BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Because of Anya

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

The review of an outstanding book!

Because of Anya By: Margaret Peterson Haddix Review by: Haley Mitchell Have you ever been diagnosed with a horrible disease that takes away one of your best features? That is what happened to Anya in the heartwarming story, Because of Anya by Margaret Peterson Had...
Because of Anya By: Margaret Peterson Haddix Review by: Haley Mitchell Have you ever been diagnosed with a horrible disease that takes away one of your best features? That is what happened to Anya in the heartwarming story, Because of Anya by Margaret Peterson Haddix. Anya learns to cope with the fact that her hair may never grow back. This story of friendship, communication, and illness, shows what it is like to live with a disease, and a clique. Keely is a very interesting, and important person in the book. She is forced to tug on Anya ¿s ¿wig,¿ or at least that is what the leader of the clique, Stef says. Keely is a smart enough person to know that this is wrong. I found it interesting to read about her, and her thoughts. The clique consists of three mean girls. Keely, Stef and one other girl, with whom they don¿t talk about much in Because of Anya. Stef, is the leader, who everyone follows. In my mind, I don¿t understand why everyone in the book ( except for Anya, of course) looks up to Stef. They think that she is cool, and I don¿t see why! Keely turns out to be a follower who is trying to figure out her true friends are. While reading this book, I pondered what alopecia areata was. Luckily, the book answered that for me! I like that it was the doctor who explained what this ¿rare, but not serious¿ disease was. It made it seem as if you were talking to the doctor, and he was telling you. I also learned that there is different types of alopecia areata. They are: Alopecia areata totalis- which means you have no hair on your head, alopecia areata universalis- which is losing all the hair on your body, and alopecia areata barbae- were you have no beard.. I felt bad that Anya felt like having this disease was the end of the world. She would spend nights crying, and complaining. Margaret Peterson Haddix definitely gave me an idea of how miserable Anya was. I liked that it gave such a clear view. This book was enjoyable to read, because of the views that the author gave. The setting was portrayed very clearly. Same with the weather when they are outside. Although those are strong, one of the most important portrayed item is showing the peoples moods. In this book, you can always tell how the people are feeling. That always makes a page turner! There is a problem in this story, especially when Anya¿s wig mysteriously falls off. Had someone pulled it? Or did it just fall off? I found myself wondering the same thing. Keely thinks that it was Stef, Stef doesn¿t know what happened, And Anya doesn¿t care- she is too busy getting out of the school gym. I can¿t say much more without giving much away, so I suppose I¿ll conclude. Keely learns to find friends, and gain trust, while Anya deals with a heartbreaking disease. To find out how Because of Anya ends, you¿ll have to read this wonderful story by Margaret Peterson Haddix. Read on!!

posted by Anonymous on June 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome review

This book is a must read!:)

posted by 11470749 on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    The review of an outstanding book!

    Because of Anya By: Margaret Peterson Haddix Review by: Haley Mitchell Have you ever been diagnosed with a horrible disease that takes away one of your best features? That is what happened to Anya in the heartwarming story, Because of Anya by Margaret Peterson Haddix. Anya learns to cope with the fact that her hair may never grow back. This story of friendship, communication, and illness, shows what it is like to live with a disease, and a clique. Keely is a very interesting, and important person in the book. She is forced to tug on Anya ¿s ¿wig,¿ or at least that is what the leader of the clique, Stef says. Keely is a smart enough person to know that this is wrong. I found it interesting to read about her, and her thoughts. The clique consists of three mean girls. Keely, Stef and one other girl, with whom they don¿t talk about much in Because of Anya. Stef, is the leader, who everyone follows. In my mind, I don¿t understand why everyone in the book ( except for Anya, of course) looks up to Stef. They think that she is cool, and I don¿t see why! Keely turns out to be a follower who is trying to figure out her true friends are. While reading this book, I pondered what alopecia areata was. Luckily, the book answered that for me! I like that it was the doctor who explained what this ¿rare, but not serious¿ disease was. It made it seem as if you were talking to the doctor, and he was telling you. I also learned that there is different types of alopecia areata. They are: Alopecia areata totalis- which means you have no hair on your head, alopecia areata universalis- which is losing all the hair on your body, and alopecia areata barbae- were you have no beard.. I felt bad that Anya felt like having this disease was the end of the world. She would spend nights crying, and complaining. Margaret Peterson Haddix definitely gave me an idea of how miserable Anya was. I liked that it gave such a clear view. This book was enjoyable to read, because of the views that the author gave. The setting was portrayed very clearly. Same with the weather when they are outside. Although those are strong, one of the most important portrayed item is showing the peoples moods. In this book, you can always tell how the people are feeling. That always makes a page turner! There is a problem in this story, especially when Anya¿s wig mysteriously falls off. Had someone pulled it? Or did it just fall off? I found myself wondering the same thing. Keely thinks that it was Stef, Stef doesn¿t know what happened, And Anya doesn¿t care- she is too busy getting out of the school gym. I can¿t say much more without giving much away, so I suppose I¿ll conclude. Keely learns to find friends, and gain trust, while Anya deals with a heartbreaking disease. To find out how Because of Anya ends, you¿ll have to read this wonderful story by Margaret Peterson Haddix. Read on!!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Amazing and touching

    I knew a girl and she had cancer. However she was a beautiful young girl and was so sweet and cared about everybody. When she got dingnosed it was tough handling the news. She went through a number of rounds of kemo- theropy and lost most of her hair. But she stood strong and fought aginst the tumor. We visited her in the hospital often. And every time we walked into her room she always smiled the brightest smile. Months later we got a phone call from the nurse at her hostpital and she said "we came into shelby's room to check on her and there was no heartbeat." We knew she had died. I sat in my room and cried. This was such a sad and depressing time for me. Exactly one year after she had passed away, me and my family went on a walk. The weird thing was there were tons of butterflies everywhere. But everyone had called her butterfly. So i can relate to this book very well. You might be able to as well. Even if you cant it is still the most touching book ever!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing story!

