Customer Reviews for

Because They Hate: A Survivor of Islamic Terror Warns America

Average Rating 3.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Woman on a mission - She is carrying the cross for Christians, Jews and the moderate Muslims who are not able to stand up and speak the truth.

Brigitte has done an exceptional job detailing her life in a war against Christians. She and I lived the same war; we are the same age; faced similar fears and persecution, though we lived in different parts of the country. She does indeed speak out what we think. As Ch...
Brigitte has done an exceptional job detailing her life in a war against Christians. She and I lived the same war; we are the same age; faced similar fears and persecution, though we lived in different parts of the country. She does indeed speak out what we think. As Christians, we try to forgive and move on with our lives. But few muslims who truly hate anything non-muslim are being the voice for all muslims. I have had debates with Muslims and Jews alike. She is correct. Muslims responds with hate and ugliness; they don't care to hear what you have to say. Jews on the other hand respect your opinion and offer their opposing view.

I have very close muslims friends. I trust them with my life. But they are not the majority. Good people, good heart, but like most all of us humans(christians, jews or muslims) they don't speak up when they should. If their religion is being misrepresented, it is their job, not the chrsitians or jews, to work hard to defend it and protect it from the extremists within them.

It is truly as simple as she says, prove her wrong, prove us wrong. Until Saudi Arabia, Iran, Syria and the like countries defend and protect the freedom of Christians and Jews to worship in their countries and preach Jesus and Moses, they have absolutely no leg to stand on when they do little to keep extremists from attacking the Twin towers and our way of lives in America. And to top it of, they still complain that we are being racists and extremists.

The facts do speak for themselves.

The Christians of Lebanon fought to protect their faith and voice in the middle east. Today however, they are very split; some have allegience to Saudi Arabia while others to Hizbollah/Iran. Maybe it is a survival mode, but there was a time when Christians were the few, the good and the undefeated. Not today.

Lebanon is the last Christian country in the Middle East by which its president has to be Christian. It is a Republican form of government. What other country in the "arab world" can claim that. We see what Iran is doing to its people. We saw what Iraq did to its people (irrespective of your view of the war today). We see what Syria does to its people. Yet, they come to America, supposedly to run away from that culture only to impose it on us.

posted by Child_of_the_War_too on July 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

I am amazed

It does not amaze me that someone who was 10 yrs old left a country that has changed so much since is able to write a book that I found to be far from the truth. I lived in Lebanon till 1997 and I am a Christian Lebanese as well even though I hate to differentiate betw...
It does not amaze me that someone who was 10 yrs old left a country that has changed so much since is able to write a book that I found to be far from the truth. I lived in Lebanon till 1997 and I am a Christian Lebanese as well even though I hate to differentiate between religions. I felt that the book was written by someone who is paid or eager to gain acceptance by a side that enjoys building more fear and hatred toward the Muslims. The only Muslims that came to Lebanon in 1975 were the Palestinians and some Libians. The Palestinians came due to a natural process that states when you suppress and terrorize people they would migrate. And the only place the Palestinians could migrate to are neighboring countries. I was hoping this book is based on facts but it was the oppositge and part of a propaganda and smudge campaign. I suggest that the writer spends more time reading about the History of the ME so she can enlighten us in the future with a book that shines the light on the true cause of the issues in the Middle East 'part of it, I agree, is extremism'

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Woman on a mission - She is carrying the cross for Christians, Jews and the moderate Muslims who are not able to stand up and speak the truth.

    Brigitte has done an exceptional job detailing her life in a war against Christians. She and I lived the same war; we are the same age; faced similar fears and persecution, though we lived in different parts of the country. She does indeed speak out what we think. As Christians, we try to forgive and move on with our lives. But few muslims who truly hate anything non-muslim are being the voice for all muslims. I have had debates with Muslims and Jews alike. She is correct. Muslims responds with hate and ugliness; they don't care to hear what you have to say. Jews on the other hand respect your opinion and offer their opposing view.

    I have very close muslims friends. I trust them with my life. But they are not the majority. Good people, good heart, but like most all of us humans(christians, jews or muslims) they don't speak up when they should. If their religion is being misrepresented, it is their job, not the chrsitians or jews, to work hard to defend it and protect it from the extremists within them.

    It is truly as simple as she says, prove her wrong, prove us wrong. Until Saudi Arabia, Iran, Syria and the like countries defend and protect the freedom of Christians and Jews to worship in their countries and preach Jesus and Moses, they have absolutely no leg to stand on when they do little to keep extremists from attacking the Twin towers and our way of lives in America. And to top it of, they still complain that we are being racists and extremists.

