Customer Reviews for

The Beekeeper's Apprentice (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend - Book 1 of a great series.

I highly recommend the Laurie King series of Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes novels. I already owned all of these physical books, but bought them again for my Nook. The story itself is excellent. However, I was a little surprised by the number of typos that appear in the N...
I highly recommend the Laurie King series of Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes novels. I already owned all of these physical books, but bought them again for my Nook. The story itself is excellent. However, I was a little surprised by the number of typos that appear in the NOOKbook version. Little things like "1" or "7" appearing where it should be "I" and some problems handling text with different fonts (such as letters or notes embedded in the story).

posted by MC45 on December 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Bag

I consider this book a mixed bag. The main characters were well drawn, but the reader was left wondering about the wicked aunt --who would make a great character-- and the near absence of Watson, who is described as little better than an idiot. The plot was intriguing--...
I consider this book a mixed bag. The main characters were well drawn, but the reader was left wondering about the wicked aunt --who would make a great character-- and the near absence of Watson, who is described as little better than an idiot. The plot was intriguing--after it got going. The first 100 pages were spent attempting to dispel any possible objection the reader might have to the young girl's situation: In 1910s London how could she have access to money? How could she have so much freedom? How could she live with Holmes? How could she have access to schooling reserved for males? Etc. One final criticism, the trip to Israel was a huge, unnecessary aside. It seemed that the author had taken a trip recently and wanted to include her travelogue in the book. If the heroine's Jewishness had been important to the story, their voyage to the homeland would have been more appropriate. As it was, there was only a slight mention that she was Jewish before the trip and no real significance shown afterward. This author has won many prizes so I guess I shouldn't argue with success, but I was not satisfied that aspects of the novel were sufficiently explored or tied together.

posted by 4512833 on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Highly Recommend - Book 1 of a great series.

    I highly recommend the Laurie King series of Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes novels. I already owned all of these physical books, but bought them again for my Nook. The story itself is excellent. However, I was a little surprised by the number of typos that appear in the NOOKbook version. Little things like "1" or "7" appearing where it should be "I" and some problems handling text with different fonts (such as letters or notes embedded in the story).

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Excellent but a really a different holmes

    Have read all series but borrowed. have come back to give this review.t only bought one nook was the one where they are in india with kim. Formalic but getting a little annoyed as they keep separating in series on separate missions and holmes less and less as a team and she knows nothing a curious style buska

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Clever and intelligent post Holmesian story

    Fans of Sherlock Holmes will appreciate following his life as a country gentleman in retirement. Mary Russell sparks new adventures by teaming up with Holmes and proves herself to be a worthy partner to him. I look forward to reading more of their crime sleuthing and see how their relationship builds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Engrossing

    Not the best non-canonical Holmes book I've read, but still very enjoyable. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    This is a fun read of you like the Sherlock Holmes mysteries.

    Anyone who has enjoyed the Sherlock Holmes series will enjoy reading this first book in the series. The Beekeeper's Apprectice was very enjoyable because it brings back to readers Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson. Granted they are both older but still very wise and they seem to have met their match in a young Mary Russell. I intend to read the entire series because Ms. King's writing style is so similar to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's original books.

    It's a wonderful way to spend a snowy weekend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Fascinating

    A fascinating followup on the beloved Shherlock holmes stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fresh re-imagining of the classic hero

    In THE BEEKEEPER'S APPRENTICE, Laurie R. King takes a literary icon and rejuvenates him in a way that is truly awe-inspiring. In the place of the cold and calculating Sherlock Holmes of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's creation stands a complex and captivating character who is just enough like the old Holmes to be recognizable. The relationship that develops between the detective and his protégé is captivating. Holmes is forced to recognize that he has finally met his equal, and the mixture of eagerness and incredulity is endearing. The banter and warmth between the unlikely pair paints a picture of the deep bond grounded in a meeting of minds that neither ever expected to find.

    King judiciously mixes the old with the new. Though Holmes is a very different character, fans of the original will still appreciate her new perspective on the beloved detective. King's original creation, Mary, is spunky and smart and will instantly win over the most hard-hearted reader. Separately, they are interesting, but together they are irresistible. Their partnership is more balanced and engaging than Holmes and Watson's ever was -- though the old companion does make an appearance, and is charming in his own way. The story is less about the traditional mystery and deduction than about Holmes's and Mary's transformation: Holmes into a rounded and relateable human being, and Mary into the next generation of infallible supersleuth. However, the novel still keeps readers on their toes with the string of surprises and dangerous adventures that seem to stalk the great detective's every step.

    ~Review from thebookishtype[dot]blogspot[dot]com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sherlock Holmes gets help...

    Mary Russell, a young woman of intelligence and a keen sense of logic, stumbles upon Sherlock Holmes. He is now semi-retired and staying at a quaint country cottage, puttering away his days. Has time passed him by?

    First a conversation, then friendship and finally training under the great detective, helping in his experiments.

    But things don't stay quiet long as an attempt is made on Holmes' life! By who? And almost as important why?

    And so we follow along a merry chase as we try to solve the crime along with Holmes and Russell. Back to London, returning to his old lifestyle and haunts, revisiting old friends and adversaries in search for clues. Can they solve the mystery before the attempts on Holmes' life succeed?

    This is book one in a series. I'm hooked. I think you will be too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Like recconecting with an old friend

    It has been years since I have read Sherlock Holmes mysteries. The Beekeeper's Apprentice, is like catching up with an old friend. Mary Russell is a breath of fresh air and puts a new twist on the old characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    I'm hooked on Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes!

    I picked up this book on a whim. Anything Sherlock Holmes catches my attention. But I was a little skeptical when I first started reading. And now I'm hooked! I enjoyed the duo's adventures in this book and was disappointed when I reached the end. I look forward to reading more by Laurie King featuring Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2002

    A Fresh Sherlockian View

    As an avid Sherlockian, Laurie King's first Russell/Holmes novel caught my eye and I was rewarded by my interest. While some of her later novels in this series delve too much into the theological interests of Mary Russell, this first work is extremely good and should be a part of every Sherlockian library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2001

    A MUST FOR ANY HOLMES LOVER!

    This is an 'enjoyable' book, great storytelling and easy to read. With a new author, of course one gets a different slant on Sherlock - but this is well done and believeable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3