Customer Reviews for

Becoming a Supple Leopard: The Ultimate Guide to Resolving Pain, Preventing Injury, and Optimizing Athletic Performance

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Book is great but B&N shipping time frame and delivery is th

    Book is great but B&N shipping time frame and delivery is the worst. not to mention tracking information is never updated. E.g. get the 
    book from amazon or a more reliable site that can delivery in a more professional way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    One of a Kind:  Bridges the gap between Biomechanics and Movemen

    One of a Kind:  Bridges the gap between Biomechanics and Movement  

    I’m an assistant professor in exercise physiology/strength & conditioning at a University in Nashville, TN.  This book is going to generate an overwhelmingly, positive ripple effect among, coaches, athletic trainers, physical therapists, educators, athletes and most importantly, the general population.  Kelly is an excellent teacher, and this is continually displayed in his book, Becoming a Supple Leopard. 

    I was fortunate enough to get my hands on an advanced copy, and the layout of the text is superb.   It’s well-written, applied & in layperson’s terms. 

    First of all, Kelly has provided 100’s of pictures within the text with detailed step-by-step instructions on how to perform numerous weight-lifting and body-weight related movements as well as numerous mobilizations.  Furthermore, Kelly highlights common faults associated with specific training movements and offers suggestions to fix the movement technique error.  He also provides “mobilization target areas” for related movements to improve movement technique, and one the best parts he provides an example of a daily mobility prescription.  For those up for the task, it has grounds to improve your quality of life – but you have to put forth the effort to alleviate your own pain, improve performance and most importantly advance your activities of daily living.  

    Thanks Kelly & Glen, I look forward to using BASL as a primary text for related courses this coming year, while educating future physical therapists and strength and conditioning professionals.

    I do not have any conflict of interests in writing this review.   

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Great!!!!!

    I bought this book for my son as a Christmas gift. He is a crossfit coach, and this book was all he wanted. He loves it and says it is very helpful with his form. I would recommend this book if you are an instructor or a fitness nut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Life Changing Book

    As I am getting older, my posture is changing, and the little aches and pains creep in after sitting too long in a car, at the computer, or after a long day. But, after beginning these mobility exercises as he teaches in the book, the aches and pains are no longer a problem. I am becoming a supple leopard again, as I felt in my teens! I highly recommend this book for athletes and non-athletes, for young and old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    I¿m loving McDonalds for fast food... MyDeals247 for the best de

    I’m loving McDonalds for fast food... MyDeals247 for the best deals;))

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    very helpful

    This book has been extremely helpful to me in improving my movement and mobility, and understanding my body.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    I am a fitness professional so I was cautiously optimistic about

    I am a fitness professional so I was cautiously optimistic about this this book. I have been following Kelly and already knew he was solid but this book just solidified that for me. His approach is rock solid, and balanced. Finally a guide to fix yourself, while still maintaining a life and conditioning program.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    There is not much to consider when buying this book. From hard-c

    There is not much to consider when buying this book. From hard-core athlete to health-seeking adults, this book is not to be ignored. As a student with a busy schedule it only took me about a week to read because my eyes were so glued to the pages but the informations is exceptional and beyond. Anyone can immediately apply the techniques and exercises in this book. It is good to be confident in what you know, but don't always believe you know it all! This was a great resource to clear up foggy areas of training for me and I am positive it will do the same for others as well.
    Do not worry if you are a newbie to anatomy and physiology because there is an abundance of pictures that clearly illustrate the concept and execution. You will not have to contact Kelly and ask him any questions, the only question you need to ask if for yourself "when will I start".

    P.S. - As an athlete who has recently been injured and went to the Crossfit-L1 course, this aspect of fitness (mobility) is VITALLY important to staying healthy and strong. Do not skip this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    I have been obsessed with human movement and strength and condit

    I have been obsessed with human movement and strength and conditioning for several years, and it has been my life long endeavor to educate myself on this topic. My education began by obtaining a crossfit certification, followed by becoming a certified strength and conditioning specialist (CSCS) and now I am currently studying Kinesiology at the graduate level. The book “Becoming a Supple Leopard” has provided me definitive answers about how to move perfectly! I have learned how to elevate my lower back pain (hip tightness). Understanding and applying the concepts in this book has improved my performance in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and Olympic weightlifting by increasing my kinesthetic awareness. My kinesthetic awareness is now more valuable because I know how to properly coordinate motion. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    ¿Becoming A Supple Leopard¿ provides exceptional insight into Ke

    “Becoming A Supple Leopard” provides exceptional insight into Kelly Starrett’ s true gift: his ability to connect the dots to unlock new performance standards to express one’s true athletic potential. Bottom line, athletes want to accomplish new performance standards and Kelly provides the map to identify and address the root of the performance limiters.

    Kelly starts at the beginning to build another dimension to performance. He lays a base foundation of movement and movement principles that coaches and athletes understand and can apply to numerous situations. The foundation principles do not change whether competing, performing, training, or in everyday life.

    Kelly establishes a mindset with the tunnel concept that bring a new awareness to the importance of the start position. The ability to recognize and address common faults within these fundamental positions within the system unlocks new performance standards and moves an athlete closer to expressing his/her true potential. He provides a model for organizing, having a strategy to set good position, and step by step instructions & photos to illustrate how to rectify elements limiting performance.

    This book will play a crucial role in new performance standards set across all sports and athletic events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1