BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bedroom Tapes

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Uh, I don't get it!

    I've bought every Carly Simon album ever produced, saw her in concert twice, followed her career since the 1970s. I kept this CD for only two weeks before I traded it in. Sorry, but musically, this CD in no way measures up to past efforts, even recent ones like ''Letters Never Sent.'' These are more like musical ramblings than songs. Please, Carly, give us some tunes that stick in our heads hours after we've played 'em!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shivers...........

    Listening to the bedroom tapes really gave me the shivers. Songs like Scar and So many stars are among the best music and lyrics Carly has ever written. Being a fan now for more than 15 years, it is stunning, that Carly surprises you over and over again with her talent. Her talent for writing songs and lyrics is a sole standard.Let't cherish this talent, and hope for Carly that she can find the energy to keep on surprising us. Roger- The Netherlands

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Carly Shines

    What a brilliant masterpiece Carly Shines so brightly in all of these songs, her heart and soul exposed for all of us to relate to. Her words unfold a tapestry that is food for the soul. Buy it today !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    IMPRESSED

    I'm impressed by an artist surviving in showbusiness for decades, I'm impressed by an artist being able to persuade the listener with his/her honesty, I'm impressed by an artist creating a very personal style, I'm impressed by a songwriter being able to write a song that can really cheer you up (and is not only something nice to listen to), and most of all I'm ipressed by a personality, who has survived cancer!!! Carly is at her best and I really hope to see her sometime here in Europe....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Follow Carly's life and our own in her music

    I heard Carly had a new CD out and headed to the Mall in hopes to find a copy. Not only did I get the last copy of 'Bedroom Tapes' but also 'Boys in the Trees'. That was my very first Carly album that I won on a radio station and was hooked at fourteen! I am now 38 and have all of her records/cds. Last night I sat down and first listened to her new cd, followed by a walk down memory lane with the first in my collection and I find the two connected which I found connected me to my past as well. In my opinion, 'I forget' is the best followed by 'I'm Really The Kind' in close second. Talk about getting to the point in a lyrical, musical sense! I feel Carly is a bit more spiritually aware than the public is aware of because I catch certain lines in her songs that point to the bigger picture of life that she draws inspiration from. She and her music have been a huge inspiration throughout my life and with this newest cd being released in the year 2000, it will have a bigger impact on the public than even she is aware of. Or...maybe she is...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bolder Than Ever

    A bold, honest, adult piece of work that not only is quite listenable and enjoyable, but thoughtful and reflective, and it deserves to be heard. I think the best way to get it heard would be by making 'Our Affair' the single (that way people would rush out and get the album after hearing that song...and that way they would get to hear the rest of it!). Carly never ceases to amaze, and she is, once AGAIN, at the top of her craft. Nobody has such a way with a lyric and a melody (like Carly). Of the women in pop music over the last 30 years (that includes Joni Mitchell, who is #2)she is the best, the most honest, most real artist...and she speaks in her own 'voice' (metaphorically speaking), meaning: there is little or no contrivance. 'Our Affair' (a hit waiting to happen...I can just picture Carly in a video...just groovin' and lookin' cool), 'Scar' and 'Whatever Become of Her?' (both very thoughtful, emotional works), 'We Your Dearest Friends' (the 'bete noir from hell' line is so funny) and 'Actress' (an EXCELLENT song).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful album...

    'Scar' is one of the best songs she's ever written. This is a mature, thoughtful, witty album. Her voice sounds better than ever, too. I've given this record to lots of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Carly Simon Shines Like 'So Many Stars'

    Carly Simon has done it again, delivering another strong performance in The Bedroom Tapes. The opening song, 'Our Affair,' is the hook that reels you in for nearly an hour of pure vocals and strong music...much of it performed by Carly from her home studio. The funky and low, 'Big Dumb Guy,' which she performed last week on the Letterman show, drives the album along to its best song, 'Scar,' which is classic and true to the artist's legendary painful, yet hopeful, view into her personal experiences. While Carly Simon's voice is perfectly suited for her ventures into the past, as in her previous album, 'Film Noir,' and the groundbreaking 'Torch,' she proves that her original lyrics and music are still fresh in this latest effort. Simon gives recognition to the influences of standards on 'In Honor of You (George),' a tribute to George & Ira Gershwin that includes lyrics from 'Embraceable You,' among others. The single, 'So Many Stars,' seems an appropriate phrase for the many songs Carly Simon has written. They all shine among the constellation of a great musician.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    are you lost in the stars?

    carly is the best at relating our hopes dreams and fears this cd fufills all of them .she is so talented. i love her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    She Comes Around Again, and Again, and Again

    Carly's new CD just blows me away. I had to listen to 'Our Affair' about 100 times before I could move on to 'So Many Stars.' I'm stuck on that one now. I've been a fan for years (and years) and I'm always pleasantly surprised when she releases new material. She just gets more profound, and more beautiful all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Carly's back and better than ever

    This CD will rank right up there with 'No Secrets' and 'Coming Around Again' as one of her best. She again demonstrates her ability to weave a tune and sing the most interesting melodies and lyrics. Thanks Carly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Carly is at the top of her game.

    Sometimes, truly wonderful things come of pain. And great art almost necessarily does. So, it is perhaps no great surprise that Carly Simon follows an interlude with illness with one of her best collection of songs ever. While Carly has always had a way with cobbling together a terse, wry or poignant phrase and letting it glide over a beautiful melody, she has never before so finely crafted a collection of heartfelt vignettes. Whether full of melancholy or mischief, Carly hits her stride with ¿The Bedroom Tapes¿ and proves that she is one of the best popular songwriters ever. Carly shows that she can match Joni Mitchell when it comes to finding the perfect word to simply express a complex idea, but she also proves that she has a knack for an uncanny melodic hook that so often eludes Miss Mitchell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1