Customer Reviews for

Because I Am Furniture

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    Sad

    I don't read much verse novels. But this one was really good, sad but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Because I am Furniture is about one girls hardships living in a house with an abusive father. The narrator Anke, does not get abused by her father while her brother and sister get abused every day. Her mom is a victim of her father and doesn't want to do anything to disappoint him. This makes Anke feel invisible, like a piece of furniture. Joining the volleyball team at her high school gives Anke the voice she needs to save her family and help her realize she is loved and appreciated, unlike a piece of furniture. Anke holds patchy memories of a time when her family loved and cherished each other. A time when her father wasn't a monster. Anke is pushed to the edge when she walks in on her father trying to sexually assault her friend, Angie. This gives Anke the courage to stand up to her father and say the things that everyone else is too afraid to say to him. To find out what happens as a result, you must read this book. This is one of my favorite books and I love Thalia Chaltas's writing style. She makes you want to read more and more and never put the book down until you've finished. I really enjoyed this book. One of the main reasons why is because it was written in poetry form which left out all the minor details and really gripped you with the emotion that was expressed. The book evokes so many emotions that there is never a part in the book I didn't like. Reading Because I am Furniture, made me realize how lucky I am. If you enjoy reading about suspense, struggle, and bravery, I recommend that you read this book. This book is appropriate for high school students and older, due to language and graphic details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Take It or Leave It

    Certainly not the best book I've read. Definitely not the best. I hate the poem structure to it. It has a too convenient ending. I felt like many of the poems had nothing to do with the story Thalia was trying to tell. I didn't find it realistic at all, and there aren't enough elements to make it seem like it's not trying to be realistic. All in all, I wouldn't buy it. If you want to read it, borrow it from a library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Because I Am Furniture Review!

    I am a highschool senior and i just finished reading, "Because I Am Furniture". I must admit I was really engaged throughout the entire book. The author had a very good way of explaining everything that was going on so that you could have a better visual of what exactly you are reading. I mostly enjoyed the beginning and ending for various reasons. I greatly enjoyed the beginning because of the way it is written. The author did a really nice job of luring in her readers. In my opinion, this book is definitely a page flipper. I enjoyed the ending for the reason that it is an unexpected ending. Not the usual ending when you can guess what is going to happen. I also like d this book because it really opens your eyes to things that you may not realize or see in your own life. It can really give you a different way to view things, that maybe were not as clear to you before. Also, this book can teach people to not bully people, because you never know what someone is going through or what they have been through just by looking at them. All in all, I would recommend this book to teenagers or people in their early twenties, because that is the age that I would assume to be most interested in this type of read. Also, I recommend you read, "Because I Am Furniture," if you are looking for some good life lessons and a different perspective on life! It will teach you that even though you do not believe that you have the power or strength to do something big, if you search deep down inside of you, you have the power to do anything you want! Read this book if you are looking for an inspirational read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Open Door for Inspiration

    This book is a phenomal inspiration towards the act of standing up for what's right. The reality of living in a family that's on the verge of breaking apart is revelant to our modern society today. Readers feel sparks of excitement as Anke(the main character of the book), a girl whose voice was suppressed, gradually grows into a visible person who knows when to say, "STOP!" Because I Am Furniture is a book that'll create an everlasting impact on our moral beliefs of family and finding one's voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    Read this story in one sitting

    I was in B&N today planning on buying it, but I decided to sit down and read a little. Next thing I knew, maybe two hours later, I finished the story. I loved it. It was fast to read, entertaining, and an emotional read. I kept reading because I wanted to find out more about her and the characters. I became involved with her and the story. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    Because I am Furniture

    This book is about a freshmen girl Anke who is a star on the volleyball team but at home she goes unnoticed and strives for some form of attention. Her father treats her like she is a piece of old useless furniture. Her brother and sister are abused but she can't get any attention even if it is abuse. This all changes when she is on the court, volleyball gives her a voice in the game and out of the game. The book really teaches you a lesson about how abuse affects people and the difficulty they have to speak up about it especially when their life's are constantly put on the line. It almost gives you an inside look on how much it rules peoples life's but it gives you hope too because it shows you there is a way to get out and overcome it. I really enjoyed this book one of the main reasons why is because it was written in poetry form which left out all the minor details and really gripped you with the emotion that was expressed. All throughout the book i didn't have any time that i didn't like it because it evoked so many emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Anke lives in a house full of fear. Fear of her father. His temper can flair at any moment and everyone around him suffers. Anke's brother and sister take the physical abuse and Anke is, for the most part, ignored in the house. She feels she has no choice but to sit back and witness what is going on around her. Sometimes she even feels jealous of the attention her brother and sister get, no matter how horrible that attention is.

    Anke has one bright spot in her day - volleyball. Against her father's wishes, she tries out and makes the team. Volleyball gives Anke confidence and a small circle of friends.

    At the beginning of the school year, Anke develops a crush on Kyler, a tall, blonde soccer player. She tries to be where he is during the school day and hopes to attract his attention. She also has a confusing relationship with Jed, a boy who lives across the street.

    Between her family's dynamics, volleyball, school, and boys, Anke has a lot on her mind. Will she ever get the courage to say something about the abuse at home?

    BECAUSE I AM FURNITURE is written in verse. It doesn't take long to read and although the subject matter is very serious, the point of view is coming from an onlooking Anke so it isn't graphic. It's a good read, but the ending wraps up a little too quickly and there is a loose end that will leave you wondering about one of her relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good book

    I loved this book it makes you realize how good how have it when u c or in this case hear about what other people have to go through in life. This boook is good when you r feeling lost or sad when you feel lke you have nothing and the whole world is against you.AMAZING BOOKK!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Moving, quick paced, emotional. Will have you laughing and crying, sometimes at the same time.

    This novel is written in verse. It is a Young Adult book, yet Old Adults will be moved by it as well. It is not depressing. The author moves you through so many emotions common to many teens. I've read it three times and each time something new catches my attention. "Eight tangled legs" is such a strong visual for the brother knocked off his chair by the father. There are many others just like this that call all our senses into play. I feel as if I know Anke inside out because she has such a strong voice. Any high school teacher wanting to teach voice in writing should use this book and the author's blog http://epiphanista.blogspot.com/

    This is an author to watch for more great novels in the future. She has a gift of speaking/writing just like a teen, yet with imagery and vocabulary that is sophisticated enough for adults.

    I also recommend this book to teens who find it hard to get through a book. It has lots of white space; can be picked up and put down easily because each poem is a mini story in itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1