Customer Reviews for

Because of Low

Average Rating 4.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great read! I couldn't put it down. Characters were real easy to

Great read! I couldn't put it down. Characters were real easy to relate to, and Abbi has an amazing way of helping get the emotions across!

posted by 13073065 on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disapointmenr

After reading all the ravishing reviews for this book, i was extremly disappointed after reading it. The plot was extremly cliche and predictable. Some of the writing was just so out of no where a lot of it was not beliveable and felt really fake. dont waste your time o...
After reading all the ravishing reviews for this book, i was extremly disappointed after reading it. The plot was extremly cliche and predictable. Some of the writing was just so out of no where a lot of it was not beliveable and felt really fake. dont waste your time or money

posted by 10520957 on January 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read! I couldn't put it down. Characters were real easy to

    Great read! I couldn't put it down. Characters were real easy to relate to, and Abbi has an amazing way of helping get the emotions across!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Abbi has done it again

    Oh Abbi Glines the words you weave! If any of you know me at all [or stalk my twitter], you know I have read and immensely enjoyed every single book Abbi has written and this one just blew the top off of them all. Not only did she make me fall even more in love with her writing and characters but she transitioned into the world of New Adult flawlessly. I was fanning myself, giggling like a school girl, and swooning all over the place. Don’t let that fool you though folks. You also get a heaping dose of frustrating angst to go with it. Sounds like the perfect mixture does it not? One can never be disappointed when it comes to a Gline piece of genius.

    Now, if you have read Breathe [which you should have by now!] you already know Marcus. I was more than ready to see Marcus get his own happy ending since everything with Sadie went to shit for him in Breathe. But nothing could have prepared me for this story. It consumed me from page one, no joke. Not only do we get to see Marcus’s journey of trying to open up and find love again while juggle a family crisis he could have never seen coming but we get Low’s own story complete with her own set of family drama. See, what I think I enjoyed most about this book was it was told in both Marcus and Low’s point of view. I revel in double narratives like this and it made me so much more emotionally attached to the story being told. Once I picked it up I didn’t put it down until I was done a few hours later. My eyes were glued.

    Now I never became super attached to Marcus in Breathe because I knew he was getting this book, so once I started reading I was captivated. It is safe to say I love Marcus more than Jax. [Pst, you get to see Jax in this book. You didn’t hear it from me…] But what I really think made Marcus pop for me in this book was the fact that Low was introduced. Low is struggling with the worst possible circumstances and she managed to completely capture my heart. I loved everything about Low, even if she was so down on herself. I adore a character building book and damn it if this wasn’t the best one I have read this year. I ate up seeing Low and Marcus go through their highs and lows together and getting to see each of them really grow into a new phase of themselves.

    If their own personal troubles weren’t enough to keep you hooked then the relationship that these two go through will. I guarantee your fist will meet a pillow, or two, possibly three I lost count. There was SO much I wanted to happen and then I got the rug pulled out from underneath me and my heart went plunging on more than one account. I found myself yelling with my headphones in [listening to a heart breaking song no doubt] and someone had to tell me to be quiet. I just, I couldn’t. The relationship between these two was enough to make my heart explode. And for that reason right there is why I will ALWAYS run to an Abbi Gline book to feed my hunger for a good romance. Even if I do want to seriously hurt someone half way through.

    When all is said and done Because of Low is an epic tale of love, loss, and the ultimate sacrifice you are willing to take to make it all work. I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed reading this story and falling for a whole new set of characters. Hell I can’t tell you how much I loved Low. I hope I get to see her and Marcus again somewhere in the future. People, Abbi Glines has done it yet again and I have a feeling she will keep us on our toes for many years to come. Falling in

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    I love it!

    One of my favorite new authors! You will love it too!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    This book was WAY better than Breathe. I felt more of a connecti

    This book was WAY better than Breathe. I felt more of a connection with Low than what i did for Sadie. The Romance was great, sweet and sexy! There were times in the book i was like ' ugh go and talk to eachother'!! but it was worth some drama at the end =)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    A Good Read

    B&N recommended this book for me based on my reading Existence and Predestined by Abbi Glines and I thought the synopsis sounded promising. Apparently its a sequel of sorts to Breathe and includes the Sadie and Jax characters to a smaller extent because the book focuses on Marcus (also from Breathe) and Willow (new character). However it is not necessary to read them in order. While I figured out the big secret/twist long before the characters did it didn't take away from the enjoyment of watching the story unfold.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Disapointmenr

    After reading all the ravishing reviews for this book, i was extremly disappointed after reading it. The plot was extremly cliche and predictable. Some of the writing was just so out of no where a lot of it was not beliveable and felt really fake. dont waste your time or money

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Read Breathe before this book so you can enjoy the full story! G

    Read Breathe before this book so you can enjoy the full story! Great books! This was a nice relaxing read and a nice break from the supernatural kick I seem to be on lately;)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Ck

    Ibremember when this book was 3.99

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Good read, I was rootingbfor Willow the whole time.

