Customer Reviews for

Bee Season

Average Rating 3.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

good, but confusing.

The diction in this book is advanced, but i enjoyed learning so many new words. The author has great skill in handling words and creating analogies and metaphors that remain lodged in one's mind long after one has put the book down. The ending was confusing for me... i'...
The diction in this book is advanced, but i enjoyed learning so many new words. The author has great skill in handling words and creating analogies and metaphors that remain lodged in one's mind long after one has put the book down. The ending was confusing for me... i'm not sure if i understand it, which bugs me very much because i enjoyed reading everything that led up to the ending so much. This book portrays the desperate need an adolescent has for meaning in life, for something to hold onto when one's parents aren't around to be that something solid to cling to. overall, i enjoyed reading it because i like the Author's way with words, and there were some interesting themes. However, im definately confused by the ending.

posted by Anonymous on September 7, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Literary Vomit - I know, I'm being harsh, but...

this book could not have been a bigger disappointment. I regret not reading the reader reviews prior to purchasing the book- I would have saved myself time and money. As the other reviewers have noted, the writer has an incredible ability with words, however, the stor...
this book could not have been a bigger disappointment. I regret not reading the reader reviews prior to purchasing the book- I would have saved myself time and money. As the other reviewers have noted, the writer has an incredible ability with words, however, the story was unrealistic and painful to read (in that it was difficult to fully get into the story). Moreover, it seemed that there was little 'story' and more description. For example, it would take a page to describe one simple object (of course, I exaggerate, but you get the idea). I, literally, had to force myself to finish the book. If you are consisdering purchasing this book, please reconsider. There are more enjoyable books on the market!

posted by Anonymous on November 1, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    The first sentence was all it took for me to fall in love with Myla Goldberg's debut novel. Her writing is so delicately made that it is an art form in itself. It is gorgeous, as is the story it tells, one of hope, and loss, and the love of a family that has quite frankly fallen apart and trying to stitch it all back together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    good, but confusing.

    The diction in this book is advanced, but i enjoyed learning so many new words. The author has great skill in handling words and creating analogies and metaphors that remain lodged in one's mind long after one has put the book down. The ending was confusing for me... i'm not sure if i understand it, which bugs me very much because i enjoyed reading everything that led up to the ending so much. This book portrays the desperate need an adolescent has for meaning in life, for something to hold onto when one's parents aren't around to be that something solid to cling to. overall, i enjoyed reading it because i like the Author's way with words, and there were some interesting themes. However, im definately confused by the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    Literary Vomit - I know, I'm being harsh, but...

    this book could not have been a bigger disappointment. I regret not reading the reader reviews prior to purchasing the book- I would have saved myself time and money. As the other reviewers have noted, the writer has an incredible ability with words, however, the story was unrealistic and painful to read (in that it was difficult to fully get into the story). Moreover, it seemed that there was little 'story' and more description. For example, it would take a page to describe one simple object (of course, I exaggerate, but you get the idea). I, literally, had to force myself to finish the book. If you are consisdering purchasing this book, please reconsider. There are more enjoyable books on the market!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Amazing book

    There are many books that delighted me, saddened me, angered me, or frightened me.
    But this is the first book that rattled me; that moved me so profoundly. I still don't fully understand my own reaction, but it's very real. Immediately after reading a borrowed copy of Bee Season, I bought four more copies to share with friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Please answer my question

    Are spelling bees for nerds that have no lofe and are forever alone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Oprah person

    What are you saying you sound like oprah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    Depressing

    The author's observations are at times clever and humorous, but for me, the story was tragically dark. The characters were so deeply troubled and flawed that I couldn't relate to them or their depressing circumstances. If this book were a color it would be dark gray. If you are looking for something that is up beat, entertaining or has redeeming features, this is not it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    No, I shall not do a spelling joke as a title

    This book was an odd little novel, one I was not expecting.

    This is about Eliza Naumann, a normal girl who family has resigned themselves to her ordinariness. This all changes when Eliza surprisingly wins her school spelling bee, opening doors to herself that she never even knew existed. Eliza's family is strongly impacted by this sudden change. Her father, Saul, is a Jewish scholar, and is determined that his daughter use her abilities to the best advantage possible, resorting to the old leather tomes in his study for guidance. Her brother, Aaron, is thrown off by this sudden change of his father's affection, exploring any way to be closer to God. Her mother, Miriam, is not what she appears, and this sudden change in the family dynamic brings her secrets to light. All this happens because of one girl's ability to spell.

    This book has a whole lot shoved in it. Jewish mysticism, Hare Krishnas, kleptomania, obsessive compulsion, complicated families, and spelling bees. It really is like nothing I've ever read before. It was more complex than I was expecting, and I read it slowly in order to soak it all in. The characters and all their actions wer well-developed and intricate. I just really enjoyed the journey it took me on. And, as an added bounes, my vocabulary has been hereby expanded.

