Customer Reviews for

Becoming Sister Wives: The Story of an Unconventional Marriage

Average Rating 3.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know

I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know that what we see on the show is only the tip of the iceberg. The fact that they had so many issues that they brushed under the rug was really surprising especially since they made it seem that they were re...
I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know that what we see on the show is only the tip of the iceberg. The fact that they had so many issues that they brushed under the rug was really surprising especially since they made it seem that they were really good friends from beginning but that wasn't the case exactly.I was especially disappointed with how Meri treated Janelle early on and even today, they still haven't worked on things from the past but it seems like they want to start trying to. Not trying to go into to much detail but it was a very good read a lot questions that I had were answered. Still don't agree with the lifestyle but I appreciate the honesty of the book.

posted by Brittbrat246 on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Not Enough New Information

I'm disappointed that people have written more reviews of the Brown family here than of the actual book itself. If you're trying to decide if this book is worth the time and money, my opinion of the Brown's is irrelevant, so I will stick to what I think about the book! ...
I'm disappointed that people have written more reviews of the Brown family here than of the actual book itself. If you're trying to decide if this book is worth the time and money, my opinion of the Brown's is irrelevant, so I will stick to what I think about the book! It's a very easy and enjoyable read however, if you've seen every episode of Sister Wives, including the "bonus" behind the scenes interview shows TLC has aired, you won't really find out much that you don't already know. I was hoping the book would shed some light on how the family financially supports 5 adults and all of those kids, but they are as vague about it in the book as they are on the show. That is just one of the many things I'm curious about when it comes to Kody and his family. I wouldn't consider their book a waste of time to read, but I do wish I hadn't wasted $12 on it because I basically paid for the same information twice, first to the cable company and now to Barnes & Noble. They should have spent the time to go more in depth and to address some of the things they don't get into or have time to go into detail about on the show. The editors didn't do a very good job either. There are more spelling and grammatical errors in this book than in any other book I've ever read, there's a lot of redundancy and it just didn't flow as smoothly as it should.

posted by 9918827 on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Not Enough New Information

    I'm disappointed that people have written more reviews of the Brown family here than of the actual book itself. If you're trying to decide if this book is worth the time and money, my opinion of the Brown's is irrelevant, so I will stick to what I think about the book! It's a very easy and enjoyable read however, if you've seen every episode of Sister Wives, including the "bonus" behind the scenes interview shows TLC has aired, you won't really find out much that you don't already know. I was hoping the book would shed some light on how the family financially supports 5 adults and all of those kids, but they are as vague about it in the book as they are on the show. That is just one of the many things I'm curious about when it comes to Kody and his family. I wouldn't consider their book a waste of time to read, but I do wish I hadn't wasted $12 on it because I basically paid for the same information twice, first to the cable company and now to Barnes & Noble. They should have spent the time to go more in depth and to address some of the things they don't get into or have time to go into detail about on the show. The editors didn't do a very good job either. There are more spelling and grammatical errors in this book than in any other book I've ever read, there's a lot of redundancy and it just didn't flow as smoothly as it should.

    39 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    I wrote a whole review that somehow got erased, so I'll sum it u

    I wrote a whole review that somehow got erased, so I'll sum it up.

    The book was an OKAY read but the timeline was sometimes confusing.
    Overall, I believe the book would have benefited from not having Kody's perspective represented at all. His parts were shallow, long-winded and confusing.

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Self dilusion and hypocracy

    Someone please knock some common sense into these fools please. They see themselves as enlightnend, independent and self sufficient. The women refer to the jealousy they feel over having to share a husband as "petty". When they do overcome it, then they consider themselves as "better" people who have "grown". It's absurd and the way they twist things around is so they can justify their own purposterous lives. And Kody's just the WORST. He is so pathologically insecure that he surrounds himself with 4 women and 100 kids? Meanwhile the women see him as the most devoted father ever. Anyone can be seen as dedicated when all he's obligated to do is spend time with each kid and mother every 4th day. The guy is a JOKE and his deep insecurities simply illustrate how weak his character really is. He's the most amoral hypocrite I've ever seen. Can you actually imagine allowing your own husband to sleep with and raise children with another woman? He eats it all up - an overabundance of attention being paid to him, a TV show that tries to portray him as some kind of honorableb man, the worship of 4 wives, sex with 4 different women for the rest of his life. I find his arrogance absurd, in that he's never actually DONE anything and hasn't

    Spoiler alert: the women basically all think Meri is a bully and, for the most part, is unilaterally disliked. Christine is as idiotic as she appears to be. Other wives refer to their relationship with her as completely superficial because she's immature and lacks depth. Robin's as pleasant as she is portrayed on the show. And Janelle??? Are you kidding me? You and Kody were INTELLECTUALLY drawn to each other? Whatever you say...neither of you have a decent education and you basically admit that your marriage is a sham. I think Janelle's a lesbian because her marriage is essentually a business partnership. These women just make me sad. They are so far from reality that there's really no way that they will ever get a brain and self respect.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    To: Interesting Read

    I could not agree more with everything you said. I also did change the way I think about meri after reading about her. I also lost interest in kody as well, when jenelle was about to cry cause kody was leaving on a trip with meri, and she thought he was about to laugh at her. The book brought out alot of the things that would be wrong about this lifestyle, the pain and hurt not just good things.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Repeat of the interview show.

