Customer Reviews for

Beauty for Ashes

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I was practically determined to not give this a 5-star rating--I

I was practically determined to not give this a 5-star rating--I have been giving so many lately. I also was not sure that I truly liked the characters or the story. But Dorothy Love has come out with a winner in this book! I have never read any book by her, but she is ...
I was practically determined to not give this a 5-star rating--I have been giving so many lately. I also was not sure that I truly liked the characters or the story. But Dorothy Love has come out with a winner in this book! I have never read any book by her, but she is definitely towards the top of my list now.

I did not realize that this book was part of a series, but I had no problem following it even though I did not read the first in the series. I was able to jump right into the action and get to know Carrie and Griff from the beginning. I was completely impressed with the wide variety of characters and realistic circumstances that the author put in this book. Nothing was sugar-coated, and some of the great tragedies truly touched me. It was nice to see an imperfect heroine and see how she dealt with it in light of her faith.

The message of the book truly struck a chord with me. It is the same message that I continue to read over and over lately. Find God's will, and then do it. Don't let the chance pass you by. God will provide for all your needs, and He cares about everything that concerns you. He will work it all for your glory--the bad things too.

I can relate a little bit to Carrie. I have a father that treats me very much like a slave (though I am a grown woman), and I am quite friendless and sometimes shunned--that is the story of my life! I know how it feels to continue to ask for God's will and seemingly receive no direction. It is so tough to not give up!

The Christian themes were placed in very natural places in the book. The reader was not beaten over the head with Christianity, and yet, it was there. It was neat to see that God could change anyone. And it was amazing the way God worked through various tragedies in the book. I was pleased to see that the author is working on a sequel to this one. I hope that she will tie up the minimal loose ends that she left. The book ended in the right way, but it was rather abrupt as well. My only complaint!

I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
fla

posted by ruthhill74 on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

‘Beauty for Ashes’ by Dorothy Love is quite a leisu

‘Beauty for Ashes’ by Dorothy Love is quite a leisurable an inspirational read. It reminds me that to have something better in life, sometimes, we need to leave what we already have behind in order to pursue for something better. We got to be brave, and be ...
‘Beauty for Ashes’ by Dorothy Love is quite a leisurable an inspirational read. It reminds me that to have something better in life, sometimes, we need to leave what we already have behind in order to pursue for something better. We got to be brave, and be willing to leave our comfort zone for that. And sometimes, to get want we want, we need to turn deaf ears towards the scrutinizing society who more often than not, will condemn you for doing something out of ordinary.

The story is quite slow for me, but it’s an okay read. Highly recommended for people who wants an inspirational fiction. This book will remind us all that having faith in God’s plan can’t really be a bad thing as it always turns out better at the end of the day.

posted by cleffairy on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    I was practically determined to not give this a 5-star rating--I

    I was practically determined to not give this a 5-star rating--I have been giving so many lately. I also was not sure that I truly liked the characters or the story. But Dorothy Love has come out with a winner in this book! I have never read any book by her, but she is definitely towards the top of my list now.

    I did not realize that this book was part of a series, but I had no problem following it even though I did not read the first in the series. I was able to jump right into the action and get to know Carrie and Griff from the beginning. I was completely impressed with the wide variety of characters and realistic circumstances that the author put in this book. Nothing was sugar-coated, and some of the great tragedies truly touched me. It was nice to see an imperfect heroine and see how she dealt with it in light of her faith.

    The message of the book truly struck a chord with me. It is the same message that I continue to read over and over lately. Find God's will, and then do it. Don't let the chance pass you by. God will provide for all your needs, and He cares about everything that concerns you. He will work it all for your glory--the bad things too.

    I can relate a little bit to Carrie. I have a father that treats me very much like a slave (though I am a grown woman), and I am quite friendless and sometimes shunned--that is the story of my life! I know how it feels to continue to ask for God's will and seemingly receive no direction. It is so tough to not give up!

    The Christian themes were placed in very natural places in the book. The reader was not beaten over the head with Christianity, and yet, it was there. It was neat to see that God could change anyone. And it was amazing the way God worked through various tragedies in the book. I was pleased to see that the author is working on a sequel to this one. I hope that she will tie up the minimal loose ends that she left. The book ended in the right way, but it was rather abrupt as well. My only complaint!

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
    fla

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Will the losses ever end?

