Customer Reviews for

Beauty Queens

Average Rating 3.5
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Now if you'll excuse me, I have to go unscrew my smile!

Wow. I may not have been a crazy stalker fan of Libba Bray beforehand (the Gemma Doyle series didn't do anything for me - yes, you may duct-tape me now), but I think Beauty Queens has me wondering what crazy schemes this author will cook up next because I'm pretty sure ...
Wow. I may not have been a crazy stalker fan of Libba Bray beforehand (the Gemma Doyle series didn't do anything for me - yes, you may duct-tape me now), but I think Beauty Queens has me wondering what crazy schemes this author will cook up next because I'm pretty sure that I will be in that serving line! Even if it is chicken-tasting grub from some random island.

I realize that this book may not be for everyone - I wasn't even 1% sure if Beauty Queens would be my cup of tea. Yes, I was that uncertain of it. I kept glancing at the book in the bookstores, admiring the lipstick bullet belt concept, but unsure if I was ready for a leap of faith. So I borrowed it from the library and took the book out for a spin.

And holy smokes! Did Beauty Queens grab my attention from the get-go and shook me silly in a similar fashion that Miss Congeniality did? Except 200% more to the power of infinity and whatever goes beyond that? I think flying toasters might be involved in the beyond.

As far-fetched as Beauty Queens may sound, Libba Bray really applies her witty parody quite liberally like sunscreen - and I loved all her shout-outs and snark-outs that celebrated (or eulogized) all things pop culture. Everything was outrageous - everything, that is, except the message that it is okay to be yourself, even if that includes a little crazy or ugly or random. I cannot imagine how much FUN Ms. Bray had with re-inventing the world of pop culture because they are truly quite clever!

What really impressed me with Beauty Queens is how the girls were introduced to the readers via pageant bios and then the next chapter focused on digging deep into what makes them tick, even though everything was told in third-person. It really gave me enough time to connect with each girl and then gradually tie them as one large group into the main story arc. With so many characters to juggle around and decide who gets centerstage for certain moments, I give props to Libba Bray for managing to find a way to make it easy for the readers to befriend the characters. It almost felt like 4 years of high school with a class of 200+ individuals - you start off as strangers, but leave as one big family.

I think Libba Bray may very well be the next Douglas Adams or Joseph Heller in my book. Not a whole lot of authors can serve such a ridiculous dish of random that makes me clutch my stomach from laughing too hard and yet I couldn't stop from devouring the pages!

And for your reading pleasure (in truth, this is for my own because I probably inhaled a pepperoni up my nose when I read this snippet), bar none my favoritest quote from the book because the delivery is GOLDEN:

"I count the time like my hemorrhoids."
"TMI, MoMo."
"TMI to you, too, my darling."

Please excuse me while I ROFL with pepperoni up my nose. (Dear Readers, you may just want to go out and try this random slice of paradise.)

posted by epicrat on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Question..Can I have my brain cells back?

I picked this book up off a display and thought it would be absolutely hilarious and a great read because it was by Libba Bray, unfortunately it was a dissapointment. This book should be on the back shelf not on a display for everyone to see. If you can get over the mai...
I picked this book up off a display and thought it would be absolutely hilarious and a great read because it was by Libba Bray, unfortunately it was a dissapointment. This book should be on the back shelf not on a display for everyone to see. If you can get over the main characters ghaustly language and bimbo mindset then it might actually be good, but it drove me insane. There was just to much going on! From lesbian contestants to transexual contestants, to the undercover contestant, the contestant that somehow survives the entire time with a tray sticking out of her head and the contestant that loses her mind that was enough...then we have the reality TV show british hunky pirates that land on the island. You can't forget the military/corporation compound hidden on the island making arms deals with the Republic of ChaCha (??really??) that happens to be with a guy that dresses like Elvis?? AND being from Texas it was a little upseting that the Miss Texas contestant talks like she is the biggest redneck hick known to man..and she is the biggest bimbo of all minus the knowledge of using guns..then happens to be the one that goes completely insane...yeah...not cool.
To much for me..I mean you may like this but I would personally like my time and brain cells back. Saying this book was a dissapointment and a disaster is being nice.

posted by cara_ann on May 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Now if you'll excuse me, I have to go unscrew my smile!

    Wow. I may not have been a crazy stalker fan of Libba Bray beforehand (the Gemma Doyle series didn't do anything for me - yes, you may duct-tape me now), but I think Beauty Queens has me wondering what crazy schemes this author will cook up next because I'm pretty sure that I will be in that serving line! Even if it is chicken-tasting grub from some random island.

    I realize that this book may not be for everyone - I wasn't even 1% sure if Beauty Queens would be my cup of tea. Yes, I was that uncertain of it. I kept glancing at the book in the bookstores, admiring the lipstick bullet belt concept, but unsure if I was ready for a leap of faith. So I borrowed it from the library and took the book out for a spin.

    And holy smokes! Did Beauty Queens grab my attention from the get-go and shook me silly in a similar fashion that Miss Congeniality did? Except 200% more to the power of infinity and whatever goes beyond that? I think flying toasters might be involved in the beyond.

    As far-fetched as Beauty Queens may sound, Libba Bray really applies her witty parody quite liberally like sunscreen - and I loved all her shout-outs and snark-outs that celebrated (or eulogized) all things pop culture. Everything was outrageous - everything, that is, except the message that it is okay to be yourself, even if that includes a little crazy or ugly or random. I cannot imagine how much FUN Ms. Bray had with re-inventing the world of pop culture because they are truly quite clever!

