Customer Reviews for

Because of You

Average Rating 4
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read. Looks like this is part 1 of 2 or more...

This book is very well-written by a career soldier. The story feels real as do the characters. Ms. Scott clearly either understands survivors' guilt by having lived it or she has done an outstanding job with her research.

The back story about Trent looks like it will b...
This book is very well-written by a career soldier. The story feels real as do the characters. Ms. Scott clearly either understands survivors' guilt by having lived it or she has done an outstanding job with her research.

The back story about Trent looks like it will be just as good, and I can't wait to read it.

A side note to those (like me) who find grammar and typos an aggravating distraction: Ms. Scott knows how to write, and she knows how to type.

posted by FelisAmorata on November 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Travel & Lesure

Gdfbhcbehfbrbhy

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Tremendously good first novel

    I would classify this more as a military themed drama with romantic elements. Well written and emotional.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a wonderful, inspiring, love story! Though I have little kn

    What a wonderful, inspiring, love story! Though I have little knowledge
    or experience with military life, Ms. Scott had given me a glimpse of “a
    day in a life” of that world. This story is heart breaking but
    absolutely inspiring. Well respected Shane Garrison is the Infantry
    platoon sergeant. He is a true patriot who dedicated his life to the
    military and may have recently divorced due to that very reason. He is
    to be deployed for Iraq with plans to protect his men but in doing so;
    he will come back a different person. Unfortunately this war did not
    leave him unscathed physically or emotionally. With no one waiting or
    caring for him, no money or place to live, Shane falls in despair. But
    with a help of a nurse he’d met once, Shane will learn how to cope and
    live again. Jen St. James is scathed but not because of the war. She’s
    had major battles that caused her to be closed off to living her life. A
    divorcee with a history of mastectomy she truly has given up hope to
    having any relationship whatsoever. One night her friend succeeded and
    dragged her to go out to a going away party for the men and women to
    deploy for war. Bitter sweet but this night will change not only her
    life but the lives of the people she is with forever. I am in awe of how
    Shane and Jen had pulled through their trials in life. Surviving Cancer,
    injury from war and a broken marriage are hard situations to deal with
    but with the graces of having met each other, they manage to pull
    through. I broke into tears with as I read what happened in their past
    and present. As well as the situations with the side characters,
    Trent/Laura and Vic/Nikki. Marriage itself is always a work in progress
    and with war in the way, even harder to deal with. I would love to see
    more of what is to come of these couples living the life after a
    terrible experience with war. Ms. Scott did such a great job writing
    this story. I felt everything they felt, the emotions and situations
    were so real that I can’t believe this is a work for fiction. This book
    not only opened my eyes to military life, it made me proud of the men
    and women who work so hard to protect our country. As cliché as that
    sounds, it is what this book made me feel. I highly recommend this read
    to everyone! *This book was provided by author

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Simply excellent

    Such a good book! It's so realistic and believable!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Eye opening

    This book helped me see more in depth the mental and emotional trauma that our returrning warriors deal with wwhen they come back; it also helped me understand more about my son who came back with no legs
    Thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Good

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Very good

    The story of a wounded soldier and a scarred nurse. Very good characters. Very realistic. Liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    like the book

    like the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Cute story

    I started reading this book and about 1 chapter in, I realized I had read it before. So I read it again! It's a touching story; very sweet and a nice, easy read, though well-written. Borrowed another of her novels from e-library. Yummy protagonist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Not perfect characters...

    Which made it more real. A bit slow at times but overall very emotional

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    really well written book

    really enjoyed this book and it was very well written the only bad thing is I wish the story was longer as I really enjoyed the characters. will read other books by this author for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    This was a great book. It was so true to life and tells us what

    This was a great book. It was so true to life and tells us what our soldiers are going thru when they are wounded and they come home. Enjoyed reading this book very much and I am so glad I got it. Love the picture with all his TATs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Well done!

    Really enjoyed the story. Couldn't put it down; finished in an evening. Well worth the 99 cents and a few hours time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2012

    I could not stop reading

    Jen St. James is a recent mastectomy patient who is understandable self conscious about having only one breast. Going out to the bar in not her first choice in activities, but she agrees to go to support Laura, whose husband, Trent, is shipping out to Iraq the next day.

    Sergeant First Class Shane Garrison wants to spend his last night in the US before shipping out to Iraq relaxing at home. When men from his platoon try to talk him into going with to a local bar he gives in deciding he will go just to keep them out of trouble. At the end of the night everyone leaves to go home and Jen and Shane are the last two there.

    The next day Shane shows up for his release physical and finds Jen there as his nurse. Against her better judgment she releases Shane to Iraq, hoping he returns in one piece. Many months’ later three men from Shane’s platoon return to the US wounded and Shane is one of them. Jen and Shane both fight their own personal demons and help each other to try to find happiness.

