Customer Reviews for

The Bed of Procrustes: Philosophical and Practical Aphorisms

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "If you want people to read a book, tell them it is overrated."

    I see a few earlier reviewers have already tried to publicize Taleb this way.

    As may be... Taleb is working in the tradition of La Rochefoucauld, Martial, Leonidas, and the notebooks of Geoffrey Madan. He originally ran many of these epigrams on Twitter, and I think the epigram is probably the best use of Twitter. (Taleb's since retreated to the walled garden of Facebook, but he's like that.)

    Is the book therefore short? Yes. But it packs a fairly powerful punch to anyone willing to listen. Are these observations one could find sifting through other literature? Perhaps, but it would take a *lot* of sifting, and Taleb is justifiably proud of his time in his library. Why should one spurn a witness telling us these thoughts are still relevant today, and willing to share the fruits of his reading?

    "I wonder whether a bitter enemy would be jealous if he discovered that I hated someone else."

    "Usually, what we call a 'good listener' is someone with skillfully polished indifference."

    Newton spoke of his shiny pebbles and pretty shells. Taleb's pebbles have been through his rock tumbler for some time, and are all the more smooth for it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    Eh...

    It was okay. Had I realized what I was getting I would not have spent $10. I would still have probably purchased it for $2 though. Not exactly what I expected.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    For one of the great "thinkers of our time" it was pretty mundane

    Nothing new. Just a bunch of thoughts and personal opinions jumbled into subsections and marketed as something insightful. If the book hadn't been given to me, I would have been upset to pay this much for something that took me less than 30 minutes to read. If you're a technophobe, independently wealthy, or maybe a little bit slothful and in need of some good quotes - you may enjoy it more. The author's other books are much better, but even then, I wouldn't assign "great thinker" to this man. Nothing you can't get from basic Psychology books, Eastern Philosophy, and Sociology. So many quotes degrading people that work a 9-5. I'm glad the author can be so smug while he hocks crap on unsuspecting buyers.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Many thoughts -- each is a pearl -- not a light read.

    Nassim Taleb takes extremely brave move to write the book in a format of aphorisms. Some of them I did not understand no matter how much I tried, some of them I love, and some of them I had to think for hours before I got them.

    It is not a book I can grab and read in a couple of hours; it takes weeks and months. But many aphorisms I remembered forever.

    You have to be in a mood for the book; if you are the book is great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    satiated

    When an aphorist frontally demeans the reader he steps onto disintegrating ground. A Heisenberg-like event.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    Worth reading...

    The Bed of Procrustes is a book of aphorisms. I don't agree with them all, that's because I'm a different person, but most all of them give me material to ponder. I am enjoying reading the book. I have receommended it to friends. The title is what caught my attention, initially. The myth of Procrustes is one of my favorites. Makes a lot of sense to me that institutions are Procrustes' bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1