Customer Reviews for

Become a Better You: 7 Keys to Improving Your Life Every Day

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

encouraging to the fullest!

i just want to encourage the young people of the world today to listen to joel olsteen.Being in an mental abuse relationship I have been so miserable for quite a few years.I turned the tv on one day and joel olsteen was on tv for some reason he said something that gave ...
i just want to encourage the young people of the world today to listen to joel olsteen.Being in an mental abuse relationship I have been so miserable for quite a few years.I turned the tv on one day and joel olsteen was on tv for some reason he said something that gave me the best inspiration i have ever recieved so I became seeing myself to the tv when he will be on.I can say that today I am a born again christian and filled with the precious holy spirit.God has truley blessed me I am so confident in myself also I have a new vision in life.I encourage everyone of all walks of life to read his books they have saved my life.

posted by bridal22 on February 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

GOOD ADVICE BUT HYPOCRITICAL

There is some good positive messages and confidence builders in here. I just DO NOT get the concept of religiously helpful people accumulating large sums of wealth in the name of God. I believe that if we are here on earth for a SHORT amount of time compared to eternity...
There is some good positive messages and confidence builders in here. I just DO NOT get the concept of religiously helpful people accumulating large sums of wealth in the name of God. I believe that if we are here on earth for a SHORT amount of time compared to eternity, the MAIN goal of the faithful should be to turn wealth aside and help others learn how to be happy within themselves WITHOUT money. I think Mr. Osteen has a very determined and positive outlook but make no mistake, he would be better served to helping people learn to be happy with what they have as opposed to teaching them to want more. Some good stuff in here BUT some stuff I disagree with in principle.

posted by Anonymous on October 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    GOOD ADVICE BUT HYPOCRITICAL

    There is some good positive messages and confidence builders in here. I just DO NOT get the concept of religiously helpful people accumulating large sums of wealth in the name of God. I believe that if we are here on earth for a SHORT amount of time compared to eternity, the MAIN goal of the faithful should be to turn wealth aside and help others learn how to be happy within themselves WITHOUT money. I think Mr. Osteen has a very determined and positive outlook but make no mistake, he would be better served to helping people learn to be happy with what they have as opposed to teaching them to want more. Some good stuff in here BUT some stuff I disagree with in principle.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    encouraging to the fullest!

    i just want to encourage the young people of the world today to listen to joel olsteen.Being in an mental abuse relationship I have been so miserable for quite a few years.I turned the tv on one day and joel olsteen was on tv for some reason he said something that gave me the best inspiration i have ever recieved so I became seeing myself to the tv when he will be on.I can say that today I am a born again christian and filled with the precious holy spirit.God has truley blessed me I am so confident in myself also I have a new vision in life.I encourage everyone of all walks of life to read his books they have saved my life.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    Utter crap!

    This book is ridiculous. Joel Osteen basically says that if you pray, you can get material items. He even credits God with getting him an extra discount at a store!! What about all the poor people out there who are struggling? Has God forgotten them? If they say some prayers wil they hit the lottery tomorrow? Joel Osteen should be out helping people rather than writing nonsense and making tons of money off of it. I can't believe I contributed to his wealth. Save your money.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Uplifting and Positive Reading

    This book is a great for positive thinking skills and emotional balance. I love Joel's writing skills, as well. He writes just like he speaks. It's to the matter of point and very direct. But he does not be-little or judge anyone.
    This book is not geared towards one one denomination, as it can be read by all. After each chapter, you can walk away with a great attitude and accept a great deal of strength and knowledge from Joel.
    I'd recommend this book to everyone and anyone who is looking for an upbeat and uplifting emotional ride. :O)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I wish I had read this book 30 year ago. It is very educational.

    This book inspires you to do your best in whatever life circumstance.
    It gives you the encouragement to handle any situation whether good or
    bad. I believe all young people from the age of 11 should be encouraged to read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Joel Osteen is Awesome

    Buy this book but also buy MIRACLE PRAYERS by Douglas Hensley here on Barnes and Noble. Miracle Prayers has secret and special prayers to help one get a healing or miracle in their life through faith and prayer to God.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    GOD FIRST, Others Second, SELF THIRD

    While looking at Joel's writing, I realized something was way off kilter here. I thought God put us here to serve Him, not ourselves? When we hand over the scripting of our lives to Him, He restores us, but does not promise us earthly wealth and happiness. Instead, He promises us something far superior! He promises us an Eternal Kingdom FULL of beauty, and happiness, and streets of gold, and things beyond which human words can't describe!!! Until that day we can walk through Heaven with the Creator Himself, we are here to live our lives fully for Him, NO MATTER WHAT life throws our way. Joel has it backward. A better title might be 'Putting Your Life Before Christ'.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    What a phoney

