Customer Reviews for

Bee Season

Average Rating 3.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The first sentence was all it took for me to fall in love with Myla Goldberg's debut novel. Her writing is so delicately made that it is an art form in itself. It is gorgeous, as is the story it tells, one of hope, and loss, and the love of a family that has quite frank...
The first sentence was all it took for me to fall in love with Myla Goldberg's debut novel. Her writing is so delicately made that it is an art form in itself. It is gorgeous, as is the story it tells, one of hope, and loss, and the love of a family that has quite frankly fallen apart and trying to stitch it all back together.

posted by Anonymous on April 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Literary Vomit - I know, I'm being harsh, but...

this book could not have been a bigger disappointment. I regret not reading the reader reviews prior to purchasing the book- I would have saved myself time and money. As the other reviewers have noted, the writer has an incredible ability with words, however, the stor...
this book could not have been a bigger disappointment. I regret not reading the reader reviews prior to purchasing the book- I would have saved myself time and money. As the other reviewers have noted, the writer has an incredible ability with words, however, the story was unrealistic and painful to read (in that it was difficult to fully get into the story). Moreover, it seemed that there was little 'story' and more description. For example, it would take a page to describe one simple object (of course, I exaggerate, but you get the idea). I, literally, had to force myself to finish the book. If you are consisdering purchasing this book, please reconsider. There are more enjoyable books on the market!

posted by Anonymous on November 1, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    The first sentence was all it took for me to fall in love with Myla Goldberg's debut novel. Her writing is so delicately made that it is an art form in itself. It is gorgeous, as is the story it tells, one of hope, and loss, and the love of a family that has quite frankly fallen apart and trying to stitch it all back together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Amazing book

    There are many books that delighted me, saddened me, angered me, or frightened me.
    But this is the first book that rattled me; that moved me so profoundly. I still don't fully understand my own reaction, but it's very real. Immediately after reading a borrowed copy of Bee Season, I bought four more copies to share with friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Please answer my question

    Are spelling bees for nerds that have no lofe and are forever alone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Astounding

    Miriam, Saul, Aaron and Eliza are like vastly different puzzle pieces from four separate puzzles, accidentally shoveled into one box and expected to fit together sensibly. Myla Goldberg's language and incredible skill at telling the story of this incongruous family is breathtakingly fitting. Her strange, unworldly creative metaphors give the story a feeling of such reality that I could hardly put the book down or stop myself from wanting to reach out to each character to give comfort. Sad, confusing, amusing, and thrilling all at once, Bee Season is like dipping your hand into a lukewarm pool of fantasy and reality at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    Amazing

    A moving, intellectual, heart breaking book that will leave you truly changed. I was shocked when I saw so many negative reviews, I felt compelled to write one for myself. Bee Season was one of the best books I've ever read. I felt connected to each character and found the book hard to put down. Myla Goldberg's poetic writing style makes Bee Season all the more powerful and I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2005

    I completely disagree w/these reviews...

    Bee Season was amazingly written, and I don't feel Goldberg was trying to stuff words down our throats. Goldberg is talented with prose, and she weaves beautiful images, unlike many books today which sound like a teenager could have written them (The Historian, for example). Second, the story line may not be believable, but it could happen. So many people live unordinary lives--you would be surprised! Plus, since when is a fictional novel supposed to be believable. To the person who recommended The Historian, I would have to ask--is that AT ALL believable? I highly recommend this book, and urge everyone to ignore any of these reviews. Bee Season is lovely, well written, and not at all childish, and the story is heartbreaking (but good).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Bee-utiful book

    I loved this book. It had an unexpected twist in the end that made the book exciting and suspensful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2002

    Life Changing

    Myla Goldberg has created a masterpiece that changed my life! The book has something for everyone, and makes one will re-evaluate life. This novel puts everything in perspective, and makes the reader consider many difficult questions. This coming of age story will become a classic in future years, and should be read by all of today's youth, and parents alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    A real buzz

