Customer Reviews for

The Bedford Boys: One American Town's Ultimate D-day Sacrifice

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Mr. Kershaw has quickly become one of my favorite writers after reading 'The Bedford Boys.' I am from the Lynchburg, VA area and picked this title up at the National D-Day Memorial in Bedford. After reading it, I was moved at how Kershaw was able to bring to life the ...
Mr. Kershaw has quickly become one of my favorite writers after reading 'The Bedford Boys.' I am from the Lynchburg, VA area and picked this title up at the National D-Day Memorial in Bedford. After reading it, I was moved at how Kershaw was able to bring to life the soldiers who gave the ultimate sacrifice for the defense of this nation and those of the Allied forces. I found myself feeling as though the people I was reading about were my own family and feeling the heartache that the families felt as their loved ones did not return. This is as good a book on WWII and the D-Day invasion as I have read. This is a must read for anyone who is fascinated with WWII or a history buff.

posted by Anonymous on April 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

feel good story, but lacking

This is a wonderful book for the average American who wants to know what occurred on D-Day. I definately make it required reading for high school student. It will truly give one an appreciation of how young these men were who fought, why they fought, and the sacrifice...
This is a wonderful book for the average American who wants to know what occurred on D-Day. I definately make it required reading for high school student. It will truly give one an appreciation of how young these men were who fought, why they fought, and the sacrifices made by them and their families. That said, this is not a book for those who are seeking a history source. The book hasfew reliable primary sources to have true validity. The book was written by an English reporter, not someone with an extensive research background used in history writings. The author mentions every boy from Bedford who fought as a seemingly tribute, but the book could have been much more effective if the author had chosen 3-5 boys and told their stories in depth. I also think the reference, in the newer verison, to the events of 9/11 is tacky. It appears to merely been thrown in as an addition to have another publishing of the book. Overall this is a type of book that one would pick up at a WW2 Monument gift shop.

posted by Anonymous on June 8, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    Mr. Kershaw has quickly become one of my favorite writers after reading 'The Bedford Boys.' I am from the Lynchburg, VA area and picked this title up at the National D-Day Memorial in Bedford. After reading it, I was moved at how Kershaw was able to bring to life the soldiers who gave the ultimate sacrifice for the defense of this nation and those of the Allied forces. I found myself feeling as though the people I was reading about were my own family and feeling the heartache that the families felt as their loved ones did not return. This is as good a book on WWII and the D-Day invasion as I have read. This is a must read for anyone who is fascinated with WWII or a history buff.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2004

    Inspiring!

    Twenty-two young men, all from a small town in Virginia, made the ultimate sacrifice. Nineteen died during the first wave on Omaha Beach; later, three more died in the campaign that followed. This is their story - theirs and the other young men from Bedford. It is also the story of the people they left behind and the country they were fighting for. This book is sad but inspiring and informative. You will follow these youngsters from a small- town childhood through the tragedy of Operation Tiger to the fierce brutality of Normandy, June 6, 1944. You will find out more than you ever really wanted to know about why you chose the top of six bunks on the Queen Mary (converted to a troop ship) instead of the more convenient lower ones. You will learn, perhaps with some comfort considering today's news, that the country was not totally united during WWII, in spite of what we are now believe. John L. Lewis conducted his strikes, and there were race riots in Los Angeles and Detroit. This book inspired Saving Private Ryan . . . as it will inspire you.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    Masterpiece. Best WWII book I have ever read, it paints a true

    Masterpiece. Best WWII book I have ever read, it paints a true portrait of what the time period must have been like during WWII Europe, it focues on a town's regiment of enlisted army military who are training and/or ultimately are the first soldiers in the Battle of D-Day, June 6, 1944 Normandy Europe! It was very intense, it was a real page turner, I learned a lot, was very well entertained, this book was simply peerless. Simply put: A MASTERPIECE!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    feel good story, but lacking

    This is a wonderful book for the average American who wants to know what occurred on D-Day. I definately make it required reading for high school student. It will truly give one an appreciation of how young these men were who fought, why they fought, and the sacrifices made by them and their families. That said, this is not a book for those who are seeking a history source. The book hasfew reliable primary sources to have true validity. The book was written by an English reporter, not someone with an extensive research background used in history writings. The author mentions every boy from Bedford who fought as a seemingly tribute, but the book could have been much more effective if the author had chosen 3-5 boys and told their stories in depth. I also think the reference, in the newer verison, to the events of 9/11 is tacky. It appears to merely been thrown in as an addition to have another publishing of the book. Overall this is a type of book that one would pick up at a WW2 Monument gift shop.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    God bless Alex Kershaw for writing this masterpiece of a book!

