BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Becoming Naomi Leon

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Listen to me now...

    Pam Munoz Ryan tells the story of a young girl named Naomi Soledad Leon Outlaw and her brother Owen, who were abandoned by their mother and left in the care of their great-grandmother, "Gram." Naomi is a girl who feels like an outsider, and uses carving as a form of expression and Owen is a physically challenged boy who wears tape as a form of protection and gets bullied. After years of no contact with their mother, she returns and feelings of confusion, excitement, and anxiety fill the minds of Naomi and Owen. After learning of their mother's alcohol addiction, the children realize the intentions of their mother is to take Naomi away and leave Owen behind. Gram quickly decides to take the children to Mexico to find their father for help. Through this ordeal Naomi learns who she really is and finds her voice. This is a common story known to society, it deals with alcoholism, bullying, uncertainty of identity and love. This is a book that once you begin to read, you do not want to put down. This is book is definitely one of my favorites.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Knowing Naomi

    Becoming Naomi Leon is a contemporary realistic fiction that is easy for youngers to identify with. Naomi the main character and her bother Owen's live in a pleasant and quiet trailer park with their great grandmother. After missing for seven years their mother, Skyla, re-appears to stir up their lives. Curious about their mother and their past the children start asking all sorts of questions. Their gram tries to ease the questions by answering and telling them the truth. Their mother tries to be a good mother and petition custodial rights but she lets the children down time after time. With this book children can identify in many ways with Naomi. Weather they have some similar problems like the ones Naomi has or the way she is tease at school. I don't read many chapter books but this book kept me interested in every chapter. I kept on reading because I wanted to know how and with whom the children would end up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Great for teens

    The book Becoming Naomi Leon by Pam Muñoz Ryan is great book for students from 5th to the 12 grade. This book would fall under the Contemporary Realistic Fiction genre and could be especially appealing and interesting for the Mexican American culture. This book has received the Tomas Rivera Mexican American Childers Book Award. The story is very well put every character seems to play a very important role for the process and conclusion of the story. Naomi and Owen Leon Outlaw the main characters have lived with their great grandmother since they were very young. Their mother a troubled lady had abandoned them because she felt she needed to get on with her life and their father had also been out of the picture for most of their life. After a long time the mother decides to come with intentions of taking Naomi with her. In this journey Naomi, Owen, Gram, and some of the other characters go out of their way to make such a thing impossible. So they travel into Mexico with the hope of finding their father and it is here that Naomi learns more about herself and her Mexican culture. The book is very interesting and somewhat emotional it is amazing and moving to even think how Naomi and Owen have gone through such events in their life. It could be very related and equal with the life of any other child whose parents have split up or gone through a rough patch.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    Becoming Naomi Leon: "A Mouse with a Lioness's Voice"

    Naomi Soledad León Outlaw is a very soft-spoken and timid young girl. She is very good at making lists, carving animals out of bars of soap and.worrying. Her greatest worry, for the moment, is her name; the boys in class her love to tease her about her last name, Outlaw. Little did she know, though, that soon, very soon, she would learn about her true Mexican heritage and live up to her name, León, in more ways than one.

    I felt I connected with these characters (the good ones: Naomi, Gram, Owen, Fabiola, Bernardo, and Santiago) and I felt very protective over Naomi and Owen. I was always worried whenever Skyla was around, even before she showed her true colors. I could tell what kind of person she was and sided with Gram; I did not think Skyla should have been around those poor children. They had no idea who she was when she dropped in on them out of the blue and she fully expected them to not only know her, but to fulfill her every expectation. Of course any child who longed for a mother for so many years would grasp at any chance to be close to their mother. Naturally, they would not know to be cautious, especially when they had been romanticizing the ideal mother figure and wanting to believe their mother was capable of that idealness. I am glad that in the end, Skyla and Clive did not get their way, but disappointed because I felt they needed further punishment for what they had done, but unfortunately, that is how life goes sometimes.
    One of my favorite quotes in Becoming Naomi León is located at the very end: "I had also found my father, who had loved me for a long time without being nearby. How many others were walking around and not even knowing that someone far away cared for them? Imagine all that love floating in the air, waiting to land on someone's life!" (Ryan, p. 245). Ryan makes the reader believe a little girl is telling this tale, and to imagine a young girl speak with such depth and wisdom truly touched my heart. Ryan shows the maturity and wisdom a little girl gains through trials and turmoil. This is one thing I love about this novel - Naomi develops into a confident young lady as she learns of her heritage and matures as she finally confronts the bad in her life, gaining her true voice as the result. This quote is definitely food for thought.

