Customer Reviews for

Becoming Dr. Q: My Journey from Migrant Farm Worker to Brain Surgeon

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Very Highly Recommend!! A must read!

    This book reads like a well written novel, but is a TRUE life story. This is the most inspirational autobiography I have ever read! It's an autobiography that demonstrates powerfully ALL the principles for SUCESS, even in the face of great difficulties and with few material resources! Dr. Quinones-Hinojosa should be commended for sharing his amazing life story with the world!! It truly "should be read by ALL high schoolers and college students". My wife & I gave copies to several of our friends & relatives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    A most read!!!

    The story of Dr. Quiñonez-Hinojosa is one of the most inspiring accounts ever. Becoming Dr. Q will inspire anyone to be the best in any chosen path.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    a truly inspirational story

    I enjoyed this book cover to cover being a high school student who heard about Dr. Q's story. It made me appreciate how fortunate and to the extent many of us take for granted the american dream that is right in front of us with endless potential. A great read for anyone who needs that extra boost of inspiration to realize that their dreams are possible with dedication and passion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Amazing story about an amazing man. A must read!

    I loved this book. I met Dr. Q in December of 2009 when he performed surgery on my son for a removal of a brain tumor. He was so compassionate and treated my son as though he were the only patient he had at that time. I knew a little about how he came to America but had no idea of all the trials he went through to get his citizenship and to fulfill his dream of becoming a doctor. He is so
    dedicated to his profession and hosts a get-together with former
    patients every year so he can remain in touch with them. Dr. Q is
    remarkable and his story is something everyone should read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Dr. Q story

    Amaising book, it make me cry at times. As I was reading the story I was remembering some episodes of my life. I admire Dr. Q not only because he has suffer descrimination an economic disadvantages, but because he has overcome those obstacles and more. He is an excellent human been looking for not less than excellence on all he does. En hora buena hermano, te mereces toda la gloria. With love and admiration, Mr. Q.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    recommended

    In 12th grade english we were to do a ethnography and my group picked brain surgeons and so i picked this book for my research. this book was very knowlageble in helping me with my project. it showed me how this little boy of a poor family with big dreams of being a supper hero became a brain surgeon after his familys hard strugles i deffinitly recommend this book it was prety good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Great Book

    DR. Q Its an inspiration to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book is great.This book is really interested and once you start reading it you cant stop reading it. I recommend this book to everyone but i highly recommend it to teens especially if you come from mexican roots you will be able to understand how everything is possible ! MUST READ THIS BOOK !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    Who Paid For Doctor's College

    Who paid for a migrant worker's college education at Berkley and Harvard? Did a migrant worker receive a "free" college education in California using a taxpayer scholarship paid by a plumber or electrician who could not afford to pay for their own college? Business success is often dependent on obtaining credit or funding to start a business. Giving a free college education to a migrant worker in one state is not fair to a natural citizen of another state who may have to compete with an illegal immigrant who received a free college education paid by taxpayers in another state. Indiana amd Georgia provide free college for high school students but North Carolina does not. A Georgia citizen can move to North Carolina with their free Georgia college education and take a job a North Carolina citizen can not obtain without a college education.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1