    In this book, all four members of an incredibly dysfunctional Jewish family seek mystical enlightenment in ways that are very different, but also remarkably similar. The father, daughter and son are believable, sympathetic characters involved in unbelievable pursuits. The father's selfishness and exploitation of his daughter is partially offset by his attempts to be a decent father, by the poverty of his marriage, and by his own family background. The portrayal of the teenage son who rebels against the authoritarian father is extreme but warranted. The most interesting character is the young girl, who leaps from almost total anonymity in her family and in her school, to cherished child who displaces her brother in her father's affections. Her perspective in this novel is refreshing and feels right. The mother is a very intriguing character and is a tentative exploration of mental illness, but she is a bit of a cardboard cutout and lacks the life of the other characters. As one reads, a real feeling for the tension in the household develops and one feels involved with the strange, stark family meals, the closed doors, and the loneliness of the characters. A fascinating read that explores family relationships and religious beliefs in a very unique fashion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2001

    Shows how difficult it is to be an adolescent

    A must-read for educators and parents to get an insight of the 'loners' in a classroom as well as how adults, especially parents, shape children's emotional worlds in very subtle ways. The impact of the 'low' vs 'gifted' class made a huge impression on me. An excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2001

    Great read with unexpected twists

    here is a great story of what starts out with a little girl who wins a spelling bee and unfolds into a tangled web of crazy idiosyncracies within her family. it became a story totally unlike what i was anticipating but was definitely a refreshing read and I look forward to future releases by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2000

    Spellbinding Story

    This creative family story features four strong characters, each seeking and each finding a way of meditation. They all wish to collect experiences to get closer to their whole. I can't help but think that Eliza goes to these spelling bees like a soldier goes to war. The ending didn't disappointment...perhaps, surprise. Miriam's and Eliza's obsession draws both into their own ecstatic worlds--Eliza's more complete than her mothers. Saul and Aaron are also believable family members. Outstanding book. Worth a second read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2000

    A wonderful first from a promicing author.

    I see many books come and go, but this has something special. The characters are very quirky, but their insanity hits a bit too close to home. Everything from a teen trying to find his identity to the man looking for God through his daughter is all too real. She weaves a tale that sucks you in and makes you feel at home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2000

    truly remarkable

    I picked up this book intending to get around to it sometime and ended up reading it in one sitting. This is truly one of the best books I've read in years. I can't believe that I'm actually using the word 'dazzling' to describe Ms. Goldberg's writing, but it certainly seems appropriate. I also hope the book does not get pigeonholed as 'Jewish literature' as the themes of the novel speak to a psychology of mysticism and to family dynamics that transcend cultural boundaries. I can't recommend this book highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2000

    Incredible, but disturbing

    I could not put this book down, reading it at the most absurd opportunities. It draws the reader along at a breakneck pace. But in many ways it is such a disturbing story, so much so that for the last 20 pages I was shaking. I have so many questions to ask the author. Still, I must recommend the book as a fascinating read, thought provoking, compelling, and horrifying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    You can't tell a family by its covers...

    From the moment I picked up this novel, I kept thinking 'four men entered the garden...' Jewish book reading groups should keep this in mind; this will be a must read. Oberlin grad, and first time Brooklyn novelist, Myla Goldberg, mixes Jewish family dynamics, adolescence, a national spelling bee, Reconstructionist synagogue life, mysticism, and the writings of Rabbi Avraham Abulafia (the Kabbalist), into a witty, extraordinary, and compelling story about nine year old Eliza Naumann's quest for family status. A successful and driven couple, Saul and Miriam, wonder why Eliza, an average, quiet nine year old, is not excelling in school like her older brother Aaron. Will she be tracked into the 'dummies' classes forever? Is she really their daughter if she isn't brilliant? But then she sweeps her school, district, and state spelling bees. Saul, a synagogue cantor and self-taught student of Jewish mysticism, who ignored Eliza up to this point, now invests his time into coaching her. He focuses on Eliza at the expense of his formerly annointed prodigal son and vessel of light, Aaron. Now only Eliza is allowed into the inner sanctum, or garden, of her father's study. Aaron loses faith. Aaron, who is a searcher for a repeat epiphany, no longer plays the synagogue game of 'who will sit down first during the silent Amidah prayers.' Then he meets a man in a park. Oh, I can tell no more; if I only had Eliza and Miriam's powers of concentration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2000

    If only there were more stars to give...

    This book was AMAZING-- you will not believe how smoothly, as a first novel, it flows. Topics explored include changing religious beliefs and definition of religion, marriage, parental loyalties, and sibling rivalry. The ending is unpredictable and shocking. This is the best book I have read this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2