    I can see how it's not for everyone, and I don't exactly recommend it. This is a book people have to stumble on for themselves.

    My only complaint was the ending, which I felt was a little unclear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    I did not like this book!

    While I found Bee Season engrossing and interesting I found it disturbing with an unsatisfactory ending. It is not enjoyable to read about a dysfunctional and disturbed family. I may have liked it better if there was some more positive resolution at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Astounding

    Miriam, Saul, Aaron and Eliza are like vastly different puzzle pieces from four separate puzzles, accidentally shoveled into one box and expected to fit together sensibly. Myla Goldberg's language and incredible skill at telling the story of this incongruous family is breathtakingly fitting. Her strange, unworldly creative metaphors give the story a feeling of such reality that I could hardly put the book down or stop myself from wanting to reach out to each character to give comfort. Sad, confusing, amusing, and thrilling all at once, Bee Season is like dipping your hand into a lukewarm pool of fantasy and reality at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    Amazing

    A moving, intellectual, heart breaking book that will leave you truly changed. I was shocked when I saw so many negative reviews, I felt compelled to write one for myself. Bee Season was one of the best books I've ever read. I felt connected to each character and found the book hard to put down. Myla Goldberg's poetic writing style makes Bee Season all the more powerful and I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    This has Oprah written all over it

    And what I mean by that is...if you like a sad, twisted, depressing book about a sad, twisted, depressing family, then look no further, because this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    not as good as the hype

    i thought this book was good, but after all the hype, i honestly expected it to be much better. it didn't totally draw me in, and some of it was kinda weird. the most interesting part was the mom and her condition, which i wish would've been a bigger part of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2006

    dissappointment

    Whatever literary accomplishments Goldberg achieved were erased by her use of pornography and attempt to cram too much into one book. I was misled by other reviews to purchase the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    Disappointed and confused by the ending

    I didn't begin to like Eliza until I was over halfway through the book. The first part is really boring and the ending is a letdown. I didn't actually like the book much until I was 60-50 pages away from finishing it. The things that happened to Miriam were surprising. I don't think I would enjoy the movie because overall I didn't like the book that much. I really enjoyed the spelling bee part of it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2005

    I completely disagree w/these reviews...

    Bee Season was amazingly written, and I don't feel Goldberg was trying to stuff words down our throats. Goldberg is talented with prose, and she weaves beautiful images, unlike many books today which sound like a teenager could have written them (The Historian, for example). Second, the story line may not be believable, but it could happen. So many people live unordinary lives--you would be surprised! Plus, since when is a fictional novel supposed to be believable. To the person who recommended The Historian, I would have to ask--is that AT ALL believable? I highly recommend this book, and urge everyone to ignore any of these reviews. Bee Season is lovely, well written, and not at all childish, and the story is heartbreaking (but good).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2005

    Interesting but so sad...

    I did hear about this book from many people and because of the hype I was expecting great things. I was expecting a strong voice and beautiful writing, which I found. I wasn't expecting to put the story down feeling sad and dissapointed in this particular family. It was a lovely and creative story, but much sadder than I ever expected. It wasn't sad in a cry your eyes out way, it was sad in a sense of desperation. I will try and read her other books because she has an obvious talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    Bee Season

    What a let-down. Considering all of the hype about this book, I was really looking forward to reading it. Unfortunately I had to force myself to finish it. Myla Goldberg's obvious talent with words was sadly overshadowed by a completely depressing story with unbelievable subject matter. The story could have been enjoyable if the forays into mysticism hadn't been so totally over-the-top, and the entire family so grossly pathetic. The description of Eliza's mystical re-birth at the end sounded a lot like an epileptic seizure - which would have actually made for a more interesting story. The final outcome of the story was completely predictable. I don't recommend this book at all. I honestly cannot believe it is being made into a movie. Skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    Bee Season

    Rarely do I feel so strongly about a book that I feel the need to voice an opinion on-line. Bee Season was the biggest disappointment of my summer reading. I just don't understand all the praise and hype. Though Myla Goldberg has an obvious talent with words, Bee Season is just plain difficult to get through. The writing is frenetic and I felt like words were literally being stuffed down my throat in each paragraph. Not at all enjoyable. The family is pathetic, the story is not in the least bit believable, and Ms. Goldberg tries too hard to fit too much into this book. Was there an editor here? I truly had to force myself to get through this book, hoping to find something redeeming. Unfortunately it just never happened. Skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    Interesting Story line but . . .

    It took me a while to finally get into the book, and then when I started to enjoy it, it twisted too weird for me. I hate it when a book ends that way, It leaves me feeling satiated to find out what happened to the family. I found parts quite enjoyabe however this isn't the greatest book out there. I was very dissappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4