Customer Reviews for

The Beekeeper's Apprentice (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend - Book 1 of a great series.

I highly recommend the Laurie King series of Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes novels. I already owned all of these physical books, but bought them again for my Nook. The story itself is excellent. However, I was a little surprised by the number of typos that appear in the N...
I highly recommend the Laurie King series of Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes novels. I already owned all of these physical books, but bought them again for my Nook. The story itself is excellent. However, I was a little surprised by the number of typos that appear in the NOOKbook version. Little things like "1" or "7" appearing where it should be "I" and some problems handling text with different fonts (such as letters or notes embedded in the story).

posted by MC45 on December 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Bag

I consider this book a mixed bag. The main characters were well drawn, but the reader was left wondering about the wicked aunt --who would make a great character-- and the near absence of Watson, who is described as little better than an idiot. The plot was intriguing--...
I consider this book a mixed bag. The main characters were well drawn, but the reader was left wondering about the wicked aunt --who would make a great character-- and the near absence of Watson, who is described as little better than an idiot. The plot was intriguing--after it got going. The first 100 pages were spent attempting to dispel any possible objection the reader might have to the young girl's situation: In 1910s London how could she have access to money? How could she have so much freedom? How could she live with Holmes? How could she have access to schooling reserved for males? Etc. One final criticism, the trip to Israel was a huge, unnecessary aside. It seemed that the author had taken a trip recently and wanted to include her travelogue in the book. If the heroine's Jewishness had been important to the story, their voyage to the homeland would have been more appropriate. As it was, there was only a slight mention that she was Jewish before the trip and no real significance shown afterward. This author has won many prizes so I guess I shouldn't argue with success, but I was not satisfied that aspects of the novel were sufficiently explored or tied together.

posted by 4512833 on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Highly Recommend - Book 1 of a great series.

    I highly recommend the Laurie King series of Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes novels. I already owned all of these physical books, but bought them again for my Nook. The story itself is excellent. However, I was a little surprised by the number of typos that appear in the NOOKbook version. Little things like "1" or "7" appearing where it should be "I" and some problems handling text with different fonts (such as letters or notes embedded in the story).

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Holmes pastiche Great!

    This first novel of the Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes series hits every note just right. The aging great detective Sherlock Holmes takes on Mary Russell, a brilliant 15 year old girl as his apprentice, who is our narrator. Although King takes a few liberties with Conan Doyle's cannon - Holmes is a little younger - she gets the characters exactly right. She also brings Holmes into the "real world" by having Conan Doyle be Watson's literary agent. The voices of the characters ring true, from Holmes' sardonic laughter, to Dr "uncle John" Watson's bumbling good heartedness. The best non-Conan Doyle Holmes out there by far. I've read this book more times than I can tell you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    highly recommended

    This was one of our book club books, and I must admit to not being interested, Once starring it, could not put it down. and have already read a couple more in the series. Even a Brit can be anti Sherlock Homes and while it's not really about Sherlock Holmes he is an important part of the story, Mary Russell is the lead character and that fact is quite clear from the outset. All I can add is, try it, you will absolutely love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The infamous Holmes continues with new adventure-throught the heart and mind-and a new partner

    I love this book. If you love Holmes and those types of mysteries that you become completely ensconced in, then this series is for you. I never want to put down any of Laurie R. King's books because they're so amazingly written with such minute details and enthralling characters and twisting plots that leave you wanting more as you turn page after page of pure mastery in the art of writing.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Laurie R. King┬┐s tale more than just a well done homage

    In 1915 fifteen year old expatriate American orphan Mary Russell meets retired detective Sherlock Holmes in Sussex Downs. The sleuth finds the feisty intelligent heiress much more refreshing than the bees he normally communicates with. He decides to make her his apprentice in the science of detecting on the condition she keeps her studies at Oxford up. When she is at her new home, her aunt¿s house, and he on a case, he will train her.------------ She works a few minor cases for Holmes when they are asked to investigate the kidnapping of American senator Simpson in Wales. They quickly conclude that a genius is behind the abduction of Jessica. After Russell proves her worth by rescuing Jessica, someone tries to kill her, Holmes and Dr. Watson. The sleuths believe the same criminal behind the kidnapping wants to destroy Holmes.------------- This is a reprint of the first Russell-Holmes collaboration and though over a decade old with several subsequent sequels since, THE BEEKEEPER¿S APPRENTICE retains a freshness. The story line grips the audience from the moment the precocious teen meets the beekeeper partly because of the terrific rendition of the lead characters as Homes seems Doyle like and more and partly because England in WW I comes alive. The mystery is clever, but it is the meeting of the minds that makes Laurie R. King¿s tale more than just a well done homage.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Too... Much... Filler!

