Customer Reviews for

Beelzebub Girl (Ancient Legends)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1329 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1017)

4 Star

(210)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

93 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

Worth a tenner

Having read J.Scott's first book A job from Hell, I was anxious to see how her wicked sarcastic wit of her characters would translate into the next book. It's fantastic! A seriously gifted writer, who combines funny and uninhibited raunchiness in her writings better tha...
Having read J.Scott's first book A job from Hell, I was anxious to see how her wicked sarcastic wit of her characters would translate into the next book. It's fantastic! A seriously gifted writer, who combines funny and uninhibited raunchiness in her writings better than any other writer I know and who manages to make a paranormal book with some horror somehow hysterical.
Cassandra, the main character in this book, is an angel of dark and white nature, who thrives on chaos and who thinks in such an amusing, self-deprecating and cynical manner that I had to laugh out loud and often. Filled with funny anecdotes, she has that trashy comedienne's gift of saying everything we think about but are afraid to say. Some of the characters of j.Scott first book of the series A job from hell appeared again much to my joy such as Dallas, Amber's brother, and good looking Thrain, a demon of the highest order.
There were lots of chapters that were really funny. My favorite scene is when Amber, bestowed with the capability of talking with the dead- attempts a job as a medium on TV along with Cassandra as help and the result is both hilarious and sweet.
At some several points in the story, I laughed so hard, my sister got jealous that I was reading the book so I ended up giving it to her and she loves it. If you do not understand humor or are sensitive, I would pass on this one. If you love to laugh and want a something that is faced paced, you will love it. Excellent value at 2.99.

posted by CourtneyGX on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

great

I liked the writing style. Laughed a lot. Found some parts scary. beginning was ok, but it got better when the chaos & drama starts. In overall, had a strong effect on me.

posted by brazilianreader on December 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1330 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 67
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Worth a tenner

    Having read J.Scott's first book A job from Hell, I was anxious to see how her wicked sarcastic wit of her characters would translate into the next book. It's fantastic! A seriously gifted writer, who combines funny and uninhibited raunchiness in her writings better than any other writer I know and who manages to make a paranormal book with some horror somehow hysterical.
    Cassandra, the main character in this book, is an angel of dark and white nature, who thrives on chaos and who thinks in such an amusing, self-deprecating and cynical manner that I had to laugh out loud and often. Filled with funny anecdotes, she has that trashy comedienne's gift of saying everything we think about but are afraid to say. Some of the characters of j.Scott first book of the series A job from hell appeared again much to my joy such as Dallas, Amber's brother, and good looking Thrain, a demon of the highest order.
    There were lots of chapters that were really funny. My favorite scene is when Amber, bestowed with the capability of talking with the dead- attempts a job as a medium on TV along with Cassandra as help and the result is both hilarious and sweet.
    At some several points in the story, I laughed so hard, my sister got jealous that I was reading the book so I ended up giving it to her and she loves it. If you do not understand humor or are sensitive, I would pass on this one. If you love to laugh and want a something that is faced paced, you will love it. Excellent value at 2.99.

    93 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Loved it

    What would you do if you were a dark princess, child of parent angels, and everyone expects you to act as one but all you want is just be normal? What would you do if your father were Lucifer who expects you to run the family business- hell and you just prefer to be a customer representative? To which lengths would you go if you fell in love with a mortal and you know that different worlds lie between you and him, worlds that don't include just status or money? Would you give up on him once you found out your enemies could kill you by killing him? or would you rather give up your family just to be with him?

    The book is a real killer. I was spell bound when I read it and wished it would never end.

    I liked the part best where Cassandra finds out she has a terrible curse that can take away everything she ever fought for. This is one of the most original stories i have read. I highly recommend it

    76 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Read. you will be glad you did!

    Cassandra is a fallen angel. Her father Lucifer wants her to take over the family business aka hell and goes to extra length to stop her from becoming a customer representative by requesting that she run a TV show that is supposed to improve people's opinion of Hell. As if this was not only an impossible task, Cassandra falls in love with Dallas in time before her 18th birthday curse kicks in and she's stuck in hell forever. But Dallas is mortal and that's not going to please her father nor her 3 wacky aunts, who have made it their life-long mission to disagree on everything, including Cassandra's future.