    Carrie Daly and her brother Henry lost their parents at young age. Bonding together, family was the tie that brought them strength.. Carrie had been living with Henry after loosing her husband to the Civil war years ago. When Henry weds Mary, accompanied by her two young sons, everything is thrown into turmoil. Carrie soon finds herself leaving the family home, heart broken and discouraged. Dorothy has woven a tale of disappointments, struggles and testing of the human spirit. Life gets more complicated each day as Carrie seeks for answers but the path is not always clear. The story reads smoothly, the characters are well developed, vivid and memorable. A wonderful story the will bestow hope to the wounded heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ‘Beauty for Ashes’ by Dorothy Love is quite a leisu

    ‘Beauty for Ashes’ by Dorothy Love is quite a leisurable an inspirational read. It reminds me that to have something better in life, sometimes, we need to leave what we already have behind in order to pursue for something better. We got to be brave, and be willing to leave our comfort zone for that. And sometimes, to get want we want, we need to turn deaf ears towards the scrutinizing society who more often than not, will condemn you for doing something out of ordinary.

    The story is quite slow for me, but it’s an okay read. Highly recommended for people who wants an inspirational fiction. This book will remind us all that having faith in God’s plan can’t really be a bad thing as it always turns out better at the end of the day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    Love the book as much as the first one can't wait to read the th

    Love the book as much as the first one can't wait to read the third one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Sometimes I hate when a story ends. This is one of those times, I thoroughly enjoyed the story and the way it was written, had a very hard time putting it down even to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Another great!

    I loved this book as much as the first and cannot wait to start the next one! I highly recomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    Carrie Daly, a childless Civil War widow, had been helping her b

    Carrie Daly, a childless Civil War widow, had been helping her brother run her family’s farm in Hickory Ridge, Tennessee. When her brother marries, her sister-in-law and two children move into the family home. Two newcomers in town, along with a failing economy, change Carrie’s life. She struggles to accept the trials that come her way; she prays for God’shelp for others…and prays that she will have the patience and grace to accept the disappoints and heartbreak in her life. She expects her attraction to Griff Rutledge to conclude with unhappiness because he states from the beginning that he intends to leave for Australia as soon as the thoroughbred race is ended.


    Carrie Daly is a strong, creative, family-loyal woman. I silently thanked the author as I read about Carrie Daly’s experiences with her sister-in-law, nephews (although 5 year old Joe can be adorable),original boyfriend, and new friend. Although Carrie always seems to take the high road, Dorothy Love did relate some of Carrie’s fuming thoughts. If she hadn’t, I would have been too angry myself to finish reading the book. The situations in the book, when other people take advantage of her, annoyed me enough that I would have jumped in and lent a hand if I could. A bright spot is Griff who helps her “run away from home” and learn to enjoy life again.


    Readers will enjoy discovering Carrie’s character; there are so many facets to her personality. Other characters, except for Mary: the sister-in-law you will love to hate – are less complex.



    Three and a Half Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Expect the Unexpected

    I enjoyed this second book by Dorthy Love. Loved that some of the Characters from the first book Beyond All Measure, made a return visit!
    This books has many chuckles, and some ohhhhhs, and some very sad happenings. We are focusing at a time just after the Civil War and there is a Depression happening. Carrie Daly is now required to welcome a new woman into her home she shares with her brother Henry. His new bride, Mary, comes with two...not adorable sons.
    Carrie has been keeping company with Nate for quite awhile, and everyone expects them to marry. She is rescued from an uncertain death by Griff Rutledge, he is going to be in town for awhile training a horse. Now we will wonder for awhile who will win her hand or neither?
    Love that the Lord seems to have a hand in the lives of these Characters, and as in real life not always as we wish.
    I recommend this for a fast enjoyable read!

    I received this book from the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    See how a heart is tamed in the old west! Once again Dorothy Lo

    See how a heart is tamed in the old west!

    Once again Dorothy Love has managed to draw me in as a reader and create such timeless characters that I am immediately rooting for them the entire way through the novel. In the second book in the Hickory Ridge Romance Series, Beauty for Ashes picks up with the life of Carrie Daly who is making preparations to attend her brother Henry's wedding. While retrieving her dress from the dressmakers, she finds herself in immediate danger from a runaway horse who is spooked from the whistle of the train. Just at the last minute, Carrie is rescued by Griffin Rutledge, a handsome horse trainer in town on business.