    Although I cannot totally understand how Jen feel after her surgery, I do understand how she can feel so self conscience about her appearance. She truly showed how strong she is by not giving up on her life and falling in love with a tough soldier.

    My favorite story line of this book was between Laura and Jen. The way they supported each other and helped each other stay strong was so inspiring. They were so lucky to have each other through their own personal trials, to know without a doubt there was unwavering support. Exactly what ever girl looks for in a girlfriend.

    Even though I could predict where this story was heading and for the most part how it was going to get there, I could not stop reading. There were a few twists and turns that I did not anticipate and they just made the story that much more entertaining. I cannot wait for the next book in this series to be released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    While I have always had a deep respect for those serving in and

    While I have always had a deep respect for those serving in and families of the military, I suppose I can never truly comprehend the pressure and stress involved in that lifestyle. I can tell you this, I would be a nervous wreck. All the time. I do have family members who have served or are serving, but I'm not intimately involved in their lives. This book opened my eyes to the struggles these soldiers face when they come home. That said, I also found this book to be inspiring, hopeful, and romantic.

    From the start, I liked Jen. She's dealing with her own traumatic issues, but she's a tough woman. I can completely picture her as a nurse. My mom is a nurse and I felt that the author captured a nurses nature perfectly. Jen was nurturing, compassionate, professional, and caring. I was really glad to see that she never second guessed her feelings for Shane. She was patient with him and the flow of their relationship was natural.

    I love the name Shane. I always have. It's just such a strong, sexy name to me. The name completely fits this character. Shane is used to leading his men, so when he gets wounded, he feels completely out of control. He's very much an alpha male. He feels drawn to leading people into and out of tough situations. The struggle that he has, is that he has no choice, but to put himself first this time. I loved when he finally allows himself to begin the healing process. It showed such strength in his character, but also his vulnerability. I thought it was hot.

    Let's just take a moment to appreciate the cover. *sigh* OK? Good. Let's move on.

    The supporting characters were all great. Carponti made me laugh and I think his wife is pretty awesome. She's like a stealthy undercover agent. I'd like to get to know her better to see what she does behind the scenes. I also love Laura and am left feeling distraught over her situation with her husband Trent. A friend told me that they will have their own book, so it looks like I will get some of my questions answered about them then.

    I enjoyed Jessica Scott's writing style. She pulled me into these characters lives and I can't wait to see what happens next. Not only does this book have appeal to a romance reader, but there was some mystery/suspense in there as well. I definitely recommended it.

    To those of you serving or families of those serving, my heart, thoughts, and prayers are with you all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    With it's compelling story and broken but strong characters, Bec

    With it's compelling story and broken but strong characters, Because of
    You is a story of finding love and the courage to move forward. Some
    days, I am so happy to be an adult. I've always been a bit of a
    "genre jumper, bouncing back and forth based on what I want to read
    on any given day. But sometimes, I just want a good adult romance with
    an alpha male and the woman who can break down his walls. That's exactly
    what I got with Because of You. Contemporary Military Romance is a new
    sub-genre to me. I can already tell that I like it, though. The
    underlying issues with military life lends extra drama to the story.
    Because of You takes the reader on a gripping journey as Shane and Jen
    meet right before deployment, to the Middle East while Shane is on tour,
    and back home with him returning broken and defeated, and under Jen's
    care. But they physical healing is only half the battle. Jen and Shane
    both have emotional baggage they must work through if they ever want to
    have a relationship. Shane is a tough, respected leader amongst men.
    But without a family at home, his fellow soldiers are his only family.
    Keeping them as safe as possible, bringing them back home is his focus
    in life. He considers every loss on the battlefield as a personal
    failure. He sees his broken body as a failure. As a reader, someone on
    the outside looking in, it's so easy to listen to Shane beat himself up
    and say "Snap out of it!". But we all know guilt is a tricky
    thing, and Shane's is understandable and realistic.But Shane is also a
    man. A man who wants the woman who is nursing him back to health. And I
    promise you, that leads to some very funny, vulnerable, and sexy
    situations. Ultimately, I fond Shane to be kind, honorable, and sexy as
    hell. Jen has some tough issues of her own. After a tough battle of
    her own, her confidence in her appearance is shot. She's a character
    that is easy to identify with, even without sharing her experiences. I
    didn't feel as if I knew her quite as well as Shane, but a lot of her
    story revolves around helping him. I did admire her strength and
    resilience, and the fact that she doesn't fight what happens between the
    two. Because of You was exactly what I needed, when I needed it. The
    story was heartbreakingly authentic. I loved Shane and Jen, rooted for
    them to get their happily ever after. Author Jessica Scott is a
    fantastic writer and I am looking forward to reading more from her in
    the near future. If I had any gripe about Because of You, it would be
    that a major issue with two of the secondary characters, Trent and
    Laura, was unresolved. I really liked Laura and wanted to know what
    happened next. Luckily, these two are getting their own book! I can
    easily say that if you are a lover of Contemporary Adult Romance, you
    will enjoy Because of You.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Because of You is a fantastic debut from author Jessica Scott th

    Because of You is a fantastic debut from author Jessica Scott that contains searing sexual tension along with a highly believable story and characters. Though I wouldn’t classify it as a military romance per se; it is more of a contemporary romance that focuses on the effects of a war and the people involved in and around it.