    What really impressed me with Beauty Queens is how the girls were introduced to the readers via pageant bios and then the next chapter focused on digging deep into what makes them tick, even though everything was told in third-person. It really gave me enough time to connect with each girl and then gradually tie them as one large group into the main story arc. With so many characters to juggle around and decide who gets centerstage for certain moments, I give props to Libba Bray for managing to find a way to make it easy for the readers to befriend the characters. It almost felt like 4 years of high school with a class of 200+ individuals - you start off as strangers, but leave as one big family.

    I think Libba Bray may very well be the next Douglas Adams or Joseph Heller in my book. Not a whole lot of authors can serve such a ridiculous dish of random that makes me clutch my stomach from laughing too hard and yet I couldn't stop from devouring the pages!

    And for your reading pleasure (in truth, this is for my own because I probably inhaled a pepperoni up my nose when I read this snippet), bar none my favoritest quote from the book because the delivery is GOLDEN:

    "I count the time like my hemorrhoids."
    "TMI, MoMo."
    "TMI to you, too, my darling."

    Please excuse me while I ROFL with pepperoni up my nose. (Dear Readers, you may just want to go out and try this random slice of paradise.)

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Whatever-This book was AWESOME!

    If you can put your big girl panties on and read just for fun, read this! Beauty queens in a plane crash on a weird island? Like Lost but crazy in a whole different way. Yes-the commercial interruptions from the Corporation get a little old, and yes, if you really sit and think about it, the unrealistic-ness of this whole thing can get you down but if you can read and just get lost in a story and enjoy, then pick this up. I truly loved it and it takes a lot to impress me in a book!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    I totaly disagree with thw people who say this book is a disapointment. You dont need to be a girly girl to enjoy this book. Libba Bray covers every topic a teenage girl needs to here. Race, ethnic struggles, family problems, friendship issues, and the everyday battles a teen girl faces.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    B

    I have not read it yet but i want to..but i cant get anything that is not free so i would like barnes and nobel to make this book free! PLEASE SAY THIS WAS HELPFUL IF YOU AGREE!! :)

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Really funny

    *I thought it was funny and a great read, some part were ..... "interesting", good book in all!*

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Great!

    This book was kind of absured at first but once you got into the flow of the book it was amazing!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    :) soo goooood

    Read it! :)

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Super funny

    This book was super funny, I bursted out laughing reading it. Some people don't like it because it has alot of sex, and some other weird things going on like lesibean beauty queens, and transgendered ones. But it had alot of jokes in it. I didn't get some parts but overall it was a really good book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Wonderfully Funny

    This is Satire. for all you chicks with no sense of humor or just don't know what satire is: sat·ire Noun/'sa?ti(?)r/ 1. The use of humor, irony, exaggeration, or ridicule to expose and criticize people's stupidity or vices, particularly in the context of contemporary politics and other topical issues. I thought it was great but think the humor may lost on many younger adult readers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Hmmm

    I think a lot of these reviews are missing the point of this novel. The point of the book was to make the girls seem like stereotypical airhead bimbos, but as the story progresses, you learn more and more about each character and the whole plot becomes more in depth. I believe that Libba Bray is showing some kick @ss bravery by writing such a feminism based book, and thats why it has become so controversal.

    Also, Ive noticed people complaining about the lesbians and transexuals, but then complaining that the girls are too sterotypical. So basically they're saying I wish the characters where different, but not THAT different.

    Overall, this was a great read. I loved all of the footnotes and commercial breaks that give you a glimpse into the girl's world. I also liked how some of the footnotes were more praising the Corporation, while others were flat out declaring it evil, showing the power struggle between the two groups of people in a segregated society.

    Please please PLEASE do not let the negative comments turn you off from reading this book. They are only seeing it a surface level. Go deeper, and you will see that this is a kick @ss book for everyone, especially feminists,that is worthy of the support of Libba Bray fans. Congrats Libba on another great piece of art.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2012

    This is honestly my favorite book.

    Beauty Queens by Libba Bray has the most ridiculous summary of any book ever written. A bunch of beauty contestants gets stuck on an island which is actually the secret base of a corrupt corporation trying to take over the government and a republic with an insane leader. Also, sexy pirates. What you must must MUST do whilst reading this book is look past all of the ridiculousness. This book has an exaggerated version of our current society. The girls are expected to look pretty, be silent and apologize for whatever they say, even if they're not sorry.
    Yes, there are lots of characters in different situations. Yes, some parts of it are weird or cliched. And YES there are girls in this book who are not "smart". (To anyone using the term bimbo- finish the book and get your sexist selves slapped in the heads by the powerful words of Libba Bray, please.)
    These girls are just that! Teenage girls! Rather than going all Lord of the Flies power crazy, they form order and lifestyle and learn how wrong society has been treating them! They become sexually positive, confident and most importantly: true to themselves. They stop worrying about how they're supposed to act and just act however they really want to!
    This novel is one that literally changed my life and I would recommend to anyone looking for a true view of how society treats women and what we can do to overcome it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    hmmm..

    What age would you recomend this?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    I love Love

    I love the way that the author wrote this book and I felt like she really connected with the readers. It was so funny and it made me laugh. I love all of the characters and it would be hard for me to pick my favorite character. The ending though is quite strange but yet it is delivers a powerful message at the end and is developed throughout the whole story. I would recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Amazinnng!

    Hilarious and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Its a world of pretty

    This was the most fun I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Real good

    Pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Nigeria

    I am

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Y

    It is like a girl's version of lord of the flies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Love

    I'm listening on an audiobook right now and love it!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Loved it!

    Reminded me of "Lord of the Flies" meets "clueless" if you have a chance you should listen to the audio version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4