    The facts do speak for themselves.

    The Christians of Lebanon fought to protect their faith and voice in the middle east. Today however, they are very split; some have allegience to Saudi Arabia while others to Hizbollah/Iran. Maybe it is a survival mode, but there was a time when Christians were the few, the good and the undefeated. Not today.

    Lebanon is the last Christian country in the Middle East by which its president has to be Christian. It is a Republican form of government. What other country in the "arab world" can claim that. We see what Iran is doing to its people. We saw what Iraq did to its people (irrespective of your view of the war today). We see what Syria does to its people. Yet, they come to America, supposedly to run away from that culture only to impose it on us.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    I am amazed

    It does not amaze me that someone who was 10 yrs old left a country that has changed so much since is able to write a book that I found to be far from the truth. I lived in Lebanon till 1997 and I am a Christian Lebanese as well even though I hate to differentiate between religions. I felt that the book was written by someone who is paid or eager to gain acceptance by a side that enjoys building more fear and hatred toward the Muslims. The only Muslims that came to Lebanon in 1975 were the Palestinians and some Libians. The Palestinians came due to a natural process that states when you suppress and terrorize people they would migrate. And the only place the Palestinians could migrate to are neighboring countries. I was hoping this book is based on facts but it was the oppositge and part of a propaganda and smudge campaign. I suggest that the writer spends more time reading about the History of the ME so she can enlighten us in the future with a book that shines the light on the true cause of the issues in the Middle East 'part of it, I agree, is extremism'

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    A Must Read and Own For Everyone

    Every American should read this book, and own two or more copies of it. One to keep and annotate, one to circulate to friends and family. Ms. Gabriel's story needed to be told, she did it well, without frills or prejudice. It is all verifiable. Her point of view is unique and priceless. - Duke

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    Just finished reading this book. It was hard to put it down. Yes, America, we better wake up. The writing is on the wall. September 11,2001 changed America, but how soon did some Americans forget. If we don't rememeber our past, we are doomed to repeat it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    because she hates!

    EVERY story has 2 sides. Here's the other side, the side that the author chose to omit. 1. On Arabs I quote the author:' What have the Arabs contributed to the world other than suicide bombimg and terrorism. Where is their contribution to science, medication and technology? Oviously, Ms Gabriel did not do her homework. But to answer her question very briefly I say that among the Arabs inventions were: the telescope (Abul hasan),the Pendulum (Ibn Yunus), The watch/clock (Kutbi),The windmill (Almasudi),the Arab numeric we use today (1,2,3) the number zero was invented by Arabs also Algorithm and Algebra (Al-khawarizmi). etc... Ms Gabriel can look this up along with other Arab contribution to knowledge. 2. On stories: In the book the reader can find a whole lot of disgusting, disturbing stories. While reading I tried to check out the references for these stories and to my shock I found that every story had mostly only one footage, usually an internet website. In college we were taught that a scientific research should offer serious evidence and that includes extracts from well known books/ magazines/documents/websites for it to come out as a reliable source! Still I decide to just look up one of the stories written about a woman called Asma. According to Ms Gabriel 'She was killed by a sword thrust to her abdomen while SUCKLING HER BABY IN BED.' p.110.note 8. I check the website out and it says'In his displeasure towards her, Muhammad asked his followers to murder her as well. She was killed while she SLEPT.' Say, sleeping and nursing are 2 different acts, aren't they? Having trouble copying Ms Gabriel? This is only one example of distortion: not only does she tell a story that has no evidence whatsoever in her book -other than of course the famous website (she might as well use a blog for her references)- but also she makes sure to manipulate it in order to create the effect she desires.Not so proffessional I would say. It's Just one e.g of stories blown way out of proportion left with no evidence. I try to check other 'stories' of hers just for the fun of it, I find web sites mentioned in her footage that have expired or even websites that are not related to the story in any way. So I get a good laugh. 3. On the Middle East: The author claims that the war in Lebanon was a 'religious war declared by the Muslims against the Christians' Wrong again. Any objective lebanese would say that war in Lebanon was a civil war and a war of the others (Palestinian Syrian, Israeli) on the lebanese soil. ID killing was practiced by ALL against ALL. Again she's leaving out half of 'the truth.' As soon as sectarian violence popped off, a number of war crimes were commited by ALL the Lebanese factions participating in the civil war. Her attempt in labeling 'bad guys' and 'good guys' is even hilarious. . 4. On Lebanese women: 'One thing that both muslim and christian cultures shared was their lack of respect and equality for women' I thought this was kind of fun to read. Being a woman who grew up in Lebanon I know a great deal of women rights there! Men and women are highly encouraged to go to college and to graduate schools. At school lebanese boys AND girls learn 3 languages and in some schools 4. I, myself, went to the Lycee franco libanais a secular french school in Lebanon where both muslims and christians enjoyed sharing daily life even in the worst of circumstances. Women ( muslims and christians) in Lebanon are doctors, lawyers, parliament members, whatever they please and stay at home educated moms by choice. I must say though that in Lebanon city life is very different than country life. Ms Gabriel grew up in a small town, she probably never had the chance to go to the cities where people - all people mingled and had fun. She also never had the chance to go to college to see that classrooms are packed with women nor to learn that good books are m

