature on the TV. However, for some reason I felt drawn to read this book. I now know why. I have also been through many of the traumas that Carré talks about in her book. I modeled for a while when I was younger (no where near the same status). I've endured molestation as a child, rape as a teenager, a horribly abusive relationship and have somehow come out the other side healed, extremely happy and in a very loving relationship/marriage. Carré’s life story is more common than most would think or want to acknowledge. We as humans tend to brush the "bad" under the rug and pretend that it doesn't happen. But it does and it shatters many lives. Hopefully, this book will reach those who truly need it as her messages about body image and self love are very strong. There is life after abuse (whether self inflicted or inflicted by others). You can find your inner strength, forgive, heal and have a happy and healthy life. I absolutely LOVED this book. A must read for sure! :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Same problem

    Book cover appears in library but the actual book is one about Great Aunties with a pink cover.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    When I bought this book, I had no idea who Carre was (I'm only 2

    When I bought this book, I had no idea who Carre was (I'm only 22).  I hesitated buying this book because I could really care less about celebrities, but something told me that I should get this book, and I'm glad I did. I thought that Carre told her story with such raw honesty and the book was very captivating. As someone else already stated in their review, the horrible things that happened to Carre are more common than people like to think. Carre addresses these issues and talks about the need for change. She has come out on the other side as a very strong woman who has found healing. Towards the end of the book I found myself tearing up because of some of the revelations she brings.

    I was in an emotionally abusive relationship, have suffered from sexual assault and abuse, and have also suffered from and eating disorder, all for several years.  Reading about how much Carre's life has changed gives me so much hope to continue on my healing journey.  I truly recommend it to anyone who has a similar story to Carre's.

    With all of that being said, I'm giving the story only 4 stars because I really wished that Carre had addressed the eating disorder part a bit more. She claims to have suffered for ten years, but she didn't mention it until the last section of the book. I know first-hand that an eating disorder affects your every day life, whether you acknowledge it at the time or not. I really wish she would have addressed her struggle with that a bit more and her time in therapy.  I do understand though that recollecting every single memory can be hard, especially in that state of mind because it becomes hard to remember things. I also found it a little annoying how Carre claimed to love every single person she dated, even if they only dated for a month. I think maybe Carre's spirituality plays a part in this; maybe her belief is that everyone can love each other. But that part doesn't really affect my review, it's more of just a personal opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    The best!

    This was a truly poignant memoir and Carre grew up in my day. For me this was a very interesting and well-written account of her life which was by no means run-of-the-mill. Congratulations to Carre for reformulating her life for a truly heathy and happy one. I loved her book and I love memoir!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Great book!! Could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1