Customer Reviews for

Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting a Healthy Plant-Based Diet

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    WONDERFUL information

    This is THE BEST book I have read about nutrition for vegans! The information is very scientifically and physiologically correct (which I have found to be rare in nutrition books) and the tables of nutrient-dense foods are greatly helpful and informative. Armed with the information in this book, I've been able to 'put in their place' those who insist that a vegan diet is unhealthy and deficiency-prone!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2003

    Thorough Book on Vegan Nutrition

    This book is an excellent resource for vegans and vegetarians alike. It details all the essential nutrients, what foods contain them, and how to supplement your diet properly to ensure the proper intake of the daily requirements. The nutritional information provided is invaluable. This book is a must have for all vegans!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2006

    Very Informative

    This book comes packed with tons of information on adopting the vegan life style. Sometimes it gets a little confusing but nonetheless it provides the reader with detailed information including suggested foods, vitamins, and interesting facts that would make anybody switch to the vegan life style. I was very happy with this book and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to learn more about becoming a vegan or even if your just looking to pick up some healthy eating tips.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book

    This book has answered so many questions for me about going vegan. The awesome thing about this book is that even if you're not intending on being strictly vegan but want to understand how different foods give us the nutrition we need to be healthy, this is just the right thing to read! I love how it breaks down the history of veganism (and vegetarianism) and then discusses different studies about vegan vs. average omnivore diet. It then breaks different nutrients down and finally gives you a plan to live by. I LOVE IT! definitely a must have!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a must read

    I am still reading this, and it has been very enjoyable. It is a book on nutrition fundamentally and as such is very detailed. But even though this can be viewed as a reference text, it is very well written. As a vegan, this has given me some guidance on how to incorporate a safe, healthful plant based diet for my family. It lends support to the notion that a vegan diet is not only morally superior to an omnivorous one, but when carefully planned, is physiologically superior.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Are you 'Vegan' confused? Get This Book

    Help the confused. Use this book when others ask YOU questions about being vegan. This book will provide you with the answers.
    Fantastic reference.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Very Informative!!

    This is a great book. It lays out all the facts about being Vegan. I would highly recommend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Be a healthy Vegan don't forget your B 12!

    This is a wonderful guide I still refer to it! I have been Vegan for almost two years now and had a ton of questions when i started this is the book to get to make sure you are getting all the nutrients and good fats you need. Please talk with your doctor or dietitian about your diet and make sure to get a B 12 vegans can have serious health issues if they don't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Informative/Persuasive

    This is a good book for anyone who is either thinking about going vegan or wants to learn about (animal free) nutrition. Being the former, the book definitely explained to me how to go vegan knowledgeably.

    The book has valuable and generally extensive material about how the human body processes different food, what food provides what vitamins and how to balance your diet.

    That being said, at times it is so dense with information that it is hard to follow. (Although the easiest solution to this is to put the book down and come back to it later.)

    Also, the book often talks about going vegan as a tool to combat various diseases. I understand that reduced cancer/CVD/diabetes risk is a great reason to go vegan (and a topic mentioned on the cover), but had I wanted a book about how to reverse such issues I would have gotten a disease specific book.

    All in all this book is a valuable tool, one you would want to keep (in order to return to the detailed explanations) even if you ultimately choose not to become a vegan. If you are able to concentrate on the material, and pay attention to the disease prevention/reversal section even if they are not relevant, this book is a must have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1