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Wake Up, America

    This riveting, first person account of militant islam's take over of Lebanon is a true wake up call. Gabriel shows how an open, tolerant society is an easy target for an organized attack of this sort. The approach has been perfected over the centuries. This book is an eye opener for those in America who simply don't understand the depth of attack occurring in our schools, political institutions and our courts. Wake up!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    We had better get our heads out of the sand

    Ms. Gabriel knows whereof she speaks as a person who has experienced the trauma of seeing her country taken over by Muslims. Those who call her writing 'garbage' are those with their 'heads in the sand,' not allowing the facts to interfere with their beliefs. I found her to be a true patriot. Oh, that we native citizens had just a smidgen of her love and concern for her adopted country. As one writer noted, Arabs contributed much to our society 'once upon a time.' But since they have become oil-rich, little creativity has come from the Middle East (other than Israel) - unless you call suicide bombing creative.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    Author is out of touch with reality

    Ms Gabriel cannot seem to look beyond her own experience to come up with a product that could even be deemed as a journalistic piece. She has no clue about what the real political landscape is in the Middle East let alone Lebanon. Shame on her for pushing her own anger onto her readers and feeding the public a one sided story.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    Pathetic

    I think it's very sad that this author generalizes and says 'because they hate.' Obviously she is not over a bad situation that happened to her growing up, which is why she wanted to add fuel to the fire. Really aweful book, I didn't feel like it was fair in talking about Islam and Moslims. Not worth reading if you really want to learn about who the Moslims are.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    worthless garbage

    CAUTION, a big load of fallacies, this so called author is herself a promoter of hate, it is amazing what junk people will write to make money, if you want to learn about the middle east I recommend starting with Patrick Seal's works, not Mrs.'s Gabriel garbage, I regret buying her book, I should have known better, a book endorsed by Steve Emerson can not be of any real worth.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    worthless piece of junk

    I just do not believe any of the author's claims. Don't waste your time.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    Every American needs to read this book

    We don't have any idea how blessed we are to live in the USA. Read this book and pray for America and Israel. Elect people in office nationally and locally with backbone. Heed the warnings! We don't want to be another Lebanon.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    it is the truth

    this is the truth!!!! people that posted it as junk are the epidemy of ignorance

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    Great Read!

    In light of all the controversy over the building of the mosque at Ground Zero. This book is a must read. True story, well documented, researched. Bridgette Gabriel is an Arab Christian/ US citizen/ journalist. this should be required reading in our schools. This is world history that has been deleted or not taught but given the state of the world should be.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    An Excellent Personal Story of Death, Destruction & Yet Hope Remains

