BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beauty for Ashes: Receiving Emotional Healing

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Restoration's Process

Initially, the title is what caught my attention. Once I began reading the pages I saw myself. I could only have read this book when I was actually ready to experience the restoration process. When an old house is restored, the process takes you from broken, old and ...
Initially, the title is what caught my attention. Once I began reading the pages I saw myself. I could only have read this book when I was actually ready to experience the restoration process. When an old house is restored, the process takes you from broken, old and unrecognizable to beautiful, breath taking, and awesome. So inspiring that other people in the neighborhood makes changes to their homes. My reason for such an experience is that once you have heard your worthless, and then you experience someone (Christ) telling even though you appear to be worthless, I will transform you into someone priceless. This book actually reveals that NO matter what I experienced in my past, I am still here AND I have been beautifully restored into a vessel that others not only will appreciate, but be inspired to 'keep moving'. Now I know that I am honorable and appreciated and made manifest in God's glory.

posted by Anonymous on April 28, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

good reading .

All of Joyce Meyer books are great and very inspireing, I would reccomend it to anyone,

posted by magdelyn on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    Restoration's Process

    Initially, the title is what caught my attention. Once I began reading the pages I saw myself. I could only have read this book when I was actually ready to experience the restoration process. When an old house is restored, the process takes you from broken, old and unrecognizable to beautiful, breath taking, and awesome. So inspiring that other people in the neighborhood makes changes to their homes. My reason for such an experience is that once you have heard your worthless, and then you experience someone (Christ) telling even though you appear to be worthless, I will transform you into someone priceless. This book actually reveals that NO matter what I experienced in my past, I am still here AND I have been beautifully restored into a vessel that others not only will appreciate, but be inspired to 'keep moving'. Now I know that I am honorable and appreciated and made manifest in God's glory.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    touching and inspiring

    I read this book and it helped me immensely. I highly recommend it to all who are feeling empty inside due to past abuses and addictive behaviors that keep them from moving on.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Very, very helpful

    This book was life transforming for me. Although the backdrop deals with those who've been abused, it also deals with everyday issues such as being hurt or offended in relationships. Joyce maps out 'through her experience with abuse' how to get beyond the pain and live a healthy life. God used this book tremendously to help me identify some of my additive behaviors and how to overcome them with simplicity. I highly recommend this to anyone who has been deeply wounded 'emotionally' in any relationship.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING!!!!

    I love this author and I love this book. Such an inspiring author she really lets you feel good about yourself! Beauty for Ashes was an a life-changing novel which allows you to truly recognize the beauty that is in the inside and on the outside. It fully identifies the love that God has for you and the way He wants you to feel. I love this book it is definitely an emotional book that allows you to take a step back to really understand the reason God has created you and the beauty that he sees within you.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    This is a good book

    I like that when I read this book it wasn't over my head. It was about deep subjects and complex issues but it always seemed like it was talking directly to me. It was extremely honest and showed the ways that God helps us to get out of our pain and heal.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book

    Very inspiring and encouraging.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Love this book

    This book has helped me so much recommend it to anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    A must read!!

    Joyce Meyer is definately God inspired. She has touched my heart and helped heal scars on my soul that I thought were impossible to heal. I have found a new understanding of the Word and my faith is stronger for it. I am so grateful for her gift of writing. Please, if you feel lost pick this one up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Great book,

    I enjoyed reading this book! Like all the other books of Joyce Meyers

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    good reading .

    All of Joyce Meyer books are great and very inspireing, I would reccomend it to anyone,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended to anyone who really needs answers

    I have finished it. I can’t tell you how much it helped me understand more the emotional feelings that I have I went through a different kind of abuse as a young woman. Going through all the pshy. Classes I took and the 2 years of therapy it never answered the “whys” as well as this book did. Helped me understand the shame feelings that I was dealing with and not being so hard on myself and how to take the “wall” down… I can’t always be on defense- just to make sure no one will do that again… everyone is going to hurt you in some way or another as I will do that as well. That doesn’t’ mean you can’t trust them, we all are human and they will make mistakes. Finally something I could read and it helped me understand some of the emotional and feelings that I was going through

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Beauty For Ashes

    I gave this as a gift and I suspect it will be well received. Joyce Meyer is one of my favorite authors and televangelists. She tells it like it is with common sense and the bible. I will read this, too, and I'm sure I will highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Is A Great Book!

    As a fan of Joyce Meyer, forgive me for wanting to sing her praises. She proves in everything that she writes that she has a true connection with God. It is through her words and efforts that millions are able to see the light. I just love her so.

    For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. I was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong. Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Life-Changing Book

    Joyce Meyer's _Beauty for Ashes_ has changed my life. I am a 20-year-old college student, and I was going through a really hard time and a stranger recommended the book to my mom. I thought the cover looked "lame" and "boring" and I was positive that the book was for an older audience, but it really ended up talking to me. I could really connect to everything Joyce said; Joyce Meyer's message is timeless- because it is a message from God. She corroborates every statement with the Word of God, and many, many scripture verses that I have now taped to my mirror to read everyday.

    This ended up changing my life. I have read this book numerous times since then and I have added many of Joyce Meyer's other books to my bookshelves. I LOVE this book! Whenever I am having a bad day, I read a few pages- or the whole thing, and I learn many new things each time! I have given this as a gift to many of my friends experiencing hardships.

    If you, or anyone you know, is really struggling with a past event/trauma and is struggling to walk with God (forgive themselves, forgive others, LOVE themselves, etc.)- READ THIS BOOK! There were moments when I felt like God was talking to me through Joyce's writing. I cannot stress enough how life-altering this book has been for me! READ IT!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    Joyce Meyers Beauty for Ashes

    This is a very powerful book and you will not want to put it down. Joyce Meyers shares very powerful information about her personal life and this book makes you look a life another way and it helps you to understand the word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    As the name suggests Beauty for Ashes, the book is about restoration. Our God is God of complete restoration and healing. Joyce Meyer has brought that element to the core through her book. Her life's journey is an inspiration to anyone who's down and out. It's not only inspirational in its approach but enlightens the spiritual side also.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    This book is a great blessing - I read it thinking I was going t

    This book is a great blessing - I read it thinking I was going to learn how God would bless me materially, but this actually helped me see the error in my thinking. This helps you heal spiritually - within so that you can begin to really enjoy and see the beauty in all circumstances as God is always with you. I'd recommend this to anyone looking to be free from the bondage of bitterness, resentment, fear, and the likes. Thank God for Joyce's willing spirit and obedience in writing this to help millions of people around the world, myself included.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Anonymous

    Vale la pena leer este libro

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Loved it!!

    This was very helpful and insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Extremely Healing

    Good Book. Touches on many issues of having lived a dysfunctional life and rising above. Helped me to focus on the positives and stop the negatives voices in my head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3