Customer Reviews for

Beer Is Proof God Loves Us: Reaching for the Soul of Beer and Brewing

Average Rating 3.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great title

This was a free Friday book. I wasn't even sure I would read it. I am not that interested in beer. This was an interesting book. My scientific side loved the chemistry and microbiology. My historical side loved the history and politics. And by manager side loved th...
This was a free Friday book. I wasn't even sure I would read it. I am not that interested in beer. This was an interesting book. My scientific side loved the chemistry and microbiology. My historical side loved the history and politics. And by manager side loved the business angles. I now watch beer commercials with a different eye. I linger longer in the beer aisle than before. The book didn’t make me change my brew of choice. However, now I know more about the beers I like so I might find a new brew with similar qualities.

posted by faithMG on May 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Derp

Hi my name is derpy derple and i like purple. I also like cheese. Very much. In fact, i like it so much i dont even live in a house!!! I live in a giant block of cheese!!! Okay? Yeah. Remember the larp? Because i do. But sometimes we would skip the larp and move on to t...
Hi my name is derpy derple and i like purple. I also like cheese. Very much. In fact, i like it so much i dont even live in a house!!! I live in a giant block of cheese!!! Okay? Yeah. Remember the larp? Because i do. But sometimes we would skip the larp and move on to the qwertle turtle. Then after the qwertle turtle we would move on to eating our grand slamwiches. Sometimes we wouldnt do the grand slamwiches. But we never skipped the qwertle turtle. Probably because they contribute to society. And we just lurve the society. We being me and my Big Flubbery Ferret, Person McPersonpants. Although he's not exactly a ferret. If you want to join a secret society, go to random acts result one. Youll learn all about it when you get there. Yep so i guess this is OMIGOD ITS A NARWHAL!!!!!!! Sorry. This is goodbye. Seeeeyyyaaaaallllll!!!

posted by 5111937 on June 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Great read for beer geeks

    The large amount of footnotes made for a slightly disjointed read, but the amount and quality of knowledge gained has made me recommend it to fellow beer geeks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Brewing up and tasty read-enjoy the British backgrund

    I've some familiarity with such chemical process of brewing; yet I lacked the depth of the history of this ancient process. I enjoyed the perspective of the author from the U.K. and found the recent history of U.K. pubs amazing. Sit back with a point of you favorite brew and take a long 'draw' of this particular book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Made Me Thirsty Reading

    Good overview of the decline of pubs in England, the consolidation of beer producers worldwide and how the smaller craft brewers fit into the new world. Informative on how much has changed and why the "big" beers are harder to produce then the smaller craft ones.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Great title

    This was a free Friday book. I wasn't even sure I would read it. I am not that interested in beer. This was an interesting book. My scientific side loved the chemistry and microbiology. My historical side loved the history and politics. And by manager side loved the business angles. I now watch beer commercials with a different eye. I linger longer in the beer aisle than before. The book didn’t make me change my brew of choice. However, now I know more about the beers I like so I might find a new brew with similar qualities.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Nice

    Good overview of the brewing industry. Author talks fairly about a lot of the major and minor players in beer brewing. As a more refreshing approach he does not tell us which beers we should like but leaves it up to the reader's individual taste preferences.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Tap

    Hey i want to have sex with you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    ?

    She sighs "oh i wanted to!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Link

    "Because i couldnt stop it."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Kris

    Um..okk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Me

    My family drinks beer and I can not wait ti fead this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Beer

    For beer lovers only

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    ehh. kinda slow

    Rather droll. I was expecting humor, got corporate history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Fun inside baseball look at beer

    For serious beer fans this is a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Good

    Ike this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    A must for Beer Lovers

    A quick and enjoyable read. Entertaining and Informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Not worth the time to download

    For what it says it's too long. Not what I expected. It goes on and on about nothing. This was a waist of time for both me and the writer.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Yay

    Thi is a cool book aout beer and brewing. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Whats your fave poptart flavor? READ

    What is it? -Barnes & Noble

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Brilliant!

    A very engaging and enjoyable read. Don't skip the footnotes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    Temporary Review

    I haven't read this yet, but I heard the author speak and he seemed to have intimate knowledge of just about every aspect of the beverage from its constitution and distribution to its history and appreciation. I plan on going out to buy this right now, actually.

    I will re-review once I read it, but I wanted to compensate for the previous one star review which did not give an explanation for its negative reaction.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3