    I'd sooner read a missive by Ted Kaczynski than make this man any richer. What others find uplifting I find incredibly insincere.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Its sad that "christians" think we need "self hel

    Its sad that "christians" think we need "self help", we dont need to help ourselves but we need Christ! Jesus is the only way that we can turn from our sinful nature and be made a new creature. This book is all about "self", what was the point of Jesus dying on the cross if we are so great and we can help ourselves. That is very unbiblical to preach God will give you everything if you believe in Him, instead Jesus says "they persecuted me, they will persecute you also" . The prosperity gospel won't bring men to Christ, it will bring men to prosperity. Christians, I pray that you may look unto Christ and not to your own works because they are "like filthy rags"( Isaiah 64:6 )anyway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    unbiblical

    views on prosperity and weath not rooted in the Bible or Christ.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Marvelous Makeover with the Master.

    Joel Osteen provides practical advice for the reader to "become a better you." Inside are clear, concise steps toward improvement with the Lord's assistance. Joel offers comical stories, just like he does on the television, to explain how to achieve change in your life. This book is valuable to assist in life-long changes that will improve the overall person, plus you will laugh along the way reading. It offers sound advice in many areas of life, for example, say you want to change a habit, he explains some simple steps to achieve your goal and how to maintain the change. With the Master's (the Lord's) assistance the changes will be permanent that the reader can make.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Not Bad

    I think this is generally a good book but not one which will change your life. I enjoyed reading it in the morning as I was taking the bus to work it gave me a lift. However, I'm sorry to say that I am a bit to cynical and set in my ways to buy into everything that Joel Osteen says in the book. I've had many disappointments in my career so to think as Joel does would mean that I should just shrug it off because God has something bigger in store for me. So sorry Joel but at my age that is a little hard to accept. This book would have been much better for me if I had read it when I was younger and more eager. Still, it can teach you some valuable lessons and can help you to become a somewhat better person. I think Joel does accomplish this but he needs to remove his rose-colored glasses.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    Blessings come in many forms

    This book is well written and does clearly describe one category of blessings that God provides. However, by emphasizing this one category it minimizes the fact that God provides each us with a wonderful combination of blessings that is uniquely designed for each individual. And the material portion of this combination is only one aspect that, by God's perfect design, will be smaller for some than for others. So, an excessive focus on this one type of blessing can ultimiately lead to an unfulfilled life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Heretic

    Heretic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Good book!

    I love this book, inspiring, encouraging.. Etc. Make my life full of energy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    An Absolute Must Read!!

    This is by far one of the most amazing inspirational books I have ever read! If you believe in God, you have the power to believe in yourself! Learn not only to respect others, but be respected. Without a doubt, this book will change your way of thinking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    amazing book

    Helps to improve your actions and outlook and also allows freedom within the christian religion. Joel effectiny roots your life to the bibile without using it as a threat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    A Path Of Faith

    I listened to the audio version of the book "Become a Better You". I enjoyed the emphasis Joel places on faith,and the human potential under God. All of his messages radiate with hope eternal and the faithfulness of God. I sent a copy of the audio to my oldest son who was thrilled to get it and was helped in many ways through the encouragements in each chapter. I must say that I admire Joel Osteen's unwavering focus on faith which he approaches from as many directions as possible. I am grateful to God that he has "stayed the course" on this path of faith. I am sure that he has a ton of critics that would like him to change his emphasis and preach on their favorite themes, but I hope he never lets go of the vision God has given him and the inspiration he has received. I might add, that my wife watches his television ministry every Sunday almost without fail and gets his daily IPod messages also. Thurman L Faison Author, To The Spiritually Inclined (Volume 1)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Helpful!

    I am a recent fan of Joel Osteen. I first saw him on TV while watching his half hour church service. It was very refreshing and enlightening...I had always thought that he was just some kind of preacher who only quotes the bible (he kinda is) but the messages he gives out really pertained to my life. His book is interesting and makes you think. He gives real life examples of things that have happened in his life and i was able to relate to some of the examples. Very good choice I made!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thank you Joel Osteen !

    I found this book to be life changing. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars. I have read several spiritual books over the past two years and this was the best for me. In it I found the answers I was seeking in several areas of my life. It is clear. It is uplifting and it is packed with practical applications. Thank you Joel Osteen !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6