Customer Reviews for

Because She Can (Lib)(CD)

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    Couldn't put it down.

    I loved this book. It was an easy read. What I liked is that is was different that all the other romantic novels I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    Not a BAD book, but not a great one either

    Agreeing with everyone else - this book is such an obvious rip off Devil Wears Prada. It's essentially the same book set in the publishing industry rather than the fashion world. Based on the summary on the back of the book & the similarity to Devil Wears Prada, I'd figured out the ending by the third chapter. It wasn't a bad book, it just felt like I'd read it before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    Great Book

    If you are a fan of The Devil Wears Prada, you will enjoy this book. It is an easy read. I read it in almost one sitting. Wish it was longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    don't waste your time

    A real knock off of The Devil Wears Prada. Poorly written, boring,I couldn't relate... put it down after 150 pages of nonsense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BECAUSE SHE COULD SHE DID

    If you couldn't put down 'The Devil Wears Prada,' you'll thoroughly enjoy 'Because She Can.' Once again we meet a talented, hard working young girl in New York City, Claire Truman, who has the misfortune to land a job working for a wicked witch boss. Vivian Grant is the boss, and she's a shrew who can't be tamed, given to shouting diatribes, manipulation, and all manner of underling humiliation. Author Bridie Clark was formerly an editor for ReganBooks so it's not a stretch of the imagination to realize from whence her inspiration came. Judith Regan, once in high cotton at Harper Collins, was fired after the O. J. Simpson book debacle (remember, she was going to publish a book by Simpson that contained an interview about his wife's murder). All of this is to say that Clark knows of what she writes and she pens it very, very well. Our heroine finds herself perplexed by her feelings for Randall Cox, a terrific looking, successful guy and her attraction to Luke Mayville who has just finished his first novel. She loves the book and touts it to Vivian despite the harridan's motto 'Smut sells.' What to do? Claire is involved with two attractive men. Which one is for her? That is, if there's anything left of her after suffering the slings of Vivian. She is getting three times her previous salary but is it worth it? Voice performer Mary Birdsong has a flair for comedy (Deputy Kimball in Comedy Central's Reno 911! )and she brings this to her stunning reading of 'Because She Can.' She ably conveys Claire's innocence and struggles. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an enjoyable look at working for the boss from hell

    The New York publishing world knows that Vivian Grant, CEO of Grant Books, is the nastiest person in Manhattan. Her staff affirms what everyone knows that Vivian is the boss from hell, cursing them when she is not having a tantrum that would be the envy of the most terrible two years old. Her firm is renowned and profitable for best-selling exposé books that make tabloids jealous as Vivian understands ¿smut sells¿ to American women who never get any outside of novels.------------ Literary fiction editor Claire Truman knows the reputation of Ms. Grant as the queen of mean and Grant Books as the schlock of literature, but accepts the position of an editor anyway. Claire learns quickly what working for Vivian means and not just having her skin ripped off by her meanness Vivian demands pounds of flesh 24/7. This constant requirement interferes with her relationship with her handsome successful fiancé Randall Cox and her dreams of being kissed by Luke Mayville, the writer she recently met.----------- Although this takes place inside book publishing (where the author worked) instead of magazine publishing as the case of THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA, BECAUSE SHE CAN is also an enjoyable look at working for the boss from hell. As long as the audience is not in a similar employee relationship with a Marquis de Sade supervisor, readers will find the antics amusing, as Bridie Clark using hyperbole (I hope that is) provides a portrayal of the nasty malicious manager although that tale has been told obviously before.----- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was a great book. Yeah, it may remind you of The Devil Wears Prada. But, this but is just as good. While I am reading this book, I can help but see myself in it. I go through the same where I work at. This book is funny and I you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    A poor 'The Devil Wears Prada' clone

    Very disappointing, the book has similiar themes to 'The Devil Wears Prada' but is unable to capture excitement of 'The Devil Wears Prada.' I consider this book a cheap knock-off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    PITCH (AND WHAT RHYMES WITH IT) PERFECT VOICE PERFORMANCE

    If you couldn't put down 'The Devil Wears Prada,' you'll thoroughly enjoy 'Because She Can.' Once again we meet a talented, hard working young girl in New York City, Claire Truman, who has the misfortune to land a job working for a wicked witch boss. Vivian Grant is the boss, and she's a shrew who can't be tamed, given to shouting diatribes, manipulation, and all manner of underling humiliation. Author Bridie Clark was formerly an editor for ReganBooks so it's not a stretch of the imagination to realize from whence her inspiration came. Judith Regan, once in high cotton at Harper Collins, was fired after the O. J. Simpson book debacle (remember, she was going to publish a book by Simpson that contained an interview about his wife's murder). All of this is to say that Clark knows of what she writes and she pens it very, very well. Our heroine finds herself perplexed by her feelings for Randall Cox, a terrific looking, successful guy and her attraction to Luke Mayville who has just finished his first novel. She loves the book and touts it to Vivian despite the harridan's motto 'Smut sells.' What to do? Claire is involved with two attractive men. Which one is for her? That is, if there's anything left of her after suffering the slings of Vivian. She is getting three times her previous salary but is it worth it? Voice performer Mary Birdsong has a flair for comedy (Deputy Kimball in Comedy Central's Reno 911! )and she brings this to her stunning reading of 'Because She Can.' She ably conveys Claire's innocence and struggles. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    I really liked this book!

    I loved Bridie Clark's witty urban language. She also truly captured the life of the New York single gal struggling with career and romance. My friends and I can totally see ourselves in Clark's writing. I just hope all the dreadful bosses out there aren't, at least secretly, gratified to be depicted in a novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2