Customer Reviews for

Becoming Sister Wives: The Story of an Unconventional Marriage

Average Rating 3.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know

I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know that what we see on the show is only the tip of the iceberg. The fact that they had so many issues that they brushed under the rug was really surprising especially since they made it seem that they were re...
I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know that what we see on the show is only the tip of the iceberg. The fact that they had so many issues that they brushed under the rug was really surprising especially since they made it seem that they were really good friends from beginning but that wasn't the case exactly.I was especially disappointed with how Meri treated Janelle early on and even today, they still haven't worked on things from the past but it seems like they want to start trying to. Not trying to go into to much detail but it was a very good read a lot questions that I had were answered. Still don't agree with the lifestyle but I appreciate the honesty of the book.

posted by Brittbrat246 on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Not Enough New Information

I'm disappointed that people have written more reviews of the Brown family here than of the actual book itself. If you're trying to decide if this book is worth the time and money, my opinion of the Brown's is irrelevant, so I will stick to what I think about the book! ...
I'm disappointed that people have written more reviews of the Brown family here than of the actual book itself. If you're trying to decide if this book is worth the time and money, my opinion of the Brown's is irrelevant, so I will stick to what I think about the book! It's a very easy and enjoyable read however, if you've seen every episode of Sister Wives, including the "bonus" behind the scenes interview shows TLC has aired, you won't really find out much that you don't already know. I was hoping the book would shed some light on how the family financially supports 5 adults and all of those kids, but they are as vague about it in the book as they are on the show. That is just one of the many things I'm curious about when it comes to Kody and his family. I wouldn't consider their book a waste of time to read, but I do wish I hadn't wasted $12 on it because I basically paid for the same information twice, first to the cable company and now to Barnes & Noble. They should have spent the time to go more in depth and to address some of the things they don't get into or have time to go into detail about on the show. The editors didn't do a very good job either. There are more spelling and grammatical errors in this book than in any other book I've ever read, there's a lot of redundancy and it just didn't flow as smoothly as it should.

posted by 9918827 on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    if you want insight...

    I thought this book was a pretty good look into what goes on behind the scenes of the t.v. show, but it also stopped short. Everyone seemed to go just to the edge of opening up, and then stopped. I liked finding out about how everyone met and some of the backstory of how they came to be on t.v., but it didn't really give you too much insight into each of the individual lives. It was like everyone was apologizing for their feelings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Good book - check it out!

    I enjoyed the book. The book gives you just a little bit more insight then their show. I found it interesting and worth reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Recommended

    I enjoyed this book and how each adult shared their personal story as well as their feelings about a plural marriage. I do watch, and enjoy, the show and I came away with a more positive, nurturing and enlightened opinion of Kody Brown than I had from the show. There is a lot of love in that family, I wish them all the best.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read.

    A wonderful look into the lives of the Brown family. I enjoyed reading about their meeting and falling in love and their quest for happiness and raising a wonderful family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Well written book about a unique family

    I have enjoyed watching this show, so I was glad to see they had written a book on their own experiences in their family and faith. I find these women to be very well spoken, brave, independent, and faithful to their lifestyle. I enjoyed reading their perspectives on their family, sisters, and husband. I recommend this book to people who are looking to learn more about this family that cannot be gleaned from a television show. This is a very nice, short read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Recommended

    Good Read. Interesting look at polygamous marriage. The tv show let's you see one side of this family and the book allows you to see deeper into the family and their issues.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Very Disconcerting

    i love the show and have, from the onset, admired the families for standing for what they believe and have related closely to Mary. That having been said, let me be clear...their belief is not my own. However, after reading the book I experienced a multitude of differing emotions. I feel the book was well written and also feel it was honest. Reading the book gave me more understanding on issues that I did have questions about. One of the things I took away from reading the book was the thought that no matter how idealic the situation may be at times, there seems to be a serious underlying problem of jealousy between some of the women and no matter what you try to portray to your children, believe me, they are going to pick up on this and quick! I no longer admire Mary as I did in the past. No matter what type of housekeeper anyone may be, in my eyes, there was no call for Mary to be allowed to purchase such a large home. Where was the husband? This in itself showed favoritism as did many things in the book...first wife or not...she is just the first, legal wife...and that difference is the only difference I would think. I would recommend reading the book but prepare yourself for some disappointment. Oh, and I believe Robyn will actually save this family. By what I can tell she truly knows God and practices what she "preaches". I feel if God had not placed her in this family's path...between the fame going to their heads and the jealousy, it would have surely failed in some way.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    YUCK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    YUCK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Euphemistic

