Customer Reviews for

Before Ever After

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I loved it!

"Before Ever After" has it all. The background settings are breathtaking. The story is full of mystery, romance, adventure, humor, and philosophy.all of my favorite things. The characters are real and very human. The ever twisting plot makes it impossible to put down. S...
"Before Ever After" has it all. The background settings are breathtaking. The story is full of mystery, romance, adventure, humor, and philosophy.all of my favorite things. The characters are real and very human. The ever twisting plot makes it impossible to put down. Shelley lost her husband, Max, abruptly, blown up by a bomb while she was on the phone with him. Three years later, Paolo knocks on her door, claiming to be her thirty-two year old husband's thirty-two year old grandson. Could Max possibly still be alive? She hastily boards a plane to the Philippines with Paolo, for the most important journey of her life. During their trip, Shelley tells Paolo the story of how she and Max met and her experience with him as a tour guide. Okay.maybe a little far out.but I loved it.

posted by Amai66 on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

before

hated this book. The plot started out one way and kept branching off into another faction , further back in history. Thus "before ever after"

posted by 7166896 on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Well done !

    I loved the fantasy of being immortal; I loved Max, his chickens, his eggs and his stories. All the characters were interesting and blended together for a great story. Well worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Modern Fairy Tale Told though European Tour

    What if "happily ever after" doesn't apply to you? <i>Before Ever After</i> is an exploration into the "before" and its impact on a grieving woman's life. Shelley Gallus lost her happy life when her husband, Max, was blown up by a bomb while she spoke to him on the phone. Three years later, Paolo knocks on her door, claiming to be her thirty-two year old husband's thirty-two year old grandson. Could Max possibly still be alive? In blind haste, she boards a plane to the Philippines with Paolo, for the most important journey of her life. During their trip, Shelley tells Paolo the story of how she and Max met and her experience with him as a tour guide. If Shelley and Paolo can piece together their mutual understanding of Max, maybe they can find the truth. Samantha Sotto began researching this book years before the idea to write it hit her. She studied, lived and backpacked extensively through Europe and explored crooked cobblestone alleys and mysterious corners that hinted of stories not written in history books.<i> Before Ever After</i> is an entertaining tour through the ages in Europe and a most unusual love story. The enjoyment lies in the book's journey, not in Shelley's understanding of Max and his grandson. Ms. Sotto unleashes her fertile imagination in this unconventional adult fairy tale. She creatively weaves romance, historical fiction, mystery and the supernatural into a fun, witty book. The flashbacks and time and location changes are, however, a bit convoluted. Readers must stay on their toes to keep track of all the characters in the stories within the story. If you stick with it, you'll find the improbability of some of the book's scenes add to its charm. The author's youthful zeal for European travel pops off the pages. Recommended for devotees of European culture, historic places and mystical love stories. The Crown Publishing Group graciously supplied the advance review copy. The opinions expressed are unbiased and wholly that of the reviewer. Reviewed by Holly Weiss, author of Crestmont

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Hard to put this one down. Immediately started to reread it for

    Hard to put this one down. Immediately started to reread it for more detail and enjoyed it just as much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Different

    I liked the book - I didn't love it. At first, it was sometimes hard to follow as each chapter would switch to a different time or thought, etc. It of course is fantasy but the ending would be a wonderful concept if you had found the "perfect love" and could remain the same forever and with that love for eternity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    From the very first page, this book will pull you in like a cent

    From the very first page, this book will pull you in like a centrifuge and not let you out until you finish the novel. The author cleverly ties historical fiction, mystery, and a little romance into a thrilling book that reaches across several genres of fiction. I got this book for free from a goodreads giveaway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Loved It!!!

    This is a beautifully tragic love story that I would recommend to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend but not for the faint of heart

    I really enjoyed this book. I loved each and every character. Although I found some parts of the book drag a bit... by the end I was in tears. This book really hit hard in my heart and has changed how I view love in my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Enjoyed this one. Was swept away by all the historical details, the drama and the whole story was romantic, adventuresome, and I really enjoyed Max's sense of humour. Read it for something extraordinary, yet very "human"...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    I would recommend

    Very unusual writing style and I prefer a clear cut happy ending but I would consider another one of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2