    Book had very limited new information. I love the show and the wives. I recommend it if you haven't seen the show. But if you are a fan like me it's not worth it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Slow....

    I am a huge fan of the Brown family, and while reading each of their stories was interesting, the book was a slow (and often somewhat boring) read for me. I'm a tad disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Euphemistic

    This book is not to be believed. The behavior of the sister wives is described in such an unrealistic fashion that they do not come across as genuinely human. For instance, in the book Kody describes the reaction of one of his current wives upon his meeting and beginning to court a subsequent wife - I can't remember the name or which one it was, but these details aren't important. What is important is that Kody describes the current wife's behavior as one of extreme pleasure in which she actually jumps up and down with joy at the idea of Kody's upcoming date (with another younger and thinner woman). She goes on to give Kody tips and ideas on how to court this other girl successfully. It's as though Kody is a teenage boy going out on his first date and his mother is at his side giving him helpful advice. It's ridiculous and preposterous. The sister wives come across not as real human beings, but rather as completely selfless, all-comprehending, god-like creatures whose sole purpose in life is to please and carry out Kody's every wish. Whenever there is a conflict between the sister wives or between Kody and the sister wives, they unfailingly find quick resolution and a meeting of the minds. They have a love fest.

    I consider myself an open-minded person who is willing to examine and consider alternative lifestyles or points of view. I attempted to read this book in this mindset, but the lack of honesty and unrealistic, phony behavior described in the book totally turned me off. I do not recommend this book not because of its subject matter or alternative lifestyle, but simply because it doesn't ring true. It doesn't give a true picture of a polygamous family or any insight into the complex family dynamics that such an arrangement must trigger.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love this book!

    I loved the Brown family from the very first show on TLC. I admire their bravery in "coming out". I am glad to see a polygamist family allow America a look at who they really are. Americans still tend to show prejudice against certain people or belief systems that they just don't understand. It is great to see what really drives the polygamist culture. This book allows us a deeper look into how each of the Brown relationships started, along with the struggles and joyous times in their lives that have led them to be who they are today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    What an awesome story of love and commitment

    I finally got to finish reading the book. I hated to have to set it down. I really enjoyed reading it. I myself would never choose their life style or faith but I would never judge them for it either. I believe in freewill. God will be the one to make any judgements, when and if he sees a need. It is a wonderful relate able story of this awesome "normal" families trials and heartbreak, love, tolerance and unity. It showed the power of commitment and honesty and how with those tools how a marriage or in their case many marriages can thrive. Their children all seem very well cared for and loved 5 times over!! Or should I say 23 times over, with all the brothers and sisters, moms and dad that they have. I found something in each wives story of her family and marriage and family as a whole that I could relate to and even learn from. Meri and I are similar in parenting & organization. Jennelle and I are the financial planners. Christine and I are the party planners and cooks. Robin and I are so in tune and in love with our children that we always want to be the peace makers. They all love their husband and feel secure (for the most part) in their marriage. I've been with my husband for 16 years and in that time we have built a bond so close NOTHING could ever break. We have 4 beautiful children! I'm so happy they made the choice to bring their life style and religion into the public eye. I understand this in some ways goes against their faith, but I really do believe in some way God called to them to do this. I believe God loves all his children no matter what their life choice. Gay, strait, fat, thin, black, brown, white, Protestant, Catholic, Mormon, Jewish, in prison, or non-religion believers as myself. I do NOT believe in any religion. My personal view is religion is man made and dictated by humans. I do have faith and have a developing bond with our "father". I pray, I believe God has plans for each of us greater then our own. I've struggled with my relationship with God and wondered why he would let me suffer so much at times. For example in 2009 I had a hysterectomy and 4 days later went back to the hospital because I had a temperature. I had a feeling it was serious but didn't want to scare my husband. It turned out the doctors have no explanation of the fever but I had had Massive Bi-lateral pulmonary embolisms. I died 8 times at home and didn't even know it. Each time Gid brought me back to life! Now I believe Christ gave me that fever. I was very literally moments from death as I was wheeled into the hospitals ER. My body was shutting down due to lack of oxygen and blood flow. My doctors didn't expect me to make it through the night (this was the first time in 13 years i saw my husband cry, but immediately when I looked to him after the doctor told us the news, he saw the look of fear in my eyes his tears were gone! He looked at me and said you have nothing to fear honey, God knows I need you) much less the next day. But every day I got better and grew stronger. My faith wavered, but Gods faith never wavered in me! I'm so glad their story is being shared because so many like I thought that polygamists were all part of the Warren Jeffs Cult and abused children and the little girls/women had no choices & young boys cast out. I never knew there was an entirely different culture that practiced "the principal" of plural marriage outside of that horrible cult. This book was beautifully written an

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    ehh...

    I thought perhaps since I watch this stupid show I would enjoy the book. Not so much. It pretty mucg is the way you thought it would be.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1