    Good twists and turns

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Recommend for older teens and adults.

    I have enjoyed all of Abbi Glines books, and this one didn't disappoint. It is more riske and grown-up than Breathe. The romance was good, even though Cage has a few issues to work out. I loved Low and was cheering for her happy ending. I look forward to future books by Abbi!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE Abbi Glines!

    Having family in Alabama (Gurley, Huntsville, and Paint Rock Valley) I can picture the setting of Abbi's books perfectly. What's great about her stories though is that really they could take place anywhere. She creates some of the most emotional characters to fall in love with and relate to, in what I would call "Any-Town America". This book still has me grinning. I purchased it last night, stayed up late to finish it. Tweeted about how much I loved it and went to bed thinking about the magnificent love story and personal journeys these characters underwent. Just like in her other books: The Vincent Boys and Breathe, Abbi Glines creates a book to read over and over again and love more each time!

    Marcus Hardy definitely caught my attention when I read Breathe, I even rooted for him a little. And, Because of Low gave me more reason to gawk at such a well developed and fun character. I would recommend reading Breathe before reading this one, just so that you can meet Marcus and get to know him a little before taking this plunge into his life, the background nice guy in Breathe is still a very nice and very sexy guy in Because of Low, I'd say heartbreak did him good.

    Abbi Glines is an awe inducing writer, throughout the book she had my emotions all over the place. And, I absolutely loved the little bits of Sadie and Jax that she threw in there. It kind of reminds me of Sarah Dessen's books, how they are all related in little ways (same town, characters make appearances). I would love to read more about this group of friends, maybe learn more of Preston's story or follow Marcus' sister Amanda for a book or 2.

    Willow and Cage have this amazing friendship, and he swears he's going to marry her one day. In my opinion, and probably the opinion of anyone who reads this, she is way better than him no matter how close they've been for however long. Cage is a self absorbed wreck and his only weakness seems to be Willow, when she calls he drops everything to come to her side. Which, for a girl like Willow, is all she thinks she'll ever need.

    My favorite character was Larissa, Wilow's one year old niece. She had the boys eating out of the palm of her hand. And, I don't think anything is cuter than watching guys with babies!

    When we meet Willow, or Low as her friends call her, she's a mess. She had no place to really live and alternates her time between her sister's couch and Marcus' new roommate Cage's bed (but nothing happens of course). She was weak, anxiety ridden, and very codependent of Cage. Understandably when her past is learned. By the end of Because of Low she is her own girl, she's still a little broken (but life is hard) yet standing much taller. I really enjoyed her story and Marcus'. I love the way Abbi alternates points of view between Low and Marcus, knowing what both of them are thinking is so much more filling and completing, if that makes sense.

    The drama in Marcus' life is countered with this light that is Willow Foster, and as much as this relationship saves her, it helps him as well.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    ?

    Is this the second book in a series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Amazing

    Well I now have a new favorite author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    tgerber432@aol.com

    Add

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Marcus Hardy has had to move back home to Sea Breeze because o

    Marcus Hardy has had to move back home to Sea Breeze because of family issues. He moves in with a friend of a friend Cage York. Cage has a revolving door of women who never make a repeat appearance. One night a girl appears on Cage's doorstep looking for a place to stay. Marcus is immediately intrigued and wants to know why she is involved with someone like Cage. Willow "Low" has her own share of family drama and needs somewhere to stay. Cage warns Marcus off because he plans to marry Low when he is ready to settle down. Marcus however doesn't take the warning and pursues Low til she caves in. When something shatters both their worlds things look bleak and neither know how to handle the truth.

    I am so happy Marcus got his story told and am further happy with the story. I felt heartbroken when Sadie turned Marcus down but knew it was for the best. Knowing Marcus will find his one, I am glad it was Low. She has her own demons of course but who doesn't. Although I figured out the twist before it happened I still felt the heartbreak when it happened. I still enjoy Abbi Glines and her work and cannot wait for the next book which is Cage's story. I hope he finds his HEA too.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Cheaper @ walmart

    Saw physical book @ walmart for $8.48
    Haven't read yet so i can't give a accurate rate sorry!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Must read

    Sexy love stories

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I just love everyone of these stories great job Abbi

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    Loved this one more than the first in this series.

    Loved this one more than the first in this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    The cover...

    Dat booty doe. Damn baby got back.
    That guys booty. Booty squaddd<>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11