    God bless Alex Kershaw for writing this masterpiece of a book! It was pure heaven to read. Very inspirational, portrayed the realities of WW2, warfare. Bedford, VA soliders training for Normandy, France invasion in England, then ultimate invasion on DDAY! It was as if I was actually there, alongside these American heros, this book was absolutely incredible. Very well written, recommended for sure.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    This book is worth it's weight in diamonds, silver, gold. Alex

    This book is worth it's weight in diamonds, silver, gold. Alex Kershaw created a masterpiece of a book, based on the story of Bedford, Virginia enlisted army soldiers- training, battlling of D Day, June 6, 1994 in Normandy, France. The Bedford Boys were the first army soliders off the Higgens boats, to spearhead the greatest invasion force in world history (allied invasion of Nazi occupied France in Normandy). Very good book, incredible, recommend it to everyone I know!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Best Alex Kershaw book written, it is the most gripping world wa

    Best Alex Kershaw book written, it is the most gripping world war two story ever told. Brings the experiences of WW2 Bedford Boys, prepping and then fighting on DDay WW2, gripping, moving nonfiction book. Excellent!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Got me started on the many others I read

    Over the years, have visited many museums in England and became interested in what WWII was like for US military. This book gave me insight, resulting in wanting to read more and more.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    Another toast for the 'Greatest Generation'

    Another account and more evidence that points to the fact that the 'Greatest Generation is appropriately named. The sacrafices made and price paid for World War II were made not only by soldiers, but by those who stayed home.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2006

    Remembering the Price of Freedom

    Moving, Awakening, Touching, and Unforgettable. Today's news medic blinds the price of freedom from our generation of young people. This books shows how ordinary brothers left their homes to face the ' world evils of Hitlers'. 'They wanted to see mom and dad again, and hold their sweethearts or wives...' Yet they, twenty- two Bedford, Virginia Boys paid the ultimate price for us on Omaha Beach, D-Day, June 6, 1944. A must read to understand the battle, the homefront and the cost to have a free world.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2003

    Take this to our history classes!

    Military conflicts have been typically taught within a geo-economic-political-social framework. Very little attention has been traditionally given to human and personal tragedies, torn relationships, and social and community disruption within the circles of those who actually fought and died. One reason for this omission is a scarcity of appropriate resources. It's not easy to find really good, readable material that depicts the effects of war on real folks. Kershaw's riveting treatment of the enormity of Bedford's loss shown through the eyes of those individuals who lived it should be required reading for history classes everywhere. This is what war is really about.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2003

    brilliant - the longest day brought to life

    War books never mention the price paid by the folks back home. For the first time, here is a book which shows how heroes and great Americans died to free others - the ultimate sacrifice - and how their deaths impacted families and a community. Original, written with great feeling and a tenderness for the community, and impossible to put down once the men land on Omaha - a fast and devastating read that all Americans should read to remind us of the price of war and freedom.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    World champion of nonfiction books. Maybe, the best book ever w

    World champion of nonfiction books. Maybe, the best book ever written on the topic of war. Alex Kershaw, is very gifted in his research, presentation of facts surrounding WWII battle of DDay. Very good book, first-rate, insightful. Best book I have read in last ten years.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    The real mccoy in writing about WWII, best story I have read abo

    The real mccoy in writing about WWII, best story I have read about warfare! Very good book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Alex Kershaw's The Bedford Boys is the best WWII book ever writt

    Alex Kershaw's The Bedford Boys is the best WWII book ever written, far superior to anything written by Stephen Ambrose. I read this book, then when out and bought all of his other books' and read all them. Honest account of war is really like, brutally honest, paints a horrifying yet insightful picture of warfare, great book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    Alex Kershaw is the best history writer on planet Earth. This b

    Alex Kershaw is the best history writer on planet Earth. This book is the most revealing book I have ever read in regard to the topic of warfare. Bedford, Virginia soldiers' tale training for D-Day, June 6, 1944 Normandy France, they were the first unit off the Higgins boats to face the Nazis. Excellent, loved this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    Incredible book, a must read for anyone interested in WW2. Grip

    Incredible book, a must read for anyone interested in WW2. Gripping, amazing writing. Recommend this book highly.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    This is the best history book I have ever read, should be requir

    This is the best history book I have ever read, should be required reading for anyone. It is very well written, amazing story of WWII Bedford Boys of Bedford, VA USA. Great!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    THRILLER of a book! Best WW2 book I have ever read, this author

    THRILLER of a book! Best WW2 book I have ever read, this author is something out of the Hemingway cloth! Very well written, highly recommended to anyone! VERY WELL DONE! THRILLER!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2004

    Their Sacrifice for our Future

    As an educator with summers off, I always set a goal of reading at least three books before I return to the classroom. The Bedford Boys was an outstanding text. I thought it was interesting the way the author wrote about the events that took place on 6/6/44 on both the beaches of France as well as back in Bedford, VA. It showed how wars may be fought by the soldiers in the trenches, but the agony of fear and worry is a battle in itself. I'd recommend this book to anyone interested in keeping the spirit of American valor alive.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3