Customer Reviews for

Beauty from Pain

Average Rating 4.5
( 318 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(227)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Great read!!!!!

I loved everything about this book!!!! Except for the fact that I have to wait 5-6 months for the sequel. Add another to the to be read list. I don't know about anyone else,but by the time the next one comes out I have to read the first one again. A hazard of reading so...
I loved everything about this book!!!! Except for the fact that I have to wait 5-6 months for the sequel. Add another to the to be read list. I don't know about anyone else,but by the time the next one comes out I have to read the first one again. A hazard of reading so much or old age?

posted by angelalm66 on February 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

I refuse to buy this book now

Im so glad i read the reviews before buying this book . It sounds like a good book but i also forget the story by the time the sequel comes out so , maybe ill wait until the whole story cones out (however many books that may be) but then maybe not, its likely i will fo...
Im so glad i read the reviews before buying this book . It sounds like a good book but i also forget the story by the time the sequel comes out so , maybe ill wait until the whole story cones out (however many books that may be) but then maybe not, its likely i will forget about it by then. I agree with the other reviewer " can't anyone write and release a WHOLE story?

posted by 1229908 on February 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 318 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    I refuse to buy this book now

    Im so glad i read the reviews before buying this book . It sounds like a good book but i also forget the story by the time the sequel comes out so , maybe ill wait until the whole story cones out (however many books that may be) but then maybe not, its likely i will forget about it by then. I agree with the other reviewer " can't anyone write and release a WHOLE story?

    36 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Good

    Can anyone write a full book anymore........

    35 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Great read!!!!!

    I loved everything about this book!!!! Except for the fact that I have to wait 5-6 months for the sequel. Add another to the to be read list. I don't know about anyone else,but by the time the next one comes out I have to read the first one again. A hazard of reading so much or old age?

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Ggggrrrrrr

    I am sick and tired of authors who feel they need to make every book a series that requires you to read them in order to get the full story. Take another six months and WRITE A FULL BOOK.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Let me begin by saying this is one of the best books that I have

    Let me begin by saying this is one of the best books that I have read this year and will definitely be in my top 10 of 2013.  I absolutely loved it.  In fact, I love all of Georgia Cate's books, but Beauty From Pain was a unique experience, one I won't soon forget.  Laurelyn Prescott finds herself in Australia with her friend Addison for 3 months, after experiencing a really difficulty breakup from a relationship, one in which she was completely and totally deceived and hurt.  She's a musician, but has walked away from it all, at least temporarily, to get away from the guy and the situation that has caused this.  She and Addison are staying with Addison's brother Ben, who has an apartment there.  When she meets Ben, he's obviously attracted to her, but that is the last thing Laurelyn wants, especially since it is her best friend's brother.  
    Jack Henry McLachlan is a multimillionaire, works in the wine business, and is one of Australia's most eligible bachelors.  He likes women, but he likes them with no strings attached, having found things just work better all the way around that way.  He "arranges" relationships with women, laying out the rules up front, rules which include fake names and a set time limit for the affair, but also promising them the time of their lives.  He has been as successful in doing this as has he has been in business, and he likes it that way.  It just so happens that his business has landed him in the same city that Laurelyn is in, and as fate would have it, they wind up in the same club one night in the town of Wagga Wagga, Laurelyn catches his eye, and Jack decides he must have her.    

    What begins as an "arrangement" begins to grow into so much more.  Jack AKA Lachlan Henry, soon finds himself breaking many of his own rules with Laurelyn AKA Paige Beckett.  He has feelings for her he hasn't had for anyone before, feelings he doesn't understand and tries to ignore.  It becomes clear that she cares about him for him, and not what he can do for her.  He treats her like a princess, and they grow to become really good friends, and the sex, well let's just say it is off the charts amazing.....more amazing than either of them has ever experienced before.  Despite Laurelyn's deepening feelings for Jack, she realizes that their relationship is nothing more than an "agreement", a verbal contract, and even though it many times seems like more, this truth is always foremost in her mind.  During their 3 months together they incur many different situations that completely change their original "arrangement," but when push comes to shove and it comes time to leave, will Jack decide to confess his true feelings, or will he be too late and lose Laurelyn forever?

