Customer Reviews for

Bedding Lord Ned

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bedding Lord Ned by Sally MacKenzie was fun and romantic with th

Bedding Lord Ned by Sally MacKenzie was fun and romantic with the right touch of heat thrown in. You will laugh your way through the story as a pair of red silk drawers does what the Duchess of Love could not quite accomplish. Ellie was unique in many ways with her cl...
Bedding Lord Ned by Sally MacKenzie was fun and romantic with the right touch of heat thrown in. You will laugh your way through the story as a pair of red silk drawers does what the Duchess of Love could not quite accomplish. Ellie was unique in many ways with her clothing that covered everything to her ability to give as good as she gets. Ned felt that Ellie was more of a friend or sister and he was struggling with his change in perspective. But those red silk drawers kept coming back to him.

Bedding Lord Ned by Sally MacKenzie is guaranteed to have you laughing and sighing as well as bringing out other emotions. One thing it will not do is disappoint. But Bedding Lord Ned and find how entertaining Sally MacKenzie can be. Above all, watch out for Sir Reginald!

posted by Debby236 on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

First let me start this review off by saying that it pains me to

First let me start this review off by saying that it pains me to rate any book as being poor, especially one by Sally MacKenzie! This is the 2nd book in the Duchess of Love series. The first book in the series (The Duchess of Love) was way better that this one even thou...
First let me start this review off by saying that it pains me to rate any book as being poor, especially one by Sally MacKenzie! This is the 2nd book in the Duchess of Love series. The first book in the series (The Duchess of Love) was way better that this one even though it was only 90 pages long. The little bit of romance in this book was between Venus and Drew the main characters from The Duchess of Love. Lord Ned is one of the son's of Venus and Drew. He seemed boring and indifferent at best. Eleanor "Nell" Bowman is a close family friend who has been in love with Ned for years. Every one knows, except Ned. Nell has decided to look for love with someone else because Ned will never notice her. Where was the bedding of Lord Ned??? It was honestly painful for me to read and I had to force myself to finish it. I will continue reading the series, but only because I am loyal to Sally MacKenzie.

posted by celesteworld on January 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    Bedding Lord Ned by Sally MacKenzie was fun and romantic with th

    Bedding Lord Ned by Sally MacKenzie was fun and romantic with the right touch of heat thrown in. You will laugh your way through the story as a pair of red silk drawers does what the Duchess of Love could not quite accomplish. Ellie was unique in many ways with her clothing that covered everything to her ability to give as good as she gets. Ned felt that Ellie was more of a friend or sister and he was struggling with his change in perspective. But those red silk drawers kept coming back to him.

    Bedding Lord Ned by Sally MacKenzie is guaranteed to have you laughing and sighing as well as bringing out other emotions. One thing it will not do is disappoint. But Bedding Lord Ned and find how entertaining Sally MacKenzie can be. Above all, watch out for Sir Reginald!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    First let me start this review off by saying that it pains me to

    First let me start this review off by saying that it pains me to rate any book as being poor, especially one by Sally MacKenzie! This is the 2nd book in the Duchess of Love series. The first book in the series (The Duchess of Love) was way better that this one even though it was only 90 pages long. The little bit of romance in this book was between Venus and Drew the main characters from The Duchess of Love. Lord Ned is one of the son's of Venus and Drew. He seemed boring and indifferent at best. Eleanor "Nell" Bowman is a close family friend who has been in love with Ned for years. Every one knows, except Ned. Nell has decided to look for love with someone else because Ned will never notice her. Where was the bedding of Lord Ned??? It was honestly painful for me to read and I had to force myself to finish it. I will continue reading the series, but only because I am loyal to Sally MacKenzie.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Sometimes the hardest thing to do is to move on. For years Elli

    Sometimes the hardest thing to do is to move on.