    This is the true definition of falling in love, and the sparks between Carrie and Griffin are immediately lit even though Carrie is being courted by Nate Chastain, the local bookstore owner. Nate's been proposing to Carrie for many years but she just can't seem to find the same feelings for Nate as she did for her husband who left her a widow. Could the sparks between Griffin and Carrie be what has been missing for both of their lives?

    When Henry's new wife, Mary and her young sons, Caleb and Joe, leave Carrie with no alternative but to move out of her family home, she finds a room in the Verandah Hotel where she hopes to earn money taking care of the cooking and cleaning. However she finds once more, that she has been replaced by Rosaleen Dupre', a fancy lady with a sorted past, that will weave her way in and around the residents of Hickory Ridge, even though they won't see it coming.

    I received Beauty for Ashes compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review. I love the strength that Carrie possesses, not being afraid of what people think, and isn't afraid to speak her mind. I can't imagine being treated so poorly by her new sister-in-law, Mary who seems to think that Carrie will now be her maid while she is living in the house. Not only that but her younger boys, Caleb and Joe have no manners or respect for Carrie, telling her on one to many occasions that she is not there mother and they don't have to pay her any mind! I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait for the third book in this series.

    If you've never read any of Dorothy Love's book, please pick up this series. She will take you back to Hickory Ridge, Tennessee for a definite adventure in western historical fiction with some great romance thrown in for a treat! The best part of this book is that it can be read as a stand alone, but trust me, you'll want to pick up Beyond All Measure to capture the whole story of the residents of Hickory Ridge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    She’s a beautiful young widow. He’s a Southern gentl

    She’s a beautiful young widow. He’s a Southern gentleman with a thirst for adventure. Both need a place to call home.
    After losing her husband in the Civil War, Carrie Daly is scared she will never have the family she longs for. Eligible bachelors are scarce in Hickory Ridge, Tennessee, but Carrie Daly has found love. Not the weak-in-the-knees kind, but something practical. Still, she isn't quite ready to set a wedding date with Nate Chastain.
    Griff Rutledge is a former member of Charleston society, but has been estranged from his family for years. He’s determined to remain unattached, never settling in one place for too long. But when asked to train a Thoroughbred for an upcoming race in Hickory Ridge, he decides to stay awhile.
    Despite objections from the townsfolk, and her fear that true happiness has eluded her, Carrie is drawn to Griff's kindness and charm. It will take a leap of faith for them to open their hearts and claim God's promise to trade beauty for ashes. (book blurb)


    Beauty For Ashes is a follow-up book to Beyond All Measure, which I’ve reviewed previously Personally, I think I enjoyed Beyond All Measure more than Beauty For Ashes. It wasn’t so much that the book wasn’t good; the plot was interesting and I was curious to see how the story would unfold. My major issue was that I never really felt connected to the characters enough to really feel engaged in the story like I was when I read Beyond All Measure. It also seemed like there was going to be something more to the story, but that the plot and characters just didn’t delve deep enough into it. When I finished the book, it still seemed like there was something important left unfinished—I can’t seem to pinpoint it though (one unfinished thing leads into the next book in the series, but I’m referring to just a general feeling I had once I finished the book).

    That said, I did think it was fun to read a book that discusses places I’m familiar with (though Hickory Ridge is a fictional place in Tennessee, some of the places mentioned in this series are places I’ve either been to or know something of). I also was curious to see how the story would unfold, such as what would be the most important thing in the outcome of Griff’s decision, and also if Carrie would resolve things with Henry and his wife, Mary. The subplot with Nate was an interesting addition, though I think there might be more to it than was explained in this book. This book was definitely set up to have a follow-up, and I’m looking forward to reading that when it’s available.

    ** I received this book free from Thomas Nelson’s Booksneeze Program in exchange for an honest review. **

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    One of the strengths of Dorothy Love's books is her character de

    One of the strengths of Dorothy Love's books is her character development. Beauty for Ashes is no exception. Carrie, our heroine, is a strong woman with a bit of a temper. Part of her journey as a believer is how to care for a really irritating sister-in-law, Mary. Even though Mary is irritating, Dorothy reveals enough of her history so we see her as a person. She's not one dimensional. I loved Dorothy's development of the two exasperating nephews into likable boys. Then there's Griff, the gorgious gambler, who finds in Hickory Ridge a reason to stop running from his past. All in all, this was a wonderful story with each chapter drawing me in more deeply.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed getting lost in the setting of this book, It wa

    I really enjoyed getting lost in the setting of this book, It was predictable in my opinion but easy to follow the storyline and I started to feel sorry for Carrie although at times I wanted to tell her to "Suck it Up" and deal with what life has thrown at her and look for the small Blessings in life...but that's just me. The closing was cleanly added up and ended sweetly, I liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beauty For Ashes

    Carrie Daly does not like to hear the statement " Sorry you lost your husband." She will let you know real quick that she did not loose her husband he was killed during the Civil War. She has grieved his death for many years and honored him by not remarrying in hopes of keeping his memory alive.

