Customer Reviews for

Because of Winn-Dixie

Average Rating 4.5
( 891 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(688)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

76 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

I LOVE IT

Because of Winn-dixie was one of the best books i ever read because of how close the girl and the dog were. The dog [winn-dixie] was Opals only friend and they had a loving friendship from the moment the saw each other. This book really touched me and it also made me la...
Because of Winn-dixie was one of the best books i ever read because of how close the girl and the dog were. The dog [winn-dixie] was Opals only friend and they had a loving friendship from the moment the saw each other. This book really touched me and it also made me laugh so hard at times. I really recommend it to everyone. It changed my life.

posted by Anonymous on May 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Love it

posted by 10436414 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 112 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    BECAUSE OF WINN- DIXIE

    This is such a great book!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very cute book

    Read this when i was in elementary schooll. A vey cute book for kids to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    Good

    I thought that this book was a good easy read and would reccomend to 3rd graders

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Greatest book Ever!!

    I really enjoyed this book because it showed a girl in her everyday life!Her mom moved out when she was four,she gets teased because of her name, and she lives in a trailerpark. I loved how even though it wasnt her dog to begin with, she cared about it so much. She was so close to the dog,it was her bestfriend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Wow

    Great book! Thought i wouldnt like it and i was wrong. Read this for school about 2 to 3 years ago. Love the story. Worth the money and i say its a great deal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    sad but great book.

    winn dixie really got to me. i almost cried in chapter twenty six. it would have make me burst into tears if she found she wanted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    a well wirtten story

    this was a really awesome book i highly recimend this book to anyone that loves advantures and dogs! :) ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    because of winn dixie

    i love the move so i am going to see if i like the book. i think i will like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    why i love winndixie

    it is so interesting because this girl finds out about her mother and meets a dg along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    A wonderful book!

    A wonderful book about a loving dog and a lonely girl named Opal who meets lots of new people because of this unlikely friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    Good Book!

    The Story "Because of Winn-Dixie" is told in a third person perspective. The story is about a girl named India Opal who moved to another town and is very lonely. She doesn't have any friends and her father is a preacher. Opals mother left when she young and since she did leave Opal and the preacher have changed the way they live. But their lives start to become to happier because Opal takes in a stray dog. The dog was named Winn-Dixie because Opal found the dog in the grocery market, Winn-Dixie. Winn-Dixie is the reason why Opal and her father now have friends and are more of a family. Winn-Dixie is afraid of thunderstorms which plays a key part later in the story. Although this book was hard to get into at the beginning, it came out to be a good book. This book falls between a 6 or a 7 on a scale of 10. I would recommend this book to 8 year olds and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    THE CRITIC: Great Book

    This is a very inspiring story about India Opal Buloni, her father, her dog, and other lovable characters. India and her father move to Florida because her dad was a preacher at a church there. When India went to a grocery store there was a dog there that was messing it up. No one claimed him, so India did. She convinced her father to keep him. This is all about her experiences with Winn-Dixie (the dog). It is a great book that I strongly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good book

    this was a very good and very well detailed book! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    YEAH OK I WIL SAY ITS AN OK BOOK

    THIS BOOK WOW THIS BOOK IS OK IT HAS ALOT OF DETAILS AND IT OS KIND OF SAD CAUZ SHE NEVER REALLY FOUND HER MOMMY. But yeah it is an ok book.
    i finished it in about 1 week and waz never really put back in to my brain cauz it aint that interesting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    LOVED BY KIDS

    Don't tell us you saw the movie, your kids will love to hear this story over and over again as a little girl and her dog find their way into the hearts of new friends, a new town, and soon your family. From grocery store mishaps and church mice to beer and wine bottles that hang on trees to keep away ghosts, India Opal and Winn Dixie's adventures will bring smiles to the faces of readers young and old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    a reviewer

    My favorite character in this book was Winn Dixie, because she was a good friend to Indian Opal Balogna .I liked the part of the book when the librarian thinks that Winn Dixie was a giant bear that attacked her many years before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    Because Of Winn-Dixie was a great book. I gave it 4 stars because I thought it stayed on one topic and the ideas weren't jumping around all over the place. The ideas were strong, and full of emotion. You could actually feel her sadness and happiness in the book. The reason why I chose this book was because it looked like a book about a dog and I love dogs. This book was a very satifying novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    A charming story

    I was not overly thrilled with DiCamillo's Newbery Medal winner The Tale of Despereaux. However, her Newbery Honor winner Because of Winn-Dixie came highly recommended. This is indeed a charming story of optimism in the face of adversity. I enjoyed reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    This book is great for kids.

    Ten year old, India Opal Buloni describes her summer in a new town Naomi,Florida. She shares all the good things that happens her when she finds a dog named Winn-Dixie. India's mother deserted the family and she was unable to make new friends. With the help of her new companion Winn-Dixie her life begins to change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2007

    My Last Name is not 'Dump' or 'Baloney'

    My headline is weird, but it does go with this book. Why do they call this book 'Because of Winn-Dixie? When I picked up this book at Barnes & Noble, I didn't know what to expect. I had never read one of Kate DiCamillo's books before. And there I was, imagining the little redhead girl in my mind. And of course, the dog was there too. You cannot believe how different this book is from the movie. It is much BETTER. Sure, the movie was okay, nut the book was better. Kate DiCamillo is one of those authors who can write about so many different things, but my favorite will always be 'Because of Winn-Dixie'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 112 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6