BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee

Average Rating 3.5
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Finally, a book about a Jewish girl who's WAY hotter than Anne Frank.

It has been a long time since I dipped quill in ink to pen a thoughful review, and it'll be a lot longer than now too. That's because I don't think this book was great...wait for it...I KNOW it was great!

Many people know of Ms. Silverman's smokin' hot body of work,...
It has been a long time since I dipped quill in ink to pen a thoughful review, and it'll be a lot longer than now too. That's because I don't think this book was great...wait for it...I KNOW it was great!

Many people know of Ms. Silverman's smokin' hot body of work, her unceasing efforts to advance the study of Doodyology at Cambridge, or her championing of the case to spread awareness of Matt Damon f***ing. These are all admirable in their own right, but now she has completely raised the bar by writing a book FOR FREE, and GIVING IT AWAY. All proceeds go to charity.

Oh, wait. $25.99? She's keeping the money? Well it doesn't matter; i'm gay for Sarah Silverman and I'm a dude. Reading this is like being along for the ride of her life so far. The writing is so vivid, you actually FEEL like you're waking up with her in a pee-soaked bed.

All the other words I would use to describe "The Bedwetter" keep getting censored by Barnes & Noble, so that's all you get folks! I can't wait to buy this book, read it and then leave it in a park for a homeless guy to spank to.

posted by Baron_Von_Literature on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

lost for words

I think it is a book for Silverman fans only. I am not familiar with the author and her comedy, I thought she was writing about the humiliation a bedwetter lives with.

For me, it was an eyeopener when it comes to comedy these days and why most television shows are no...
I think it is a book for Silverman fans only. I am not familiar with the author and her comedy, I thought she was writing about the humiliation a bedwetter lives with.

For me, it was an eyeopener when it comes to comedy these days and why most television shows are nothing but trash. Comedy writers, today, are so immature that potty talk and vulgar situations put them in stitches.

I was sorry I wasted money on this book. I find miss Silverman to be the ultimate in vulgarity and not one bit funny. I do see from reviews that she does have fans who appreciate that kind of humor.

I usually donate my books and audio books to the library but this one will go right where it belongs, in the trash.

posted by 1762213 on June 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    lost for words

    I think it is a book for Silverman fans only. I am not familiar with the author and her comedy, I thought she was writing about the humiliation a bedwetter lives with.

    For me, it was an eyeopener when it comes to comedy these days and why most television shows are nothing but trash. Comedy writers, today, are so immature that potty talk and vulgar situations put them in stitches.

    I was sorry I wasted money on this book. I find miss Silverman to be the ultimate in vulgarity and not one bit funny. I do see from reviews that she does have fans who appreciate that kind of humor.

    I usually donate my books and audio books to the library but this one will go right where it belongs, in the trash.

    13 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    NOT FUNNY

    Found it boring and just NOT funny. It falls under "I guess you had to be there (to find it funny)." It also reads like she had 2 days to meet the book's deadline and threw out random thoughts. Don't waste your time. I'm sorry I wasted mine.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Clever and Insightful

    As a fan of Sarah Silverman's comedy, I was looking forward to reading her memoir, "The Bedwetter : Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee". The book did not disappoint. It is one of the rare memoirs that manage to be both concise and insightful. Silverman bravely devotes much of the book to her childhood battles with depression and enuresis. She also discusses her days as a struggling comic and her views on topics like fashion and religion. Her account of writing for Saturday Night Live in the'90's is especially interesting. Regardless of the subject matter, each chapter is peppered with the clever humor Silverman fans have come to expect. The only complaint I have is that Silverman completely ignores the existence of one of her sisters when talking about her childhood, only to introduce her later in the photographic section of the book and never mention her again. Other than that, I highly recommend "The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee" to anyone who is not easily offended.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Boring

    I thought this book was boring and not funny. Took a long time to finish. It didn't make me want to finish it.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Often hilarious, often touching

    I read this book on the merit of a few good reviews I had read. I'll be honest and say that while I've found myself laughing at Sarah Silverman's comedy and TV show before, I'm not entirely won over by it, but I've always been under the impression that the person behind it is intelligent and likable. This book truly supports that. It's just a good read by a woman that I feel I can relate to. Despite the farts and pee jokes, there's a lot of introspection about her relationships with her friends, family and colleagues that is really just a joy to read.

    This is not to say I don't find farts and pee jokes humorous, but reading how they're anchored in her psyche makes her comedy all the more enjoyable. She comes across as a sensitive person who cares about the feelings of others (an issue addressed in the book are the debacles concerning Paris Hilton, Britney Spears and Guy Aoki, the president of MANAA). I think it's true that it's overly-didactic for a comedian to explain their jokes, but I think reading these passages was important. They made interesting stories and reading about her reactions to the bad press really made me feel for her.

    I'm really enjoying this book and I hope that even if you don't totally love her comedy, you'll at least give it a try.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Sad that trees had to die for this drivel to be printed

    This book affirmed my suspicion that Sarah Silverman is Sarah Silverman's biggest fan. I was hoping there might be something in it that would convince me that her talent is writing (she did start out as a comedy writer, and it's painfully obvious that her "acting" is simply her repetitively bringing her obnoxious traits to every role), but it didn't pan out. I'm very glad that I borrowed this book, rather than purchasing it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Funny stuff

    I love Sarah Silverman's bold comedic style. She's original, and daringly hilarious. This book was such a fun, and rather insightful read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Impressive

    Never had anything against Sarah, but never followed her religiously either. Bedwetter was endlessly entertaining but wasnt forced at all. It was silly but not to the extent that you lose interest with what she's saying. I've also learmed that she and i are the same person... not like siamese twins or anything though so dont get excited. I dont know it's late, i lovvvved this book, i now have a hetero crush on sarah, and im going to bed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Do you like funny things?

    Enjoyed the stream-of-consciousness writing sans chapters! Well done, Sarah! I hope this isn't her last attempt at the comedy memoir writing genre, as she has a heart-warming and simultaneously hilarious childhood to draw from. Not for people who dislike funny stuff or topical humor about pee, poo(p), and the author's vagina.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    You'll be laughing the entire ride!

    Truly a work of comic brilliance, this book will have you in stitches. This 200+ page story of Silverman's pee filled life, and sheets, will having you laughing louder than you thought possible so be careful where you read it. If you're looking for laughs, tears, and the occasional bowel movement, this book will be a perfect buy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Fans only

    Fans only

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Boring

    Just trying to read the "forward" bored me to desth, and bathroom jokes, really? Guess this is for her super fans only, im not impressed. I was hoping to read something light & funny, not a self-praise book. If you enjoy reading how great she thinks she is, go ahead. I'll pass.






    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Do u have a good pee story?

    Post it at "trick or pee". ONE CONDITION: no sex. Just good old fashioned peeing outside please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Lol

    Funny book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Funny!

    I wanted a light read for my vacation and this book was perfect. Sarah Silverman is no holds barred hilarious and I love that she's not afraid to push the envelope. Some parts were laugh out loud funny, particularly when she's talking about her awkward childhood embarrassments, which most of us can totally relate to. What I really love is that she's okay being the butt of the joke, and at the same time is non-apologetic about telling it like it is. I thoroughly enjoyed this read, and would definitely read another book by her if she were so inclined to write one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    .




































































































































































































































    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    How old do u have 2 b 2 read this?

    Write 2 2002

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Fantastic

    Never stopped laughing or gasping in surprise. Loved every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Entertaining

    I love Sarah already. This book made me love her more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Recommend

    It was funny and a quick easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10