    This book is not to be believed. The behavior of the sister wives is described in such an unrealistic fashion that they do not come across as genuinely human. For instance, in the book Kody describes the reaction of one of his current wives upon his meeting and beginning to court a subsequent wife - I can't remember the name or which one it was, but these details aren't important. What is important is that Kody describes the current wife's behavior as one of extreme pleasure in which she actually jumps up and down with joy at the idea of Kody's upcoming date (with another younger and thinner woman). She goes on to give Kody tips and ideas on how to court this other girl successfully. It's as though Kody is a teenage boy going out on his first date and his mother is at his side giving him helpful advice. It's ridiculous and preposterous. The sister wives come across not as real human beings, but rather as completely selfless, all-comprehending, god-like creatures whose sole purpose in life is to please and carry out Kody's every wish. Whenever there is a conflict between the sister wives or between Kody and the sister wives, they unfailingly find quick resolution and a meeting of the minds. They have a love fest.

    I consider myself an open-minded person who is willing to examine and consider alternative lifestyles or points of view. I attempted to read this book in this mindset, but the lack of honesty and unrealistic, phony behavior described in the book totally turned me off. I do not recommend this book not because of its subject matter or alternative lifestyle, but simply because it doesn't ring true. It doesn't give a true picture of a polygamous family or any insight into the complex family dynamics that such an arrangement must trigger.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love this book!

    I loved the Brown family from the very first show on TLC. I admire their bravery in "coming out". I am glad to see a polygamist family allow America a look at who they really are. Americans still tend to show prejudice against certain people or belief systems that they just don't understand. It is great to see what really drives the polygamist culture. This book allows us a deeper look into how each of the Brown relationships started, along with the struggles and joyous times in their lives that have led them to be who they are today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Anonymous

    I love the tv program, so knew I would love the book too! While this lifestyle is not for me, I still am cheering for the Browns. Very refreshing to read all the open honesty. Glad there wasn't a bunch of rosy, fake sappy stories. Can't say I know many people brave enough to risk everything in hopes of having their way of life accepted. Hang in there Brown family, the world is changing!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Love

    Loved this book vary deepness about it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Interesting Read...

    I'm a great fan of the show and the book certainly gives readers a different perspective of life behind the scenes of this controversial television show. Having said that, I think what surprised me most was how my opinion of Kody's first wife, Meri, changed after reading it, and, sadly, not for the better. I came away thinking that despite her claim of wanting to participate in a plural marriage, she has a lot of bitterness and resentment she still needs to work through! Comments about loving relationships with her sister wives to the contrary, this woman clearly has issues living this lifestyle that she has been unable to overcome even after more than 20 years of marriage. Her sections of the book appeared to be constant and thinly-disguised, passive aggressive jabs at her sister wives, aimed particularly at Janelle and Christine. She seemed willing to throw them under the bus at every opportunity. In fact, my positive opinion of these two wives increased tremendously after reading what they've had to tolerate over the years in order to try to maintain a relationship with Meri. Meri comes across as jealous, rigid, unbending, unforgiving, unwilling to compromise, and intentionally hurtful. Hers was the only commentary that I found to be self-serving. I was very disappointed as she is portrayed sympathetically on the show, and I always admired her prior to reading the book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    I can't believe this is inspiring?

    I can't believe this is inspiring?

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Interesting to see how this progress with adding wives

    This was an interest book. I don't believe law enforcement should be pursing these people. I disagree with the lifestyle, but it seems to work for them. They don't appear to be anything like Jeff Warner. They seem sincerely convinced of their believes. Freedom of Religion. I, for the life of me, can't picture my husband having another wife in front of me. One of us would be leaving. According to the book they made it work. I saw the Q&A session on TV, my husband and I both thought he was awful to Christine. I can't say Kody Brown made me like him any better in the book. He was awful to Christine.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Sister Wives

    I don't understand or agree with plural marriage at all but I do understand their need to be able to practice their religion freely. I love watching the show. It's like watching a car wreck about to happen! I don't know how these women share their husband, it's beyond me. It amazes me how "normal" they appear in the show and in the book. Are we being swindled? I was surprised at how much turmoil & jealousy is talked about in the book. I think its absolutely normal but for a poligamist family? I mean they chose this so what did they expect!? I could go through & list my favorite or non favorite attributes about each wife but I won't. All I can say is that all of the wives appear to be wonderful mothers. Is it right or is it wrong? I don't know...I'll leave that decision up to God!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Good book

    I really enjoyed this book. I find the show very interesting and this book was equally so.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    The myths dissipated

    Very well written and informative. Meri, Janelle, Christine, Robyn, and Kody present the ups and downs of their choice in living the plural marriage lifestyle. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    good read

    Kody comes across hateful towards christine when he talks about the chili nachos incident, which angered me. The wives are honest and charming. Overall a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8