Customer Reviews for

Beef Stolen-Off (Clueless Cook Mystery Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Great second course

    I was intrigued by the first one, and this second Clueless Cook cosy mystery lived up to the first! Jordan is at it again. Swearing off mystery she's settled into her job as writer of the Kitchen Kupboard column,( as well as her first job writng the personals) she has an assingment that brings her into the world of Texas cattlemen, and murder.

    This is a fast fun read. Keep on writing and I'll keep on readin'!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Love this series!

    I read the first book in this series, so I was anxious and excited to get the second book soon thereafter. Now having read the second book, I think it's better than the first and can't wait for book three! I love this author's sense of humor and feel like I personally know every one of the characters. You never know what kind of trouble Jordan and her wacky but endearing friends are going to find themselves in next. Love this series. Love this author. I highly recommend this series if you love a good cozy with zingers sprinkled throughout.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    hf

    hpkn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Not as good as the first one

    I enjoyed the first book in the series but am extremely disappointed with this one. Only made it half way through and then couldn't be bothered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Liz Lipperman has done it again, with her follow-up Clueless Coo

    Liz Lipperman has done it again, with her follow-up Clueless Cook mystery, "Beef Stolen-Off". This fun little romp details the exploits of female newspaperperson (and big sports buff) Jordan McAllister, who can't cook, and yet is roped into doing a culinary column for her newspaper, complete with recipes. For someone who revels in junk food, real recipes can be a burden. But she has help from a colorful cast of friends, who give her support and love and help in time of need.

    As usual, Jordan runs into trouble, this time when her fellow dinner guest expires during a dining extravaganza. Soon she is tracking down clues while hunting for a killer, as well as some shady cattle rustlers.

    If you like your fun mystery intertwined with danger and wisecracking troublemakers, this is for you. Jordan cannot get through a day without a crisis or four, but her ingenuity and luck in getting out of trouble results in an entertaining read. Full of down-home, good ole Texas fun.

    And if reading about all this food gets you hungry, why there's even some of the recipes in the story included in the back, so you can make your own. If you like this one, track down her first book, "Liver Let Die," where we first meet Jordan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AJordan McAllister is the food columnist for the Ranchero Globe

    AJordan McAllister is the food columnist for the Ranchero Globe even though she is a pretty clueless cook.

    She may not know much about cuts of beef but Lucas Santana, cattle baron, thinks her column may help boost beef sales so he invites her to the Cattlemen's Ball. He even sets her up with a date for the evening. Unfortunately she doesn't get to know him very well. Shortly after the dinner starts he starts to sweat and have trouble breathing. She winds up at the emergency room where she finds her date was dead on arrival.

    It is not long before she realizes his death was no accident. She decides it is up to her to take the bull by the horns and lasso up the killer.


    This release date of this book couldn't have been planned better. The tv show Dallas is back on the air and in the very second episode the Ewings are at the Cattlemen's Ball. I didn't see Jordan hanging around but it sure wasn't hard to imagine that a murder could occur there. The author tells me there was no coordination between the show and this book release, just a happy coincidence.

    This installment really has the Big Texas feel. Hunky cowboys, huge ranches, and of course Texas BBQ. The new characters in this book were so well defined it was hard to believe we just met them. The Empire Apartments gang was back in full glory and we even got to spend some time with Jordan's brother, Danny. Jordan's love life was kind of hit or miss in this installment. Hard when the guy you want to get to know so much better has a job that can need him in an instant and keep him away for weeks. Jordan also finally makes a friend at the paper.

    The mystery is USDA Prime as well. Plenty of diversions to keep the reader on their toes. We learn a bit about cattle raising too, some of it hair raising as well.

    Marbled through the entire mystery are touches of humor I have come to expect from Liz Lipperman. She has the gift are creating sassy dialogue, unique observations and circumstances that can make you laugh out loud. In this edition, the brother/sister pranks and commentary were so entertaining.

    This series is absolutely wonderful. I can't wait until Murder for the Halibut comes out December 31, 2012. For now be sure to get your hands on Beef Stolen-Off today!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Good read

    Good read. I enjoyed the first book in the series more than this one though. Still find it hillarious she writes a food column and can't cook to save her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1