Customer Reviews for

Because of You

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read. Looks like this is part 1 of 2 or more...

This book is very well-written by a career soldier. The story feels real as do the characters. Ms. Scott clearly either understands survivors' guilt by having lived it or she has done an outstanding job with her research.

The back story about Trent looks like it will b...
This book is very well-written by a career soldier. The story feels real as do the characters. Ms. Scott clearly either understands survivors' guilt by having lived it or she has done an outstanding job with her research.

The back story about Trent looks like it will be just as good, and I can't wait to read it.

A side note to those (like me) who find grammar and typos an aggravating distraction: Ms. Scott knows how to write, and she knows how to type.

posted by FelisAmorata on November 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Travel & Lesure

Gdfbhcbehfbrbhy

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Excellent read. Looks like this is part 1 of 2 or more...

    This book is very well-written by a career soldier. The story feels real as do the characters. Ms. Scott clearly either understands survivors' guilt by having lived it or she has done an outstanding job with her research.

    The back story about Trent looks like it will be just as good, and I can't wait to read it.

    A side note to those (like me) who find grammar and typos an aggravating distraction: Ms. Scott knows how to write, and she knows how to type.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    This was a wonderful read I couldn't put down.i would totally recommend it

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Recommended by NYT Best Selling Authors

    "Edgy and current-and a truly satisfying love story. Put this book, Jessica Scott's, BECAUSE OF YOU, on your "must read" list."
    New York Times Bestselling Author
    Suzanne Brockmann


    "Jessica Scott writes with a soldier's heart. Because Of You is touching, authentic and a fantastic read."
    New York Times Bestselling Author
    Cindy Gerard


    "Crackling with realism, sizzling with sexual tension, and pulsing with emotion, Jessica Scott has penned an unforgettable military romance that delivers heartache and hope on every page."
    New York Times Bestselling Author
    Roxanne St. Claire

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    GREAT READ

    Enjoyed this book very much! Look forward to sequel

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    WOW!

    I love this book. This was one of the most realistic looks at what wounded soldiers deal with when they return home. This was also a great love story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Debut Novel

    ***4.5 out of 5 stars***

    I love finding both new authors and new-to-me authors. I¿ve talked to Jessica Scott on twitter for a while and even got to meet her at RWA in Orlando in 2010 (ran into her at a book signing while in line together). When Jessica announced her book would be released in the revived Loveswept line, I knew I had to read this story. I pre-ordered Because of You for my kindle as soon as there was a release date.

    I absolutely loved Because of You! Both Jen and Shane are such strong characters. Jen is a breast cancer survivor who finally starts to feel like a woman again after meeting and kissing Shane. Shane has always put his men first, even about himself. He meets Jen the day before he and his men are scheduled to deploy to Iraq. They share one amazing kiss, that neither one is able to forget the other once Shane is deployed. When Shane is injured and sent home, Jen is one of the nurses who care for him daily. The attraction is still there after all this time, and only grows as they spend day after day together. Shane is one of those super strong men who don¿t like to rely on anyone. However, his injuries leave him no choice, and Jen is more than happy to care for him.

    Jen find herself getting stronger each day as she cares for Shane. She also starts to feel like a woman again for the first time since she first lost a breast to cancer. In fact, her battle helps her be able to help Shane move forward with his recovery. The attraction between Shane and Jen just gets stronger with each passing day, and they were so hot together when they finally gave into their attraction.

    Jessica Scott has an amazing voice and made it easy for me to feel both the pain and the joy from her characters. I loved so many of the characters from Because of You, but especially Jen's best friend Laura. We get to read all about Laura and her husband Trent in Jessica's next book.The second book in her Coming Home series, Back to You is set for release from Loveswept in February 2012, and I¿ll again pre-order as soon as it¿s available.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Great!!!

    This was a great read!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Wonderful Love Story

    First book with this author, cant wait for the next one in October. This story was well written, good story line, well developed characters and secondary characters. I couldnt put this book down. There is alot of gratuitious sex in this book, but there is some beautiful love making that is relevant to the story line. I would definately recommend this book & author. 265 pages

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Awesome read, hope the story continues with book 2

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Great Book, Didn't want to put it down!

    Can't wait for more from this new author

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    great read

    one great book ! enjoyed every minute.most informative! it helps to understand what the special forces experience on a daily basis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Crazy good

    First time author...unreal good. can't wait for #2 to come out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Must read!!

    Amazing! Kept my attention the whole time! Amazing characters, you really fall in love with Shane. Sad I haave to wait so long for the next one!! Actual story is approximately 210 pages. Well worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful! Made me laugh, made me cry., This was a very emotion

    Wonderful! Made me laugh, made me cry.,

    This was a very emotional book to read but I loved it! I've read some reviews criticizing the author for not fully developing the secondary characters. I do not agree! Yes, there are more books in this series but, in my opinion, this story was just fine as a stand-alone book. I hate books with major cliff-hangers (unless I know this before I begin reading) but this book had none.

    The characters in this story were very real to me and I felt deeply for the trials they went through. I have no first hand knowledge of military life but this story seemed very realistic to me. I applaud the author for writing about something she has first-hand knowledge of and doing it in an entertaining, albeit emotion wrenching, way.

    I love books that can make me both laugh and cry and this book managed that in spades.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2015

    This was a very good story and I very much enjoyed it.  I am loo

    This was a very good story and I very much enjoyed it.  I am looking forward to reading the next book(s) in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Great book!

    Touching romance, well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    High Recommend

    It was a great book that really delved into relationships and to persevere. The tough soldier that finds he has to rely on someone to help him is very hard for him and the nurse that helps has demons of her own. I would love to read more books like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    The story kept me interested all the way to the end, and then I

    The story kept me interested all the way to the end, and then I picked up a short story for what happened after. Even the minor characters were very well fleshed out and intriguing in themselves. I usually do not like military romance novels (despite being a former military wife). The story is very compelling and well written. A very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Excellent book.

    This was so good it was hard to put down. This is so much more than just a nice love story. It deals with the sacrifices and the heart of our people going to war. Its about a young woman recovering from breast cancer. I like this author and will read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Really enjoyed reading this book! Hard to put down,after seeing it was a Fort Hood,Texas story!!! Because being a Texas girl and knowing where that is personally.made me really love this book!!! Love Shane and Jen!!!

    Really enjoyed this book!!! Loved the fact it was centered around Fort Hood,Texas!!! Love Shane and Jen!!! Now i am on to the next book,for more of Shane and Jen!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4