Customer Reviews for

Becoming Sister Wives: The Story of an Unconventional Marriage

Average Rating 3.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know

I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know that what we see on the show is only the tip of the iceberg. The fact that they had so many issues that they brushed under the rug was really surprising especially since they made it seem that they were re...
I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know that what we see on the show is only the tip of the iceberg. The fact that they had so many issues that they brushed under the rug was really surprising especially since they made it seem that they were really good friends from beginning but that wasn't the case exactly.I was especially disappointed with how Meri treated Janelle early on and even today, they still haven't worked on things from the past but it seems like they want to start trying to. Not trying to go into to much detail but it was a very good read a lot questions that I had were answered. Still don't agree with the lifestyle but I appreciate the honesty of the book.

posted by Brittbrat246 on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Not Enough New Information

I'm disappointed that people have written more reviews of the Brown family here than of the actual book itself. If you're trying to decide if this book is worth the time and money, my opinion of the Brown's is irrelevant, so I will stick to what I think about the book! ...
I'm disappointed that people have written more reviews of the Brown family here than of the actual book itself. If you're trying to decide if this book is worth the time and money, my opinion of the Brown's is irrelevant, so I will stick to what I think about the book! It's a very easy and enjoyable read however, if you've seen every episode of Sister Wives, including the "bonus" behind the scenes interview shows TLC has aired, you won't really find out much that you don't already know. I was hoping the book would shed some light on how the family financially supports 5 adults and all of those kids, but they are as vague about it in the book as they are on the show. That is just one of the many things I'm curious about when it comes to Kody and his family. I wouldn't consider their book a waste of time to read, but I do wish I hadn't wasted $12 on it because I basically paid for the same information twice, first to the cable company and now to Barnes & Noble. They should have spent the time to go more in depth and to address some of the things they don't get into or have time to go into detail about on the show. The editors didn't do a very good job either. There are more spelling and grammatical errors in this book than in any other book I've ever read, there's a lot of redundancy and it just didn't flow as smoothly as it should.

posted by 9918827 on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know

    I read this book in two days and it was very intriguing to know that what we see on the show is only the tip of the iceberg. The fact that they had so many issues that they brushed under the rug was really surprising especially since they made it seem that they were really good friends from beginning but that wasn't the case exactly.I was especially disappointed with how Meri treated Janelle early on and even today, they still haven't worked on things from the past but it seems like they want to start trying to. Not trying to go into to much detail but it was a very good read a lot questions that I had were answered. Still don't agree with the lifestyle but I appreciate the honesty of the book.

    43 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Sister Wives

    Wow, I follow the show faithfully!!!! I still myself could not live this lifestyle!!!!! However the individual stories where interesting but, seemed to be carefully thought out just like the Q & A's on the show. I am a christian and daily try not judge others, I do feel that america judges the Brown's, their choices and their lifestyle. I have to keep myself incheck to keep my thoughts to myself, my husband hates that I watch the show and he actually says hey your judging them after a show and I will say something or tend to favor one wife(Christine) mostly, truthfully she seems the most lost & hurt and ignorned to me, she just touches my heart more, then I think wait they all our very different and face many of the same struggles I do in my life!!!! The book gives you insight and voices from each wife and Kody far more than the show!!!! I read it in 2days and see that each person has his/her own weakness/strenghts I have read so many stories on pologamy Alyssa Wales/Flora Jessop/Caroline Jessop and many others. I had a perception that all poligamists where they same. However after watching the show and following blogs and reading the book, I have came to a understanding that they are indeed different then what I believed of pologamists. There is to much hate in this world, mostly we hate and fear what we do not understand or that differs from our own beliefs or lifestyles. I believe God wants us to see past differences in any situation and see what is the heart!!! Love, understanding in knowledge is the key to understanding anything life whirls at you, especially when its not your own personal normal. Good luck Brown's!!!!!!!
    Robin
    Pittsburgh, PA

    20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    If you like the show, read the book.

    This book is a great addition to the show. If you like the show, read the book. I found it gave a lot of insight to the attitudes of the individual adults in this family. I do not agree with their beliefs or lifestyle but I feel I have a better understanding of the unit now that I have read the book. I think they are good people who are maybe just misguided. Regardless, I find them interesting and a warm group of people. I love the show.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    A Different Side

    I enjoy watching the TV show and found the book to be quite informative of the mechanics of how it all REALLY works vs. What we are shown on TV.
    There were parts of the book that had me telling my husband that I wanted Sister Wives! (well, they can't sleep with him though) as the idea of having chores split up, and being able to go work while I had a fully competent other woman who loves my kid as her own watching her, sounds great! But there are those moments where you realize just how much character and strength you have to have in order to participate in this lifestyle.
    Only complaint about this book was I found Kody's blurbs lacking. Not in that there weren't enough, just that they said much the same thing.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Rate the book!

