Customer Reviews for

Becoming Sister Wives: The Story of an Unconventional Marriage

Average Rating 3.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know

I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know that what we see on the show is only the tip of the iceberg. The fact that they had so many issues that they brushed under the rug was really surprising especially since they made it seem that they were re...
I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know that what we see on the show is only the tip of the iceberg. The fact that they had so many issues that they brushed under the rug was really surprising especially since they made it seem that they were really good friends from beginning but that wasn't the case exactly.I was especially disappointed with how Meri treated Janelle early on and even today, they still haven't worked on things from the past but it seems like they want to start trying to. Not trying to go into to much detail but it was a very good read a lot questions that I had were answered. Still don't agree with the lifestyle but I appreciate the honesty of the book.

posted by Brittbrat246 on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Not Enough New Information

I'm disappointed that people have written more reviews of the Brown family here than of the actual book itself. If you're trying to decide if this book is worth the time and money, my opinion of the Brown's is irrelevant, so I will stick to what I think about the book! ...
I'm disappointed that people have written more reviews of the Brown family here than of the actual book itself. If you're trying to decide if this book is worth the time and money, my opinion of the Brown's is irrelevant, so I will stick to what I think about the book! It's a very easy and enjoyable read however, if you've seen every episode of Sister Wives, including the "bonus" behind the scenes interview shows TLC has aired, you won't really find out much that you don't already know. I was hoping the book would shed some light on how the family financially supports 5 adults and all of those kids, but they are as vague about it in the book as they are on the show. That is just one of the many things I'm curious about when it comes to Kody and his family. I wouldn't consider their book a waste of time to read, but I do wish I hadn't wasted $12 on it because I basically paid for the same information twice, first to the cable company and now to Barnes & Noble. They should have spent the time to go more in depth and to address some of the things they don't get into or have time to go into detail about on the show. The editors didn't do a very good job either. There are more spelling and grammatical errors in this book than in any other book I've ever read, there's a lot of redundancy and it just didn't flow as smoothly as it should.

posted by 9918827 on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    To: Interesting Read

    I could not agree more with everything you said. I also did change the way I think about meri after reading about her. I also lost interest in kody as well, when jenelle was about to cry cause kody was leaving on a trip with meri, and she thought he was about to laugh at her. The book brought out alot of the things that would be wrong about this lifestyle, the pain and hurt not just good things.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Not aChristian book

    This book does not belong under the category of Christianity. This belongs more under the humanistic/pagan catergory.

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    I started watching the show mostly out of curiosity. I am in sch

    I started watching the show mostly out of curiosity. I am in school studying to become a psychologist and their family dynamic really had me wondering how a family of 5 could cope with the day to day struggles all families have and how these women could move past their basic emotions to see the bigger picture. As a few of the other reviews show, not all people agree with this lifestyle. Some even go out of their way to show the family some of that "Christian Love" and sling anger their way because they just dont understand. As an Atheist, I can see where their lifestyle would be looked down on and shammed. But being an Atheist can open your eyes to the hatred that the mainstream religions can sling at you. That's why I wanted to read the book. I wanted to see deeper into the lifestyle & family dynamic, and also how these 5 people cope with the outside world.

    The book is very well written, especially given the fact that these women arent "authors". The voice of each chapter is different, letting each wife tell her story her way. It's obvious from the beginning that they have all been in some sort of therapy, just by the terms they use. But I am happy they were able to find a therapist that understood their lifestyle and they were given the coping mechanisms required to communitcate in such a unique way.

    Whlie the Browns do talk about religion in the book, it's not as "preachy" as I thought it would be. They walk the reader through making the decisions to marry and stick with that faith in a very logical way.

    The book does a wonderful job of sheading light on their history as a family and why they agreed to do the show. At one point Robin says she wants to change the world. All the wives want to break down the falsehoods of their religion & lifestyle so their children dont have to live a secret life. I think they are doing a great job!! If you enjoy the show, you will enjoy the book. I learned a lot about this unique family. I cannot wait until this Sunday so I can look at the family with new eyes - not just a TV family, but a group of people just trying to make it work and live their lives the best they can.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    An ok book

    I have finished the book now and like many reviewers i see it as a repeat of much that i had already seen on the show but still a good read. Still lots of things i am curious about that were not addressed. Such as do they have health insurance and are Meri and Mariah the only ones who could benefit from it or Kodys Social Secirity? Not any of my business, i know, just a curiousity. The editing of this book leaves much to be desired. The editor needed an editor...lots of errors. But i really did like it and would reccomend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    REPETITIOUS READING !

    I love the show Sister Wives and for anyone who has watched the series, this book will be a repeat of all of the "couch sessions". Every wife takes a turn at repeating what the others have said. No new insight is given to this family and it became a boring read. Half way through the book, I started skimming over paragraphs. If you've seen the show...don't bother with the book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Honest

    If you watch the show, you will recognize these ladies as honest, forthright and very real women. I really got a sense of their personalities. So personal in regard to the struggles, that I felt like I were reading the individual diaries.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Sister wives

    Like any other person in America I have watched the show, so when the book came out I decided to check it out. I found it very interesting. I liked hearing about how each wife grew up, found their way to FLDS, Kody & the family.
    i found it an easy read and enjoyed reading it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    In the Wrong Section

    Mormonism and polygamy books don't belong in the Christian book section. Christians believe in the deity of Christ. Mormons do not. Mormonism is not a sect of Christianity, it is a classic cult. Mormons are to be admired for many of their moral stances, but they are not Christians. Wrong church....wrong pew.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Really???

    As a society are we so lost in darkness that depraved behavior is applauded as a courageous, alternative lifestyle? Does anyone bother to read history to discover what perversion does to a culture? Pick up a book on the French Revolution and its philosophers and shudder because it is creepy close to Western thinking today. Better make sure you're not so open-minded that your brains fall out.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Repeat of the interview show.

    Book had very limited new information. I love the show and the wives. I recommend it if you haven't seen the show. But if you are a fan like me it's not worth it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Leaves you wondering...

    Considering the book is about 5 adults, 16 children and only 214 pages its easy to see they have left the reader to fill in too many blanks.
    The Browns have allowed themselves to benefit financially with both the show and the book but are still only willing to give up such a small amount of themselves. I remember in the beginning thinking "how sick amd crazy are these people" but yet was drawn back to watching.
    Now i have a much fonder perspective of live and let live and wanting to get to know the family better.
    Unfortunately the book offers nothing new, After watching the recap and interview of the last show, everything in the book was already divulged.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    A quick read and very interesting. The parts written by the wom

    A quick read and very interesting. The parts written by the women were definitely more interesting than the parts written by Kody, however.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nothing new if you already watch the series.

    Nothing new if you already watch the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. I read it in a day and found it hel

    I really enjoyed this book. I read it in a day and found it helpful. It explained things I did not know and more of the family dynamics. This shows a different perspective of each of the family members and how they all interact.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Nje

    He dies in the end

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Interesting

    An interesting supplement to the show.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Boring

    If you read the first chapter you have pretty much read the whole book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Slow....

    I am a huge fan of the Brown family, and while reading each of their stories was interesting, the book was a slow (and often somewhat boring) read for me. I'm a tad disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Very boring

    I could not finish this book. The stories from each wife are identical, except for their background and upbringing. I was very disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    Interesting but...

    I looked forward to this book because I thought it would give a more indepth behind the scenes look at this family.

    To be fair, in certain areas it did. In my opinion it was an uninterrupted version of thier TV show.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8