BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Because of Winn-Dixie

Average Rating 4.5
( 922 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(713)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

83 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

I LOVE IT

Because of Winn-dixie was one of the best books i ever read because of how close the girl and the dog were. The dog [winn-dixie] was Opals only friend and they had a loving friendship from the moment the saw each other. This book really touched me and it also made me la...
Because of Winn-dixie was one of the best books i ever read because of how close the girl and the dog were. The dog [winn-dixie] was Opals only friend and they had a loving friendship from the moment the saw each other. This book really touched me and it also made me laugh so hard at times. I really recommend it to everyone. It changed my life.

posted by Anonymous on May 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Hmm

I disliked this book it was pretty boring. Not my favorite book.

posted by Anonymous on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    It was nominated for 'Kids Choice in Washington'

    I've read almost every book such as this one and found them more enjoyable. I was frankly surprised to learn it was nominated for the, 'Sasquatch Awards' and 'Kids Choice' up here in Washington. It was an easy read and there isn't much for it, and I was done within the hour yawning and picking up another book.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    It ia ok

    It is ok to read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not such a great book

    This was a good book but not so great but it was kind of sad beacause Opal never found her mother. But its not a book that you should be craving for beacause its not that great.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    book review

    The things I like in a book are, mysterious twisted kinds of books. It also cant be to long of a story and has to have a constant action. Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate Di Camillo isn't one of these books. It isn't mysterious or twisted, and dosn't have much action. But if your the kind of person who likes books that tell storys about others lives and how they grew up, then this is the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Its a very good bbook my drother did a state book repost on it.

    Its a very good bbook my drother did a state book repost on it. She did it for her school at A.W.James in Drew MS. She enjoyed reading this book as well as telling her school an class about this book also what she had learn. I muself have enjoyed reading this book because of this book my child came in first place an now she feel as if she is on top of the world. SO TO WHO EVERY READ THIS BOOK YOU WILL ENJOY IT AS MUCH AS I DID AN MY CHILD DID THIS BOOK IS NUMBER ONE IN MY WORLD. P.S. THANK YOU JUANITA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    I read this book for my 3rd grade book report and I thought it w

    I read this book for my 3rd grade book report and I thought it was great. A girl finds a big stray dog in a grocery store. She keeps the dog and names it after the store, Winn-Dixie. Together they meet friends. I think people should read this story because it is a really good book and is written well. While I was reading I felt like I wanted to be friends with Winn-Dixie because I like dogs. I gave this book three stars because I didn't like the part when Opal yelled at her father that he let her mother go without trying to stop her. Overall, I thought this book was great because it is a well-told story and it seemed like it could really happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Is this good

    So on my summer reading list it said yhat because of winn dixy,so my mom said i shoud get it.Is it a long book?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Nn

    Nn

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    by anonyimus on

    T

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    READ!!!!

    I read this book in third grade. It had me laughing sometimes and crying others. I also am a fan of Kate Dicamillo! It wasnt my favorite book by her though ):

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    This is a book review on because of Winn- Dixie is about a girl

    This is a book review on because of Winn- Dixie is about a girl by the name of opal and how Winn-Dixie changed her life.it is written Lois Lowry the age group is 8 years and up. The main setting is in a town called Naomi. The preacher aka her dad is kind and loving but likes the church more than her at times. My favorite part is when Winn-Dixie smiles. There is a movie if you are a good reader watch it first the book leave important parts and information out of it so understanding is a little hard. I rank these book three and a half stars out of five. Opal meets friend that’s when the plot thickens. Some friends are troubling more than others. Some lost family but they all come together. And have a party. The words are grade level 6. A New York Times best seller book of the year in sense book magazine a good book for the holidays. All around fun for the family.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    BECAUSE OF WINN dixie

    It was a good story I guess I read it last summer and I really didnt like it tgat much but if you love dogs this is a good book for you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    OK

    Kate Dicamillo is a great author. But in this book, i didnt really see that much excitment and action as much as i thought i would. It wasnt the best book, but not the worst. I thought it was a little slow at some parts. I do have to admit, it does have a great plot! (;

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    uhhhh

    it wasn't the best but not the worst either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It was pretty good

    I liked how all the characters really fit in the book like a bookmark. Opal was not that great of a name for the main character. Overall I liked the book and Winn Dixie wouldn't been a dog I wouldn't have wanted to lose. 3 stars.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Because of Winn-Dixie

    Winn-Dixie was a pretty good book,but I am a little to old for it, and I think it was for younger children. It was a touching story, about friend ship, and learning to be yourself and a better person/friend. India Opal will teach you about herself, and the new person she has become. As I said I found it kind of childish, but hey it would be great for a younger age category. Winn-Dixie will steal your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2