Customer Reviews for

Become a Better You: 7 Keys to Improving Your Life Every Day

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

encouraging to the fullest!

i just want to encourage the young people of the world today to listen to joel olsteen.Being in an mental abuse relationship I have been so miserable for quite a few years.I turned the tv on one day and joel olsteen was on tv for some reason he said something that gave ...
i just want to encourage the young people of the world today to listen to joel olsteen.Being in an mental abuse relationship I have been so miserable for quite a few years.I turned the tv on one day and joel olsteen was on tv for some reason he said something that gave me the best inspiration i have ever recieved so I became seeing myself to the tv when he will be on.I can say that today I am a born again christian and filled with the precious holy spirit.God has truley blessed me I am so confident in myself also I have a new vision in life.I encourage everyone of all walks of life to read his books they have saved my life.

posted by bridal22 on February 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

GOOD ADVICE BUT HYPOCRITICAL

There is some good positive messages and confidence builders in here. I just DO NOT get the concept of religiously helpful people accumulating large sums of wealth in the name of God. I believe that if we are here on earth for a SHORT amount of time compared to eternity...
There is some good positive messages and confidence builders in here. I just DO NOT get the concept of religiously helpful people accumulating large sums of wealth in the name of God. I believe that if we are here on earth for a SHORT amount of time compared to eternity, the MAIN goal of the faithful should be to turn wealth aside and help others learn how to be happy within themselves WITHOUT money. I think Mr. Osteen has a very determined and positive outlook but make no mistake, he would be better served to helping people learn to be happy with what they have as opposed to teaching them to want more. Some good stuff in here BUT some stuff I disagree with in principle.

posted by Anonymous on October 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    PLEASE READ MY REVIEW

    I am young handsome man i got hipnotise by one my best friend. For first five yrs of my early twenties i became one of the biggest looser,but i was keep praying for my myself. I didn't know about joel osteen. One day i stopped by at barnes & nobles saw this young man book.I started reading over and over back in mind somebody's keep telling me this is what you are looking for young man. I made mind and i bought his cds after two weeks so i can play whenever i want. I realize my mistakes i have started my new business which is doing excellent, i joined the college next couple of yrs i''ll be graduating for sure.Today i have no penny debt the day i asked my friend why did he do this to me? didn't even say anything he simply walked away from my life which is good. I am happy. Joel's cds has power in his words. Get stuck in u r mind. Today i am in much better condition. I am paying for my college by my pocket'dosen't botther'. I go out spend money and save money. Business is good. Life is better and confidence. His cds & books teach u the way u become helpful and faithful to yourself and the others. Today i am victor not a victom. My friend i am not christian i have different religion,but his book about the god.Our hevenley father. His messages to the world are believe in u r god no matter who u believe in, but believe with the right attitude. Help the others and see the blessing in your life from the lord. Thanks to the lord that u r live,attractive and live in the best country. His importance message is stay in peace,fearless and happy. God bless all of you!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Just read the first half

    When I first started reading the book I thought it was great. But the further into the book, the more BORING it got. He said the same thing over and over and over. Every chapter was the same message. OKAY, I got it the first time. If I pray, God will grant me my blessings. Got it in the first 1/4 of the book, no need to go further!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Don't preach at me

    This type of self-help book turns me off. I don¿t wish to be ¿preached¿ to or sermonized at and I don¿t like televangelists which is exactly what I thought of the minute he started speaking. I don¿t like books that lean heavily towards pushing the religion of their view points or expect me to believe in their God. I have my own beliefs and ways I do that. The author is a pastor at Lakewood Church in Houston Texas. His sermonizing immediately had me turning a deaf ear to what he was saying. I believe you can be A Better You but not in the way he preached to do it. If you need to find a belief system, this book will give you one way to do that. If you have your own, then you will find this book as irritating as I did.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    BECOME A BETTER

    He is very good writer. He creates hope in our lives. If u follow him as of my experience. U''ll see a huge difference in your life. Yrs ago i was making an average money,didn't have hope to be become a millioner. Now i m making big chunk which i didn't expect. I opened up my own bussiness. Next ten yrs i''ll be seeing my self as of millioner and i won't be surprise,because i have plan. The day i become millioner i''ll start helping the other people for their hopes,money and much more. I want open up my own charity so college students can go for full time and finish their study easily.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    Brighten your day

    This book is very encouraging. In this day and age of negativity, it is good to have good, sincere and clean reading. Joel Osteen's book does not only brighten your day but gives you something to think about. There is nothing wrong with his book. This book as well as other Joel Osteen cds, videos, and books bring hope and inspiration. Truly, no one can knock someone who is trying to make the world a better place. I have all of his books and I have a lot of his cds and videos. His teachings are great and I know hundreds of individuals who love what he is doing. My relationship with God gets better everyday and I am glad that when I was lost and not praying enough, God brought Joel Osteen into my life. I have personally met him and never have I ever met a more sincere and honest person. I look forward to his next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    If u have time please read this...

