Customer Reviews for

Bec (Demonata Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shan.<3

    First off, I would like to say this author is great. I've finished his Cirque du freak series and it was one of my favorite books. This series is awesome, too. I'm on the next book but you get hooked by the story and characters in it. I usually go for romance stories but this is well worth getting. Demons, blood, surprises around every corner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    Bec has never led a normal life, or was never given the chance to. Born only remembering her mother and how she passed away, Bec was saved by a village's priestess who urged the village leaders to let her live. Making her the priestess's apprentice, Bec was able to learn the magic and potions that would be used in aid of those who fought in battles. <BR/><BR/>Unfortunately for Bec, she didn't know how many battles her village would be facing. <BR/><BR/>Never a quiet night, Bec's village is continuously invaded by demons, the Fomorii, who come to tear the village apart. And every night Bec must use what she has learned, which isn't much since the priestess was killed way before she was able to pass on everything she knew. <BR/><BR/>Used to having other villagers come through, Bec's village is visited by Run Fast, a boy who says that his village is in trouble. Unsure of his story or of what side he is on, the warriors feel an obligation to help and so set off to end their fight. Usually the priestess does not go along with the warriors, but this time Bec sees fit to travel with them, hoping that this journey will help her figure out what troubles her and hopefully to become one with her surroundings and her magic. <BR/><BR/>Fighting off the demons is not an easy feat, especially since both worlds have just been connected, making it easier for the demons to enter, multiplying their numbers every time one is killed. Magic is what destroys them -- and the lives of the villagers and the warriors are in the hands of Bec. <BR/><BR/>Thrilling and different from the other novels in the series, BEC is a courageous novel that leaps off the pages and plays with our imagination. The descriptions are vivid and the story is unique. With an ending that will leave you breathless, BEC is a great addition to the already popular series, THE DEMONATA.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Amazing...yet strange

    This one threw me off. I love Darren Shan...I mean LOVE! His books are amazing...but this book in the series threw me off a little...but if you've ever read any other Shan books you'll know it all ties together in the end...somehow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    The Best Demonata book ever

    This book is really good and is the best one of all of his books. It is so cool that we see why lord loss likes chess and why the gradys turn into werewolfs.This is a must read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    The review on the forth novel by Darren Shan

    This one was.... ok but darren was showing another life of a child and this time it was a girl and her powers she had.Her parents died and the man that took care of her was named Barnanabus but this novel is a demonta book so the same charicter was in it Lord loss the demon master whole story was about the that lived with the young girl they went to battle on the demonta and close the portal to all demonta from coming into the human world. some parts are kinda boring but i passed them. Bec was ok i love all darren shan's novels i can't say the book sucked. Darren shan made me a reader and all i do is read only when i got a good book in my hands, Bec was one of the best. to all my respects to my favorite writter Darren Shan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2007

    Bec book 4

    This is more of a prequel basically before the events of the first book. Its the title character a girl basically who with some warriors travel to stop the apocalypse of demons taking over their world with help from a mysterious druid called Drust and a strange but unpredictable boy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    Actually, very good.

    In my opinion, it was a wonderfull book. Breezed through it. A very easy read, but amazing. Different than the other books, one of the most noticable being that the main character was a girl. It was very good, and very well sewn together with the rest of the story. A little predictable, but that's the only critism I have. All in all, another good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Best book ever

    My favorite in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Awsome

    Awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    When I first read this, I either didn't like it or appreciate it

    When I first read this, I either didn't like it or appreciate it. After reading it again, I found myself liking it and appreciating it being installment in the series. This one we meet Bec and it in a way seems to be like a prequel. What I remember most about this one was one moment with a character that was just sad, creepy but sad and the ending, wow that ending. Not to mention the cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Very important read!!!

    I see people on here saying "ignore this book" but that will ruin the story. The events that occur in this book are very important for the story. It all ties in during the 6th book. Just dont skip this book.

    On the topic of this book, i rather enjoyed it. I liked the story and the actiom that takes place (near the end). Ill admit the action doesnt pick up till later but its worth thr wait. Enjoy the book! The series gets really really good later on, but you gotta know what happens here in Bec before you can enjoy the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Q

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Just one thing...

    I havent read this book,but i have read the cirque du freak series.i wanna know two things.
    1.is the book worth reading?
    2.what is the picture on the main page for this book a picture of?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Amazing.

    Grabs you by the guts and pulls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Could have been a lil better

    First three where awesome this onenfelt like i was draging butt through it i think it need a lil more action and gore

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Killed the buzz

    I was so intrigued with the last three in the series only to be disappointed in this one. The adventure and gore in this one just aren't up to par with the others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling

    I personally thing that this is one of the most thrilling books that you can find on the market. it's full of action, horror and it's got a breathtaking plot which will leave the reader howling for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Demonata Series

    I ordered the book for my son.
    He loves the Demonata Series.
    Can't seem to put them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Empathetic Ending!

    At first when I read this fourth book of the Demonata series I didn't know what to make of it. I thought it was a bit strange to advert from the original series, but may had a purpose still.
    I ended up thinking this book was one of the best in the Demonata series, especially for the ending; it's an eye opener and will definitely surprise you.
    I would definitely suggest this book to anyone who loves action, horror, and hardships in their stories.
    Also, you don't have to read the other books before this to understand whats going on, but I'm not saying the other books aren't just as good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bec

    Bec is by far my favorite book of the series, and possibly my favorite character. That girl knows how to fight! I love the series but this book stands out to me; I do not usually re-read books but this is an exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5