    For years Ellie has loved Ned. They grew up together, but he never saw her as more than a sister. She watched him fall in love with her good friend, Cicely, marry her then bury her. She was also there for him during his years of mourning. She is not getting any younger and she refuses to be the spinster aunt. During this year’s annual birthday party, she is going to move on. She is going to welcome the advances of single men and she is going to be open to the possibilities. Now she just needs to convince her heart.

    Four years ago, Ned lost his loving perfect wife and son, during childbirth. He has decided that he must move on and find a new wife and start filling his nursery. Nothing like taking advantage of the hand selected single women at the annual Valentine House Party. The men and women that the Duchess of Love invites are carefully selected for optimal matchmaking. There is nothing like the present to take advantage of his mother’s skills. It shouldn’t be too hard. He only wants a wife; he doesn’t ever want to find love again. This should be very simple.

    While a storm stirs outside Greycliffe Castle, the six men and six women are entertained by the Duke and the Duchess. Meals are shared, games are played and attachments are made. Things are shaping up, but not how the Duchess of Love ever expected. All she can do is set the stage. Now she has to sit back and allow the players to play the game.

    This is a very pleasant read. I do highly suggest that you read the prequel The Duchess of Love prior to beginning this novel. It is a very fun introduction to the woman behind the Duchess of Love. I will admit that I may have enjoyed her tale even more than Ned’s. Now approximately 30 years after the prequel, she is still up to her matchmaking shenanigans, but on a much larger scale. This story might be how Ellie and Ned finally come together, but the Duchess is always in the background actually having more fun than the main couple. I liked it!

    The duration of the story happens in the days leading up to the annual Valentine Ball. You spend many days and nights with the couples as they learn about each other and discover if there will be any love matches. Bedding Lord Ned is not action packed, smutty, or even overly comedic. It is a very pleasant enjoyable read that takes you on a journey of discovery.

    I was a bit disappointed at the abrupt ending of the book though. I enjoyed how Ellie finally found her courage, and Ned emerged from his slump, but it happened rather quickly and when it was done, well it was just done. I would have enjoyed a bit more of the aftermath. There was also no set up for the next book. That can actually be a good thing, because I’m not a fan of cliff hangers, but I have no clue who the next “victim” will be for the Duchess.

    I have been drawn in. I am anxious to find out more about the mystery behind Ash’s marriage. I can’t wait to meet the woman that will eventually tame the youngest of the Valentine men. I wonder if she will expand beyond her immediate family and find matches for some of the people we have met in this story. Oh I could go on and on, but suffice it to say…I’m hooked. Good or bad, love or hate – I want more Duchess of Love!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    It was ok. Parts were funny and cute but I could never understan

    It was ok. Parts were funny and cute but I could never understand why Ellie in love with Ned, the author didn't go into his character at all. In fact the Duchess and Duke of Love were more developed than the main characters Elli and Ned. I normally love Sally Mackenzie's stuff but this one was lacking chemistry between Ned and Ellie and any real plot. the book seemed to be more of a foundation for the other characters in the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very great story line. enjoyed it and would recommend!

    Very great story line. enjoyed it and would recommend!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Hum Drum........................................................

    Hum Drum.............................................................................
    No real original thought to it.    Ned seemed a little slow in the bedroom department.   She practically attacks him attacks him at the end.   And he still refuses  her unless she promises to marry him   That's not funny ---its pathetic.   I hope she doesn't expect an overabundant sex life.   It ain't happening..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    One of the reasons that I read historical romance is for, well,

    One of the reasons that I read historical romance is for, well, the romance. Even if you know, logically that things generally happen that way in real life. Lord Ned and Ellie's story was quite frankly, boring. I have, over the last 5+ years, read hundreds of Historical romance novels (Nook and paper back). I don't expect all of the books to be steamy or even full of romance, front cover to back. But the characters are very under-developed. The most glaringly under-developed being Lord Ned himself. The story does not in any way give you a sense of how a woman might come to fall for him (as a heroine always does in a story). Ellie, bless her heart, I just never understood how she came to be infatuated with Ned. I hated to rate this book 2 stars but this book, by far, is probably the most boring, sadly developed read that I've had the mis-fortune of wasting my money on. I'm even contemplating taking the follow up, Lord Jack's story off of my wish list. Save your money or try to find it in your local library if you really must read it. I suggest leaving it alone.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Good

