Customer Reviews for

Becoming Odyssa: Epic Adventures on the Appalachian Trail

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Well Written

After reading Bryson's book (A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail), I was hungry for another AT adventure. This book fit the bill. I think Davis is an excellent writer. She was able to capture her hike in a dramatic and interesting manner....
After reading Bryson's book (A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail), I was hungry for another AT adventure. This book fit the bill. I think Davis is an excellent writer. She was able to capture her hike in a dramatic and interesting manner. The book does not bias toward the "always positive" or "always negative". Instead, she skillfully weaves the two states of mind together and does a good job of showing how her attitude changed along the trail. The other nice thing about the book is her description of the hikers she met along the way. She's not afraid to to say when she did or didn't like another hiker, but she does so respectfully. That was a pleasant surprise because respectfulness is increasingly hard to find in print today. While I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book, I think Davis missed several opportunities to write more dramatically about some of the most incredible moments of her trip. For example, when she gets struck by lightning early in her hike, there was really no literary buildup to the event. It just sort of "happens" in the middle of a paragraph. I also wish she would have spent a little more time on the denouement. After 2,100 miles on the trail hiking toward Katahdin, I would have liked to read a little more about the finish. I felt it ended a little too abruptly. Davis' attitude throughout the book clearly says, "I can choose how I feel." I think it is also an empowering and encouraging book for women and is a great example for everyone--men and women alike--who may feel timid about certain challenges. It was quite refreshing to see Davis come to respect herself for what she could accomplish rather than how she looks. Finally, I would certainly call this a family-friendly book. It is becoming increasingly difficult to find printed matter that isn't full of profane vernacular, and just because I hear it all day long at work doesn't mean I automatically want to read it in my books. No worries here and no need to wonder if that next page will have an F-bomb on it. Becoming Odyssa is pleasantly free of profanities.

posted by Bob_K on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Well written

posted by 6335130 on July 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    Very Well Written

    After reading Bryson's book (A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail), I was hungry for another AT adventure. This book fit the bill. I think Davis is an excellent writer. She was able to capture her hike in a dramatic and interesting manner. The book does not bias toward the "always positive" or "always negative". Instead, she skillfully weaves the two states of mind together and does a good job of showing how her attitude changed along the trail. The other nice thing about the book is her description of the hikers she met along the way. She's not afraid to to say when she did or didn't like another hiker, but she does so respectfully. That was a pleasant surprise because respectfulness is increasingly hard to find in print today. While I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book, I think Davis missed several opportunities to write more dramatically about some of the most incredible moments of her trip. For example, when she gets struck by lightning early in her hike, there was really no literary buildup to the event. It just sort of "happens" in the middle of a paragraph. I also wish she would have spent a little more time on the denouement. After 2,100 miles on the trail hiking toward Katahdin, I would have liked to read a little more about the finish. I felt it ended a little too abruptly. Davis' attitude throughout the book clearly says, "I can choose how I feel." I think it is also an empowering and encouraging book for women and is a great example for everyone--men and women alike--who may feel timid about certain challenges. It was quite refreshing to see Davis come to respect herself for what she could accomplish rather than how she looks. Finally, I would certainly call this a family-friendly book. It is becoming increasingly difficult to find printed matter that isn't full of profane vernacular, and just because I hear it all day long at work doesn't mean I automatically want to read it in my books. No worries here and no need to wonder if that next page will have an F-bomb on it. Becoming Odyssa is pleasantly free of profanities.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Jennifer Davis was a 21 year old graduate with a degree in ancient languages who planned to hike the 2000 mile Appalachian Trail. Early in the book she says many people talk about hiking the trail but never do it. I guess I'm in that category. She also mentions the trail will change you. And reaching the end, literally and figuratively, she has been changed.

    She says every day on the trail was an adventure. Not always pleasant with snakes, blizzards and encountering a suicide. But she tells the tale honestly. Anyone planning a 'thru-hike' as she calls it, could use this book as a resource. But the book is more important because of the theme of transformation.

    She was transformed and the reader would be also. I know I was. I've reread it twice. It's on a shelf with other book that I would never sell or trade or even lend to someone.

    Kevin O'Neall

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Very entertaining.

    Great story of personal growth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    I received this book as a gift from my husband, the fact that I