    I believe this book is wonderful for older children. Becoming Naomi León could possibly aid as an eye-opener to reality - the fact that life just simply isn't rosy and circumstances such as what Naomi goes through really do happen to some children. I hope children of better home lives than Naomi and Owen are grateful for what they have after reading this.

    I absolutely love this book and will soon be reading it again when I have the extra time!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Amazing

    Becoming Naomi Leon is an amazing tale of a girl trying to stay with her family. The reader feels so heartbroken with all the hardship Naomi, Owen, and their grandmother have to face in order to keep their family together. Naomi realizes the truth about both her parents throughout the book. Her mother is very selfish, which is the exact opposite of what Naomi pictured. Her father loves Naomi and Owen very much but Naomi realizes that he made the right decision in letting her grandmother raise them. This book is great for children in the 5th to 12th grade.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Roarrrrr (loved it!)

    While growing up in an unconventional setting, Naomi Leon comes into her own skin while learning about some aspects of her past and the characters of people from it. This young girl's testimony would be a great tool in lifting any one's spirit or self-esteem. Pre-teen years can be particularly difficult for some girls so this book could be used as a guide for them to use while learning to walk through the world with their heads held high, while doing the right thing with confidence!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    awesome read!!

    This children's chapter book is perfect for young girls or just girls in general! I'm 21 and i could not put this book down!! Becoming Naomi Leon is your average coming of age story about a girl struggling to find her way. The author, Pam Ryan, has a great way of vocalizing the many different trials and tribulations Naomi experiences while growing up and ultimately captures the essence of how she becomes who she is, Naomi Leon.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    Highyly Recommended- A Must Read!

    Becoming Naomi Leon, by Pam Munoz Ryan, is a fantastic read for all ages. I found the fictional novel to be such an inspirational read, letting readers know that we all have courage and strength deep down inside of us, even when we feel weak and small. The readers find themselves immediately connected with the character Naomi, her strengths, her hopes, and her aspirations. This connectedness keeps the reader from wanting to put down the book and follow and young girl on a journey to discovering herself.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    becoming naomi leon ,by pam munoz leon

    Becoming Naomi Leon,by Pam Munoz Ryan entertains the reader with drama and compeling sentences that that put vivid images in your mind.you can can get a compeling image in the next few sentences when skyla slaps Naomi.<BR/>skla took to steps across the room ,then siapped me across the check.it was such a hard slapthat my head turned and slapped against my shoulder.this book taught that be proud of your self and speak up for others and others.i recomend this book for people who like charishing family stories that are tradagies and glorious mixed in one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    So awesome and sad. But, mostly so interesting and intense. Read

    So awesome and sad. But, mostly so interesting and intense. Read it in 4th grade and just remember it was one of the best books I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Chapter ten

    I wanted to attack Skyla. >:-( oh and this is a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Amazing

    Im reading this book in school and i love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Awesome

    I have a real copy of this book. I have read it a lot of times and i never get tired of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Naomi leon RULES

    BEST BOOK EVER WHO EVER DOSENT LIKE IT IS INSAINE

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Great book.

    Great book.we read this in class and I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Naomi

    It was so alsomw
    e

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Naomi

    I have to read this for middle school i have read the sameple it was super good and i want to read more so im goingnto buy the book before summer ends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    This book stinks

    THE MAIN CHARACTER IS a jerk to her mom, dontt like at all

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Anonymous

    Hey everybody out there if you looking forward to buying this book than you are correct this is the best book ever even though i got this book from the library at school this is a really good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Bw Becoming Naomi Leon

    Great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5