    It takes a great mind to help millions of others. With that being said i havent read this book, however i could easily say this book will assist me greatly and thousands of others who need aid on becoming a better person. I read your best life now and i could say it gave me a hope n faith i had long lost. frankly i reccomend this book to anyone with out reading it or Your Best Life Now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    What an inspiring book

    I love J. Olsten's book and he is one of my favorite preachers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    Amazing author.

    Man this book is awesome 5 stars . I love how joel talks about how we should always keep pressing foward in life. and how he says to stay away from negitive people because they will always bring you down . This book is really reccomended for people who want to turn there lifes around.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    It's a must read

    If you want to live a happier life, you definitely have to read this book. I really like the chapter of 'How to handle criticism' as it happens in our daily lives. Pastor Osteen really analyzes it in a very realistic way yet very inspirational as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    Best Self-Help Book on the Market

    This book is one of the best self-help books on the market at this time. It offers everyone who reads it the chance to improve themselves both socially and spiritually. An excellent choice of books to have on hand.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    Self-esteem and character builder

    Joel Osteen shows us how working with god can help us be better. I have been using the seven principles for a month and have noticed a remarkable difference in my self-esteem. Not only do I feel better, but I am a better person. I recommend this book in tandem with Optimal Thinking: How to Be Your Best Self which shows you how to make full use of your mind and make the most of any situation. This is the ultimate combo!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    The world should read this book !

    We live in a world that has so much negativity. It is so refreshing to finally have someone to stand up for God, goodness, love and kindness which are the same attributes that God had. This book will and should have a positive impact on anyone with an open heart who reads it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    A spiritual journey everyone should read

    This book is a spiritual journey that everyone should read. Before I bought this book I didn't know much about Lakewood Church and Joel Osteen and I was 'lost' spiritually. I saw Joel and Victoria on Larry King one night and Larry said Joel's new book sold a million copies in the first week. When I heard that I thought 'wow, I must be missing something.' So the next day I went and bought the book and WOW, it has helped me to find my spirit again. It has helped me to make sense of a lot of things that weren't going 'right' in my life. If you're not sure about this book, try reading Part Two 'Be Positive Toward Yourself' and you'll want to read the rest of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    God blessed us through Joel & Victoria

    God has given us all talents. I believe Joel & Victoria are spreading God's intended message through Joel's Book, CD's, DVD's and all types of ways. I know if you have rated this without a positive remark, we will all pray for you. Maybe if you read the book again, you would find something you had missed the first time. Without a positive outlook, things will not change for you. I pray god gives you courage and strength to put your best forward. Some times it is the simple things we miss. Thank you for your time. God Bless

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    The Best Is Yet To Come For Me

    after the death of baby in may I thought God was punishing me for alot of negitive thinking and not being happy about the blessing he had bestowed upon me and a lot just seem to fall apart in my life but after reading this book I know that I am precious in his sites and he will never give up on me and neither should I

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    The better of the better

    I think that he really changed the modern thinking of people in this time of age.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    This book is outstanding

    I can really governed my life by this book. It is really a life altering book to help live a better life. I am praticing everything Joel says in this book daily. It is really helping me with my relationship with my daughter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Encouraging & uplifting

    This book has helped me through a difficult time in my life. Joel's words in the book helped me to stay positive and look forward to the future. I felt humbled knowing that it was okay to expect more from myself in being a better person. To know that because I have the Favor of the Lord, great things will be waiting for me. Joel reminded me of simple commend sense, be positive for yourself, as well as others around you in order to make the world we live in a better place which shows God is present in your life. I never felt that he was only implying monetary things, but better days in all aspects. Because we are Children of God, we are to expect good things because we are giving of ourselves, therefore this makes God happy, therefore He will bless you in what He knows you need at the time. I thank Joel for giving me hope for the future and reminding me of how to do it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    joel osteen has another bestseller here! in this simple and easy to understand and fast reading book the arthur sets down 7 Bible based principles that brings hope and understanding and peace into an other wise troubling world. what I like most about this inexpensive book is these principles and inspirational comments show that there are some wonderful ways we can strenthen our faith and still reach out to our dreams and still have a light load whean its a hard day. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Uplifting

    I certainly felt refreshed and inspired by Osteen's book. An uplifting and positive message that has helped me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6