    The storyline centers around Sergeant First Class Shane Garrison whose sole identity is a soldier and Jen St. James, a nurse and breast cancer survivor. They first meet the night before Shane’s deployment to the sandbox and share one explosive moment, never thinking that they’ll have a chance to explore it more. But when Shane is badly injured in Iraq and sent back home, him and Jen are brought back together. Jen and Shane have a slow-building romance but their story, and the ones around them, is emotional, heart wrenching and sometimes overwhelming. Humor was sprinkled in at just the right moments though to save you from falling into despair for these characters.

    What truly captures you heart in Because of You is the internal struggles that each of these characters face and the relationships between them. Shane is a platoon sergeant, which is all he sees himself as, and being laid up in the hospital he thinks he’s useless; useless to his men, his country, useless even to Jen. On top of that he is suffering through the guilt and responsibility of losing some of his men and others being severely injured and forever changed. Shane takes everything on himself and he is basically at his breaking point. Jen is a survivor; she’s fought through breast cancer, a mastectomy and her family turning their back on her. On the outside you wouldn’t be able to tell that she has been through so much but on the inside she is terribly insecure, she can barely look at herself in the mirror let alone have someone else see her and her scarring. I think this aspect of the story will hit home to a lot of women, whether you’re a breast cancer survivor yourself, or not. It’s a scary and very real thing. You also get a glimpse into the amazing women behind the soldiers, that is a job in itself and not an easy one by any stretch of the imagination. All of these facets that I’ve mentioned above it what will strike you the most while reading; it’s all so very real!

    Because of You is definitely not an ‘escapism’ type of book, if you’re looking for that then you’ll be disappointed. This is a very raw, in your face type of read that will give you a good punch in your gut and knot up your insides. In a good way though. J I’m looking forward to the next book in the series and especially more information of a secondary couple featured in Because of You. I really hope we get to see more of them soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    very good

    Jen is a nurse. She had a battle with breast Cancer and lost one breast but is alive. She thinks who will love her again, flawed and damaged. Shane a Sargent in the military is about to deploy. At the party the night before deployment the two bump into each other. The connection between the two surprises the both of them. One kiss as he walks to her car, starts feelings they both have longed for. After being wounded in combat, she comes home damaged, alive. Jen one of his nurses remembers the kiss they shared before deployment. They both know there is a connection there that should be explored. Both flawed in different ways but trying to get to know one another, will the two see each other for who they truly are...meant to be!

    Because of you, a very good read. One of my best friends is in the military and I have seen glimpse of the life that she loves. In the book it shows the dedication of the people in the armed services. From Shane's point of view you see him putting his life before his men and the concern for all of his fallen and hurt friends (shed a couple of tears). I myself work in the health care field and could relate to Jen. Jen is dedicated to her patients, as much as Shane is to his men. This book shows two people who each believed they were flawed and were never going to find love again, and do together. The story reminds me of one of my favorite shows Army Wives. Jessica's writing was beautifully done. Easy to read and you really get pulled into the story! A very good book. The only complaint I had was I want to find out what happens next. So I am hoping Jessica is writing it! Jessica don't forget me when it comes out! Defiantly worth a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Because of You by Jessica Scott is the first book in her romanti

    Because of You by Jessica Scott is the first book in her romantic suspense series, Coming Home, and her debut novel. It’s sweet, romantic, passionate, heartbreaking, hopeful, exciting… all served up by awesome characters whose trials and triumphs had me invested in them early on and kept me coming back for more.

    If you enjoy romantic suspense and love reading about our emotionally and physically scarred heroes who, with the love of a good woman, combat their demons, then you might want to check this out. And if you enjoy a different perspective, heroines who carry emotional and physical scars who, also with the love of a good man, fight their own demons, then you definitely want to give this book a try. While it isn't without its flaws - at times it moved a bit slow and at other times things seemed a tad rushed, all-in-all this is an impressive debut novel. It’s unique, steamy, insightful, funny, inspiring… a truly entertaining story that has me very much looking forward to Ms. Scott’s next installment in the series, Until There Was You.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Jessica Scott wronte a heart renching story...I've never been on

    Jessica Scott wronte a heart renching story...I've never been one to read about war heroes or actively involved in anything like that, so this was a change for me and all I can say is WOW! What a great story, with wonderful characters that are all appealing in their own way and broken. Its just so good, hope that we will see more of them in the future. I was very pleased! Please buy it, its a wonderful love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Great Book Highly Recommend

    enjoyed this book, will look for more by this author, action,romance,intrigue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3