Customer Reviews for

Becoming Sister Wives: The Story of an Unconventional Marriage

Average Rating 3.5
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know

I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know that what we see on the show is only the tip of the iceberg. The fact that they had so many issues that they brushed under the rug was really surprising especially since they made it seem that they were re...
I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know that what we see on the show is only the tip of the iceberg. The fact that they had so many issues that they brushed under the rug was really surprising especially since they made it seem that they were really good friends from beginning but that wasn't the case exactly.I was especially disappointed with how Meri treated Janelle early on and even today, they still haven't worked on things from the past but it seems like they want to start trying to. Not trying to go into to much detail but it was a very good read a lot questions that I had were answered. Still don't agree with the lifestyle but I appreciate the honesty of the book.

posted by Brittbrat246 on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Not Enough New Information

I'm disappointed that people have written more reviews of the Brown family here than of the actual book itself. If you're trying to decide if this book is worth the time and money, my opinion of the Brown's is irrelevant, so I will stick to what I think about the book! ...
I'm disappointed that people have written more reviews of the Brown family here than of the actual book itself. If you're trying to decide if this book is worth the time and money, my opinion of the Brown's is irrelevant, so I will stick to what I think about the book! It's a very easy and enjoyable read however, if you've seen every episode of Sister Wives, including the "bonus" behind the scenes interview shows TLC has aired, you won't really find out much that you don't already know. I was hoping the book would shed some light on how the family financially supports 5 adults and all of those kids, but they are as vague about it in the book as they are on the show. That is just one of the many things I'm curious about when it comes to Kody and his family. I wouldn't consider their book a waste of time to read, but I do wish I hadn't wasted $12 on it because I basically paid for the same information twice, first to the cable company and now to Barnes & Noble. They should have spent the time to go more in depth and to address some of the things they don't get into or have time to go into detail about on the show. The editors didn't do a very good job either. There are more spelling and grammatical errors in this book than in any other book I've ever read, there's a lot of redundancy and it just didn't flow as smoothly as it should.

posted by 9918827 on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know

    I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know that what we see on the show is only the tip of the iceberg. The fact that they had so many issues that they brushed under the rug was really surprising especially since they made it seem that they were really good friends from beginning but that wasn't the case exactly.I was especially disappointed with how Meri treated Janelle early on and even today, they still haven't worked on things from the past but it seems like they want to start trying to. Not trying to go into to much detail but it was a very good read a lot questions that I had were answered. Still don't agree with the lifestyle but I appreciate the honesty of the book.

    42 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Not Enough New Information

    I'm disappointed that people have written more reviews of the Brown family here than of the actual book itself. If you're trying to decide if this book is worth the time and money, my opinion of the Brown's is irrelevant, so I will stick to what I think about the book! It's a very easy and enjoyable read however, if you've seen every episode of Sister Wives, including the "bonus" behind the scenes interview shows TLC has aired, you won't really find out much that you don't already know. I was hoping the book would shed some light on how the family financially supports 5 adults and all of those kids, but they are as vague about it in the book as they are on the show. That is just one of the many things I'm curious about when it comes to Kody and his family. I wouldn't consider their book a waste of time to read, but I do wish I hadn't wasted $12 on it because I basically paid for the same information twice, first to the cable company and now to Barnes & Noble. They should have spent the time to go more in depth and to address some of the things they don't get into or have time to go into detail about on the show. The editors didn't do a very good job either. There are more spelling and grammatical errors in this book than in any other book I've ever read, there's a lot of redundancy and it just didn't flow as smoothly as it should.

    38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Very Eye Opening and Great Read

    I just finished this book and was more than pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it! While I am a fan of the show, I definitely had my own negative thoughts about the lifestyle the Brown's live...until now. The book answered many of my questions and misconceptions about their lives. I definitely commend them for being brave enough be open and honest about their livess, but most of all for educating people about a topic that is so controversial. Ecellent read,

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    I wrote a whole review that somehow got erased, so I'll sum it u

    I wrote a whole review that somehow got erased, so I'll sum it up.