    Do people not understand that a book review is your opinion on THE BOOK and not your beliefs about the Browns or their chosen lifestyle! Its annoying to try and find out if the book is a good read only to have to sift through peoples rants!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    the book was just a reinforcement of the show...i didn't really

    the book was just a reinforcement of the show...i didn't really learn anything new...but it was a good enough read...it was very nice to read that the wives feel very empowered in the dynamic of their marriage...kody did not contribute as much as the four wives...but he is outnumbered!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Recommended Insightful Reading

    For those who do not 'get' the notion of plural marriages and maybe for those that do. A very absorbing book from start to finish. The book helps to understand each of the characters on the popular TV series of the same name.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Great Insight!

    This book has a lot of typos (a pet peeve of mine), but it is a must read if you are a fan of the show! This book offers great insight into each of the wives' personal history and their journey to becoming a part of the Brown family. I would agree with some of the other reviewers' comments regarding the book changing my perception of some of the wives. Everyone is very candid in sharing their personal struggles within the family, specifically with other wives. I found their honesty refreshing and truly enjoyed this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    An ok book

    I have finished the book now and like many reviewers i see it as a repeat of much that i had already seen on the show but still a good read. Still lots of things i am curious about that were not addressed. Such as do they have health insurance and are Meri and Mariah the only ones who could benefit from it or Kodys Social Secirity? Not any of my business, i know, just a curiousity. The editing of this book leaves much to be desired. The editor needed an editor...lots of errors. But i really did like it and would reccomend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    A quick read and very interesting. The parts written by the wom

    A quick read and very interesting. The parts written by the women were definitely more interesting than the parts written by Kody, however.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read.

    A wonderful look into the lives of the Brown family. I enjoyed reading about their meeting and falling in love and their quest for happiness and raising a wonderful family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Recommended

    Good Read. Interesting look at polygamous marriage. The tv show let's you see one side of this family and the book allows you to see deeper into the family and their issues.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Very Disconcerting

    i love the show and have, from the onset, admired the families for standing for what they believe and have related closely to Mary. That having been said, let me be clear...their belief is not my own. However, after reading the book I experienced a multitude of differing emotions. I feel the book was well written and also feel it was honest. Reading the book gave me more understanding on issues that I did have questions about. One of the things I took away from reading the book was the thought that no matter how idealic the situation may be at times, there seems to be a serious underlying problem of jealousy between some of the women and no matter what you try to portray to your children, believe me, they are going to pick up on this and quick! I no longer admire Mary as I did in the past. No matter what type of housekeeper anyone may be, in my eyes, there was no call for Mary to be allowed to purchase such a large home. Where was the husband? This in itself showed favoritism as did many things in the book...first wife or not...she is just the first, legal wife...and that difference is the only difference I would think. I would recommend reading the book but prepare yourself for some disappointment. Oh, and I believe Robyn will actually save this family. By what I can tell she truly knows God and practices what she "preaches". I feel if God had not placed her in this family's path...between the fame going to their heads and the jealousy, it would have surely failed in some way.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    SolidRead

    I love the show and this book. Found the wives' sectiin to be more interesting than Kody's. Good book overall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Great read

    I loved this book what a great family

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Interesting

    I never would have thought I would watch the TV series and I do every week. I bought the book and very much enjoyed ready it. Thank you to the Brown's for opening their lives to us. I could really see myself as a sister wife although my family would probably disown me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    A very real and different look at the world of sisterwives

    I watch this show on TLC ever since the first episode aired , I wanted to see what else they had to share with the world. I have found out there is such a spirituality,emotional,and loving depth to this culture in the United States. I think that this book really explains so much of what they have chosen to do in the eye of the lord and there fellow church members, What they choose may not be what we normally think of the typical love and marriage vision . By having the show and this book they have shown me that the type of life they choose to live is whats best for them and all there wonderfully healthy happy children and for that I am thankful for this onsite in to there world and I applaud them for being brave to face the world and own what they believe in.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Interesting

    I found this book interesting. I haven bren interested in this family since i caugh the first episode of Sister Wives. They talk about differnet aspects of their lives, court ships, marriages, etc each frim theirien perspective. An interesting read if you like the show or even if you enjoyed Big Love on HBO

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Interesting story.

    I really like watching the show and wanted to see what else the Browns had to say. I dont agree with their beliefs but have learned something from their message.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    This is a must read

    Definetly opens your eyes and mind to this totally unconventional lifestyle.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2