    Since Dallas is mortal and has no clue who Cass really is and Cassandra is a girl with special abilities and many enemies, one cannot help but wonder if the two are allowed a future since everything is against them. I was hooked and can only say that this was a great read from start to finish.

    What can I say, Cassandra's hilarious and so not like you'd picture Lucifer's daughter. She's endearing with a feisty yet sensitive side to her. The world building of hell was great with how the seven different dimensions work and the various ranks of the demons. I also liked the writing which was a bit more serious than in the previous book, gloomy, but still got plenty of laughs out of me. I thought it would be all chick lit romance until the plot started to get darker and darker. I could see doom gathering over Cassandra's head
    Definitely a fantastic, action packed read with unique characters, demons, ghosts, fallen angels, plenty of twist and turns, loveable characters and a cliffhanger ending. A must read through and through, and not just for young adults!!!

    69 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    There're no words to explain how much I love this book.

    In Doomed, the author of A job from Hell spins another mesmerizing tale of ancient legends. For most of her life, Cassandra has been certain of three things: that she doesn't want to run the family business, that she doesn't want to be stuck in hell forever and that a love to a human will bring more problems than she anticipates or could handle.

    Before she meets Dallas, Cass, a fallen angel, tries to live a normal life, working as a customer representative during day and during night as a member in the Lore Council in the paranormal world. With Lucifer as father and powers she is supposed to get at her 18th birthday, she thought she is safe. Until she discovers that there is a family curse and the fates have spun a bond between her and a human being, who when he dies, she faces a fate worse than death.

    Cassandra is forced not only to please her father and her 3 aunts, but also to find a way to keep Dallas safe from those who want to harm her and to make the impossible possible: a love relationship between an immortal angel and a mortal human.

    Cassandra's search for the truth, the wish to love and be loved, and the hope to find a cure for her curse and escape her awful destiny will keep readers feverishly turning pages.

    64 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Fantastic- loved it!

    TERROR-IFIC! This novel is even better than A job from Hell, the first book of the series. It really really had me hooked....
    I love books with suspense, but usually can figure out the twist/killer/etc about 2/3 of the way through. I did not have that problem with this book. It had me hooked from the first chapter, all the way to the finish. This is by far one of the most thrilling series i have ever read, you are always guessing, when you think you have solved it, it just turns and make you think again... Absolutely unpredictable. One of the finest. A must Read!

    61 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Better than the first book- Cassandra rocks!!

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!IT'S EVEN BETTER THAN THE FIRST BOOK.
    Love the part where Cass- the devil's only daughter- works as customer representative. Her way of dealing with with customers is so funny. Also I love love the conversation between Lucifer and his daughter: "This is your job, Cassandra. Are you watching and learning?" he asked. Nodding, I curled my lips into a forced smile, grateful Dad couldn't read my thoughts ..........------ I had to laugh so much. It's almost like Robert De Niro giving the " I am watching you" glance in Meet the fockers movie. You must read it. It's contagious!!! I had to wipe my tears from my eyes in some chapters.

    43 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    A must summer Read!

    This is a must Summer read!!!If you're new to Jayde Scott, then hang on for a heart pounding author who knows how to get the blood pumping. Looks like the little Amber "Clan" is here again in the second book of the Ancient Legends series and it was all interesting to see them all coming together again: Dallas, Cass, Amber, Aidan. Cass was already my favourite from the first book and she still is my favourite from all. She has the kind of personality I want to have.
    This book will leave you wanting for more, and the action scenes...well you"ll have to read for yourself. There were twists that I didn't expect and an ending that had my head spinning. If you think you know the answer, think again. This was a fantastic book: unpredictable and original. And I loved every minute of it. Hope Voodoo Kiss comes out sooner.

    35 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    No doubt- 10 stars!

    Wow, where do I even begin with the series? It's my favourite. 5 stars is simply an understatement. Give it 10! In my opinion, J. Scott has outdone herself this time!
    Doomed is even better than A job from Hell and yet so completely different, maybe because we are now dealing with a dark angel- who has a different character than Amber, the main character in the first book, and yet she is so vulnerable and innocent in her own way if that's even possible. To understand her is not really our quest and one shouldn't forget that she is not one of us. The love story of Cass and Dallas completely warms my heart, they are both different yet perfect for each other. But seriously, what would you do if you fell in love with the devil's daughter ? Isn't love grand?? The point to remember is: you can't choose who you love. love chooses you.

