Customer Reviews for

Before Happiness: The 5 Hidden Keys to Achieving Success, Spreading Happiness, and Sustaining Positive Change

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

X marks the Spot: this book is a treasure.  Shawn Achor revoluti

X marks the Spot: this book is a treasure.  Shawn Achor revolutionizes the ways we pursue goals with the application of research from the field of positive psychology.  Shawn writes about a concept called the X-spot, where the brain literally kicks into overdrive as it ...
X marks the Spot: this book is a treasure.  Shawn Achor revolutionizes the ways we pursue goals with the application of research from the field of positive psychology.  Shawn writes about a concept called the X-spot, where the brain literally kicks into overdrive as it nears a goal.  He gives several strategies for training the brain to accelerate towards goals faster, and I can only imagine the number of manager, coaches and teachers who will find these strategies invaluable and indispensable to their work.  Kudos on another great book Shawn!

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

all these ratings posted on September 10?, Hmmmm.

all these ratings posted on September 10?, Hmmmm.

posted by BooksAdored on September 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    all these ratings posted on September 10?, Hmmmm.

    all these ratings posted on September 10?, Hmmmm.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    X marks the Spot: this book is a treasure.  Shawn Achor revoluti

    X marks the Spot: this book is a treasure.  Shawn Achor revolutionizes the ways we pursue goals with the application of research from the field of positive psychology.  Shawn writes about a concept called the X-spot, where the brain literally kicks into overdrive as it nears a goal.  He gives several strategies for training the brain to accelerate towards goals faster, and I can only imagine the number of manager, coaches and teachers who will find these strategies invaluable and indispensable to their work.  Kudos on another great book Shawn!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Being HAPPY is so much important and this book tells how to get

    Being HAPPY is so much important and this book tells how to get you that straight. Shawn talks (yes this book is almost as though he talking to us like in his TEDs. You never feel you are reading) about having a view ahead but with possibilities not impossibilities in mind. Nice read. Recommend to all those 'attempting' (not trying) something new in life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    This is Genius!  Shawn Achor has written another mind-blowing bo

    This is Genius!  Shawn Achor has written another mind-blowing book that is certain to challenge your notion of the world.  A must-read for anyone serious about pursuing success. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    From his TED talk, I think that Shawn Achor must be a funny guy.

    From his TED talk, I think that Shawn Achor must be a funny guy. And in this book he keeps that same sense of humor and presents the concepts of positive psychology in a fun and easy to understand manner. I've read his first book THE HAPPINESS ADVANTAGE too and wasn't sure what else he could add in a second book. He calls this a prequel to that first book and I really enjoyed getting inside his head to see why he felt the need to write a second book (beyond the publish or perish mentality). Knowing that he feels "research is useless unless it is lived" brought the stories and studies in this book to life. My favorite part was about distinguishing what the noise is in our lives...it's hard to figure out what that is, but I have my hand written notes on that section posted above my computer to help me keep his tips in mind and hopefully have a better daily focus. I recommend this book if you HAVE already read his first book or if you HAVEN'T, I think it's a great read for anyone looking to have a better outlook on life. ....or even those that aren't (yet) looking to be happier.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    I'm only halfway through the book, so the end verdict is still o

    I'm only halfway through the book, so the end verdict is still out. At this point, I am still struggling to understand some terms he uses, like "meaning marker." From what I gather, it means the meaning you give to your goals, why they are important to you. He talks about mapping a lot. One of his tips is to take this map you've drawn of everything in your world and rearrange it. I'm not sold that this will make me see things in new ways. It just seems like a workshop exercise, not anything that would give you real insight. Still, I'm, picking up some good ideas about positive thinking and evidence-based practice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    I must admit I fully I expected this book to be chock-full of sc

    I must admit I fully I expected this book to be chock-full of scientifically validated research and evidence supporting Achor’s book principles.  His latest book did not disappoint.   However, as dry and uninteresting most books are in this field, my expectations were surpassed with how enjoyable this book was.  Achor has an uncanny ability to make this subject not only interesting but also fun.  I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Essential reading for life lessons NOT taught in school

    This book is an absolute pleasure in addition to being a treasure chest of information. A true eye opener that will assist you in opening doors you thought were beyond your reach. I highly recommend it to any one who wants to improve their life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    I read all kinds of self help, and I feel like I've heard it all

    I read all kinds of self help, and I feel like I've heard it all. Maybe cause of his teaching background from Harvard, but Achor was able to weave in all this interesting info from psychology if never come across before. This book is really good. Lots of great ideas to implement with kids too. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    I loved THE HAPPINESS ADVANTAGE and I love BEFORE HAPPINESS just

    I loved THE HAPPINESS ADVANTAGE and I love BEFORE HAPPINESS just as much.  Shawn Achor completely delivers on the promise to  show us  that positive change is possible.  The strategies provided include success mapping, success accelerants, and how to transfer these skills to your teams and employees - all of which will provide improved business results in any  organization. I highly recommend this book to .everyone looking to increase success for themselves and their employees. 
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1