    Way too much filler here. Not to mention that everyone is very sexist towards Mary, even Holmes himself on occasion. The third mystery was even more filler-packed and boring than the first two, but I couldn't skim for the fear that I might miss something. It had great potential, but didn't live up to it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Mixed Bag

    I consider this book a mixed bag. The main characters were well drawn, but the reader was left wondering about the wicked aunt --who would make a great character-- and the near absence of Watson, who is described as little better than an idiot. The plot was intriguing--after it got going. The first 100 pages were spent attempting to dispel any possible objection the reader might have to the young girl's situation: In 1910s London how could she have access to money? How could she have so much freedom? How could she live with Holmes? How could she have access to schooling reserved for males? Etc. One final criticism, the trip to Israel was a huge, unnecessary aside. It seemed that the author had taken a trip recently and wanted to include her travelogue in the book. If the heroine's Jewishness had been important to the story, their voyage to the homeland would have been more appropriate. As it was, there was only a slight mention that she was Jewish before the trip and no real significance shown afterward. This author has won many prizes so I guess I shouldn't argue with success, but I was not satisfied that aspects of the novel were sufficiently explored or tied together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Pure chicken

    This chickeny book was fasinating yet confusing for i am a 3 year old girl with a mind rather exrordinary concidering the fact that im already in 3rd grade and read at a 6th grade level. I hope to become a chicken some day and this book i think laurie r. King deffinetly put an outstanding level of reading for me. My grammer might not be the best but i highly encourage you to read this book. I loved much of it

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Give it a try, trust me.

    I'm a big fan of Doyle's original Holmes stories, so I was a little skeptical. This story was a wonderful homage to Sherlock Holmes, though King's presentation of him is unique, she makes it her own while respecting tradition.
    Part of why it is successful is that King makes her protagonist the original character of Mary Russell, a modern girl with a gifted mind and a troubled past. The audience gets to experience Doyle's characters through her and it it thoroughly enjoyable. A great adventure with an intruiging mystery, danger and friendship.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!

    I was very impressed! Laurie King has resurrected Sherlock Holmes not by adding yet more improbable adventures with Watson in his heyday, but by bringing him another confederate in his "retirement years". He was supposed to have moved from London to the country to study bees, so enter 15-year-old Mary Russell, parent-less and living with a detested aunt, possessed of a keen, observant mind very like Holmes himself. They hit it off and Holmes tutors Russell in observation and reasoning, and shares esoteric research with her. I really enjoyed the book, and was happy to learn that there are, so far, 7 sequels. I am on book 5 now, and just as impressed !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Excellent but a really a different holmes

    Have read all series but borrowed. have come back to give this review.t only bought one nook was the one where they are in india with kim. Formalic but getting a little annoyed as they keep separating in series on separate missions and holmes less and less as a team and she knows nothing a curious style buska

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Alro

    Alro is A.J. in my weird school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Highly Recommend that you read!!

    A well written mystery that needs to be read! Captures you from the beginning - you won't want to put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Slow

    I thought it was very slow. I would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Clever and intelligent post Holmesian story

    Fans of Sherlock Holmes will appreciate following his life as a country gentleman in retirement. Mary Russell sparks new adventures by teaming up with Holmes and proves herself to be a worthy partner to him. I look forward to reading more of their crime sleuthing and see how their relationship builds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    REALLY GOOD!!!!

    At the beginning it starts kind of slow but once you get to the 2nd part it gets better. It is a mystery even though it doesn't really seem like it at first. You do need to read the first section in order to understand the rest of the book so tough it up and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Excellent book- a wonderful take on Sherlock Holmes!

    This is the first in a series of Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes books written by Laurie King. I've read them all, and eagerly await the newest installment (The Bones of Paris). The Beekeeper's Apprentice is carefully-crafted, intelligent, and well researched. I recommended this book to a book club I belong to, and it's the first book we've read that everyone loved! If you're a Sherlock Holmes aficionado, or you love a good mystery, this book (and series) is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Well written. However, speaking as a Sherlockaholic, it is not w

    Well written. However, speaking as a Sherlockaholic, it is not well thought out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    So worth the read.

    I was delightfully surprised by this new find. Was intrigued by the cover and the story line concept. What a truly wonderful decision to meander down this path and now I am on the 3rd book in the series. Totally hooked and look forward to many nights of enjoyment to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Loved it!

    I was skeptical that Sherlock Holmes could be brought into a new book successfully, but was delighted by this one! Highly recommend for Holmes fans and for those who just like a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10