    The book was an OKAY read but the timeline was sometimes confusing.
    Overall, I believe the book would have benefited from not having Kody's perspective represented at all. His parts were shallow, long-winded and confusing.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Sister Wives

    Wow, I follow the show faithfully!!!! I still myself could not live this lifestyle!!!!! However the individual stories where interesting but, seemed to be carefully thought out just like the Q & A's on the show. I am a christian and daily try not judge others, I do feel that america judges the Brown's, their choices and their lifestyle. I have to keep myself incheck to keep my thoughts to myself, my husband hates that I watch the show and he actually says hey your judging them after a show and I will say something or tend to favor one wife(Christine) mostly, truthfully she seems the most lost & hurt and ignorned to me, she just touches my heart more, then I think wait they all our very different and face many of the same struggles I do in my life!!!! The book gives you insight and voices from each wife and Kody far more than the show!!!! I read it in 2days and see that each person has his/her own weakness/strenghts I have read so many stories on pologamy Alyssa Wales/Flora Jessop/Caroline Jessop and many others. I had a perception that all poligamists where they same. However after watching the show and following blogs and reading the book, I have came to a understanding that they are indeed different then what I believed of pologamists. There is to much hate in this world, mostly we hate and fear what we do not understand or that differs from our own beliefs or lifestyles. I believe God wants us to see past differences in any situation and see what is the heart!!! Love, understanding in knowledge is the key to understanding anything life whirls at you, especially when its not your own personal normal. Good luck Brown's!!!!!!!
    Robin
    Pittsburgh, PA

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Enjoyed this book.

    It is nice to see a family who sticks by each other and their beliefs. As a fan of the show it was nice to read a deeper view of their history and family dynamic. They are just like every other family. Imperfect people trying to live their beliefs and raise a family.

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    If you like the show, read the book.

    This book is a great addition to the show. If you like the show, read the book. I found it gave a lot of insight to the attitudes of the individual adults in this family. I do not agree with their beliefs or lifestyle but I feel I have a better understanding of the unit now that I have read the book. I think they are good people who are maybe just misguided. Regardless, I find them interesting and a warm group of people. I love the show.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    A Different Side

    I enjoy watching the TV show and found the book to be quite informative of the mechanics of how it all REALLY works vs. What we are shown on TV.
    There were parts of the book that had me telling my husband that I wanted Sister Wives! (well, they can't sleep with him though) as the idea of having chores split up, and being able to go work while I had a fully competent other woman who loves my kid as her own watching her, sounds great! But there are those moments where you realize just how much character and strength you have to have in order to participate in this lifestyle.
    Only complaint about this book was I found Kody's blurbs lacking. Not in that there weren't enough, just that they said much the same thing.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    ?..

    This book and show is deplorable. It puts the women into a prostitution area and the man into a wanna be sheik position. This is sex bondage and should be outlawed.

    13 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Love the show, find the Brown's interesting! The book however is

    Love the show, find the Brown's interesting! The book however is poorly written, jumps around and is at times very confusing. Not to mention the spelling and grammatical errors that run through it. Also did anyone else notice that it is basically a love fest to Robyn and how until she came into the family it was just a mess of people living in a daze... that is what I took away from it, they seemed honest and open until they started talking about Robyn, it was like I was jealous when Robyn joined the family but that was my issue and in no way represented her... maybe she can't handle criticism. I like learning about them from when before the show began but they should have used an actual writer to tell their story. Polygamy amongst consenting adults doesn't bother me, to each their own, what I find confusing is the fact that they don't take much time to get to know each other, they just seemed to see each other across the room and know they were meant to be together, court (for a very short period of time) and get married... I guess whatever works for you!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Disgusting!