    It was a good read, but I kind of got tired of Ned being so oblivious to Ellie's feeling for him. Then all of a sudden he's in love with her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Great story

    Enjoyed the romantic and comic romp very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Sierra

    Second result!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved Ellie : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Bedding Lord Ned the second book in the Duchess of Love series w

    Bedding Lord Ned the second book in the Duchess of Love series was entertaining and engaging. It left me looking forward to read more of the serries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    An Intriguing Read

    A must-read book. A thriller from beginning to end having your eyes pop out at all times. Read this biok an be amazed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent new series! Reviewed by: Jen Book provided by: ARC by

    Excellent new series!

    Reviewed by: Jen
    Book provided by: ARC by publisher
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book




    Review: As a longtime fan of Ms MacKenzie’s “Naked Nobility” series, when I saw she was starting a new series, I was curious what “hook” she was going to come up with. This new series is called “The Duchess of Love” and is centering around the matchmaking of the Duchess of Greycliffe (who has the very unfortunate name of Venus Valentine). In this first book, she’s working her magic on her second son, Edward “Ned” Valentine and their neighbor, the vicar’s daughter, Ellie.




    Now Ned has been grieving the loss of his wife in childbirth, but has come to the realization that it’s time for him to get married again, and perhaps have those heirs. So he comes to his mother’s house party knowing that she’s going to get setting him up with one of the guests. And on the other hand we have Ellie, who has loved Ned forever. They were childhood friends and she was his wife’s best friend. And she realizes that Ned will never love her and since she wants to have children, she’s decided to allow the duchess to find her a husband. But can she stop comparing her new suitors to Ned?




    I really enjoyed this story. I was drawn in from page one and couldn’t wait to see how the love story was going to unfold. The entire story takes place at this house party over the course of about a week. There were at times too many characters to try to keep up with. I mean there’s all of Ned’s family (2 brothers and his parents), Ned and Ellie each have couple suitors, then there’s the requisite bad guy, plus a few more characters for background and to fill out the party atmosphere.




    But the one character that really stood out to me was actually the cat, Reggie. He was a little mischievous creature who seemed to be trying to bring Ned and Ellie together. The cat’s antics, and the characters reactions to them, kept a smile on my face and anxiously awaiting to see what would happen next.




    What can I say? I laughed, I cried and I enjoyed every minute I spent with Bedding Lord Ned. Ms MacKenzie has written an entertaining tale where I cared about the characters and really was rooting for them to overcome all their obstacles to get to their happily ever after. I can’t wait for the next book in the series to come out so that I can see who The Duchess of Love will work her magic on next. But wait, there is an ebook prequel available, called quite appropriately The Duchess of Love, that tells the duchess’s own love story. Guess what’s up next on my to-read list?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Love

    Great read great characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Blake

    K i goin to bed to night tori

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    fun read

    This is a fun book to read. The characters are great. Check out the entire series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I enjoyed reading this book....I actually liked the first story (Ned's mom's story better) although it was shorter. I enjoy Sally MacKenzie and look forward to her books coming out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Very Enjoyable Book

    This is another very enjoyable book by Sally MacKenzie. She writes funny stories. This is the first in a series about the Duchess of Love. (She is Ned's mother.) The Duchess of Love has always enjoied being a matchmaker and know she has her sights on her sons. Ned's neighbor Eleanor has always loved Ned, but she's getting older and is ready to settle for someone else. (Neds looks at her like a little sister.) There is more than one love story going on in this book. I really liked the Duchess of Love. (Her love story is in the back of the printed boook. Its a separate buy for the Nook.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    What ever happened to Archie?

    In the first book The Duchess of Love she had a dog named Archie... what ever happened to poor old Archie and where did the cat come from...? Over all though good book....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4