    I received this book as a gift from my husband, the fact that I am a hiker and he went out of his way to pick what he thought was the perfect book thrilled me.
    Up until she reached Massachusetts I found very few problems with Odyssa, Jennifers, hiking. She seemed a little bit of a snob because she chose to travel differently. Mop stick instead of hiking pole, sneakers instead of hiking boots. Whatever. The moment she hit New England this girl started to whine. She whined for almost 670 miles. She came across in NE, as a self-centered spoiled brat, at the huts she acted because she was a thru-hiker she deserved special treatment, more food then everyone else that paid for their visit, she put down the tourist, the cog railroad and the mountains.
    As a middle aged mom with some limitations, multiple surgeries on my right knee for severed cruciate ligaments, I feel I have more of a right to whine and yet ... I hiked up Moosilake stayed at the lean-to and then hiked back down. I hiked in the rain from Beaver Brook to Franconia Notch with way too much in my backpack without even one self rightous whine.
    I have section hiked from CT to ME. And I have been appreciative to every single rock and ledge, and at 5'4" I didn't have the long legs Odyssa had so most of my hikes were on my hands and knees it seemed like, and yet I laughed most of the way. And for fun when I'm not section hiking the AT in NE, I'm just hiking (crawling) up to the top of those beloved mountains on other trails to hit the 4000 ft mountains, to enjoy the view and the thrill of being on top of the world.
    Maybe Jennifer has grown up since her whiney trip through New England, I hope so. But because of her whining, selfcentered spoiled brat attitude, I could never recommend this book to friends. If you do choose to buy this book, rip out anything after Connecticut unless you want to feel like you're in a middle school listening to little drama queens whine.
    Seriously if New England is that rough on her then when I flip flop down to Georgia my section hike down there , life and my trip will be a cool-breeze

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Great book, well written, always wanted to keep reading and not put it down.

    Great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    wonderful

    I read this book in a day and a half and didn't want it to end. What an amazing portrayal of her hike. I felt like I was watching her make this journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Good book

    Well written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply put: I liked this book. It wasn't as captivating as South

    Simply put: I liked this book. It wasn't as captivating as Southbound (which I finished before this) but it is also 2-3 times less long, so naturally there are less details. What I especially liked was the fact that Jennifer (or Odyssa) very much shared her own learning experiences - including her motivations and her mistakes. This taught me more about thru-hiking than the book of a superprepared, all-knowing super-person would have.

    Other reviewers have mentioned that the author seems quick to judge fellow hikers, and I agree to a certain point. A couple of times she makes sweeping comments about groups of people or judges single hikers but from her perspective, and taking in to account that she describes months of experiences in a rather thin book, I can understand how she might think that way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2015

    Wonderful story about thru hiking the AT

    This is my favorite story about the AT. Everyone should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2014

    i felt as if I were on the AT! A good read, very descriptive wit

    i felt as if I were on the AT! A good read, very descriptive without being too
    technical. Really enjoyable even for a non-hiker. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Awesome! Great read!

    Along with Brysons A Walk in the Woods, this is a must read for AT enthusiasts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Well Written!

    After reading Bryson's book (A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail), I was hungry for another AT adventure. This book fit the bill. I think Davis is an excellent writer. She was able to capture her hike in a dramatic and interesting manner. The book does not bias toward the "always positive" or "always negative". Instead, she skillfully weaves the two states of mind together and does a good job of showing how her attitude changed along the trail. The other nice thing about the book is her description of the hikers she met along the way. She's not afraid to to say when she did or didn't like another hiker, but she does so respectfully. That was a pleasant surprise because respectfulness is increasingly hard to find in print today. While I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book, I think Davis missed several opportunities to write more dramatically about some of the most incredible moments of her trip. For example, when she gets struck by lightning early in her hike, there was really no literary buildup to the event. It just sort of "happens" in the middle of a paragraph. I also wish she would have spent a little more time on the denouement. After 2,100 miles on the trail hiking toward Katahdin, I would have liked to read a little more about the finish. I felt it ended a little too abruptly. Davis' attitude throughout the book clearly says, "I can choose how I feel." I think it is also an empowering and encouraging book for women and is a great example for everyone--men and women alike--who may feel timid about certain challenges. It was quite refreshing to see Davis come to respect herself for what she could accomplish rather than how she looks. Finally, I would certainly call this a family-friendly book. It is becoming increasingly difficult to find printed matter that isn't full of profane vernacular, and just because I hear it all day long at work doesn't mean I automatically want to read it in my books. No worries here and no need to wonder if that next page will have an F-bomb on it. Becoming Odyssa is pleasantly free of profanities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Great book

    This is a great book, very strong story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Good read

    Such courage and determination. I could only imagine. Very compelling and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    Good Read

    I enjoyed every book I've read about the AT and this one is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    I Loved this book!!

    This is one of the best AT books I have read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    I Highly Recommend This Book

    Even if you did not follow Jennifer on her epic speed hike of the AT, you will enjoy this recount of her first NOBO. She started out not real sure of herself or what she was doing, but ended up confident and experienced enough to make her passion her everyday life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend "Becoming Odyssa". A Must-Read for Everyone!

    I just finished reading this book and I am sad that it is over. I already want to pick it up and read it all over again. Jen takes you on the journey with her. Her adventures hiking the Appalachian Trail made me laugh out loud, tear up, and made my heart swell. The text flows so smoothly and you really don't want to put the book down.

    This book is for all ages, no matter if you're a thru-hiker or not. I've only hiked a couple miles on the AT, but I loved reading through Jen's adventures. I loved reading not just about her external hiking experience, but about what she dealt with internally too, both the serious and the hilarious.

    You will LOVE reading this book and if you're giving this book as a gift, your friend will be thankful for it. It is truly one of the best books I have read. I recommend it especially to book clubs. You will not regret buying this book and you'll keep it in your library for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2