Customer Reviews for

Beauty Queen

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

This was a great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

posted by BookaholicTracy on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

Easy read very predictable. Nothing worth paying for

posted by Dr.BF on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    This was a great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    Enjoyed the story!

    BEAUTY QUEEN is one of those type of stories that make you sad after the story has ended. I had a fun time and liked this book a lot. I think most people who read for fun will like it as much as I did!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Not bad

    Easy read very predictable. Nothing worth paying for

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    review by Cindy Austin Julia London has a wonderful trilogy sur

    review by Cindy Austin

    Julia London has a wonderful trilogy surrounding the Lear sisters. Launching out from a historical path, to a more modern one is a big success for Julia. Each sister has a different path; and all are affected when they find out that their father is dying.

    Rebecca; a former beauty queen, and sometimes mom (a nanny has practically raised her son)goes through a bitter divorce. Looking for a job when you have NO experience doing anything is almost impossible. Luckily, Rebecca is invited to help with a political campaign.

    Rebecca meets Matt under some strange circumstances, and they butt heads immediately. Rebecca has to learn who she is and what she wants in life. She is forced to find herself. Along the way, she learns about being a mom, and even finds that she has more talents than she ever knew were inside her. Matt, and their feud to be the best during the campaign is the inspiration she needs to find herself and her place in the world.

    A great read, I look forward to reading the remaining books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    slow

    not that good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It's okay

    I didn't like this one as much as the other Lear sisters books. I think the secondary storyline, (having to do with the political campaign) wasn't as well developed as it could've been. The romanctic storyline is cute, a tad predictable but cute. I like how the other Lear sisters are still involved. It's not my favorite Lear sisters book, but it's okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Whispersong this is for u

    Your mate needs u. Contact him at black first result

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    enjoyed, but just okay

    I do not mind trilogies, but I like to read them one after the other. This second story was predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Easy to read romance set in Texas

    I admit this was not exactly what I had hoped. The writing felt a little juvenile and I could not really believe the relatiinship between the two characters. It was an easy, light read with a good message about standing up for one's self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    GREAT READ

    Julie London's books are a great read for someone who wants a 'light' read and I would highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Loved it!!!

    This was so good I am reading them in order. Julia these are very good. I am really liking these Lear sisters. Nice reading very happy the stoties intertwine very nicely and are still very indivual I like that each sister has her own story!!!! XoXo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait for the next!

    This author was a VERY pleasant surprise! I am a avid reader and I gobbled the ENTIRE "Lear Sisters Trilogy'" books up! I couldn't put them down! RARELY can an author develop the characters and story to make the reader actually empathize and feel as if they KNOW the characters and are sharing TIME WITH these characters/places! I appreciate the author's skill at the story telling and development! I can't wait for the continuation.. until then; I shall reread these treasured stories THANK YOU Julia London?!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Good

    So like a good opk hope you like it if you do are doinr plese still give me some feed back hope yoy like it thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Wanted to read this after reading the 1st book in the series.

    The opener is funny. She's crazy and stubborn but learns a few things along the way. Great stuff. The hero is stuck on himself and not unlike a few guys I've met. But I loved the finale heated argument. worth reading the book for that to me. They definately have character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Abby

    Its not that awesome but it goood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Worth reading

    Loved how the last part of the story went and the child/male lead relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    good read

    Really enjoyed this book - characters were real and interesting and storyline was good. Will definitely read other books from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Hmmm...? Sounds good

    Ive read the other comments and listened to the comments they help me decide on what ill buy if its free i wont worry about others but this book sounds interesting i think ill go through with the purchase dont let me down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    A winner!

    Rebecca Lear had always been pretty, popular, and part of the wealthy Lear family. She had even been Miss Texas years ago. Now she was recently divorced, had a five-year-old son, Grayson, and trying to prove that she was NOT worthless, at least to herself. She decided to start with something small like a job, any job. But no one would hire her for anything! Rebecca had never been taken seriously in her whole life. She was sick of it! So when Senator Tom Masters asked her to join his campaign team, she was thrilled. ................ Lawyer Matt Parrish had been helping Tom campaign for lieutenant govenor. Tom even had thoughts about running for District Attorney sometime in the future, himself. Matt had been shocked when Tom made Rebecca his campaign strategist. She knew nothing about politics or the needs of Texas. In fact, from the moment Rebecca had called him cheap, she had managed to turn his life upside down and inside out. ........................... ***** Author Julia London has another winner here! Each character has a personality all their own. The story flows smoothly and a touch of humor keeps everything going at the perfect pace. An awesome story by one of today's most talented authors! Brava! *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    Well done tale of romance

    Everyone believes that Rebecca Reynolds lives the life of a princess with her being the middle daughter of the immense Lear holdings. However, the mother of a small son, her gilded cage crashes when her spouse leaves her for a younger model and her father announces he is dying from cancer. Her confidence smashed to smithereens, Rebecca looks for employment, but no one wants a former Miss Texas whose only experience is that of arm candy to her father and her husband............................. However that changes when State Senator Tom Masters asks her to help him with his campaign to become the Lieutenant Governor. Also working on the campaign is attorney Mike Parrish. As Mike and Rebecca work closely together, respect surfaces that soon turn to love. However, she begins to uncover questionable practices that if surfaced will derail the individual who deserves Rebecca¿s loyalty for giving her a chance to prove herself, but she wonders what will be the cost to her new found soul?............................... The second ¿King Lear¿ contemporary Texas romance is intriguing due to a delightful heroine. Though Mike is a fine protagonist struggling with the direction his legal partnership seems to be heading, the enjoyable story line belongs to Rebecca. She remakes herself into someone she can respect once she realizes how useless her life has been. Though her spouse comes across as a womanizing dirty rat who makes no time for his son, fans will appreciate this second chance at life and love story that works because Rebecca makes it so................................ Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6