Customer Reviews for

Becoming Me (Diary of a Teenage Girl Series: Caitlin #1)

Average Rating 5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

R

Wasn't sure if I liked this book at first, but be sure to stick with it, because it gets better. Seriously. I almost cried at some parts. Read.

posted by Anonymous on July 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME BOOK SERIES

I read these books as a teen girl. They were AMAZING! This is coming from a girl who doesn't really like to read either. So take my advice & if you have the chance, pick these up & read them!

posted by Hilnotsoduff92 on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    R

    Wasn't sure if I liked this book at first, but be sure to stick with it, because it gets better. Seriously. I almost cried at some parts. Read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Live To Read

    The best quality this book contains is the main character. She was really easy to connect with, very likable. She is brave and intelligent, she experiences a lot of "life" in the short span of this book; some of it is unfortunate, some is makes the reader cheer, and others are more neutral. Caitlin is the readers' guide in the book, speaking in the first person-making it even easier to connect with her too.


    It is hard not to experience everything through Caitlin's eyes as if it is happening to you too. The author manages to make each scene and feeling dynamic and all to real. She questions God, after all what kind of a God would let some of these events happen to her? Her father has an affair, her crush falls in love with her best friend, etc... Rather than petty, Caitlin's feelings come across as raw and unhurried. The reader doesn't get overly involved with secondary characters, but in this novel that kind of quality would simply bog the plot down.


    This book is fairly fast-paced, there is plenty of action/drama/intrigue, and the ending isn't really an ending-perfect. This book is recommended for young adults/teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    A NEW LIFE

    This book opened up a new life to me and im enjoying things more now. I even started keeping a diary. I cant wait to read the other books!!!'^_^'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    I am 35 and read this book with my 13 year old daughter

    As the title says, I bought this book to read with my 13 year old daughter! This is a great book, that helped open dialouge between us to talk about sex before marriage! We laughed and cried while reading about Catelins struggles and in the end my daughter and I signed the back of the book and she made her commitment to GOD to wait! Excellent reading! I am online buying the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    Better than I though it would be.

    I thought this book would be really bad and boring but it wasn't. The whole book was really good except a few cheesy parts. I didn't agree with some of the characters opinions though. I didn't think what happened to Beanie would have happened though because she was into religion and everything before Caitlin was. That was a surprise. It seems like everything that happened in the book lasted longer than six months! I also thought the whole thing with Caitlin's parents would end up taking over the whole book but it didn't. That part was short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    Great

    I was in the christian bookshop and the cover of this book really looked cool! I mean, it didn't look like a regular geeky kids, 'oh love jesus with all your heart' type of book. So I bought it...and loved it! It's a REALLY great book, and the girl doesn't act like a geeky christian, she acts like a cool, normal teenager, with a handle on life. I really reccomend this book to girls who are 'searching' to find christ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    Review of a Teenage Girl

    Melody Carlson's 'Diary of a Teenage Girl' is one of the better reads you'll find on the young adult shelves. One, it's a page-turner and two, it's inspirational. Carlson's Caitlin deals with complicated subjects like dating, teen pregnancy, drugs, drinking, etc. Readers see the emotional and spiritual transformation of Caitlin as she slowly but surely evolves from a rebellious teen into a thoughtful young woman. The most amazing part of this book is that it could be the diary of any sixteen-year-old girl. You'll be drawn in from the very first page and will have connected emotionally with Caitlin before the book's powerful conclusion. An amazing, amazing read for not just teens, but anyone who's ever been curious about the secret life of a teenage girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2001

    Helpful for teenage hat aren't sure what to do

    I had to do a book report for my women and religion class in college and I choose this book. Still being a teenage myself this book had a lot of similar events that i had in my life. I found God this past year and now Him and I are best friends. This book is helpful for the teen who knows God is out there and isnt quite sure how to approach the subject. I loved it and read it in 2 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1