Customer Reviews for

Bees in the Butterfly Garden

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

What a great novel. Packed with suspense and romance and friend

What a great novel. Packed with suspense and romance and friendship. While I began thinking Meg was selfish in her ambition, I saw that she truly desired to be like her father. And when she realizes she should be more like her Heavenly Father than her earthly father,...
What a great novel. Packed with suspense and romance and friendship. While I began thinking Meg was selfish in her ambition, I saw that she truly desired to be like her father. And when she realizes she should be more like her Heavenly Father than her earthly father, that's when her selfish appearance turned around. I loved this book and would recomend it to everyone.

posted by JlynnW on September 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Historical Romance Novel

Meg Davenport has been raised to live the life of the upperclass. Placed in an exclusive boarding school for most her life, she has been taught all the intricacies of etiquette and introduced to the best families in New York society. Then her father dies, a man who Me...
Meg Davenport has been raised to live the life of the upperclass. Placed in an exclusive boarding school for most her life, she has been taught all the intricacies of etiquette and introduced to the best families in New York society. Then her father dies, a man who Meg barely saw while growing up, and whom she resents for abandoning her in a school with more rules than parental affection. So Meg decides to leave the sheltered life she's always known on a journey of self discovery into her father's world. On the way, she discovers more than she bargained for, meets people she hadn't realized existed, and comes to a new understanding of love, forgiveness, mercy, and grace.

Unfortunately, this book fell short in several areas for me. Character development for one. Yes, its okay for our heroine to protest that she feels no grief over her father's death, but that just isn't how the human heart works. Children who deal with abandonment generally have more grief and anger to work through than their normal counterparts, not less. Meg just skims the surface of her emotions before becoming engrossed in her new life, and what should have colored the whole book and added a new layer of depth to her growing understanding of love, forgiveness, and all that comes across shallow. Also, the love of her life often comes across effeminate. Men just don't think/behave like sheltered eighteen year old girls think they will, and Meg's boyfriend meets every young girl's expectations - right down to the occasional chin stubble.

Another place this fell short was in plot. The whole thing can be summed up like this: Sheltered girl turns to underworld for entertainment and after initial foray decides she'd rather be a Christian. If that sentence counts as a spoiler, then I'm sorry, but there really isn't much more to chew on. Sub plots were underdeveloped, so I never really did understand all that was going on with Meg's friends or the rest of the underworld characters she was rubbing shoulders with. Some parts were down right confusing, as in "Now whose side is he on?", and others were just unbelievable. My credulity has limits, and this book pushed them just a little too far.

The writing itself was tolerable, and I guess typical for this genre.

Sorry, I don't recommend this book. The two stars are for being spectacularly tame and un-controversial.

*Note: I received this book free from Tyndale for my unbiased review

posted by Thursday4 on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    A Historical Romance Novel

    Meg Davenport has been raised to live the life of the upperclass. Placed in an exclusive boarding school for most her life, she has been taught all the intricacies of etiquette and introduced to the best families in New York society. Then her father dies, a man who Meg barely saw while growing up, and whom she resents for abandoning her in a school with more rules than parental affection. So Meg decides to leave the sheltered life she's always known on a journey of self discovery into her father's world. On the way, she discovers more than she bargained for, meets people she hadn't realized existed, and comes to a new understanding of love, forgiveness, mercy, and grace.

    Unfortunately, this book fell short in several areas for me. Character development for one. Yes, its okay for our heroine to protest that she feels no grief over her father's death, but that just isn't how the human heart works. Children who deal with abandonment generally have more grief and anger to work through than their normal counterparts, not less. Meg just skims the surface of her emotions before becoming engrossed in her new life, and what should have colored the whole book and added a new layer of depth to her growing understanding of love, forgiveness, and all that comes across shallow. Also, the love of her life often comes across effeminate. Men just don't think/behave like sheltered eighteen year old girls think they will, and Meg's boyfriend meets every young girl's expectations - right down to the occasional chin stubble.

    Another place this fell short was in plot. The whole thing can be summed up like this: Sheltered girl turns to underworld for entertainment and after initial foray decides she'd rather be a Christian. If that sentence counts as a spoiler, then I'm sorry, but there really isn't much more to chew on. Sub plots were underdeveloped, so I never really did understand all that was going on with Meg's friends or the rest of the underworld characters she was rubbing shoulders with. Some parts were down right confusing, as in "Now whose side is he on?", and others were just unbelievable. My credulity has limits, and this book pushed them just a little too far.

    The writing itself was tolerable, and I guess typical for this genre.

    Sorry, I don't recommend this book. The two stars are for being spectacularly tame and un-controversial.

    *Note: I received this book free from Tyndale for my unbiased review

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    What a great novel. Packed with suspense and romance and friend

    What a great novel. Packed with suspense and romance and friendship. While I began thinking Meg was selfish in her ambition, I saw that she truly desired to be like her father. And when she realizes she should be more like her Heavenly Father than her earthly father, that's when her selfish appearance turned around. I loved this book and would recomend it to everyone.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    A Good Story

    When Meg's father dies, she finds out that he wasn't an upstanding citizen, but a thief. Some of his friends, including Ian, are also thieves. This news changes how Meg feels about life and she wants to join in since that was her father's occupation.

