BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Becoming Alpha

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book! Good story, action ROMANCE! Tessa is a great

I loved this book! Good story, action ROMANCE! Tessa is a great heroine, smart, sassy, and holds her own even when she's in over her head. The werewolves, especially Dastien the love interest, are SEXY! And, there's a lot of humor. The author has created a fun world to...
I loved this book! Good story, action ROMANCE! Tessa is a great heroine, smart, sassy, and holds her own even when she's in over her head. The werewolves, especially Dastien the love interest, are SEXY! And, there's a lot of humor. The author has created a fun world to hang out in. Can't wait for the sequel!

posted by dksreads on January 30, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A party, a boy, a kiss...

Tessa's life sucked. Sure, her father's job brought famous heartthrob actors through their door, she had great parents, an adored brother, the great house...and, oh yeah, the visions. Turns out that wearing gloves all the time to protect yourself from the touch and the ...
Tessa's life sucked. Sure, her father's job brought famous heartthrob actors through their door, she had great parents, an adored brother, the great house...and, oh yeah, the visions. Turns out that wearing gloves all the time to protect yourself from the touch and the resultant revelation of others' thoughts didn't win you any fashion-forward awards. All it got you was the label of freak. So when Tessa's father accepts a job at a school in Texas, Tessa doesn't have any emotional ties to severe in L. A. But she does have an unusual vision of a super hot guy, but this time something's different - because he sees her, too.

When super hot guy turns up as a graduate and instructor at the private school which now employs her father, she wonders why everyone warns her away from its students...why SH Guy starts turning up everywhere she goes...and why, the first time she accepts a party invitation from a new classmate, a kiss turns into a horrifying and life altering event.

I just happened across this as an inexpensive NOOK Daily Find and bought it because of the werewolf thing, but ended up really enjoying it. And I only have to wait until May for book 2, Avoiding Alpha!

posted by romancemistress on March 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    I loved this book! Good story, action ROMANCE! Tessa is a great

    I loved this book! Good story, action ROMANCE! Tessa is a great heroine, smart, sassy, and holds her own even when she's in over her head. The werewolves, especially Dastien the love interest, are SEXY! And, there's a lot of humor. The author has created a fun world to hang out in. Can't wait for the sequel!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2014

    Loved this book! Got hooked on the first one, and ended up preor

    Loved this book! Got hooked on the first one, and ended up preordering both 2 and 3. It was a really good read, fun and quick (hard not to be when you just get sucked in). I even reread this one before the 2nd came out... and may or may not be planning on doing same before the 3rd. 
    I was a little weary since a lot of books like this are high school age (Im not.... Think young at heart but my license says otherwise) but it was actually a lot better than I expected. The main characters just hook you, and the connection between Tessa and Dastien …. Well, yea. I have reread the book a couple times and plan on it again. 
    The world the author created is a lot of fun to hang out in!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was an amazing book. I was completely hooked from page 1 -

    This was an amazing book. I was completely hooked from page 1 - I loved this book! For me this was one of those books where I couldn't read fast enough to see what happens next. 




    Characters: 5/5
    Aileen creates well developed and lovable characters. I connected easily with all of the characters and grew attached to all them quickly. 




    Tessa - I loved that Tessa doesn't fight her crush for Dastien at first. She is awesome and different. I adored her sibling bond with Axel and loved her friendship with Meredith. Tessa was easy to connect with. I cannot wait to find out more about her witch side and see how her relationship with Dastien will grow in the rest of the series. Tessa is definitely my favourite character in this book. 




    Axel - Axel is Tessa's awesome older brother. He is caring, naughty, and looks after Tessa exactly like an older brother should. He is one of my favourite characters. 




    Dastien - Dastien mysterious at first and completely swoon-worthy. He is witty, smart and possibly the most awesome boyfriend to have in this book. Dastien can be a bit dense at times when it comes to Tessa - In a way its sweet that he cares so much and keeps messing up and on the other hand you just want to shake some sense into him. I absolutely adore Dastien!!




    Meredith - Meredith is such a great friend. She is easy to connect with (From Tessa and reader POV), understanding and accepting. After all Tessa has been through, she is so lucky to have a found a great friend like Meredith.




    Shannon and Imogene - Imogene is such a weird name. Both of these characters annoyed me a lot.




    Writing style, plot, pace: 5/5
    Aileen has a writing style that draws you in immediately. I quickly became addicted to this book. The pacing is perfect and the plot was interesting. Becoming Alpha definitely drew me in hook, line and sinker. Aileen does some great world building which is simple and easy to navigate.




    Cover: 4/5 - I actually really liked this cover. The more I look at it, the more I love it and after reading the story, you can see how perfect it is. 

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Unexpectedly entertaining

    I tend to avoid "young adult" books because there is too much angst. But this book grabbed my attention so I started to read. From the beginning it sucked me in. Sexy men, action, humor, and suspense provided balance to the usual teen drama.

    There are so many paranormal books to choose from and sometimes they can be predictable. This book is filled with characters that you want to get to know and that makes it easy to read. I couldn't stop. I read parts out loud to my husband, son or whomever was around. It was that fun.

    Sure there is a little crude language and I agree it can be off putting but I think it all fit in with the emotions and flow of the story. The pop culture references and family dyamic rounded out the connection with the reader.

    I look forward to continuing to read this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    She said

    An excellent book. I will read the series gladly. A++ ..............................................

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Loved it!!!

    Great story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    Great

    This was a great book. It was very well written and will get the other books to read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Great Book

    A really good fast read. It was in so good in fact, I bought the whole series, that was available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    amazing

    Honestly it was way better than expected. This book is a must read. May seem a bit of a rerun but definitely worth the read. Quick and easy as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Awesome

    This book was free and i am glad it was because it's just awesome. I could reread thi book all over again. If this had a rating up to 6 than it would be perfect. Marvelous. Fantastic. Slow at first but get' s better. Wish all your books had 200 and someyhing pages. Creative !!! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    good book i cant wait to get the next

    Good book it had me hooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2014

    I really loved this book!  Couldn't put it down.  Ms. Erin did a

    I really loved this book!  Couldn't put it down.  Ms. Erin did a great job, I really felt like I was there.  Can't wait to star book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Great read

    Loved this book from start to finish! Tess is an amazing character & I loved the romance:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Loved the book

    This book was a free purchase and a pleasant surprise! It was over 200 pages so I felt like it had some resolutions in the many storey lines. I did purchase #2 inthe series and was disappointed it had only 140ish pages so it was a quick read.

    If they have less than 200 pages its just a "scooby snack" reading. I will buy book#3 I just hope it lasts longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    Want more

    Verry good book i want more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Wow

    This story really draws you in. I had a hard time putting it down. Can't wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Excrllent read!!!

    Since that mkment i read tge first line of this book it captivated me. I couldnt put the book down at all. I loce the characters in this book, And the story line

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Must read!

    I couldn't put it down! Buying the 2nd part now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Best book ive read in a while.

    Read it straight through. Love how tess tells it like it is and stands up to everyone. Puts them all in their places. Great love story as well. Never a dull moment. Enjoyed all the charactors :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Dan

    I gtg sorry

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3