Customer Reviews for

Becoming Alpha

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book! Good story, action ROMANCE! Tessa is a great

I loved this book! Good story, action ROMANCE! Tessa is a great heroine, smart, sassy, and holds her own even when she's in over her head. The werewolves, especially Dastien the love interest, are SEXY! And, there's a lot of humor. The author has created a fun world to...
I loved this book! Good story, action ROMANCE! Tessa is a great heroine, smart, sassy, and holds her own even when she's in over her head. The werewolves, especially Dastien the love interest, are SEXY! And, there's a lot of humor. The author has created a fun world to hang out in. Can't wait for the sequel!

posted by dksreads on January 30, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A party, a boy, a kiss...

Tessa's life sucked. Sure, her father's job brought famous heartthrob actors through their door, she had great parents, an adored brother, the great house...and, oh yeah, the visions. Turns out that wearing gloves all the time to protect yourself from the touch and the ...
Tessa's life sucked. Sure, her father's job brought famous heartthrob actors through their door, she had great parents, an adored brother, the great house...and, oh yeah, the visions. Turns out that wearing gloves all the time to protect yourself from the touch and the resultant revelation of others' thoughts didn't win you any fashion-forward awards. All it got you was the label of freak. So when Tessa's father accepts a job at a school in Texas, Tessa doesn't have any emotional ties to severe in L. A. But she does have an unusual vision of a super hot guy, but this time something's different - because he sees her, too.

When super hot guy turns up as a graduate and instructor at the private school which now employs her father, she wonders why everyone warns her away from its students...why SH Guy starts turning up everywhere she goes...and why, the first time she accepts a party invitation from a new classmate, a kiss turns into a horrifying and life altering event.

I just happened across this as an inexpensive NOOK Daily Find and bought it because of the werewolf thing, but ended up really enjoying it. And I only have to wait until May for book 2, Avoiding Alpha!

posted by romancemistress on March 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    It's lively, fast pace and full of variety. I had a great time!

    It's lively, fast pace and full of variety. I had a great time!

    Visions, telepathy, spells, werewolves, vampires, fighting scenes and a beautiful love story ... Wow! I really enjoyed myself!

    A perfect novel to promote on Halloween day, since the author uses many supernatural elements to populate her narrative. And even if there are werewolves and vampires, it has nothing to do with "Twilight". Maybe a little with the atmosphere of Alyxandra Harvey in her academy for Hunters in "The Drake Chronicles." 

    The plot is well done. It won me over from the start and push me to turn the pages because I wanted to know how Tessa going to get bitten and become a wolf. This is perhaps the most frustrating part because the bite comes to worst moments ... When the reader begins to melt for the hero!

    I liked the main and secondary characters. They are funny, touching in their overreaction are fun and sweet. 
    Imogen is an exceptional pest. 
    The male are always in competition to mark their territories and Tessa is a young woman as I like them. A festy, hot tempered heroin who will let no one step on her toes and who dare defend her ideas, beliefs.

    As for the plot, it is original in the way the author presents and enliven it by varying the romantic aspect, the fighting scenes and twists.

    Frankly, it's been awhile since I had so much fun. The characters are worth the read, the plot makes you want to turn the pages. It's lively, fast pace and full of variety.
     I had a great time!

    Lucie
    newbooksonmyselves.blogspot.fr

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    One of the best books I've read in a long time, such quick detai

    One of the best books I've read in a long time, such quick detail that i could picture everything in my mind. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Read on December 05, 2013 Book Info  ebook, 267 pages Expec


    Read on December 05, 2013




    Book Info 
    ebook, 267 pages
    Expected publication: December 17th 2013 by Ink Monster, LLC
    original title Becoming Alpha (Alpha Girl)
    ISBN 139780989405010
    edition language English
    series Alpha Girl #1 
    other editions (1)
    Source:Netgalley EARC








    Book Buy Links 
    AMAZON 
    B&N 




    BOOK SYNOPSIS








    Tessa McCaide has a unique talent for getting into trouble. Then again, it isn’t easy for a girl with visions to ignore what she sees. Luckily Tessa and her family are leaving California and moving halfway across the country, giving her the perfect opportunity to leave her reputation as “Freaky Tessa” behind. 