    I loved the characters in the story! It was a great book, one of the best I have read this year. It is pretty short, and it only took me two days to read, but I had heard great things about it and decided to read it. It is about a girl named Anya. All her hair has fallen out, and she has to wear a wig. But another character named Stef, notices that Anya is wearing a wig. She wants Keely to go pull on her wig to see if it is real. But soon, in gym class, Anya's wig falls off. Keely wants to make Anya feel better, but she doesn't know how, because she thinks Anya has cancer. Anya does not have cancer, and she is not dying, but she feels terrible. Plus, Keely and her friends don't know the truth. Keely has to find out how to stand up to her friends, and make Anya happy. This is a great story, and you should read it!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Because of Anya

    Its so sad! I wish i could donate my hair to locks of love

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Great

    This book will get you hooked to the end

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Quick read

    Only 92 pages. If you are looking for something that will take a long time to read this is not recommended. This book is sad. I hate how Keely does whatever Stef wants at the beginning. Another problem I had with this book is that the plot is very predictable. Keely follows Stef...Stef wants her to do something mean...Keely says no...Keely makes friends with other people...Stef changes her ways. Substitute different names and you have a typical plot. As a whole, though, I love books by Margaret Peterson Haddix. Because of Anya did not meet the standards of other Haddix books that I have read.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    It made me cry!

    This book is very touching. I read it about 3 years ago and it has still stuck with me.
    Jessica the bug freak

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Smile

    Loved it










    Heartwarming

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Amazing book

    I definatley loved reading it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    Because of Anya....a sensational read

    I have to say,because of Anya is one of the best reads I ever read.
    This story is about a little girl named Anya,who has a very BIG problem. She has a mystery medical condition that causes her to lose all of her hair,and a few people want to find out...Always trying to pull off her wig in front of the whole class,but in the end they become friends with her.I do think that the author could use more craft than she did,and she should of made it a little longer.I would of enjoyed that.I think people of all ages would like this book,because it is easy to under stand and has a lovely plot to it.I hope other people enjoy this book as well,and if you haven't read it...your really missing out.And if you haven't read any of the Haddix books,go get one,it will be good for you. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    Awesome book!!!!!!!

    The book Because of Anya is a outstanding book because it teaches us kids to respect others and if others have dieses to help and not to make fun of!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    THISIS THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!

    Best book ever"!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Cool

    I ABSOULUTLY LOVEEEEE THISSS BOOOKKKKK!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    COULD NOT PUT DOWN!!!

    This Book is awesome! I could not put it down! I finished it in 2 and a half days! I kept reading and reading! When my dad came to pick me up from cheerleading, I sat in the car reading. My dad had to stop somewhere. I brought the book in and read. When I got home, I ran inside and sat down in the nearest spot and read. It was that good. I wish there was a sequel. This is the second book I have read by Margaret Peterson Haddix. They both were books that I could not put down.I love this book! This book is mostly about a girl who randomly loses her hair. First, she parts her hair weirdly, but then it gets worse. She goes to the doctor and finds out that she doesn't have cancer! She was so happy! She also wondered what she had. So did her mom. Her mom starts to cry. She has...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2004

    The amazing book, Because of Anya.

    Because of Anya was an amazing book, and I loved it. It had lots of action, and was very dramatic. In the fifth chapter, Anya started to lose patches of her hair, and later on she goes bald. When Anya lost all of her hair, she thought her life would never get better, and most of all she didn¿t think her friends could help her get better. At one point, Anya¿s wig falls off in P.E. class. She gets really embarrassed. In this book, Keely, Anya¿s friend, helps her class research Alopecia areata, which is the disease Anya has. Normally you wouldn¿t think one person could affect a whole school, but in this book Anya does. Teachers work together to gather homework for Anya. And as the rumors that Anya had cancer and that she wasn¿t a normal kid spread, the more she didn¿t want to go back to school. This book had the best ending I have ever read. Since I don¿t want to give the ending away, I¿ll just say that Keely keeps visiting Anya, which makes her feel a lot better. Keely told Anya that she was beautiful with or without her wig. In conclusion, I¿d like to say that this was one of my all time favorite books and I¿d recommend it to anybody! I give it five out of five stars! By Shelby Age 12

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2004

    2 sad to even stop reading!

    It was one of the most saddest books I have ever read! I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2004

    A VERY GOOD BOOK

    This book is about a young girl whose name is Anya. She has a disease called alcopieta acreata. Which is a disease that makes every hair in your body disapear. She has to wear a wig in hopes nobody finds out. If they know, all is lost.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Book lover

    I loved this story I could not put it downI donated 10 inches of my hair to locks of love

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Plz read this:)

    I had a freind named cait hall,she was diegnosed with cancer when she was in 3rd grade. She woke up 1 day n she couldnt move at all. The docters found a tumer in her spine. It got worse n she died the next year at age 10. Before she had cancer, she was alwase happy no matter what happend. She came to school for the first time sence being diegnosed n was the same. She didnt care that people talked about her or that little kids stared at her. She was the same happy girl that she always was. When she was going to die,she said "l dont want u guys to be sad,i want u to have a party." When i herd that she said that, the first thing i said was "thats cait for ya!" :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Nice short book

    I liked it reminded me of my friend who had cancer he wouldnt talk to anybody

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3