    I chose to buy this book from B & N as I have seen interviews with Ms. Garbriel on cable news and on the web. She is an impassioned person who speaks from her past NOT based on talking points sent down by politicans or scholars intent on political correctness. I decided to buy her book and read her story, in her own words as the living word lives. I was moved by her situation of not only living but, surviving and eventually thriving after years and years of war between the Christians, Muslism, PLO and Lebanese Armies but, other enemies as well. For those reviewers below that have rated her book poorly on the basis that you don't think she was well researched, accurate or scientific enough...I say you have lost the arugment right there. This is NOT a book meant for the science lab or classroom. It is a story about her life and what she went through in Lebanon in the 70's as a Christian in that eventually war torn land. Her experience, her thoughts, her emotions, her feelings are her own...you cannot and will not take away from her what she lived through because you don't agree with her. She represents all that we have seen but, still don't understand here in the US and Europe. The blurring lines between moderate and radical muslims and islam is finer and finer with each passing day. As Ms. Garbriel said so wisely...she traveled thousands of miles and multiple continents to get away from people who kill simply because you are different from them or 'infidels' if you wish and yet...they followed her here and bombed us on our own land. Ms. Gabriel's story is unique to her but, all of us might experience our own story if we allow radical islam and extreme muslims to take over Europe, Asia, Africa, America and other lands. I admire Ms. Gabriel for having the courage to live through a horrific ordeal that should have killed her many times over. I believe that she had a guardian angel or some divine intervention that kept her alive and going so, one day she could tell her tale to the world. Whether the world listens is another issue but, at least she made it to America where she could get the word out. I too believe as many that we won't be able to destroy this evil breeding in the world right now as there is simply too many of them. 'Destruction' is not an option. We cannot convert them either - power in numbers say it wouldn't work. 'Conversion' is not an option (as you cannot leave Islam once you convert to it - you'll be killed - what a loving religion!) But...perhaps there is 'Reform' in the future for those who will see the light. One reviewer noted that arabs created the 'zero'. I have to do homework to verify that one but, how ironic that if they did create the 'zero' in math they may also 'zero' out much of the world in their master plan to rid of the world of everyone but, those evil and crazy like themselves. Since so few muslims who consider themselves 'moderate' speak out then we have to say silence is consent. If you don't stop evil, you contribute to it. I continue to read about how muslims historically take over countries(usually by weapons, force and often deadly wars) and then allow other religions to exist so, they could TAX everyone else heavily for existing in their world. They use the spoils of war and tax to keep their new nation going. Consider the 9/11 hijackers, the shoe bomber, the bomber set on blowing up the GG Bridge in San Fran and others...whether or not they were from good homes or had good schooling...most all of them were existing on welfare for quite awhile(at least until Uncle Benny gave them cash to help finish the job...) So much for being creators and not takers! For anyone with an open mind, respect for human life and dignity, tolerance of other religions and people...do buy this book and read it. Whether you agree or not with Ms. Gabriel's views on things...you should at least hear her experience as it is one we don't get much in the US. We get lots of opinions from politicans, newspapers,

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    ISLAM IS THE TRUTH

    YOU CAN'T DO THAT TO US BECAUSE OTHER PEOPLE ARE DOING IT ,THEY ARE LIEING THEY DON'T UNDERSTAND ISLAM!THIS STINKS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    This survivor of the Lebanese Civil War details her struggle to stay alive. Her experiences and love of Western Civilization juxtaposed against the destruction of Islamic Fundamentalism illustrates the need for the world to wake up and face the deadly threat of terrorism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    I can't wait to read the book. 

    I can't wait to read the book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    This book is written by a professional journalist, no doubt hire

    This book is written by a professional journalist, no doubt hired to do this horrible hate-filled book. She begins by dragging you into the horrendous realities of her childhood experience never ever mentioning the facts behind the upheaval in the ME and who is really to blame. Instead she manipulates our emotions and that is how she wrote this book--upon emotions and obviously that is how she looks at life: emotionally. She wants to 'warn' America. Let me warn America: Islam is not your enemy. It was not won by violence or the sword. Anyone who believes that is ignorant of the realities of the Ottoman Empire and who started what in all the warring against Muslims. At the point in history of 9/11 Americans knew nothing about Islam. And, these 'writers' were hired to lead you far far away from true knowledge of our beautiful, sober, peaceful religion; one that is not for the weak but for those who want to worship our Creator through fasting, prayer, charity and kindness to all. Muslims are not about Islamitizing anyone. Let there be no coersion in religion, is one of the most well known verses in the Quran. There are no swords and there never were. Western propaganda to keep you away from Islam. The early Muslims as the Muslims today were being attacked and harassed and they were told in the Quran to defend themselves. Those are the verses in the Quran writers like this one uses to make you believe, we are 'violent.' What a joke. Wake up and read the Quran or talk to a Muslim if you want real knowledge. If you want to HATE then buy her book and hate. What a lovely gathering. I feel sorry for this woman. I am happy in Islam and will never leave it. (American Muslim 21 years, living in ME) all praise and thanks to our Creator, Allah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    This book is good for explaining the forces of hate that are com

    This book is good for explaining the forces of hate that are coming against America, but for the average reader, there are too many details that begin to run together and all sound the same from about the middle of the book to the end. I totally agree with the author, but feel that too many facts crammed into the book becomes redundant. Her point could have been made with the collective facts spread over fewer chapters and then moved on to other facts such as explaining more about how these forces treat women and children, how they infiltrate homes and society in general, and how they convince those suicide bombers to actually carry through their evil intentions. Are these people so illiterate that they believe anything? In response to "I Am Amazed"; one only has to examine the nightly news to know that the Muslim religion is a force of evil despite those who would try to make the "politically correct" acceptance of such war-mongering. It is the same thing Hitler did....tell the biggest lie you can think of to cover your tracks and the people will believe it because the truth is just too difficult to accept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3