    But Tessa doesn’t realize that kissing the wrong guy in her new Texas town could land her in far more trouble than she ever imagined. Like being forced to attend St. Ailbe’s Academy, a secret boarding school for werewolves. 




    Even if the wrong guy did accidentally turn her into one of “them” and doom her to attending the weirdest high school ever, Tessa can’t help her growing attraction to the mysterious Dastien Laurent.




    When vampires attack St. Alibe’s and her visions pinpoint an enemy in their midst, Tessa realizes that boy drama and her newfound canine tendencies might just be the least of her problems.




    My Thoughts








    When we think of werewolves we usually think of a human who has been bitten who turns into a ravenous bloodthirsty flesh eating beast when they change for the first time. While this is true in many series this time the author has chosen to mix things up by showcasing “born Weres” as well as “turned Weres” who just so happen to live outside the Texas town that Tessa and her family move to from California.




    Tessa McCaide has lived her whole life feeling like she has to be apart from others thanks to her “visions”, after all it is hard to hug someone or even shake their hand if you know that you will be privy to that persons memories and of course kissing is totally off the table so now as a teenager her social life has really hit rock bottom.




    The night before leaving for their new home an hour outside Austin, where her older brother Axel will be going to college, Tessa’s parents throw a party for former clients of her Dad as well as neighbors and friends. Having found Tessa alone in her room her brother cons her into coming downstairs just to make a quick appearance and scope out a young male actor that she has a secret crush on. Doing so against her better judgement ends up proving to Tessa once more that mingling in a crowd was not the wisest choice much to her dismay.




    Once the trip is over and the McCaide family make it to their new home they are met by Michael Dawson the head of St. Ailbe’s Academy and Tessa’s fathers new boss. Along with Mr. Dawson is a former student who has graduated, Dastien Laurent, who is strikingly good looking and immediately intriguing to Tessa although she does not wish to explain to anyone why.




    As a werewolf fan from way back this was a very nice beginning to what I hope continues to be a strong character driven series, the way that the plot unfolds was enjoyable as well as just different enough to stand out in the genre and the fact this is geared toward younger readers makes it exceptionally fun when we are introduced to the rest of the attendees of St. Ailbe’s Academy.




    While the relationship between Tessa and Dastien followed the tried and true formula of many paranormal romances it still had its own unique presentation and for me it was awesome to watch unfold as was the way in which the author allowed Tessa to come to grips with her change in circumstances.




    The vampires were creepy and not at all the seductive creatures that they are usually portrayed as, rather they are more true to form as the villain who has come to the Academy in one aim which is to eradicate the Werewolves.




    This is an easy read, well paced with lots of internal angst as well as dialogue between the characters that allows the reader to follow for themselves exactly what is going on at any given moment without giving away what will happen next. 




    As an author that is new to me Aileen Erin has penned a very satisfactory urban fantasy whose world and characters will be very happy to revisit in book 2 Avoiding Alpha!








    [EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Pretty good

    Pretty good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2015

    Fun read

    I enjoyed this book it was cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    Loved it

    Loved the characters ....chris is my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Science fixation

    This book was a great accidental find! I give it 5 claws and a somersault. I know i will enjoy the other 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    Really enjoyed!

    I found this book for free, so I wasn't expecting it to be as good as it is. I loved this book, it had great characters that you could connect with, and kept your undivided attention . I loved it so much I read whole book in 1 day. I cannot wait to start the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    Would like to give this series 5 stars but...