    This novel has been all dramatic, and yet is so addictive. I don't think I ever saw certain things/twists/the ending coming. How the hell did J.Scott come up with this fantastic plot?

    Like I said before, Jayde Scott has become my #1 favorite author and any true fan of the the Ancient legends series can tell you these characters are seriously amazing.They feel like old friends now, so after I read a job from hell and bought the second book, it's like reuniting with them all over again. I am now very excited and can't wait to read the third book.

    This book is worth your time! READ IT. It will touch your heart, your mind and soul.

    33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Different

    I bought this after reading A Job from Hell, expecting vampire romance. What I got was a rollercoaster plot and great laughs like before, but the plot was even more unpredictable. I really liked Cassandra from the previous book and she was great here. The ending was a cliffhanger I didn't see coming and certainly not your usual romance type ending. This is YA dark fiction at its best with romance and drama and a very naughty character who really tries to be good. But let's face it, with Cassandra it's all about Cassandra and her character shines through well. Eagerly awaiting to find out whether Sophia is a Voodoo priestess and what she can do for the reapers and fallen angels.

    30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Couldn't turn pages fast enough to find out more

    This must be the most original book I have read. It even made my heart stop at some point from shock. I only thought omg, omg, but heck! I wanted MORE of it. I just had to read the whole thing again. Doomed is even better than the first book. Cassandra has a light and dark nature to her, be prepared that this book is sad and funny. Dramatic to read but so fricking addictive. I couldn't put it down. The writing is so captivating and every page left me clinging for more. The story is so different than a lot of books I have read lately. The suspense just kept me going. The characters are all great and you get the right twist at the right time. Forget sleep with this one. I couldn't go to bed until I finished it. I thought it was kinda funny that SHE was the one taking care of the GUY. But wow, she was good. And the storyline! Don't get me started! It touched me in some parts, I just felt like I was in there too, cause I felt kinda scared at times. I was so nervous to find out the ending. I mean, they only almost died every few pages!''Then the ending....No way, I'm just still shell-shocked. I hope the third one will be longer, and I still have so many unanswered questions. ''*Sighs* Okay, that is all. LOVED THE BOOK! REALLY GOOD READ!

    I just want more such books out there. Please Jadye Scott write faster. I need to find out what happens next. The cliffhanger just kills me

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    The second book in the Ancient Legends series did not disappoint, but I recommend readers to read the first book so they know why things must be happening this way and not take a different direction. I could imagine otherwise things might be too confusing since there's a love story but not a predictable ending per se.

    In this book, Cassandra finds out she has a bond with a human- Dallas, but this is not the problem. As Lucifer's daughter she has more to fight against, more enemies, more obstacles placed in her path. With everything against her and her romance, Cassandra's running out of time. Literally.

    It seems a love romance seems farther away, especially as she finds out she has a curse and she is supposed to take over the family business, even though she doesn't want to.

    This read was filled with suspense and emotion. I laughed, but I also cried and felt for Cassandra a lot. She was from all the characters very well written, with a human but also a diabolical side to her (she's Lucifer's daughter and half dark angel, after all.)

    This must be the most original story I have read and I am very happy I gave this one a chance though I must say I didn't see the ending coming and maybe this is good this way, since I love surprises and have complained in the past about books that are too stereotyped or worse yet- too ordinary or cliche.

    Nevertheless, this wan't a predictable read. I am so happy there is a third book in the series and I hope that mystery will be solved. Jayde Scott is an amazing writer who again managed to impress me.

    I can say with confidence that this novel left me hungry for more. I enjoyed every minute reading this one.
    I loved it. Devoured it. And was taken aback by the beautiful writing.

    There were so many things happening in this book, you must read it!

    27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    You'll get lost in this story

    Wow. I have very little time for reading these days as a working mom, but I couldn't wait to get into bed every night to tear into Doomed. While it usually takes me weeks to finish a book, this one was done in days. I couldn't wait to solve the mystery, to find out what happens next, but at the same time I didn't want it to end. It's been a long time since I have been so attached to the characters in a novel; when they are depicted so carefully that you feel as though they are your friends, your neighbors, or yourself. Jayde Scott does it again - taking a dark and despairing subject matter and making it utterly enjoyable to read. My only complaint is that it was over too soon!