    God intented marriage to be between 1 man and 1 woman...this man is PATHETIC! These women have been brainwashed into thinking this is normal. There is nothing normal or Christian about your husband sleeping with and having children with other women. BUT...if they feel this is right....then why aren't the women allowed to have another husband or husbands? HUH? Why is it considered wrong if the women do the same thing? And to the women I ask...who told you at some point in your life that, YOU do not deserve to have YOUR OWN husband and family. What happened to make you that insecure? I feel sorry for the children. That whole situation is disgusting!

    9 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Get to Know the Browns!

    I love the show and the Browns! This book goes more indepth into each wive's personalities and personal stories.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    the book was just a reinforcement of the show...i didn't really

    the book was just a reinforcement of the show...i didn't really learn anything new...but it was a good enough read...it was very nice to read that the wives feel very empowered in the dynamic of their marriage...kody did not contribute as much as the four wives...but he is outnumbered!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Self dilusion and hypocracy

    Someone please knock some common sense into these fools please. They see themselves as enlightnend, independent and self sufficient. The women refer to the jealousy they feel over having to share a husband as "petty". When they do overcome it, then they consider themselves as "better" people who have "grown". It's absurd and the way they twist things around is so they can justify their own purposterous lives. And Kody's just the WORST. He is so pathologically insecure that he surrounds himself with 4 women and 100 kids? Meanwhile the women see him as the most devoted father ever. Anyone can be seen as dedicated when all he's obligated to do is spend time with each kid and mother every 4th day. The guy is a JOKE and his deep insecurities simply illustrate how weak his character really is. He's the most amoral hypocrite I've ever seen. Can you actually imagine allowing your own husband to sleep with and raise children with another woman? He eats it all up - an overabundance of attention being paid to him, a TV show that tries to portray him as some kind of honorableb man, the worship of 4 wives, sex with 4 different women for the rest of his life. I find his arrogance absurd, in that he's never actually DONE anything and hasn't

    Spoiler alert: the women basically all think Meri is a bully and, for the most part, is unilaterally disliked. Christine is as idiotic as she appears to be. Other wives refer to their relationship with her as completely superficial because she's immature and lacks depth. Robin's as pleasant as she is portrayed on the show. And Janelle??? Are you kidding me? You and Kody were INTELLECTUALLY drawn to each other? Whatever you say...neither of you have a decent education and you basically admit that your marriage is a sham. I think Janelle's a lesbian because her marriage is essentually a business partnership. These women just make me sad. They are so far from reality that there's really no way that they will ever get a brain and self respect.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Rate the book!

    Do people not understand that a book review is your opinion on THE BOOK and not your beliefs about the Browns or their chosen lifestyle! Its annoying to try and find out if the book is a good read only to have to sift through peoples rants!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Recommended Insightful Reading

    For those who do not 'get' the notion of plural marriages and maybe for those that do. A very absorbing book from start to finish. The book helps to understand each of the characters on the popular TV series of the same name.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Great Insight!

    This book has a lot of typos (a pet peeve of mine), but it is a must read if you are a fan of the show! This book offers great insight into each of the wives' personal history and their journey to becoming a part of the Brown family. I would agree with some of the other reviewers' comments regarding the book changing my perception of some of the wives. Everyone is very candid in sharing their personal struggles within the family, specifically with other wives. I found their honesty refreshing and truly enjoyed this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    ??. Makes you wonder? Makes you wonder...

    I wonder how these women might have thrived in a traditional marriage, without all the drama and jealously. I believe that Meri could shake the depression that she obviously suffers, Janelle could find the confidence to lose weight, and Christine could stop trying to get Meri's husband's attention by her "goofyness " Robyn seems to need this lifestyle. It was an interesting read, but truly sad and a waste of many lives. That being said, they don't deserve to be harrassed by the authorities.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Great book

    Loved this book made me think differently about Meri though.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Inconsistent

    Although I find this book very interesting and full of the more in-depth details one wonders about while watching the reality tv series, I am disappointed with the small inconsistencies in stories throughout. I suppose it is due to each wife seeing what happened from her own point of view, however it seems as though there are just too many inconsistencies.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8