     I loved Jack and Laurelyn's relationship and watching what it developed into, experiencing every emotion from one end of the scale to the other right along with them.  The chemistry between these two is so hot you can almost feel the flames as you read.  I stayed up to the wee hours of the morning because I could not put this book down, and the ending, well the ending killed me, and I mean that in a good way.  Rest assured that Georgia Cates gives you a little insight into what is coming next so you aren't crushed.  Beauty From Surrender is just going to be epic and I can't wait.  If you love hot, steamy, contemporary romance, then Beauty From Pain is a must read.  

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Anonymous

    I, also am glad I read the reviews before buying this book. This trend of sequels published months and even a year apart is rediculous. By the time they come out, who cares. The book is forgotten. The previous book would have to be read again and I don't do that.

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    Books of this subject matter are either hit or miss, and more of

    Books of this subject matter are either hit or miss, and more often than not, they are miss. However, not this one. I was pleasantly surprised by how well-written this book was, how the plot sucked me in, and how much I cared about these two characters. I'm disappointed I have to wait so long until the second book comes out, but that's how these things go. I definitely recommend for fans of this genre.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Must read!

    I loved how it was never long, boring, descriptive paragraphs but yet there was still detail. Characters were well-developed! Cannot wait for the sequel! :)

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Great read, but agree, WHY so many months for these sequals. You forget the previous book!

    Loved the book but the ending made me want to toss my nook! I was thinking I had another 40+ pages of great reading and SNAP it's over? And 5 months for #2 to come out. I recommend the book, but this waiting for months for sequals when you could have just written a couple more chapters is beyond me.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Amazing!!

    As much as i loved this book....i am so frustated with this whole "half a story" nonsense!! Cant anyone write a whole book anymore?? Regardless. I would reccomend this book whole heartedly and i will of course buy the next one as well!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    Is it just me or can no one write a stand alone book anymore? Th

    Is it just me or can no one write a stand alone book anymore? This book is good but could've been wrapped up by the end.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    This was a really good book. This is the first book that I have

    This was a really good book. This is the first book that I have read from this author and I cannot wait for the second book to come out.
    It was a nice love story and I can't wait to read the end of Laurelyn's and Jack Henry's story. I am kind of glad that there is a whole other
    book dedicated to their relationship instead of just ending it after they fall in love. Great story!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    It is so annoying that you can never get a full story in most of

    It is so annoying that you can never get a full story in most of these books. Loved the book & are mad that I have wait 2 months so see what happens.
    Althought I am sure they will end up together but stil ......

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    I agree with the other readers, one this book was great and it

    I agree with the other readers, one this book was great and it was not what I was expecting. And two I do wish they would put all in one book or have the second book come out earlier.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    I loved it. Just mad the sequel takes so long to come out. I und

    I loved it. Just mad the sequel takes so long to come out. I understand you want to keep people interested, but the long wait will only make people forget about the original book. Not having an ending leaves me disappointed. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    I guess this author should give most of her proceeds to E. L Jam

    I guess this author should give most of her proceeds to E. L James.  This book is another ripoff just like On Dublin Street

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    good story, but

    A finished story would entail just a few more chapters, very frustrating to have the end of the book blend into the author thank you notes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Highly reccomend Awesome!

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters captured my attention from the very first. Can't wait to see what happens next. The suspense is killing me. I would reccommend this for any one who likes a good love story .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    This was really good - but I am mad at myself for reading it bef

    This was really good - but I am mad at myself for reading it before the rest of the series was out. I have too many like that to keep track of these days - It's really annoying that authors can't just write one good book in it's entirety.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Loved it

    I loved this book from beginning to end, they mention a second comingsoon but dont give a date! I have been checking my nook weekly to find it :( anyone know when its due out? The suspence is killing me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 318 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16