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Etched into my heart!

    Two words. True. Love. What if you meet someone who is your true love/the one/ your soulmate but can never be yours for all eternity? When you are meant to be with this person, what must you do as an angel -before you say good bye to a human- to make it through- together. This book tells it all. I loved every minute reading and rereading this one. It's so captivating. In so many ways true. Anyone who reads this, I think you will also love it and you will wish you discovered it sooner.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Give this one a try- you will love it!

    I have read a lot of books in my life and I can say that this one is not an ordinary book. You see, the worst thing about most books is the fact they are either very ordinary with a plot that is either very tragic or overblown. They don't see that life is both tragic and comic. Doomed (other title: Beelzebub Girl) makes no such mistake. As the characters zip through different adventures and go through real life ups& downs and trauma, it never loses the sight of the fact that life is funny. The voice is consistently witty and fresh, the characters don't take themselves seriously, which is a fact I very much appreciate. The characters' actions are comprehensible, their personality grounded in reality such as the fact that if they want something, they have to work for it. The descriptive passages are lyrical, the actions will leave you breathing faster, and the characters are engaging. I do feel that this is one of the best books I have read in a long time. It's a must read for those who love the genre.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Really liked it

    Cassandra was my favourite character from the previous book and she didn't disappoint in this one. I enjoyed getting to know her a little better and finding out more about her life in hell, about Lucifer and the demon ranks. I didn't expect Dallas to be the one for her but after I got over the initial shock (I thought it'd be Kieran because they had so much spark), I really got into the plot which kept me guessing and the romance part was well-developed but not too pronounced and it didn't make out the whole plot. It was intense, twisted and very original. I'm into paranormal romance big time but this isn't something I've ever read before, it's more unusual than the usual paranormal read. The ending left me shocked particularly since I thought I knew what would happen. Can't wait to see where it's all heading in the next book. I spent my Friday night reading this instead of going out with friends, that's how much I couldn't put it down.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    A whirlwind kind of Book

    I am a huge fan of A job from Hell and Doomed from the Ancient Legends Series! Both books are so original and engaging from start to finish. There is so much happening,every chapter and on every page. they suck you right in.


    I liked the way the pace of the plot moved. Because so much is happening, there is never a dull moment. IMO both books were real page turners! To be honest, I prefer the second book more than the first book, because it was a little darker and more dramatic and I really like Cassandra's personality. The cliffhanger ending just made me screaming for more.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    WOW

    That was just ...WOW!I did really like A job from Hell but Doomed was just ...even better. Heartbreaking and yet exquisitely tender. The second installment to the Ancient Legends series is darker, sassier and more challenging in its essence. I am sure the ancient legends fans would not be disappointed.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Excellent for young and adult readers!

    It was an amazing book, very much worth reading. I enjoyed all the twists and turns, it kept me on the edge of my seat, quickened my heartbeat, and made me look around and question my surroundings. I like it most because of the afterlife references and thoughts that will make you think about things that are not usually things we think about. My daughter introduced me to this author and I can say that she is an amazing writer.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Not the usual YA paranormal romance

    I thought this was a new take on paranormal romance with romance but also drama, so certainly not something I've come across before. The setting's different, instead of the real world it was hell (literally). The love interest was a mortal but the girl in question's Lucifer's daughter, who's a really funny one and had me rolling over with laughter a few times. This book was funny and romantic and suspenseful with vampires, seers, shadow warriors, fallen angels and reapers. It's a series so the ending leads into the next book. I suggest reading the first one to know who the shadow warriors and the vampires are and what the legendary book of the shadows is all about. Would recommend to anyone who wants something different and not just your run of the mill romance.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Awesome!! I am recommending this book to all my fellow readers!

    I love a good romance and this book delivers. Add some mystery and some paranormal for some better entertainment and it's even better. The book builds and builds up and even although some parts seem rather fast paced, it doesn't fizzle out but reaches a climax at the end much to my likening.In overall a good book especially for the price. Can't wait to read the divorce club next.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1330 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 67