    My review is the same for the first 3 books, good story but too much swearing. I understand that these books are young adult, but if these books were a movie, they'd be rated R just for the language. I have always felt bad language in a book takes away from the story, not add to it. With that said, the plot and story line moved well. I look forward to the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    GOOD

    GOOD BOOK. A LTTLE SLOW AT FIRST BUT IT GOT BETTER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Totaly worth the money

    I truly feel this book delivered every cent. I would have paid more to buy a copy. I might even search for a paperback for my collection. Awesome story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    I was looking for a light, fun read and this book exceeded my ex

    I was looking for a light, fun read and this book exceeded my expectations. I was quickly drawn into the world Ms. Erin created and the characters are true to life (besides the supernatural part). I'm looking forward to the rest of the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Good book

    A good read and well written. Which is really saying something in this age of ebooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Good.

    Enjoyable read. My daughter and son also enoyed the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Alpha

    Great read, I am excited for the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    Addictive, captivating, & fun. I loved Becoming Alpha, I sta

    Addictive, captivating, & fun. I loved Becoming Alpha, I started as I went to bed one night and ended up reading until 3:30 in the morning. It was a struggle to put it down and go to sleep: definitely a sign of a gripping story. 
    Tessa is strong, determined & mature. She has clear ethics & thinks (like all teenagers) that she knows how the world should work. I found her charming & endearing. I also just loved her sarcastic wit. Dastien is unbelievably sexy - just the type of man we all want to dream about. I appreciated his directness & his muscles. I did get annoyed with how his behavior didn't match his words. I hope, in Avoiding Alpha, that he does work on this, as he says he will, and show himself to be a man of character. Overall, I was mesmerized by the fierce passion of their relationship. Ooolala!! 
    Becoming Alpha reminded me of Vampire Academy: the ballsy, sarcastic girl & the strong, hunky leader/teacher falling passionately in love at supernatural-style boarding school. So definitely read if you enjoyed Vampire Academy. 
    The pace was perfect & the world had plenty of intriguing elements. I enjoyed Erin's revision of werewolf mythology. I cannot wait to learn more about Tessa's magic & the witches. I enjoyed how Erin seems to keep a lot of secrets for us to uncover. 
    I had a hard time leaving the world of Becoming Alpha. I wanted to talk about it with everyone I met, sometimes forgetting that they hadn't also read the book. I've always believed that one of the most important elements of art is to create a world of its own, and Erin does this with Becoming Alpha. She makes her fantastical world almost simple, like it is just happening down the street. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tessa¿s life has not been easy. Ever since she was little she¿d

    Tessa’s life has not been easy. Ever since she was little she’d get visions/memories from a person when she made skin-skin contact with them. So suffice to say, she doesn’t have any friends. When her father gets a job in Texas, resulting in their move, she finds herself starting over. No one knows about her freakish ability or why she wears gloves. So she’s now making friends and hiding her abilities pretty well. But when a boy from the local St. Alibe’s school kisses her a little to roughly, she finds herself the outcast again. That’s not the worst part though. She’s sent away to St. Alibe’s which is a school for werewolves. Which is exactly what Tessa is now. Like she didn’t already have enough on her plate as it was.

    Tessa’s had a very lonely life. So when everything goes down and she finds herself in St. Alibe’s, she starts to make friends. She isn’t the weird one anymore. However, it does take her sometime to get used to the school and there are a couple of times where she tries to run away. Which is where the cover comes in. There’s a scene where she’s running through the woods being chased by Dastien and other wolves to stop her from running away. (I just love when a cover connects with the story)

    Dastien wasn’t my favorite as far as “heroes” go. He would be strong and stoic one minute and then turn tail abandon Tessa and run the next. Oh and the whole thing with him hanging out with his ex-girlfriend/best friend or whatever the heck they were was not okay. I liked Tessa’s character so much more for not only standing up to Dastien but to the girl as well. She showed a lot of backbone and she got a lot of respect from me for it.

    Aileen’s debut novel is pretty awesome. The world building is stellar and the characters, whether likable or not, really shone through. I’m interested to see what comes next for Tessa, Dastien and the gang. This is a great addition to the young adult paranormal romance genre.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2