    The story was good, but slow for the first half. I was glad to see that several characters had feelings of guilt over what they were doing. I also liked how the painting of Christ and the two thieves on the cross factored into the story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I was attracted to this novel mostly be the title, Bees in the

    I was attracted to this novel mostly be the title, Bees in the Butterfly Garden. I have read a few novels by Maureen Lang, so I knew I was in for a treat. The main subject matter in this novel, did not, in fact, involve a lot about butterflies as we think of those pretty flowers with wings, or flower gardens, though these subjects were in the background of this novel. Instead, the bees seems to refer to the lifestyle of Ian, who was a protege of Meghan's dad in his occupation, and the garden is where he pursued his occupation.
    It is definitely a novel or unique plot, and I enjoyed the twists and turns as well as the superb word paintings. While reading this, and also as I think about the novel now, I am more appreciative of the heritage my parents handed down to me.
    Although it probably was because of the message the novel brought out, I would have loved to learn more about Meg's mothers heritage, and why or how Meg ended up in the circumstances she originally found herself. All in all, this was a very enjoyable, light-hearted read with deeper thoughts interspersed.

    This book was read and reviewed for Tyndale's Summer Reading Program. This is an honest, unpaid for review, and the opinions are my own.

    This book is available where ever great novels are sold.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    Thieves with Honor

    Set in the Gilded Age, Meg Davenport is a young woman about to come of age who finds out - after his passing - that her father was not the rich businessman who had no time for her as she had long believed - but is, in fact, a thief. A very good one, but a thief nonetheless. His protege, Ian Maguire, about the same age as Meg, intends to take over as leader of the "family" business he left behind, and so does Brewster (a thief with no scruples and a bent towards violence); and a power play begins.

    To establish her right to be her father's daughter, Meg offers up the Pemberton family (extremely wealthy, and former classmates at Madame Marisse's, from whom she has an invitation to spend the summer and design their garden) and therefore potential access to their rumored gold. She proposes that she summer with them and discover what she can about the gold and then pass that information along.

    Will Meg be able to live successfully in both worlds? Will she and Ian find love? Will anyone do the right thing?

    I loved the quotes from both Madame Marisse's Handbook for Young Ladies as well as from thieves that begin each chapter. I loved the Pemberton family dynamic and their love and respect for each other (grace, mercy, or justice?) as well as their staff and friends. I enjoyed this book and definitely recommend it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Spattered with very entertaining quotes from Madame Marisse's Ha

    Spattered with very entertaining quotes from Madame Marisse's Handbook For Young Ladies, this book provides a little glimpse into the life of a young lady back in the 1800's and how she was supposed to behave. No kissing before she was married, no embarrassing others, and certainly, no swooning just to get attention. ;) While Madame Marisse didn't really exist - the standards did. The storyline at times made me giggle, and it was an enjoyable read. Note that Tyndale House sent me a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for sharing my opinion.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Bees in the Butterfly Garden was and OUTSTANDING BOOK!!!!  I lov

    Bees in the Butterfly Garden was and OUTSTANDING BOOK!!!!  I loved the characters and how the author brought them to life in the historical period of high society New York. Mixing mystery, suspense, and forgiveness with God's mercy and grace and the romance it produced a great novel that I could not put down!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    I¿ll have to admit, first off, that this one had been on my to-r

    I’ll have to admit, first off, that this one had been on my to-read list for quite some time, ever since it came out, actually. But I hadn’t made any priority out of it…always thought it looked like a good read, but between the cover and title, I surmised that it was probably just a rather light and fluffy ultra-girly story, without anything in the way of real adventure between its covers. And then…I found it for free for my Kindle app. And boy was I ever wrong about the story! It was fast-moving, complex, had some drama, and was absolutely packed with all manner of adventures – it even included a dash of mystery to round it all out! All around, it was a good book that quite impressed me; I certainly look forward to reading the next book in the series. The title is actually quite accurate, as I figured out when it was worked smoothly into the story. :) I certainly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    Good book - light reading, interesting storyline, light romance

    Good book - light reading, interesting storyline, light romance without all the sex that other books have. Also has a thread of forgiveness woven throughout.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Interesting title - makes you think.....

    Really enjoyed this book. I could relate to the conflict between feelings of rebellion and choosing what is morally right. Bees in the Butterfly Garden has action, intrigue, romance, and some great surprises. A fun, clen story - appropriate for all teens and adults.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Click here

    This book was absolutely amazing! I loved how meg had a rebellious side to her but also a polite side. The characters in the book were fabulously stunning in their roles. Please read thus book! It is worth the money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    I have read some other books by this author that I really enjoye

    I have read some other books by this author that I really enjoyed. The description of the story line sounded interesting but I was disappointed. I had to make myself finish the book as it just did not capture my interest. It was too long in my opinion. I will try other books by this author but this one just was not as good as her Great War series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Loved it.

    This was different from what I usually read. I loved it. Will read more of hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Wonderful book!

    I just finished reading this book and love it! The characters were interesting, I enjoyed the characters and reading about the culture during that time period. It was a great read full of substance, suspense, and characters you care about. The plot had me guessing at times but I especially loved how mercy and grace were talked about and explained. A wonderful uplifting book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Karley

    Was here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Wonderful read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Once introduced, I knew that Meg and Ian were going to end up together but for a little while in there I was beginning to wonder if I had been mistaken.

    I loved how God worked on all of their hearts and slowly changed each person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Goldkit

    May i join as a worrior?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Foxh

    Eart im queen kitting tommoro. May i jn?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Skydust                                                        

    Skydust                                                                                                                                                                                                    -the griffin was no bigger than a warrior. his lovely purple eyes glanced around as he tucked in his purple tipped wings- Uh..my name is Skydust...may I join...? I have a sister named Midna..her leader is Lightningstar..

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Lionstrike

    Hello. I am Lionstrike. May i join your clan as warrior?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3