    Carrie's friend Ada Wentworth helped Carrie realize that she wanted to have a family of her own especially children.

    She has had a friendship with Nate Chastain, the town's bookstore owner but friendship is as far as her feelings for him have gone.

    Then Griff Rutledge, a known gambler, comes to Hickory Ridge and saves her from being trampled by a horse drawn buggy. Every time she turns around he is there rescuing her from one thing or another. She is drawn to him and he to her. Surprisingly they do seem to have some things in common. Carrie's friends try to discourage her from associating with him fearing her reputation will be ruined. Griff has plans to start a ranch in Australia. He is not interested in being tied down by land or a woman. He prays and reads his bible but is still confused as to the direction of his life. Is he avoiding praying for God's will?

    Nothing seems to be going Carrie's way since her brother got married and turned her life upside down.
    It seemed like every obstacle imaginable is getting in the way of the life she so wanted for herself. She reads her bible and prays everyday yet she still feels discouraged. Is she also avoiding praying for God's will?

    This story show just how difficult things were back them for man to provide for his family. It was much worse for a woman trying to run a fame and provide for a family.

    I highly recomment this book!

    I rate this book a 5 out of 5.

    Disclosure:
    I received a copy of this book from Litfuse/Thomas Nelson for review. In no way was I compensated for this review. This is my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    A Beautiful Romance!

    1876 is not a good year for Carrie Daly. Her brother marries, bringing the manipulative and lazy Mary Stanhope and her two snake-wielding hellions into their home. The bookstore owner, who’s been courting Carrie for years, suddenly takes an interest in an exotic newcomer. And the local economy tanks, leaving the church without a preacher, the school without a teacher, and everyone without money. The lone bright spot is Griff Rutledge, a handsome itinerant horse trainer. Even if she didn’t know better, everyone in town warns Carrie against him. How could God make anything good come from this mess?

    I measure the success of a book by how much it emotionally engages and Beauty for Ashes was victorious! I can’t remember the last time I’ve wanted to grab a villain around the neck and shake - Mary Stanhope is that realistic and despicable. Carrie’s struggle is valiant, yet human - haven’t we all prayed “If you have something better in mind, could you please let me in on it?”

    I love the southern Appalachian setting of Hickory Ridge, reminiscent of Catherine Marshall’s Christy and Jan Karon’s Mitford series. Dorothy Love’s vivid writing and attention to historical detail brings the setting to life. I remembered the townsfolk from the first book in the series. Yes, this is the second book, and yes, you can read it without the first. But why deprive yourself of the pleasure?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Good Read

    Beauty for Ashes by Dorothy Love was enjoyable. This book takes place in the years that followed the Civil War. Amidst depression and heartache, love still is able to find a way.
    Carrie Daly, a widow, lives in Hickory Ridge with her brother, where they tend to their farm. Carrie Daly is “promised” to marry Nate Chastain, however, the timing always seems off and she can never seem to set a date for the wedding. Everyone in town thinks and knows it will happen. Everyone in town loves the idea of them getting married, until Carrie meets a traveler, Griffin Rutledge, who “rocks her world” so to speak. They meet the day before her brothers wedding to whom other but “Cruela DeVille” a nice modern day term for Mary.
    Shortly after the wedding, Carrie leaves the farm knowing that she doesn’t have a place anymore and knowing that she will not be able to handle living there with Mary’s boys whom terrorize her in every way. She begins to build a friendship with Griff and begins to lose Nate. Her heart doesn’t know what to do or think and she begins to lose hope, especially when her brother leaves to find work, Mary becomes pregnant, and Carrie has to come back home to work the farm and care for Mary and her boys.
    Carrie does everything for everyone else and doesn’t receive much in return. Eventually she finds love in several different ways, much different than she ever expected.
    I received a copy of this book from Booksneeze for my honest thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1